paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
TRASHman Sunday, June 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used multiple spiders. I have used a black magic autococker. but the tippy is a great gun for the new dudes.
Marker Setup: m98 palmer stabelizer, double trig, RVA, lapco dropforward, JandJ ceramic, polished internals. (might be forgeting a mod or 2)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, double trigger
Strengths: Probly the best gun for the price.
It shoots well.
If you love to modify your gun... this is for you.
Weaknesses: Barrel

kinda ugly but will grow on you

unless they are modifyed people wont ask you about it. (wont draw attention like a angel or a timmi.

and the barrel (thought i should put it twice)
Conclusion: In conclusion It is...

The best gun for the money.
One of the most reliable paintball markers ever that I have used.
One of the most fun to use and to own and to modify marker.
Comfterble to hold and to play with on the field.
A marker that can take alot of abuse and still for fine in the long run.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Apollo Saturday, June 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 Autococker (Much, Much, Much better), Stingray (Don't Buy)
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP Autococker, 12"Dye Xcel Barrel, KAPP Hammer, Dye Stickies, !2v revy w/X-Board, Dye Double Swing Trigger, Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (Dye Xcel works good)
Strengths: The best thiong about the Tippman is that it isn't picky with paint. I never broke a ball in it. It doesn't break too often.
Weaknesses: The tippmann is ugly, very very very UGLY. But thats kinda picky. If you dont have a good barrel on it you wont get any accuracy. It is a pain to take apart. Stock trigger frame has a slow rate of fire.
Conclusion: The tippmann is a great gun. If you are new to paintball and nead something that isn't to harsh on ur wallet but still something reliable than this is the gun for you. Like I said just invest in a good barrel and it'll shoot great. Best of Luck.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyschodork Monday, June 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor silver eagle
Marker Setup: My M98 with red CP arrel(Custom Products), I have a double trigger with guard,and Daisy dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend getting a barrel first,then a double trigger,and a expansion chamber.
Strengths: This gun is a very accurate gun when you put an aftermarket barrel on it.The price of the gun is very cheap.You can shoot very fast without a ball chop.this gun is very easy too maintain and keep clean.There are many upgrades too choose from.(RT,Flatine,low pressure system,double trigger,expansion chamber,ect.)I recommend this gun to anyone from begginers to people with lots of experience.
Weaknesses: Nothing seroius........................You might just want too get a better barrel. CP barrels are very good.
Conclusion: In conclusion I think this gun outperformes any other gun in its price range.This gun also as great upgrades too choose from.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have also used a Bob long millenium, Spyder Compact Deluxe, Piranha, Stingray 2, and VT1 and none of these guns compare to the Tippmann Model 98.
Marker Setup: I use the Tippmann model 98 with a double trigger on it, but right know I am installing an Expansion Chamber, a 14 inch barrel, Reactive trigger, and just purchased a 20 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel, Double trigger will allow u to shoot faster, and an expansion chamber wouldnt hurt at all.
Strengths: Its a great marker for the money. It is a great all around gun ive never had a problem with mine, it shoots extremely accurate, and for a very long distance. The stock barrel is great for almost any type of paint. They say I have to write a hundred words so. Buy the gun, Buy the gun, Buy the gun, Buy the gun, Buy the gun, Buy the gun. It is a great gun for either woods games, speed ball, or arena playing. This gun is a very reliable gun and will not let you down.
Weaknesses: Harder to upgrade than the Custom 98, The stock barrel is to short, and it is to hard to field strip they need to make it to where u dont have to use allen wrenches for everything.
Conclusion: I would definetely recommend this gun for any level of player it is a great all around gun and is totally reliable.The gun is great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBALLAg100 Tuesday, May 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have shotten all kinds of guns, spyders, WGPs, Pirahnas and Sheridans. For the price. it is a great gun. It is accurate as heck.
Marker Setup: Nothing yet, just 100%% stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definently longer barrel, maybe an expansion chamber
Strengths: I love the clear view down the barrel and the built in offset elbow. It is really easy to clean that way. For having such a short barrel it is very accurate and i have not had 1 ball break in my barrel.
Weaknesses: Tippmanns sell you the guns with nothing on them. short barrel, single trigger, no expansion chamber, no drop forward.
Conclusion: If you get it upgraded, or just even use it plain, it is a great gun. Its very accurate and consistent. For its price i would easily buy it or you could spend a 100$ more and buy a spyder with everything on it, but a souped-up tippmann would be my first pick over any kind of gun on the market.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a Sheridan XGS and a Sting Ray II. Both of these products in no way compared with a Tippman!
Marker Setup: Tippman with Flatline barrel and 9 oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber, Flatline barrel.
Strengths: This product is better than anything I've ever tried.Its durability make it an excellent gun. Plus, with its ability to fire so many rounds per second, it makes it an ideal gun for speedball. Hardly balls break, and with a flatline barrel you have little curve. The torc is great and so is the ball feed.stock hopper is good and durable.Very accurate.
Weaknesses: The only real problem I had with this gun was that the balls curved alot. However, this problem can be fixed by using high quality balls, or purchasing a flatline barrel.i have to admit that the stock barrel is not the best so I would definitely recomend upgrading.
Conclusion: You have got to get this gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I'de say autococker, but not really. Uhm, 98 Custom?
Marker Setup: E-bolt, Freak System, Low Pressure Vertical Adaptor, 9v Viewloader, Double Trigger, and a really sweet marble anodization job.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-bolt, Freak System, Double Trigger, motorized hopper (I'll probably get a Halo)
Strengths: Durable. Not only did I use this as my first gun, but I use it for tournaments, and it's shooting better than the day I got it. That's why they use Tippmanns as rental guns. They'll never break down on you right before your tournaments.

