paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $66

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound Activation Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 210+ ball capacity
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
HC/DC Paintball Wednesday, February 2nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed hoppers
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra ACS '05
Halo TSA LCD
EXALT speed feed
20oz Co2 (Soon to be 50ci 4500psi Ninja HPA)
Strengths: Shot Count
Durability
Weaknesses: Low Feed Rate
Not good for faster shooter
Inconsistent
Review: I'm going to be honest, I want to like this hopper more than I do, It could be so much better though. The feed rate isn't consistent, and it's not exactly "upgradeable."

I use this with my spyder electra, and it works fine for the full auto mode, (13bps) and I've never chopped a ball in full auto mode. however, in semi auto, when I'm hitting 20 bps, it just doesn't cut it. someday when I'm finished upgrading my gun, I'll get a DYE Rotor, because I'm extremely impressed with it, but until then, I'll continue to use this. Don't get me wrong it's a great hopper, but not for speedball and faster shooters.
Conclusion: It's a great hopper, and it would be wonderful for woodsball, but don't get it for speedball, save up and get a used DYE rotor or HALO B.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggerhappy411 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
eggy 2
gavity?
quantium
Marker Setup: Ion
360 QEV
freak jr
adjustable feedneck
on/off
nitro duck compressed air tank
halo b

Strengths: Sound activation( adjustable!)
Holds a fair amount of balls
15 bps
Weaknesses: Easily tostable motor
Sucks batterys
Review: OK, so i picked up one of these for my ion out of pure necessity. I don't know if you have ever tried to shoot a fast gun with pds with a gravity hopper, But ill tell you its not fun. After the day was over, i did a drop test( fill it with paint, turn her on, and start knocking on it, with out gun) just to see what the bps was, after hitting about 16 i believe, i was satisfied for only considering it was only $60.
Next time i played with it i learned i needed new batteries, so i picked them up and threw them in there. Here's where things to a turn for the worse. The motor got toasted and my paint balling day was over. After returning it to the shop owner who offered to get it fixed by the warranty, it was back in action.

So its not a bad hopper at all, just the small part that would fix the whole battery mix and match problem is only a fraction of a cent, and would save the company big $$$, but hey i don't own Odyssey.
Conclusion: If you need a quick and cheap hopper go for it, just dont mix batterys
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 31st, 2007 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DrEmmerich Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Marker Setup: EBladed 03 Prostock

Stock class Phantom, backbottle, 45 grip.
Strengths: Price
Capacity
Looks
Tilt sensor
Screen
Weaknesses: Shell is brittle
Review: For a bit more detail

Strengths:
Price, I bought mine used but they are quite cheap these days.
Capacity, at 220 rounds it can carry enough balls to get me through a couple games and that's all I ask.
Looks, even being as large as it is it doesn't present that big of a profile from the front and it looks very nice to my tastes.
Tilt sensor, I like this. Even when I was leaning my marker almost sideways with only a couple balls left it managed to scoop those balls up and feed them regardless which way I leaned. Small thing but it does work well.
Screen, I personnally think every electronic marker should have a screen so having one on my hopper too is nice. Not something I use often but if you like keeping track of time/shots etc it's handy. It really comes in use for settings such as whether you're using an open or closed bolt marker, motor speed, duration, sensitivity, etc.


Weakness: Shell. Doesn't feel anywhere near as thick as my HaloB. My Backman was used and has a couple cracks but still hold together, and a friend who has the same hopper needs a new shell. Not too bad but maybe more fragile than others.
Conclusion: All in all I think it's a great hopper. It's obviously not as fast as a force fed hopper like a HaloB or Vlocity but it's also less than half the price. It'll keep up in semi fine unless you have some pretty quick fingers.

