paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann pro/carbine, diablo inferno, f4 illistrator,pirahana
the only stock or beginner gun that comes close to comparision is the Pro/Carbine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL 4 sure( stock barrel is POOP)
Strengths: This gun has endless upgrades. You can easily take a stock 98 and make it a competing turney level marker. This gun is the most durable gun on the marker. You can drop kick it, slam it, get it wet(reasonably), roll in dirt, use in hot and cold weather, throw it in your closet for years then bring it out and it will STILL WORK! Heavy duty. It'll last a life time! Most fields rent these guns so that tells you something.
Weaknesses: Little more complicated to take apart than a double chamber gun. This is what makes it so durable though. Stock barrel sucks. A little on the heavy side but don't be a girl.
Dont take out the valve screws on the back side unless you need to and know what u r doing. They are easily stripped because they are Lock-tighted in. I learned this the hard way on my first Mod 98.
Conclusion: As the Ninja Turtles would say RADICAL! it is durable and a great gun to start off with. I recommend this to you and your friends. Best on the market today. Not to expensive. Also, Tippmann has good customer service. its the tank of paintball markers.
I would give it a 11 but they wont let me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

josho Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro/Carbine
Marker Setup: Flatine ($120)
Starfire Bolt ($20)
Powerfeed ($40)
Expansion Chamber w/ Custom bottomline ($40)
Laser Sight ($30)
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs a new barrel, get a flatline if you can afford it. The bolt helps a lot too.
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, looks cool, durable and extremely upgradable
Weaknesses: its kinda big with the flatline barrel
Conclusion: I have poured a lot of money into my model 98 and it is far better than stock, If you wanna buy it from me i will sell it for $250. I need the money... bad. E-mail me! JoshKnobel@aol.com!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIPPMANN98C Saturday, January 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well i have used cocker angels spyder anything u say i have used ..but i guess a tippmann aint really similiar to any of those products i just mentioned but anyways i am a woods player i would use my Tippmann 98 over a cocker anyday of the week.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
*Flatline
*8 stage expansion Chmaber
*double trigger
*3 stage teloscoping stock
*Lapco Raized sight rail
*Rocket cock
*16" barrel
*4" speedball barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new F***ing barrel!!!! That is the first thing u do when u get this gun i dont care what else u get. Just before u even get a mask or a tank get a new barrel.That is how bad the stock barrel is on the 98. Get a Flatline or any other barrel. Also get ex-chamber double trigger or RT kit and ur set.
Strengths: Okay everything... if that is not specific enough for u
With a few minor upgrades its the farthest shooting most accurate gun on the field. Plus if u get a double trigger or RT kit u can keep up with the other guys with there 2000 dollar angels. You cant out shoot them but u can keep up with them. Also this gun is a F***ing tank u can run it over with a truck and u could pick it up and keep shooting u dont have to worry about braking this gun. AND dont gi'me that BS about it being plastic it is but this stuff is strong as steal.And here is a big Plus if u have a flatline and a stock u can walk on to ur local field and intimidate the SH*T out of all newbies. And one more thing for being able to shoot farther and keep up with angels on bps its a hella of a good gun for how much you spend
Weaknesses: I mentioned this before. The barrel is horrible i cut mine in half { 4"} and use it as a speed ball barrel It has the same accuracy for half the length
Conclusion: Now this is one of the best guns i have ever used!!, and i have used angels cocker e-mags all of those expensive peices of metal. now if ur looking for a durable gun that will never brake down and has lots of accuracy and distance and good speed by this gun. Plus it is so easy to put upgrades into this gun u have to be stupid not to know how to even the most complicated upgrade. So if ur short on cash and want t a quality gun that can compete on any level go for this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder-with 14 inch smart parts, with remote
Marker Setup: model-98 with 14 inch SP-progressive, 20oz tank, PB drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL 12+, drop forward
Strengths: the toughest gun ive ever seen- i was playing at my friends house and i triped over a root and dropped my 98 15 feet on a rock. My hopper was dead but i put a round in the chamber and it shot like nothin ever happened
Weaknesses: The barrel but u can get a new one for like 30
Conclusion: absolute best gun ive ever seen/used including the angel lcd, Recommened 4 ne-one who wants to play
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker, spyder shutter, the m98, and a pt extreme(side arm)
Marker Setup: ive got an m98 w/flatline, rear velocity ajuster, and 12v reve
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recomend you get a rear velocity ajuster because its a pain to change the velocity regularly.
Strengths: this gun is the most reliable gun ive ever used everybody says you sould get a new barrel but , you dont, just get some good paint like:pmi premium, nelsplat, team colors, brass eagle and nothing else.
Weaknesses: when u need to upgrade this gun it has to be sent in with some upgrades but, i have never sent it in
Conclusion: this gun is realy reliable every one has a problem with theirs but i dont .the stock barrel can almost shoot anything through it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

what? Saturday, January 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Clasic, TL (very upgraded)
32 degrees Rebel (very upgraded)
Piranha BL G3
Sheridan XTS
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, 16" barrel, 32 degrees delirn ventury bolt, Lapco rear velocity ajuster, vertical adapter, Pure enery inline regulator, CO2 Sometimes remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on how much you play and where you play. If your a speedball player get a reactive trigger of electronic triiger, ventruy bolt, barrel, if you play in the woods get a new barrel and deliron bolt.
Strengths: Out of the box it is a good gun. It is easy to sight with if you a sniper. Fairly good stock accuracy (alot better than a spider, rebel, pirranha and sheriden). Runs good on CO2. With a drop forward it has good ballence. VERY RELIABLE!! I havent had any problens with my gun that was the guns or manufacturers falt. Fairly simple machanical operation. Quieter than a spider or piranaha or rebel. Easy to find parts for.

