paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
kevbureau Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra, paradox.
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98,9 oz co2 botle
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barel, the grips(electronics), the double trigger
Strengths: Tippmann fiability,good aim
Weaknesses: He not very fast ... not much upgrade
Review: The Model 98 is the predecessor to the 98 Custom. It features all the core technology of the 98 Custom such as the CVX Valve, Clamshell design, and a True .45 Grip. The Model 98 can accept the Flatline Barrel System and the Comp-Air System with no complicated modifications. The E-bolt Electric System and The Response Trigger System can be retro-fitted to the Model 98 by the Tippmann Proshop, However, due to custom milling of the receiver, the marker must be sent in to the Tippmann Proshop.
Conclusion: This good for is first gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tppmmlvr!!! Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Pro-Carbine
-A-5
-Impulse
Marker Setup: -J&J Ceramic 12" barrel
-Empire Loader
-16 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock sux!!!
RT trigger
Strengths: Cheap!
Durable.
Good for beginners.
Weaknesses: Doesn't fire very fast &
hard to fieldstrip.
Review: If you are thinking of starting to paintball, the first gun you should get is this. It is very easy to maintain. It is a very good buy, standing at less than 200! It can take any sort of beating you give it. It is upgradable. And if you upgrade it right, it can waste away opposition in speed-ball and wood-ball(for the price =P).
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap, upgradable, reliable and accurate gun, the model 98 is for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 26th, 2004 at 9:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

panitballrules Saturday, August 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom/ E99/ Impulse/ it would take me forever to write them all
Marker Setup: Impulse with Vision eye 16" Ultralite barrle and Empire reloader B for a hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrle is a MUST like all guns DUH!!
Add the Response trigger trust me it will help
Strengths: Very durable Very Relliable
Nice and Quiet
good for newbies
Weaknesses: I dont think htere are any
Review: U iwyks suggest this gun for all bigginers, Its a very good gun to start learning how to play hte game. This gun is a gin that you know u can trust not to breeak on you during a game. clean up is nice and easy. At times this gun may chop balls but u thik about it what gun doesnt do it from time to time. CHANGE THE BARRLE a must do. So for short this gun is good and any of u newbies out there i sugest this gun for you i use it for two years and it did me good
Conclusion: This gun is a good gun for you newbies its duarble and wont give you any problems I thnk you would like it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent_Stalker5 Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: PRIMARY GUN
Tippmann 98
Flatline barrel system
Double Trigger Kit
Remote Line
Carbine Stock

SECONDARY
Core Zx 2k3 pistol
Ronin Gear Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
DOUBLE TRIGGER KIT
FLATLINE BARREL
Strengths: Durable, Reliable, Accurate, Cost Effective, Upgradeable (yes the 98 is upgradeable)
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great gun. It doesn't matter if i'm playing against a guy with an angel. It's the player, not the gun, but this gun definitely gives an edge. I use it primarily for sniping, but it's really great with assault. With my double trigger kit i can easily walk the gun and outshoot my hopper feeding. I'm a woods player and i've never used it indoors so i couldn't tell you how it is indoors. Outdoors however it is by far the best gun out there. I paid 200 for mine with a whole bunch of extra's and I don't think i'll ever switch. Sure the A-5 is there, but when i play against my friends with A-5's i usually waste them. Despite the fact that this gun shoots as fast as you can walk the trigger, I really haven't found the need to empty all my paint in a spray. I keep my number of shots down and go for the accuaracy. With the flatline installed, i can easily pick off a guy from 250 feet and even farther.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a good gun that isn't going to break the bank, this is the one. Even though it's not a custom, it's still fully upgradable thanks to our good friends at the tippmann proshop. They'll install just about any system they can into it. Buy this gun, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RatImp9 Thursday, July 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders/clones
Pirhanas
Marker Setup: 2k2 Rat Impulse
RIP Valve
Rat Hole hammer
ND Slick Shaft
Delrin Bolt
ANS LPR Jackhammer II
Blade Magnetic Trigger
Psychoballistics drop
68/3000 Compressed Air
Egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Diff. gun
Strengths: Reliable...doesn't break often
....
good beginner gun
cheap
you could do some upgrades
Weaknesses: not very accurate
slow
Tippmann
plastic hotness
Review: I used this a couple of times at a field where I didn't want to use my rat. They had sand all over the ground since it was indoor and I didn't want to hurt my imp. The tippmanns are reliable, but are horribly innaccurate and slow. I never did like the plasticness of tippmanns either, and when something breaks, its usually something that may not be very easy to fix (not like an o-ring or something). Its ok if you're renting it, but if youre gonna buy a gun, don't get this....at least get an A5 or custom 98....which are stilll...bleh
Conclusion: I'd reccomend getting something else because the plastic hotness of tippmanns are just too cool.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crazypunk2F Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of other guns
Marker Setup: c02 and a elctro hopper... forgot name
Recommended
Upgrades:
um response trigger.. flat line barrel.. double trigger,,,,
Strengths: its a very strong marker
Weaknesses: the trigger sucks
it CANT go over 150 feet like the website says
Review: ok... frist off.. the trigger sucks...u cant shot it that fast... it CANT GO OVER 150ft like the website says it can...i would say about 100 ft not 150... but other wise... the gun is okay.. its not awsome... but it dosent suck... the barrel is pretty lame,,, diffently get a flat line barrel... this gun is better for war games.. not speed ball or any thing eles... tippmann does make pretty good guns soo im gona give this gun a 5....
Conclusion: its okay
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8punk3d288 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator (A Little Worse)
Zap Amp (Equal)
Viewloader Triad (A Little Worse)
Viewloader Orion (A Little Worse)
Marker Setup: Zap Amp w/ a 9 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
No absoloutely necessary upgrades but if you got the $ get the M16 kit.
Strengths: Co2 Efficient
Accurate
Good Range
Easy To Clean
Customizable
Cheap
Weaknesses: Common
Review: This is a really good gun for most all players. I personally wouldn't like it because everyone else has one and I don't want to be like everyone else. If you don't want to customize it, it is kind of pointless to buy it. The gun is good but it does kind of feel like you are paying $50 for just the Tippmann name. As far as the gun, it fires well and is good for paintballers from newbs to experts.
Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you want but I would buy something like a Zap Amp for cheaper and it is the same quality gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paintass Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
Want to Upgrade...
Low Pressure Chamber Kit & Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Dead-on paintball Bullet Drop Forward
Tippmann Double Trigger
Ricochet Apache Hopper
32 Degree Whisper Barrel
Macro-line
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and Foremost A NEW BARREL!
Second a new Hopper
Then if enough money a Expansion Kit and a Low Pressure Upgrade
Strengths: -Durable
-Cheap (in cost)
-Fore grip
-Upgrade-ability
Weaknesses: -Heavy
-Recoil
-Big
-Have to send it to Tippmann, for upgrades (unlike the 98 Custom)
Review: First of all I chose Tippmann because I had no Paintball sense. I saw it on the shelf and saw it had a mask, a CO2 tank, and a cool look, (I thought that the other Markers looked stupid at that time)! I soon realized that my gun was durable and balanced (because of the fore grip) but it had poor accuracy, recoil, and there were other better guns out there. But I didn't care at the time!

