paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, March 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is the only gun i have and that i will ever use. specially when i dumped about $1000 into this gun heh
Marker Setup: Tippmann m98-
custom flatline barrel system
polished internals
e-bolt
tippmann x-chamber
custom elbow
custom trigger
re-worked electronics
psycho ballistics billet power tube and front bolt
---------------
tippmann m98
reactive trigger
lapco bigshot
polished internals
milled gills
psycho ballistics x-core
psycho ballistics billet power tube and front bolt

various tanks of sorts
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything i have
Strengths: This is the best marker in the world from my point of view...so many thing you can add to this gun and its drop-dead beutiful with all the mods i have on this thing...the only thing thats bad is that...its just black...thats good in many respects but its just seems too stock sometimes....anything paint thats rps works great...they work wonderful in my barrels....
Weaknesses: you have to spend a lot of money to make your gun elite
Conclusion: good for noobs to experts, my first gun was a tippmann and im going to stick with tippmanns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QtRKoReaN Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
-Lapco Bigshot
-20oz CO2
-Stock Barrel
-200 Rnd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Drop Forward
Strengths: -Relyability
-Thoughness
-Upgradibility
-Consistancy
-Efficiency
Weaknesses: contrary to what people say, the stock barrel is not all that horrible. I shot around 2000 rnds through it, and yet to have a ball break. The accuracy isnt the best, but it really dosent matter that much because paintballs arent accurate to begin with.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out and dont know what gun to get, this is the answer to your question. If you are more experienced, it is still a good gun, but you might want to think about something better rather than upgrading the hell out of the tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crappy Stock Compact 2000 (not really similar)
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 with a
14 inch quiotriot barrall
9 vlt revy smoke
full boar rear cocking
32 deg red gel grips
vert bottle kit
Vigilante regulator red
Kapp drop forward with on/off red
red macroline kit
68ci/3000psi crossfire nitro tank
redz red tank cover for ^
32 deg 5 down harnees


Recommended
Upgrades:
New barral not a new venturi (it is just about the same as the stock one)
drop forward, grips, trigger, rocket cock or fullboar rear cocking, and a revy
Strengths: kind of acurate
shoots fast
i havent had a ball break yet with my barrel
good tippmann customer service they sent me a new elbow (mine broke) in like a day for free.
Weaknesses: Stock barral
gas hog
thats about it it is over all pretty good
Conclusion: it is very upgradeable
and i was gonna get a mag an national paintball but i seen the tippmann and i figured i could put a butload of upgrades on it





VERY GOOD!

i have beatin electros and real good semis with it! :-)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact- More Comfortable to use but has the worst quality.
Brass Eagle Stingray II- No comment
Marker Setup: Model 98 Classic with the Flatline and Brass Eagle Red-Dot Sight(don't laugh, the sight works good)
Recommended
Upgrades:
THE FLATLINE! If you own or are planning to purchase a Model 98 GET A FLATLINE. Its the best barrel available for it. Get a INTRUDER ASSAULT EXPANSION CHAMBER. They're pricey but my friends got one and I want it.
Strengths: -It's a freaking tank: I could throw this thing into a brick wall and it would still
work.
-Its reliable: I've used my gun roughly 40 times and I have never had one problem with it. Thats why you see so many paintball fields carry the Model 98 as a rental gun. Because it will never fail.
-Nice feel: The foregrip is a nice thing to have. playing for hours can put a damper on your wrists but this design keeps them from hurting. No need for a aftermarket grip either. The stock grip is better than a Dye Sticky.
Weaknesses: -The Clamshell Design: When I took the 2 halves apart the first couple fo times I thought I was disarming a bomb! If you wind up taking it apart DO IT OVER A TABLE. Dont loose any pins, especially the elbow latch spring behind the front sight button. It will pop right out and fly somewhere if you dont cup your hand over the area.
Conclusion: Taking it apart requires experience, so dont do it unless you have to. Read the manual if you wannas ee what the insides look like. Other than that the gun is a solid gun. If your not the kinda guy thats gonna play paintball once a week or more and play in every tournament on your coast then this is a good gun for you. Equiped with the Flatline Barrel System it is, in my opinion, the best woodsball gun out there. It's beefy, reliable, and can shoot far and around trees with the flatline.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder
m98 custom
any other semi
Marker Setup: model 98
J&J barrel
Dye boomstick
Dye ultralight
ADCO champ sight( dont use it much)
Expansion chamber
20 ounce tank
dye stickie grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
grips
if u got CO2 get expansion chamber
Strengths: extremely reliable!!!
works in all weather
easily upgradeable
accurate( with new barrel)
Weaknesses: not much
the custom is taking over the upgradeing market
stock barrel has no range
Conclusion: it is a great beginner gun and i will and have reccomended it to many people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI F-4
Cockers
Mags
Marker Setup: Tippman 98
ACI 6-stage
Venturi Bolt
Custom Products 16"
12V Java Rev
Shortened trigger
Daisy rifle sight (useless, but looks cool)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACI 4 or 6 stage (need vert. tank adaptor)
Any barrel upgrade.
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable- With the exception of the valve (warranty) has never broke
Great beginners gun, even though with upgrades can make this a great gun
Have only seen one broken (rear sight broke off, end cap no longer stays in) (can't blame the gun)
Weaknesses: Long (especially with 16" barrel and 20 oz) This could also be good for snipers
Heavy
Loud, has a very distinctive PING! This is greatly reduced with a bigger barrel
This gun can scare people into hiding with a short barrel ; p
Conclusion: Great beginners gun, can be upgraded to make a great marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider TL
Marker Setup: 98c with Psycho Ballistics drop forward, 20oz CO2, GTA double Trigger, Full Boar Rear Cocking System, GTA Raised Sight Rail, DYE 14" Ultralite barrel, Thunder Pig True Flight 16" Sniper Barrel, Stocker barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Psycho Ballistics drop forward, GTA double Trigger, DYE 14" Ultralite barrel, Full Boar Rear Cocking System, Low pressure Kit, Response Trigger, E-Bolt, Flatline barrel system,
Strengths: This Marker is sweet. I have a Tippmann Pro-lite, and you can't stop these markers. The are durable, and with the drop forward the weight is distributed pretty well. The Full Boar system covers the opening that the stock bolt pokes through, and doesn't let dirt and paint into that area. The screws are designed to allow you to oil through them. Both barrels a decent, but the DYE rocks. It's accurate, quite, and looks cool. This gun will run nitrogen out of the box, but you should upgrade to the low pressure kit, before you add that. The
Weaknesses: I'ts a little heavy, but not that big a deal to me. It is also a little loud, but again who cares..... I really don't have any real problems with this marker at all.


