paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $66

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound Activation Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 210+ ball capacity
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
-[PH]- ronnie c Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a5 cyclone feed hopper- draws paint like a magnet
halo b- used on my 'cocker
Marker Setup: 2k5 prostock cocker with 68/4500 carbonwrapped and halo b
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: well my freind got a new spyder electra for christmas and asked me what a good fast hopper would be b/c he planned to rip. i told him empire reloaders and halos were good. i meant the halo b but 2 days after christmas he shows up at the field with this thing. my first thought was that it was some kind of richochet b/c of the shape but i saw the halo sticker and was instantly curious. the first day it worked great. 2 weeks later when we go to play again the thing wont turn on. we switch the 9volts. nothing. i replaced it with 6 AAAs like the manual says and nothing. i turned the batteries around and nothing. i smacked it with the back of my hand. it turned on. i dont know wtf was wrong but it worked when i hit it. it worked for the rest of the day. 2 weeks later we go out again, and the same problem occurs and the same solution works. this time i switched my halo b for this back man. it fed about the same(i have a mech cocker so i cant get fast enough to outshoot a halo anyway) except it uses a rotating bar unlike the halo b's feeder. the way the hopper is shaped also makes it look like it will deflect a shot the way richochets are supposed to but i never got hit in the hopper so i couldnt tell. i didnt much like the lcd screen though. sure it has cool features like the shot counter and the feed rate and the sound activated feed but i dont think i ever once looked at it during a game. in my opinion if they got rid of the lcd screen and put a little button and a flashing light like the halo b has itd be much better.
Conclusion: Its a good hopper and works just as well as my halo b, although i still prefer the b over this. if they replaced the lcd screen with a setup like the b has then i might want one. until then ill stick with the b. ill give it a 8 b/c of the problems i had with it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stonyzims Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/ response trigger, halo tsa backman loader, 14 in Smart Parts progressive barrel
Strengths: Sound activated
Tilt sensor
Holds a lot of balls
Magnetic lid
Weaknesses: Big target
Review: I needed to get an electronic loader because i kept chopping balls with my stock hopper(usually at least once a game). i looked at a number of of different agitated loaders including the empire reloader 2 and the VL revolution. After researching i finally decided on the TSA. im so glad i did. Since i bought it i haven't chopped a single ball. My paint is always ready to go. I love the magnetic lid. I don't have it popping open in games cause i didn't get it shut tight anymore. While it is rather large it does hold a ton of balls. I also enjoy the shot counter function.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this hopper for all the reasons mentioned above.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iPoon Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Egg
Gravity
Revy
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS with J&J Ceramic 14'' Barrel, SPPS Dragon's Tail Magno Trigger, T-Switch, Halo TSA LCD Backman Hopper, Dye Sticky 3 Grips, Pure Engery 20oz Co2 Tank with On/Off Valve, & 32 Degrees Spring Kit
Strengths: Shell is pretty strong. Feeds fast.
Weaknesses: Feedneck part is weak.
Review: This feeds fast. You would need a loud marker. It's a bit big, but i like it. It holds a lot of paintballs. It's big so it gets shot a lot. My shell is still intact. I never chopped a ball with this yet. I think the newer ones have stronger shell, because everyone says their shell is really weak, but mine isnt. Revolution is a good beginner's hopper, this is too, if you can find it for a good price. I got mines off a friend for $25 and these go for $55 new.
Conclusion: I recommend it if u have a loud marker, but if you dont, dont get it. Good luck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sharkbait11 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Marker Setup: Whisper barrel, diablo mongoose 2, halo backman hopper
Strengths: Fast loading, nice screen
Weaknesses: Breakable
Review: Overall its a great hopper, the LCD makes it easy to calibrate your hopper so it can be set to a setting that you like. I use this hopper for many differant task's. Scenario, hyperball. I love this hopper it hasent broke for me yet, and i like all the features it comes with. Now all they have to da is make it a color screen and it will be perfect.
Conclusion: Great hopper, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rocker33 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader evo 2
empire b
halo b
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion-
halo b,
tech T L6 bolt ,
Virtue green eyes,
Virtue QEV,
Virtue board,
Freak ss back,
aa front,
ss inserts,
cp slingblade trigger,
cp shorty reg,
freak grips,
max flow,
Strengths: strong
LCD giving info on ur game
tilt technology
Weaknesses: None
Review: This hopper is a great one for woods ball. It feeds to slow for x ball games. i figured it feeds 8-10 bps it was way to slow for me and my ion so i had to upgrade to a halo b. if ur looking for another hopper i would say the viewloader evo 2. it has a great price for 60 bucks and is force fed. this forces the balls not just cycling them. BIG DIFFERENCE. the evo also can feed 19 bps. spending an extra 10 dollars would definitly be worth it IF ur looking for speed. The backman is definitly a good size for woods ball, for it's large ball compasity of over 220 balls it would give u a goood advantage if ur playing with ppl without packs on.
Conclusion: I would recommend this hopper for woods ball only. it is too slow for airball. the next step up is the veiwloader evo 2 for only 10 dollars more and almost 9 bps faster.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 7:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fresh769 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/ rip
Empire Reloader B
Eggy
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed- Blue
Check It Uni 2- Blue
Kapp Volumizer- Blue
CP Reg Adaptor- Black
CP Reg Long- Red
Freak Barrel- Red and Black
Crossfire 68/3000 HPA

