paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, April 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder tl plus
Black Dragun
Spyder compact 2000 java edition
sheridan xts
Marker Setup: Model 98, with dye stickies, drop forward, ricochet 2k, and 12" all american
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward, new barrel, motorized hopper
Strengths: This product definately has the lightest trigger in its class, the foregrip evens out the whole gun better, pretty accurate, easy to dissasemble and reassemble, shoots fast, VERY reliable!
Weaknesses: a little loud, its a gas hog, i got a leak in the bottomline a few times.
Conclusion: If you want to get a gun in this price range DEFINATELY go for this. Dont spend a little less and get a piece of crap. You wont be sorry if you get this! This gun with a motorized hopper will keep up with guns that cost ATLEAST 2 times the amount of this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

consilierge Monday, April 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model Kameleon Green to Purple Fade, GTA Expansion Chamber, Smart Parts All American Barrel, 12v hopper, Extreme Rage Grips, Full Boar Shadow Rear Cocking, 2x Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber, Smart Parts All American Varrel
Strengths: A great starter gun. A lot of new guys who get into the sport don't want to spend alot of cash right off the bat. This gun is the perfect solution for them. Its stirdy, and is pretty hard to screw up when you take it apart, which lets face it everyone wants to. It provides alot of options for upgrades and is very versatile. Not necessarily a great speedball gun, but great for the woods.
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel begs to be replaced
-Not really a flashy impress your friends gun
-Slow rate of fire
-Thats about it.
Conclusion: Like I said a great starter gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
auto cocker and an automag minie mag
Marker Setup: 16in DYE boomstick, remote, 20oz CO2, 200rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a boomstick that is any length........... just any thing to get rid of the stock barrel cause it just screws the whole gun up
Strengths: the good thing about this gun is that it is really reliable and i have never chopped up a ball with my boomstick and it is really silent, it is also a good gun for the price and you can beef it up really fast with all the new stuff for it. if you have a remote for the model 98 then it is really light, compared to autocockers and other markers. if you have a good long barrel and an expansion chaimber then this is a REALLY good sniper gun for u
Weaknesses: the STOCK BARREL................. its only 8.5 frickin inches it is also really loud so it will scare the crap out of people but it gives ur poss really fast.
Conclusion: buy it and get a new barrel with it VERY IMPORTANT.... but is is really good gun for newbies and for people that will like the model 98's features
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I Have Also used a Spyder Shutter, A Thundercat, And Autococker
Marker Setup: Tippman Model 98 with J&J ceramic and Smart parts All American barrels. ACI sub-zero 6 chamber expansion chamber. ACI 3000 PSI remote. 20 oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetaly a new barrel. The stock barrel is the worst barrel I have ever seen.
Maybe an exp. chamber, velocity isnt too consistant
Strengths: The best semi-auto I have ever fired. With my J&J, I have not chopped a single ball. With my smart Parts I have only chopped maybe 1 out of 2000. Always reliable. I have not once had to repair my gun, and I go paintballing about once every week. Maybe more. The accuracy with my J&J at about 380 fps is amazing. I could stand 20 yards away and hit a target that was only a 6 inch diameter.
Weaknesses: The barrel. A new barrel is a must. But that is all. Nothing else is wrong with this gun. If you upgrade the barrel to a DYE boomstick. And install and expansion chamber, you CAN NOT use cheap balls. Use Diablos or something with a hard shell.
Conclusion: Buy It. If you are considering buying a paintball gun. This is the one for you. So many upgrades you wont know what to do with it. A great gun for beginners as well as pros. The gun is worth every penny. Go buy it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: the kind of marker i use is a tippmann model 98 the upgrade i really most recommend is a new barrel.i recommend a''16'' dye broomstick its a perfect barrel for ether moving up the field or staying back to snip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,expansion chamber
Strengths: the good thing about the model98 is that you can drop it in the sand and it will still fire even if there is sand still left in the chamber.also it has great accuracy my friends think im really good at paintball because i took on three people and i sniped all three of them.
Weaknesses: i can find nothing bad about this gun it has really good accuracy great range and it is not to heavy.it is a really good starter gun and it will last you a lift time.
Conclusion: in conclusion buy this gun the greatest paint guns made trust me you will love it.and it will last you a life time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have shot almost every paintball gun out there. Every one is different but i started out with a Model 98, and i still have it, in great condition.
Marker Setup: Shocker 4x4 with 88. max flow, 14 inch freak system, 12v revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel(smart parts), double trigger, and a drop forward.
Strengths: Im a back field player, and the tippman 98 custom is very acurate, pretty silent, tough, and very upgradable,a nd when u put a 16. in. all american on that bad boy u are ready to go. If you dont have enough money for a more expensive gun this is definatly the gun for you.
Weaknesses: nothin, u can make the gun, fire like any other out there. And is dirt cheap to begin with.
Conclusion: The tipmann model 98 custom is a great gun for newbies and experienced players. It is definatly a great gun for the back feild player. And if u want to buy a gun for a younger person this would be the gun, because it is the toughest on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arctic Undertow Tuesday, April 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
GT Commando 2
Marker Setup: M 98
Flatline
expansion chamber
a laser sight
and a remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
the Flatline and the expansion chamber most importantly
Strengths: Mostly everything! This gun kicks. When you don't have money for an expenive gun this on is the best. I would reccommend just buying the M-98 by itself because Tippmann will rip you if you buy their package. I wouldn't pay more than $130 for just the gun. If you really want their package to save shipping fees though get the package. Try to buy everything at a good value paintball store to save $. Anyway the gun is great so buy one. And compared to the others the GT is about the same for a higher price and the Shutter is a pos and it is all about looks. What is on the inside of the Shutter is a nightmare!!