Lots of upgrades. There are always a ton of upgrades available for the Model 98, as it is still a popular gun. There are probably a few more for the Custom, but the Custom is kind of ugly, and you can put anything for a Custom on a Model 98 with a little work. Plus, the Model 98 always upgrades to a Custom for a little bit of money.

The Tippmann is a great gun. Leave it as is for someone who's new to the game, and with a few upgrades, it can easily be tournament ready.
Weaknesses: Unfortunately, people don't seem to like Model 98s very much. I've been made fun of for using one, despite my l33t anodization. The other disadvantage is that it is open bolt, so it's not going to get quite the range of an autococker, but for the price, the foot you loose isn't going to make a difference. You can solve this problem with a Flatline barrel, but the balls always break out of Flatlines, so I wouldn't worry about it.
Conclusion: Excellent gun. If you don't feel like paying the extra $400 for an autococker, and you don't want to deal with it constantly breaking down, a Model 98 is an excellent gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MaGiKaL_Marky Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingmans, not really but close.
Marker Setup: Tippy Custom, 12inch Progressive barrel, Taso Drop forward, 20oz co2, and all the other stock parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Bolt(pyscho ballistics power tube and and pro seal!!!) Electo trigger from tippmann, a expansion chamber if you use Co2, and a cool hopper thats electric.
Strengths: You can custom the hell out of it, you can probably turn it into a nuclear bomb! with all the available customs for it, its light, its pretty, ahhahah, its user friendly, its shoots ok for stock, it will take you out, and its not a overated spyder! ohh yeah its dirt cheap and you can beat it into the dirt and it still shoot paint.
Weaknesses: Well its loud, its plain looking, you have to custom it to make it great( well not that bad especially thats what the gun made for) Its smells funny, it makes people cry, and all the imperfectiond on the M98C is replaceable with the many variations of upgrades for it.
Conclusion: Its a great gun for me, I dont know for you. you need to feel for what your looking for. I dont belive in a perfect gun cause there is nothing out there that is perfect, so its getting a 9 cause it takes people out !
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus
Marker Setup: rear cocking, stock, flatline, drop forward, vertical Co2 feed, double trigger, trigger guard, expansion chamber, scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline + double trigger
Strengths: -exellent accurcy
-fast firing rate
-virtually indestructable
-good range (while it lasts)
-sooooooo upgradable
-perfect for sniping
-never breaks balls
Weaknesses: -very very bad range and power with med/low co2
-when the gun is opened for cleaning.........KABOOM!!! peices everywhere
-ugly gun (I had to give it my own paint job)
Conclusion: This gun rocks with high co2 and good paintballs. It's grip is comfortable and it fits like a glove. The major downfall of this gun is that you have to be very careful when you take it apart because little springs will fly everywhere, otherwise this gun is very well made. An easy way to avoid lost springs is to lay out white paper around where you take it apart. It shoots fairly straight and never fires strays. It never jams or fires two balls at once. It may be ugly, but it is one sweet gun. Its stock barrel NEEDS to be replaced by the flatline, which gives it the longest range of all paintball guns. Using the 98 with a 9oz tank should be frowned upon because when the tank gets med/low on co2, its range is in trouble. This problem can be easily fixed by a 20oz tank which cost just $20 more. Because the 98s errors can be easily avoided and it is sooooo upgradable, it deserves 100%%. My Conclusion: get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Excelloraltor 4.0
PMI Piranha STS G3 vert.
Marker Setup: PMI Drop Forward, Smart Parts Teardrop 14 in barrel, 20 .oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, the stock one is the worst most inaccurate barrel, Drop forward turns the gun into a much easier to use and hold marker
Strengths: Durable gun, wont break
You can actually see down the sights
You can tighten the hopper on
never chops balls
good price $139 or less
Zero Matainence, except a little oil
Easy to clean if you do chop a ball
3lb trigger
Weaknesses: You cant field strip it
Balls break in the stock barrel
Larger than other guns
heavy
even with a 3lb trigger pull you cant fire it as fast as the manual says
realistically 4, maybe 6 a second
Conclusion: Great beginner gun, zero matianence, doesnt do anything but shoot. And that is all that matters. Buy it, use it, it wont let tou down
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media