paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98 / Tippmann Model 98

Tippmann Model 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Model 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Model 98
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 557
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The model 98 is an entry level gun for a good price.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Model 98 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
PlayToWinOrDie Tuesday, January 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
some pirhana
spyder rodeo
tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: tippmann model 98 and other upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
Throw out the stock barrel, it's garbage. Get a nitro tank, but first replace the barrel.
Strengths: rugged, dependable, customizable, cheap price, GREAT GUN!!!!
Weaknesses: stock barrel - terrible
That's about it.
Review: The most dependable gun on the market. I throw this thing around, step on and it won't break. I havn't lubed this thing since I bought it, and it shoots like new. I recomend buying a new barrel as soon as possible, the stock barrel is scrap metal. Getting a nitro tank would help the gun's already great performance. This gun is great for wood ball, and efficient for speed ball. If you play speed ball it is a good entry gun, but I recomend getting an autococker later on.
Conclusion: Great gun, it is well worth the price. Even if you don't take care of it (you should anyway)
it will perform well for years. Needs some replacements, but what gun doesn't. I'd recomend this gun to anyone who enjoys the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

biothreat Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyders, other Tippmann models, M3 guns, JTs, Viewloaders and Brass Eagles
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98, 12 inch Smarts Parts one piece All American, stainless steel braided remote line with slide check, realtree 4+1 harness and 20oz co2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I saw a pretty decent difference over my stock barrel using the All American.
Strengths: Sturdy design, takes a world of abuse and keeps on tickin'
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is a tad short, but still works none the less.
Review: I have used several different markers that are on the same playing field as a Tippmann but mine still comes out on top. Mines not excessivly upgraded either. In fact the only thing I have on there that's really a performance upgrade is my barrel. Everything else is just comfort upgrades. I've used this gun for a remarkably long time and it hasn't for one second crapped out on me. In the past I have gotten my hands on friends Kingman Spyders and Spyder clones but everything feels so cheaply made. I was in a game using my friends upgraded Spyder Shutter for one game (it was a capture the flag) and right at a key moment the cupseal blew on the thing. I was incredibly frustrated by this situation. I haven't left my Tippmann since. I highly recommend it for everybody even if you own a $1k marker, this would still make an excellent backup. There are a number of kits and parts available for it to make it more like a "tournament" style gun and those are great. But it shoots amazing with everything completely stock. The stock barrel isn't even really that bad. Before I got my tippmann way back in the day I tried my friends Model 98 with the response trigger, and -I kid you not- his Tippmann with a stock barrel had tighter groupings on a mask from 70 feet than my friends Shocker with a 14 inch all american and a max-flo regulator.
Conclusion: This gun gets an A+, I've had some outstanding games with this gun and I'd hate to try anything else!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

edogt98 Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Model 98 with 14 inch Xcel barrel with 12 oz. tank and 45 or 200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
My 98 was almost as good as it needed to be right when I got it. Although, it does need a longer stock barrel.
Strengths: Almost bullet-proof strength and durability. Only a few ball breaks over past 2 years.
Weaknesses: Some fluctuation of fps once set.
Review: This is the best gun I know. Chances are that I probably will never use another semi other than the 98 itself. No gun I know can top it at all. This is the strongest and most durable marker out in the world today. I have only had a few balls break over 2 years, but most of those were due to the fact that I wasn't paying attention and shooting the corners of the bunker I was behind. You could spend $1,000 on an Angel and get better results with a 98 and get your money's worth and not come close to the durability and strength a Tippmann has.
Conclusion: For it's money, you can get alot more than you paid for in anything else. And it's deffineately worth it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 12th, 2004 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Autocker2 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most Spyders / any other low end semis
Marker Setup: Dusted Silver System X Type-X, Eblade, Empire Reloader, Full 12" freak w/ stainless steel inserts and stiffi front, worrblade bolt, evo ram, Palmer Micro Rock, Chrome Flame Drop(32 degrees), and Crossfire tank

