paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Terminator98 Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none that compare so far, just a junky stingray 2 and a pt enforcer
Marker Setup: Tippmann Sniper Formula
Model 98 + Flatline barrel + Collapsable stock + Expansion chamber + Electronic hopper = Terminator98
Recommended
Upgrades:
any barrel besides the stock, allthough it wasnt the worst barrel
Strengths: everything
with my setup, i am basiclly a sniper . i can pick of people from a distance.
even when i didnt have most of the upgrades it was a good gun to play with.

i know peeople who havent cleaned there gun for months and it still works perfectly
Weaknesses: the only bad thing is the wiegh of my setup. although i dont mind it, other people dont.
i dont think there is or was enything wrong with the gun
Conclusion: overall it is still a great gun (Obvisouly) its sweet.
i would buy it but i alrdy have one
you should get one (but name it something else)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
GT 2000, Spyder TL Plus
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 with All American 12 inch sniper barrel, laser sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, preferably smart parts or the tippmann barrels
Strengths: Built like a rock, reliable, paintballs never break(with upgraded barrel)
lightweight, good with close combat with stock barrel and overall a kick ass gun, good use with any paintball but brass eagle, preferable use 32 Degrees or proball
Weaknesses: Nothing but the stock barrel, like i said, this gun is awesome
Conclusion: Great gun and worth the low cost
all it needs is the new barrel, it is great for any type of player, front, back or side. With a couple of upgrades that don't cost much, this gun will be the ultimate all around weapon and will be unstopable on the field


Built like a rock
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TL,shutter,
Piranha G2
pro-carbine
cocker
Marker Setup: Stock model 98
9v revy
smart parts big daddy barrel 18"
Recommended
Upgrades:
you need a new barrel. my 18" is a little overkill. But shoots extremely straight. (with marbs)
Revy. you dont wanna be caught without paint ready to go.

thumb screw kit
Strengths: The first gun i bought, and still use regularly. It's highly durable for those running and jumping and crashing through the woods. Great feel. Some say it's a little heavy....they must be a wuss. Upgradeable. You can turn your stock into a bad killin machine. Easy to clean and put back together. Low ball breakage. I play with a group of spyders and cockers ...they blow tons more balls then my 98.
Weaknesses:
The stock barrel kinda sucks.
Not set up for speed ball type play
The field servicability is awful.
Although you shouldn't need it this gun is made that well.

Regular cleanings and this will serve you well.
Conclusion: Like Luke with his lightsaber you will cut down the competition.
I recommend this gun to every newbie and alot of experienced players. You cant go wrong for the money!!! The most reliable,economical gun made! If you don't have one..... you at least need one as a backup.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Death006 Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: -Durability! Its a very durable gun
-Price! Only around $110
-Upgrades! YOu can find any upgrade for this gun. GARANTEED!
-I would recomend getting the newer Tippmann Custom 98. It is a much better marker.
-This marker can take aa extreme amount of abuse. Other markers don't compare.
-2 ball breaks out of 2,000 shots. Do you know any other gun with a better record?
Weaknesses: Um, the stock barrel is bad, because the balls may cure in different directions.
Also I would recomend that you get a new barrel.
This model is outdated. Get the newer Tippmann 98 Custom.

Conclusion: Very good gun. Its worth buying
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used the 98 custom, pretty much the same thing
Marker Setup: I have M98
Carbon Fiber Barrel
Venturi Bolt
Premium Spring set
20 and 9 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, i suggest carbon fiber barrel, its prolly the best barrel for the gun
Strengths: This gun shoots really straight, its prolly the best gun i have used myself. I think that its nice and quiet too. I love this gun.
Weaknesses: The handle in the front is placed alittle to far out, i dont like that, and it eats CO2 horribly, it usses way too much, thats y i got the 20 and the 9, i havta use both.
Conclusion: This is an amazing product for the price. if you get this gun, get upgrades, it makes the gun so much better. I give this gun a 9 because it is amazing for the price but there is a few setbacks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, pirahnas, raptors, avengers, angels, but none of them can really compare with this unless you wanna spend like over $1000
Strengths: Itis very durable mine hasn't broken anything yet. It has a very nice trigger pull lighter and shorter then antyhing else I have used. With the Flatline it has unbeatable range and accuracy. Very well priced It is way better then any autococker(then again most guns are) and I would say stock is about as good as a classic automag for a lot cheaper. I won't even mention it being better then all spyders because that should go without saying god I regret the day ever laying my eyes on a spyder.