You don't have one yourself....
Conclusion: Buy IT now. sweet for those who are rec players, and want Tippy quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah (excuse my spelling) Spyders, Autococker (single Trigger)
Marker Setup: Xchamber, BSA red dot sight (better than those POS ADCO ones but you pay a little extra.) Of course the M98, 12' Quiet Riot Barrel, Responsive Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel .... definitely a new barrel. The stock barrel sucks and doesnt shoot far most of the time. When it decides to shoot far it breaks the balls. Response Trigger is pretty cool but its not a necessity.
Strengths: - Easy to maintain
- Inexpensive so u can spend more on paint andupgrades.
-ease of upgrading
- Durable
- Trigger pull is great despite what others say. i got a 12ga. shotgun and the trigger pull is 3lbs.
Weaknesses: -a little on the heavy side
- stock barre wont shoot cheap paint.
Conclusion: this is a tournament ready marker with a couple of upgrades here and there. I recommend this gun to anyone who wants a good durable gun thts inexpensive and you can get upgrades for if they want to go into a tournament. Great gun and a great price. Good job Tippmann!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used the Rebel LE and didn't like it because it was leaking CO2 so i traded for the Tippman 98.
Marker Setup: All Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have tried a few new barrels. I would go with a 12' barrel. I have used a 32 degrees whisper and i loved it.
Strengths: I have found just about everything good about this gun. The Tippman has a very short trigger pull and is very powerful. I use it for both long range and cqb. It is a all around great gun. Even with the 8' stock barrel it is very accurate.
Weaknesses: When you fire there is a little "ping" noise that it makes. That is about the only bad thing that i have found. But if you like to take you gun apart it is difficult to take apart but that is no big deal.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for beginners and advance players. That is why it is a perfect 10. This gun will fit anyone who wants to play the great game of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL, and spyder compact
Marker Setup: 32 degrees carbon fiber 12inch stainless
Recommended
Upgrades:
main problem is the stock barrel, 1 in every 5 curve so i suggest a 12 inch barrel 32 degrees carbon fiber stainless, very accurate.
Strengths: Gun is built solid like a "tank", Pretty good on CO2 compared to other guns, has nice look to it, shoots smooth. very rare for me to have a ball break. very reliable gun. never had problem with the gun, use it on average three times a week. on a 14oz co2 tank i get approx 850-900 shoots
Weaknesses: stock barrel is terrible, gun gets pretty heavy with bigger tanks and all accessories. slightly loud gun. GREAT PRICE
Conclusion: i recomend this gun to any body that wants a gun that will be ruged and tuff, none of that plastic crap. It is truly reliable, shoots well and conserves co2. Unlike the spyders i have used in the past which chop balls all the time this gun is powerful yet gentel with your balls. This gun is cheap and i believe not other stock gun of its price range comapers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media