ION
Red Body Kit
Critical RPM Trigger- Red
CP long Reg- Red
CP 16" classic barrel- Black
Max Flow Micro
Smart Parts 68/4500 Max Flow tank
NDZ QEV
Q-Lock Feed Neck- Black
Strengths: Magnetic Lid
Price
Looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I bought this loader because I thought it would be a good fit with my ION, I was wrong. First of all it could not keep up, then I was using it for only the second time and some paint gets on the board, and it just stops working, it still turns on, but the paddle doesnt work. Now I just ripped out the paddle and board so it is just a good looking gravity hopper. It was a waste of money, but I only paid ~$60 so it wasn't that bad.
Conclusion: Dont buy this hopper unless you have a low end electronic marker or a high end mechanical marker. I guess if it doesn't break on you it would be good for the price.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pika198 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B w/rip
Empire b2
eggy 2
Marker Setup: spyder imagine and ion
Strengths: nice for 60 bucks and holds TON of paint
Weaknesses: LCD screen is weak and shell broke and board broke
Review: I was playing last saturday at a tourney and i was testing my fps and i shot and bam the battery shell broke off and cracked the board....i was deeply mad but now i have a halo b so it is fine! it fell once and it broke the front but ya just go with a halo b its wayyyyyy better
Conclusion: Buy it for weaker markers and dont get if u have an ion or better because it loads slow and breaks easily
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ksdoc18 Sunday, May 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap mach 404, gravity hoppers, tested an egg.
Marker Setup: Sp ion with pink kit and 47/3k tank, halo tsa backman and a cp micro drop, back up is Spyder xtra with acs delrin bolt 16 in SP progressive barrel 12 oz and 20 oz co2 tanks...
Strengths: Tilt sensing
Fast
Sound activated
Quiet
Shot counter
Game timer
shape
Weaknesses: Dual 9v batteries
shave feed neck on ion
Review: I needed a new hopper since my zap was falling apart. It litterally was held together with electrical tape. so i went to my shop, and saw a halo b and the eggs, and then there was the tsa. i wasn't sure weather i should go for the egg or the tsa since they're only $10 in difference so i went with the tsa for the reasons that 1) the screen was a bonus, and 2) others that i've played with had eggs and i wanted to be different. so i got the tsa. the only downside was that clear was all they had but i've seen others dye their own hoppers at home and smoke them. So i got it. And i'm impresed. It has a game timer and a shot counter so i can tell how much paint i use. it's pretty awesome. and it keeps up with my ion. so yeah. the only thing i had against it is that it uses 2 9v batteries, which meant i had to get some more, and i'm not sure how long they'll last. the other was that i had to shave my feed neck for my ion, but i'm getting a q-loc for it on friday. also, it's shape kind of deflects balls from the front unlss you hit it right on the nose or from the side.
Conclusion: so a hopper for under $100 that can keep up with an ion? It's good. Get one, i promise you'll like it. 9 because it isn't force feed and the sanding.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mynameisryan Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Compared to a regular non agitated loader, this is way better
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot acs
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic barrel
Halo tsa lcd backman smoke
Strengths: Strong material
Fast
Easy to use
Weaknesses: None that i have found
Review: This hopper is very nice if you need to shoot 13 bps (this is as fast as gravity can feed). This after all is a gravity fed loader and it pushes the balls to the hole and the gravity pulls the balls to the bolt and the marker fires.

Anyways back to the point, this loader keeps up with 13 bps, but remember to turn it on otherwise you will find yourself dryfiring.
Conclusion: Once again this loader feeds 13 bps max, it is a very good product and really has no faults and for that i give this product a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

zWarlord Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200 gravity feed, Egg
Marker Setup: WGP Tactical Trilogy
-Halo LCD TSA Backman
-J&J Edge Elite barrel Kit
-WORR Gas 70/4500
-ANS Mini Ram
-Benchmark side drop
-Shocktech Superfly bolt
-WGP Ergo Reg
-JCS folding combat stock
-JCS weaver offset
-ADCO hotshot
-CCM delrin back block
-NcStar weaver mount bipod
Strengths: Fast, adjustable for closed bolt, large capacity, tilt sensor
Weaknesses: High profile, screen scratches, eats batteries, fragile pos
Review: I love this thing, it feed my cocker reliably(other than when i forgot to turn it on.....yea, embarrassed doesn't quite cover it) For me the bast thing about it is the tilt and the closed bolt adjustment. I play woodsball withtit so tilt is very useful for leaning around dunes, trees yo name it. The closed bolt adjustment is useful so it doesn't try and feed when my back block moves foreward. Lows, well it is pretty tall and that can make hiding is low cover a bit of a pain, but the tilt does make up for it so i can angle it to take advantage of cover. the plastic cover on the screen scratches, but i just got some clear book protectors and cut a piece to cover it, no problem. The shot counter is useful so i don't have to look in to see if i am running out, jus look how much i've fired. Great hopper.
**EDIT** Ok i found a weakness that i gotta mention. I took a ball to the edge of the screen and now the display doesn't work correctly. I can still see the info just some of it on one edge doesnt show up. As a result i have lowered the rating to 8 from 9.
**EDIT** Ok that s it, this thing i a piece o crap. The LCD screen is shot(hasnt been hit again, it is the same damage. it jus got worse, the feed doesnt feed if the paint swells just a little unless you only fill it half way
**EDIT** the pice of crap fell apart. LITeRALY. I took it appart to clean it and the place the screws go into snapped off. so now its helt ogether by the one remaining screw and covered in cammo duct tape. pos.....
Conclusion: Good hopper its reliable, fast loading, and prety robust. (just remamber to turn it on)
Changed my mind, this sucks.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media