!!!!!BREAKS VERY FEW PAINTBALLS!!!!! I am cheap and don't buy good paint. I have used everything from brass eagle, sheriden, 3 types of pmi, 3 types of diablo, zap winchester ect. In my year of playing I have only broken 2 paintballs. They were both winchester. It isn't beacuase i don't play alot. I play alot.

Fairly light. Lighter than a rebel.

With a new barrel it is very accurate.

Speed depends on how fast you can pull the trigger. The pull is pretty short and light. You will beable to shoot fast enough though.
Weaknesses: With a long barrel the gun is pretty long.
Sometimes you can feel the hopper wable a little. Not much. You only notice it while you arn't playing.
Tippmann pattens everything so parts are a few dollars more tha other guns.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner or recplayer get this gun. It is a better gun overall than a spider, rebel, piranaha and sheriden. If you do turnaments get an autococker or elecrtonic gun.

IF YOU ARE A BEGINNER OR REC-PLAYER GET THIS GUN. I HIGHLY RECOMEND IT. I will give it a 9.9 but they don't hev that option, so I'll give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Tricked out Mod. 98
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet (entirely stock), 9oz., VL 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, remove lower 1/2 of fore-grip (personal preference), drop-forward
Strengths: -Easily adjustable velocity
-Durable as hell***(no understatement, one of the most enduring markers I've used)

-reliable (velocity stays the same)
-has a Fore-grip
-Built in elbow (no more lost elbows)
-rarely breaks paint (even brass crap)
-compact
-Very, very customizable
Weaknesses: -A bit long without a drop forward
-bad stock barrel (8 in. isn't cutting it)
-built-in elbow rattles a bit
-makes a distictive metallic ping with every shot
-has occasionally un-cocked mid-firefight
-too much fore-grip
Conclusion: Excellent gun. I was playing and when I face-planted after unsuccessfully trying to jump a creek, despite all the mud in the barrel, it still performed wonderfully. Very compact gun, watched a six-year old use it with no difficulty. Barrel is okay but the gun performed much better when I paired it with a 14" Custom Products One Piece Barrel. All around beautiful weapon.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, 20 oz. Co2 tank, 14 inch J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel!
Strengths: This gun is a perfect entry level gun. For players that want to get a quality gun for a cheap price, this is it. It is perfect to learn how to clean and maintain a gun, without the fear of messing up a $300+ marker. Also, it is extremely durable and easy to play with.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is absolutely horrible! But don't worry, most stock barrels are bad anyways. This marker is kinda long already and adding a 14 inch+ barrel makes it even longer. Other than that, no complaints. Make sure you get a new barrel as soon as you can though.
Conclusion: If you're starting to play paintball, and don't want to use rentals, this is the perfect gun to purchase. You can find it at online stores from around $120-$150. I also recommend getting the 98 Custom rather than the Model 98, because they are the same price but the Custom allows you to upgrade in the future (e-bolt, reactive trigger, expansion chamber, etc....)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, pro lites, carbines, pro/carbine.
Marker Setup: Regular modle 98 not the custom with an expancison chamber and a 18 inch big dady smart parts barrel. a 12 volt revolution hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrle of some sort....... for winter play if you use co2 you should get an expancion chamber, and revolution hopper.
Strengths: Very tuff and reliable. my gun has shot with out one of the o rings for the rear bolt... lol Tippmanns have an awesome warrenty if any thing breaks on it just send it in and they will replace it. its good for beginners you can put a varity of upgrades on it.
Weaknesses: i think the worst thing bout this gun is how hard it is to take apart. and it chopps paint unless you have a rapid feeding hopper. i think its heavy and bulky.
Conclusion: Overall i think the modle 98 is a verry good gun, But i would recommend the tippmann pro/carbine over the 98.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chunn Thursday, January 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
the only other gun i used was a stingray II which wasn't that bad.
Marker Setup: so far just a PB double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger, barrel (maybe), and a dropforward and you're set.
Strengths: This is a great gun. So far i didn't have any problems with it. The stock barrel is good for speedball, for woods its not that bad. The durability.
Weaknesses: Everyone says the stock barrel sucks. Come on people it doesn't suck that bad. OK, back to the bad, so far no problems. Its a little long buts that's why they have dropforwards for.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone. Just take care of it and it'll be fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media