AGD ReTro Valve
AGD LEVEL 10 AGD Flatline 68ci/3000 tank black AGD powerfeed right body
black AGD Intelliframe w/blade trigger linked to 12v Revy
black 12v Revy
black DYE stickies
full 12" freak stainless steel inserts stiffi front
black KAPP non-gas through foregrip
System X On/off drop

Tippman:
Nitro kit, response kit, boom stick, system x on/off drop, Rear Cocking, Ak rickochet
Recommended
Upgrades:
I dunno what ever floats your boat you can pretty much do anything to this gun, OH BUT DEF GET A BETTER BARREL
Strengths: IMPOSSIBLE TO BREAK, Accurate when you get a longer / better barrel, easy to field strip
Weaknesses: havnt found any so far, sept maybe the stock barrel
Review: This gun is amazing for newbies to start w/. this gun can have almost anything put on it and it has some outstanding Upgrades and its a good scenerio gun if you play a lot of them. Its also made by TIPPMAN which is a very good company and knows what they are doing.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are just starting out its only 100-120$ and its great for the price / if your looking to deck a gun out this is the gun for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfanatic57 Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spider imagine, spider agressor, spider AMG lcd, impulses, response tippman
Marker Setup: M98 w/ vertical adapter deadon drop and expantion chamber 16" nite stick barrel
double trigger macro line halo TSA backmen LED clear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Im planning on gettin lowpressure system black magic regulator 45ci 4500psi n2 tank on/off cradle freak barrel system and response trigger dye sticky grips in addition to what i have now
Strengths: very rugged barley ever breaks balls customizable cheap
Weaknesses: stock gun is not so great needs a new barrel hard to field strip
Review: this gun is a good beginners gun and is also great for experienced players.. this gun can keep up with much more expensive guns when upgraded. extremely durable and will rairly break down. the upgrades for this gun are easy to install by yourself. Theres not much more i can say its just a good basic gun
Conclusion: This is a good gun but it needs a new barrel the most. it is also hard to take apart unless you have done it alot no gun is perfect so that is why im giving it only an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b1gf00t88 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Maybe the A-5- it's a little better and also more expensive.
Marker Setup: everything stock, except a 20 oz. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
anti-siphon tank and/or expansion chamber
Strengths: VERY reliable.
Nice front grip its easier to hold the gun.
Weaknesses: a little heavy
barrel stinks a bit.
Pretty loud.
Review: Well i got this two days ago, and played in my friend's backyard with it. I turned the velocity quite a ways up until it felt comfortable. Contrary to popular belief, with Blaze paint this was a very accurate gun. From 50 (I measured) feet i could hit a fiberglass stick within 3 shots. However, i do not know why this is so but if you get any paint, dirt, or anything at all on any of the balls they spin in weird ways and obviously could break in the barrel. I mean i could understand a little bit off target for a speck of dirt but these things dove a good 45 degrees to the left, right, up, spiraling, down, and all around. You might know this already, but putting broken paint into the hopper is a no-no. Supposedly the J&J ceramic is nice.
Well enough about barrels- I really don't care how heavy the guns is as long as it shoots well and shoots straight. Also, the front grip is spaced pretty far away from the rear which makes this thing very easy to carry for a tall person with longish arms like me.
To open this thing up you need to take out about 6 screws (in the manual they say to take off the grips, the tank adapter, and the hopper- just loosen the tank adapter bolts and press on the front sight and pull back on the hopper to take it off.) I was amazed to see such simplicity for the inside, probably why it works so well. Oh and when you take it off make sure you take the little rubber nubbie off of the bolt and leave the bolt uncocked or else you might lose the sear. When you do take it apart make sure to oil all of the moving parts and don't tighten the bolt up by the front sight too much or it won't let the front sight come up again.
As for gas consumption, this thing fairs average as long as the velocity is set right, as mine was set too high and dry co2 kept flying out. I still got about 1000 shots on the 20 oz. and not even 500 on the 9 oz. (I wonder why). I had to use my friend's 12 oz. after that. So if you get the gun with a 9 oz., get a 20 oz. on top of that it's definitely worth it, and probably even better to get an anti-siphon tank which is around $50.
The m98 has an awesomely short trigger pull, and it's pretty light too. It isn't a double trigger although i always thought those were better but it really has a nice rifle feel to it. The gun is normally loud from the bolt, which makes a nice "tink" sound when you shoot it. It isn't a fast shooter, but as long as you have accuracy you can beat anyone at all, so you don't need that Angel what not (although we had autocockers on my team).
Oh, and by the way, for those of you who do think this gun has horrible stock accuracy, I can agree with you except for the fact that I beat my friend's spyder in an accuracy test (he would shoot at something 10 times to hit it then i would hit it in the first 2 or 3 rounds). Just keep your balls and your gun clean... it don't sound right but you know what I mean.
Conclusion: If you can think of the difference between a commercial vehicle and a privately owned vehicle, then you can think of the difference between the m98 and a regular pball gun. The m98 doesn't have much anything fancy to it, but it lasts a long time. I give it a 10 out of 10 because not only does it last a long time, but, of course, you can later customize it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chaos567 Saturday, January 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 vertical feed autococker
98 custom
pro/carbine
Marker Setup: stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, perfect as it is
Strengths: everything, accuracy, range, tourny level
Weaknesses: none, i coulnt really find any, maybe a new barrell but no biggy
Review: If you want a good gun at its price then get cause its a really good gun. Its accurate, good consistency, never chops, has good range and everything a good gun has. There has been nothing bad about it..................................Its a tippmann, it has to be good. GET THIS GUN, ITS REALLY GOOD
Conclusion: Get this gun, its really good, its a Tippmann so it has to be good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