Weaknesses: nothing that i saw, it doesnt look very good, i mean it is kinda ugly, but thats ok, the barrell that it comes with isnt the greatest but you can fix that, other than that it is a REALLY good gun for beginners or experienced players
Conclusion: it is a VERY good gun, just takes a little while to take apart and is ugly and the barell that comes w/ it isnt the greatest, but it makes up for that in the field, trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothin at all
Marker Setup: nothin but a fokus.cant find anything too upgrade except barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recommend a flatline barrel,r-t trigger,comp-air,and a elctronic kit.
Strengths: i luv the handle in the front and the feel.i also luv the light trigger and comertable feel it has too it.if something happens too it the only thing you have to do is practicly just leave it over time and it will fix itself.it has an army kinnda look.thats if you throw on a flatline barrel and a assult riffle sight rail.
Weaknesses: way way way too loud! but o well i usally play speedball were there is already lots of yellin and stuff goin out to even notis how loud it is.
but for bush paintball it gives away yer cover pretty fast.
Conclusion: i think this gun is perfect for noobs and experts.its pretty cheap and wicked awsome.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, piranah
Marker Setup: I have an expansion chamber, rear cocking setup, 12 volt revolution, remote system, gas through stock, double trigger, polished internals, and a 14" freak jr. barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately new barrel, otherwise good
Strengths: dependable, durable, and very easy to use. I have broken few balls with this gun, shy of being clumsy and dropping it. its a very nice starter gun or one for the experienced player too. there are all kinds of upgrades available for this gun making it better still.
Weaknesses: stock barrel
Conclusion: VERY nice gun. easy to use, easy to take care of, fun to play with. a perfect buy if I ever saw one. if you want a gun to go out and be perfect from the start, this isn't for you. if you want a gun you can customize to how you want to play, then this is a MUST buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel,Autococker
Marker Setup: Model 98 (regular not custom)
9 0z. tank
150 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel.32 degrees whisper.
Strengths: Light trigger pull
the stock barrel works good if ur velocity is about 175
cheap
doesnt leak C02
no chopped balls
on and on and on
Weaknesses: It's kinda too loud, so get a 32 degrees whisper barrel to put on it unless u really don't care. Sometimes it doesn't matter because it shoots real fast anyway with eating up C02 all the time.
Conclusion: Really good gun for anyone! Recomended completely.Best gun on the market.Get this gun not a Pirhana or JT.It's the best gun out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 5:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98 with flatline barrell.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom. CO2. Smart Parts "Big Daddy" 16" barrell. ProTeam Products expansion chamber. ProTeam Products HyperStar bolt. 20oz CO2 cylinder. ProTeam Products PowerFeed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a good barrell, the stock barrell stinks. Expansion chamber. HyperStar bolt. I polished the inside of the frame halves where the front & rear bolts travel and it increased the cycle rate and the accuracy because the front bolt doesn't drag on the sides anymore causing the balls to react adversely. Also get the ProTeam Products military style adjustable stock and run the CO2 from a remote.
Strengths: Extremely upgradable. Anything you can think of can be added to this marker by anyone with any knowledge of how to handle a wrench. The frame halves are set up so most upgrades are just dropin. It is accurate as anything available with a little tweaking.
Weaknesses: A little loud when firing.
Conclusion: I would buy this marker again. I may even buy me a second one just to keep a flatline barrell system on for when we play in an open field. I've seen one in action and it is amazing the accuracy and distance the balls travel when exiting the flatline system. Downside, when a ball breaks in the Flatline barrel the balls go crazy and the barrel MUST be squeegied.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media