paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
woodsballer24 Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98 which i don't like as much.
Marker Setup: M98 and 14" JJ Ceramic Barrel. I use Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades are worthless, just get 14" barrel. Get 16" if you want but I don't see much difference.
Strengths: -STRONG. Mine is 11 years old.
-Light.
-Sufficent on Co2.
Weaknesses: -Be VERY careful when cleaning. Don't lose small parts
Review: This gun is a TANK. I love the grips on it. Make sure you take apart slowly and carefully. Easy to clean by the way. Youi just need good paint and you're good to go. The body is light and looks pretty cool. Tighten your screws tight or else they get loose easily. Especially on the bottom where you put in the Co2/air.
Conclusion: Get this gun. It will NOT break and is an easy clean which you want because you should clean after every game. You just need a good barrel for accuracy. Make sure you buy good balls.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aslan Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder One, Raptor Silver Eagle, Rebel LE, Tippmann Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: Model 98 w/vertical adaptor, 6-stage ACI Sub-Zero X-chamber, quick disconnects, extreme rage timer grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
mechanical hopper
Strengths: Accuracy, Durability, Product support
Weaknesses: Speed, Difficulty to field strip
Review: I rebuilt one of these and added some upgrades. The gun was very accurate and easy to use, but slow. Product support from Tippmann was very good. Field stripping of this gun is not as easy as other guns in it's class. Unlike the Custom 98s that followed, this gun doesn't have the e-grip options that would make it more competitive.
Conclusion: Would make a great beginner gun, but needs serious upgrades to be more competitive.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cyber_jesus Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl orion, smart parts shocker
Marker Setup: m98 with smart parts rifled barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a flateline barrel if u need one
Strengths: Light, accurate, durability, fast and its durability + the feel of the hand grips rock.
Weaknesses: Its a little loud.
Review: My m98 is now almost 9 years old and its still goin hard! this gun will never die!
It is super light and accurate. Its probably the most drurable gun in the world, and has never ever chopped a ball either.
Its super gas sufficient too, i get i get 350 shots off of my 9 ounce!!!!!!
Its not tourny fast but perfect for bush ball. The over all feel of the gun is also nice as.
The m98 also has very little kick aswell.rel fixes that.
It is a little loud though, but a new barrel fixes that easy.
I see no reson to pay $50-$100 more for a 98 custom when they are exactly the same.
If your into bush ball and dont wont to pay heaps i recommend you get one.

I hope this helps.
Conclusion: If you wont a gun that will never let you down in any way get a model 98.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 13th, 2007 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippmann98paint Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: I use a 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop on my Tippmann model 98. I recently added a custom made drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel...if you're really into speedball i'd get a electric hopper and a drop forward...
Strengths: Accuracy, easy maintenance, decent price,doesn't chop,durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I got this gun for Christmas two years ago and I didn't ask about or say anything about wanting one...i have always loved paintball though...This gun is awesome...I haven't had a single problem...stock barrel sucks...I'm thinking about getting a Truimph electric hopper for it...but the stock hopper loads fine...I don't like vertical feed so i really like this gun. It shoots nice. It can be a little loud but that doesn't really bother me...mine seems a lot quieter with the Smart Parts barrel. This gun is a must for woods ball! This is a very upgradable gun. I play woods ball probably 75% of the time and it rarely fails me with my SP Teardrop barrel. I don't like how people spend so much money on a gun and use the "spray and Pray" method. My neighbor put a lot of money in his Ion and I can still take him in the woods and on the speedball field. He's a got a Halo B hopper, 16" SP Progressive barrel, remote and other mods and It still doesn't make him a better player. Guns don't make the game unless you're just spraying paint like a chain gun on the speedball field.
Conclusion: Buy it... I recommend this gun to anyone...from beginners to pro's in the sport. The model 98 can either be a woodsball or a speedball gun...depending on how much money you're willing to spend.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 6th, 2009 at 4:38 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Ninja Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 w/ Response and flatline = better
ion (one day) = way better
Spyder Xtra = horrible
Marker Setup: Model 98 16" Progressive barrel 47ci 3000psi compressed air

For Now That Is.....
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!
Strengths: Tough
Short/Light Trigger Pull
Pretty Accurate
Weaknesses: Stock barrel both ugly and useless
Inhales gas
Review: This is the first gun ive owned, and the second ive used, and i really like it. it is tough, ive run it through some extreme games and is has yet to break anything major, and now that i have my progressive barrel on it, it is insanely accurate.