It was not until recently that a friend showed me a paintball magazine that info on the Tippmann Markers and the other Markers out there, and this site. I think this marker has a 9.3--thats not bad--but not the best. But, I was looking at all the reviews and realized that this gun isn't to bad. Not a Pro-Marker! But not a Brass Eagle or something like that!

So, I decided that I would upgrade to a 98 Custom with a response trigger and go from there! And thinking that I could still use this guns in Amateur 5-man Tournaments around my neighbor in Maryland. And give Tippmann the name it deserves, you know!

This gun I used in woods-ball and it is great, its durability make it great! And the many times I have played, I never had to dissemble it (though one of the screws came out that connected the bullet on/off to the grip, but I just got a knew one and has never happened since).
Conclusion: So, if you want a gun that is durable, a great entry or mid level marker, with the Tippmann Name beyond it, don't go to the A-5, it is expensive and the the Model 98 or the 98 Custom is the Most Upgradeable Marker Out There! So, you can personalize it to your fitting pleasure!
I hope that I helped you chose your First or Next Marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Meyers1 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none compared to tippmann
Marker Setup: 2001Angel led
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would get a dye excell barrel for this gun, since the gun is heavy that will take some weight off of it. Also an expansion chamber and drop forward(long one)
Strengths: Extraordinarliy reliable, almost never brakes paint
Weaknesses: I know its a beginner gun and all but its slow...sorry.
Review: The tippmann model 98 is a great gun. I would reccomend it to anyone getting into paintball. The gun is awesomely reliable, mine survived more slides and rocks and dirt than any gun should be exposed to. Thick anno job makes it hard to scratch also. after all the abuse i put to mine it still looke new the day i sold it....almost. have fun shooting :)
Conclusion: Definately buy this product if you want to get into the sport of paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

talitubby Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
all spyder clones
a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98 (silver)
teardrop barrel
more upgrades to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (no rush)
electronic hopper
Strengths: never chops
no problem with velocity
its a tippmann what else do you need
Weaknesses: really loud (kind of kool though it scares the sh*t out of your enemy)
Review: this gun is awsome. out of 4 or 5 casis of paint not one ball chopped. one time i was playing at a local field where these newb kids were playing. When i strapped on my tank and checked my velocity, the kids just stared in amazement plugging there ears begging to be on my team. excluding the noise level of this gun, it looks very intimidating. with a few scenario parts, you could have this gun looking like a real m-16 or m-4 assault rifle!!! let me tell you right now there is nothing more scary then going in to play and seeing one of those scenario guns on the other team.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN!!! GET IT NOW!!! DO NOT HESSITATE!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media