I'm going to give it a 9 as a thicker shell would be nice. I think it's the best in it's price range though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robh757 Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
loader with the x board.
Marker Setup: automag
Dye ultralite
double trigger
halo tsa backman
custom products gas through grip
Dye drop forward
Strengths: Tilt rotation
Weaknesses: Don't really see any
Review: Why buy a loader that can load 25 balls per second when you can only shoot 10 to 15. I have had a while to get good at making the automag spit out paint and i have to say that it's rare to have a ball chop because of the loader. I don't have the lvl 10 or anything, it's just that i have never had a problem with the loaders. Now i will say that if you have a gun that can shoot faster then 15 balls per second you shouldn't even be looking at this review because you need to just spend the money for the best.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend the product to anyone with any sense and doesn't want to just go to the field to waste paint. 15 balls per second is fast enough, considering it only takes one to do the job. If you have to make up for your inaccuracies by throwing paint then it will cost you in both paint and equipment. Of course this doesn't apply to speedball players, but i only like woods ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duave Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity hopper, Revolution
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Response trigger, Palmers Stablilizer (High Pressure), 12 inch dye boomstick, DOP drop forward with on/off, and a Halo TSA Backman LCD, 98 custom pro-seal, Dark Horizion Titanium Hammer (Model 1000)
Strengths: Ease of use, magnetic door, deflects some shots
Weaknesses: Heavy when loaded
Review: This hopper is a well designed hopper. It is easy to clean, feeds fast, and has a nice magnetic door. The door will actually close if you get it close, which is a good thing (I snapped it close to closing a few times while reloading in combat and it just closed). The sound activation does have one benefits. When your reloading, if you close the door and open it the paddle will activate. This can usually allow me to squeeze in a few extra shots. It is heavy when loaded, but it does hold an extra 10% more balls, so its kind of a trade off. The body does deflect shots, its been hit quite a few times and so far its deflected them, and shows no signs of wear.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend it. I never rate a 10, so this gets a solid 9. Great hopper, great price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jleav Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200
the egg
Marker Setup: piranha gti
14'' barrel
pure energy 20oz co2/ nitro tank
halo tsa lcd backman
Strengths: Sound activation
Tilt sensing
Options
220 balls
Weaknesses: Difficult to empty compared to an egg after a game
2 9 volt batteries
Review: Tilt sensing (balls are always directed towards the feed hole)
Options (closed bolt/open, sensetivity, motor speed, motor duriation etc.)
Not always running like others good battery life, limits your choped balls, it holds 220 balls, perfect for ball hogs like me. Some say its too big but i find that it is an even trade off for the capacity. It really sits balanced, feed tube is wider than an egg.
Conclusion: If you have an electronic marker and shoot fast I would recomend a halo tsa
this product gets a nine out of ten b/c nothing is perfect and it tough to empty after a game

please feel free to post a comment about this review
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion Warrior Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just my A-5 Cyclone
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder Imagine or Smart Parts Ion
Strengths: Cheap
Pretty Fast
Weaknesses: Bulky
Heavy
Review: It is fast enough for its price. If you own a high-end this probably isn't going to keep up, but it works fine for me. It is pretty heavy, though. I've heard that these break a lot, but I haven't had any problems yet. I like the sound activation and how the paddle rotates the opposite direction so it's always feeding the balls the right way.
Conclusion: If you don't have much money and you'll be shooting 10-13 bps, this is good for the price.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse player Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy with z board
Halo B
Empire reolader
Marker Setup: Smartparts impulse
Eggy with zboard
clamp feedneck
Stock barrel
4500psi/92ci
Smartparts asa drop on/off
Blade trigger Magnetic
Strengths: The halo backman is not expensive
Weaknesses: You pay for what you get
Review: The Halo backman when i got it was fine but after a lil bit it started acting really stupid. I turned it on but then it kept on restarting itself by turning on then off on and then off. I just got ticked and bought another hopper. But when it did work it was a fine hopper and everything but i only used it 3 times and it was junked up. I tried to fix the problum i took apart the hopper and i looked at the board in it and the board looked fine and it still had that problum.
Conclusion: If you dont have much money and want to get this fine all my other freinds have it and it works fine but for me im giving this hopper a low grade from what i had.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spion182 Friday, October 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Backman LED
Egg 2
Halo B
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Pure Energy 72 ci 3000 psi tank
Halo Backman Hopper
Virtue Board
Warrior Lowrise Feedneck
Strengths: Decent price
light weight
looks cool
good speed
holds 220
Weaknesses: Battery hog!
Review: Good, decent priced hopper that goes 15 bps. It hold 220 and is a good weight. It runs on 2 9 volts and uses them!

go with an eggy2 or 3. nothing else to say, but that its not bad, or anything special. great for newbs or intermediates. s fs fsd fsd fsf ds fs fs f sf g hshmrsmert v y ewkyttjqtmqymw qwrq tqeryq tyq e rtq ter te tert re tre r6w 64 6 36u 7i8i tj a fw hj.
Conclusion: Alright if you dont mid buying batteries
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Peter31193 Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Evlution 2 w/ y board (much better)
Revolution (little worse)
Marker Setup: Spyder tl-r
20 oz co2
Diablo tsa backman lcd
Strengths: Fairly fast
Looks pretty cool
Holds ALOT
Magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Loud
Kind of big
Screen a little confusing
Shuts off acasionaly
Review: I only used this hopper for one game for the timer (my friends hopper) and it was all right. It can't really compare with my evlution 2 but it isn't bad. When we were playing, the screen wouldshut off after about 5 mins but the hopper would still work. It's also kind of loud. It does hold alot of paint wich means it's big and i'm a frontman so i didn't like that so don't get this just for the amount of paint it holds. All in all i would say it is a pretty good hoper for it's type.
Conclusion: I would recomend this for beginer to intermediate players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media