HOWEVER, the stock barrel is useless, axtending a mere 8.5" from the gun. i like to be able to hit a target from a good range, and i could not do so with this. also, unlike the 98 custom, a new barrel is about the only performance upgrade available, besides air upgrades. Also, it flies through CO2, making backyard paintball more expensive than a day at the field.

Conclusion: All in all, an excellent starter gun, but it quickly becomes a hinderance when you start to get serious about paintball. good for woodsball, do not consider for speedball or other serious play.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saghapo Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, expansion chamber
Strengths: Durable, like a Sherman tank. Highly upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Too many stinking moving parts
Review: I love this gun. Been using one for years. I have one of the first ones that came out and besides replacing a few o-rings (expected) this thing has always fired for me. The factory trigger has a pretty heavy pull on it, but since I started with a pump gun, I'm slow to fire anyway. I have seen (an done) some pretty massive abuse to these things, pick 'em up, pull the trigger, and a ball comes out the end.
My biggest beef is the amount of parts in it. If you open up the body, theres like a million little tiny parts that you could potentially lose. It still takes me forever to get it back together after stripping it.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to any starter for a first gun because it will grow with you. You wanna shoot faster? They've got the upgrades. Better barrels? All over the place. I have never seen a more upgradeable gun on the market. Only giving a 9 because of all the moving internal parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yoyomandan Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sonix Pro.
Marker Setup: Everything that comes with the sonix pro.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None...
Strengths: Made to last! Everyone uses it.
Weaknesses: Loud!
Review: I like this gun! Most places use this gun for rentals... It blends you in with the crowd, because like, everyone uses it. It's very LOUD!! The Sonix Pro is better... But a lot of people like this "Marker(:P)". And I can see why! It will get you far, and it will last for like, 10 years!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionballa Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra
SP ion
just paintball guns
Marker Setup: Tippy 98
-Linear 16 in rifled barrel
-20 oz. Co2
-Response trigger
-cyclone feed

SP ion
-68/4500 pmi carbon wrapped tank
-68 ci empire tank cover
-halo tsa
-evil pipe kit
-titanium silver body kit
-dye invision 13 thermal goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
cyclone feed
apex barrel
Strengths: This thing takes abuse
Weaknesses: Response trigger screws up the gun.
Review: I've had mine for only 3 months, and I'm already trying to sell this thing. I do think that it's a decent gun, but only for a first gun for someone. If you intend on owning it for an extended period of time, get cyclone feed system, and get the a.c.t. version of it, cuz it eliminates all chops, (even tho mine chops still) also, get ne upgrade u can besides the response trigger its good for a while, then it starts to mess up, and if any dirt, dust, or uneeded stuff gets in to the trigger, the gun stops working, and u have to send it to tippmann to get it fixed, and there's an unneeded 40 bux spent

Conclusion: This is a good gun for the beginners, after a few months of using this gun, and gainning experience, upgrade, I would recommend an ion, I love mine
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elite pballer Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 assault - almost same body and internals
Marker Setup: -Main-2005 Ben Tippmann BT-4 Assault
Accesories
Black Halo B
Flaslight on barrel
Remote 20 oz Co2
(it comes pretty tricked out already, barrel, stock, etc.)
-Backup- 2003 Tippmann 98
Accesories
14 in. 32 Degrees Terminator Barrel
Ricochet G2K
Tapco Folding Stock
Rocket Cock 2
Remote 12 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
stock and/or hopper
rocket cock
expansion chamber
then whatever you want
in that order
Strengths: cheap
VERY easy to maintain
easily upgradeable
RELIABLE
Weaknesses: Everyone and their uncle has it or the custom version
cant fully remove foregrip
Review: Got this in a package deal in walmart for ~120 dollars
upgraded barrel quickly. very good beginner gun. reliable. i havnt oiled my gun the entire time i've had it, but i will soon. but it works fine, that goes to show you about tippmann's reliability. uh yeah to make this 50 words i got the 32 degrees terminator barrel 14 in and it works great... the rocket cock is nice....the tapco folding stock is perfect and was only 30 bucks
Conclusion: Very good beginner gun
easy to upgrade
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j05hu41990 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Spyder Classic
Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04
12v revy with x board
shocktech feedneck
customparts flame sypder drop
smartparts progressive barrel 14'
Pure Air Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Electric hopper
New Expanison Chamber
Drop forward
Strengths: Reliable
Relatively accurate
Weaknesses: Long
Review: My friend has got this for 40 bucks from some kid after his spyder classic broke. It's just like my other friends and my dads 98 custom. Its just on older version of the 98 custom so get the 98 custom. I'm to lazy to type anymore so look at the 98 custom review.
Conclusion: If you find it for 50 bucks get otherwise go get the 98 custom
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media