syphonsnipe Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: i use m98c silver with a flatline, proteam sniper f/x stock, silver polished compression chamber, remote, 20 oz co2, some mask i finded in the dumpster, and a 15x scope
Strengths: everything except....
Weaknesses: STUPID FEILD STRIPPING!!! almost impossible
Review: it good, but my valve broke when i was about to have a 6 hour fun time of playing paintball. :(((((( I shot a target from like 200 ft away, it was the size of an apple, i shot a spectar three times (hey i thought he was playing!), i shot a ref in the groin the blameded it on my friend. ITS ACURRATE!!!. and its cheap as heck.
Conclusion: IT OWNZORS BUY IT NOW OR THE TIPPMAN FAERIE WILL KILL YOU!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

agt89 Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
first god gun used
Marker Setup: piranah ext 2k3, 14'' j&j ceramic, 9 volt revy, two 20 oz pure energy co2 tanks, 32 degrees stickys, Shocktech Piranha Delrin Venturi Bolt, the list goes on
Recommended
Upgrades:
its good for a beginer, strongley recomend a new barel, it will help ur accuracy ALOT
Strengths: simple to use and clean, perfect stock gun for a newb.
Weaknesses: definately the barel, but how many stock barels are good?
Review: its an all around great gun at a perfect price. you can take it apart, clean and oil it no problem. my friend had his for 2 years and didnt oil it once and never had a problem with it. the only thing is the barel, but its not a big problem, there are so many good, cheap barrels. personally i suggest a j&j ceramix (cheap and accurate). perfect for anyone, even if you want to become a serious player, you could upgrade the tippmann instead of going for a high-end, expensive gun
Conclusion: its a great fun, i'm gonna give it a 10, even if your a beginner and you dont want this gun, look at some other tippmans
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kyng kajun Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro carbine and the 98 custom
Marker Setup: pretty much every thing is stock but the barrel. the stock one does ok but i got a jandj barrel for which is a bit better- i usually play with a spyder elite
Recommended
Upgrades:
for one a new barrel and maybe a combustion chamber
Strengths: fairly light, accurate, affordable($130), and foremost it will never break down
Weaknesses: N/A
Review: this is a great marker. it is built to last-all you need to do is keep it oiled. i know you might be having some questions on my liability on that ive onlly had it about 6 month. my cousin had it before i did and i saw what he did with it and did the same. the over all guns is simple to opperate but there is a draw back. when you want to clean the thing there is a million springs and a lot to lose so be carefull when taking apart.
Conclusion: this is a great gun for the price. the performance is great and its reliable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (56):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media