Weaknesses: Not much at all! Although if you are talking about the stock barrell I would give it a 1 of 10 rating because it is a POS that is about 8.5 inches long, it is unaccurate and it sounds like a shotgun on a quiet night. One last thing is the strip control. If you break a ball be prepared to have your allen wrenches so you can take out 6 bolts. My record time is within a few days!
Conclusion: I love this gun! Get it by all means. Be sure to get a new barrell though and don't use cheap paint! It will come back to bite you in the A**
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray
Point Zero
Rebel
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
J&J Ceramic Barrel

*Soon to have a CP Drop foward, and ACI 6 Stage Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber first! It makes a huge difference in shots between fills, more consistent shot patterns and velocity and gets rid of that ugle CO2 cloud when playing in cold weather.
Strengths: Oh wow, where do I start? Ok first of all, it is very accurate if you don't use cheap paint, even with the stock barrel. alot of people complain about the stock barrel, but it shoots better than alot of other barrels. Secondly, it is very durable. You can drop this thing, get it wet, dirty, covered in paint, whatever and it still works as good as the day you got it. Now I'm not saying you should abuse it, but it takes alot. Thirdly, there are a ton of upgrades for this gun and so you can trick it out really bad and save money versus if you had bought a more expensive gun. Fourth, this gun has a 1 year warranty from Tippmann and if anything breaks, they will send you whatever you need. Their customer service is AWESOME!!!!
Weaknesses: The only bag thing I have found is the no field strip thing. I mean it isn't hard to take the allen wrenches with you and take all the bolts out, but it is more time consuming.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun and really not all that expensive. Besides, you get what you pay for. BUY THIS GUN!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Well the other gun I have used was the Talon by Brass Eagle (ya that pump thingy) but my D Matrix comes in 2 weeks.
Marker Setup: Model 98
20 oz. CO2
14" Custom Products Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, Response Trigger, New drop forward, sight rail, collapsable stock, expansion chamber.
Strengths: It ius a nice gun.. decent accuracy, shoots at a nice speed, doesn't jam or mess up much. Not air crazy. And as you all know the site says that i shouldn't write a review if it don't take up 100 words and says go back and write 100 words so you wanna here a joke? (no nopt the one about the monkey with the olive and cue ball).... ok so this guy go home and his wife is leaving him, so he says "why are you leaving me?" and she goes "because yer a petefile (dont hate me if i spelled that wrong anyway) he goes "thats a pretty big word comign from a 12 year old" p.s. for you little kids a petefile is a child malestor
Weaknesses: Breaks paintballs quite often. Changes velocity alot on you. Not very accurate. Breaks when you shoot too fast. well no jokes i just wanna tell you about the diablo amtrix i'm getting... i'm getting either smart parts freak kit or boomstick (someone tell me which is better for the amrtix) also getin form aardvark teh bolt kit and regulator, also gettting 88ci pmi nitro tank, also getting drop forward and bottomline thank you for you time
Conclusion: A great gun for woods play for a begginer. If you want to move into speedball or Novice/Amateur tourneys go for something better. well here i'll tell you all a little about myself... i was bron in rochester new york 1987 i moved to delaware... a few months ago a pump gun in walmart cought my eye... so i bought it, it broke cuz i accidently pulle doff the pump (nopt on purpose it was just weak) and then got a model 98 now i took a loan from my dad to get the matrix and some other stuff along with it (now i owe him $1350 lol) well any delaware peeps wannna go against my team well holla back at gxgoblin@aol.com
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
um, BE Samuri, spyder compacts, prolites, and a mag classic
Marker Setup: Original Tippmann Model 98
14" Tru-Flight Aluminum Barrel
ANS 3 stage expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
well, if you want to hit people, a barrel, if not, well hey, have fun, and expansion chambers are always nice, especially if you want to play at night
Strengths: It is simply the most versitile gun on the market, and at a great price, awesome for a beginner, you can just upgrade it up to a tourney level gun as you get better. I got a really cheap barrel for $30 and that's all you need to make it really good. There's tons of aftermarket products for it, and you can design it for just how you play. Personally I'm a die-hard assulter, but whether your like me or you snipe, or you're a cover player, there's endless possibitlies with this gun. The Elbow is built in (one less thing to buy) and is detachable and easy to clean, and it looks kinda coo
Weaknesses: well, like I said above, if you want to hit someone, I strongly suggest you get a new barrel, and I suggest 14" or above for best performance (the only problem with that is I have a 14" and with the bottom line my gun is almost 4 feet long) Oh yeah, and it sucks in speedball simply because it's size, you can't snap at all, or really shoot for long periods of time with out exposing alot of your body, so against cockers, your life span will be greatly decreased by this gun. Oh yeah, and NEVER take apart this gun unless you know what you're doing, it's as hard as a mofo to get back together, take my word for it. And my last whine, is that literally EVERYONE has one, so you can't be real original with it, but the good side of that is everyone knows how to fix it
Conclusion: for the price, this gun has potential to be a great gun no matter how you play, as long as you're not a speed ball freak. It's good for big open games in fields tho. Overall a good gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media