paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman / Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $66

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Sound Activation Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 210+ ball capacity
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LCD Backman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Shimboodo Monday, August 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVLution 2-Much faster, eyes.
VL200- Grav. Feed
Marker Setup: 2000 VF Autococker
ANS Quickpull Venturi Bolt
Eclipse Nexus Ram
J&J Barrel
32* Flame Drop Forward
KAPP On/Off ASA
Dye Sticky Grips



Ion
Red Body Kit
Trinity Quick Trigger
Trinity Clamping Feedneck
CP Direct-Mount
68/45 HP Crossfire
JT Tournament Cover
Strengths: It's a hopper!
Sound Activated
LCD
Tilt sensor
Holds ~ 220 paintballs
Weaknesses: Sound activated (Read review)
Not force feed
Review: This was my first electric hopper. I bought a Tippy 98 with R/T, soI needed to get one, and this held more paint, so I decided to get it.

The sound activation works fine on my Tippmann and various low-end guns. But I used it with my Ion and 'Cocker, and they were too quiet! So half the time the paddle wouldn't agitate, and that screwed me over quite a few times at a scenario game before I got an Eggy.

I didnh't care about the LCD screen, and it didn't really seem to do any good. The sensor option worked a little, but not noticably.

The feedneck is small. It is too small for a Tippy 98's feedneck, so if you have one and are going to use it on a tippy, then you need electrical tape, duct tape, whatever tape.
Conclusion: It's a good first hopper, but it dosen't work with the higher end/quiet guns. So only get if you have something loud, like a Tippmann or Spyder.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa_1313 Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
HALO Frontman LCD
Marker Setup: Kingman Imagine LED (2005)
dye ultralight barrel
shockteck shorty supa fly bolt
dye sticky 3's grips
ANS vertical feed neck
Strengths: Keeps up with gun
Magnetic lid
Tilt sensor
Sound activated
Multiple settings
Price
Weaknesses: Stickers fall off
Cracks easily
Review: Strengths-

1)The Halo Backman LCD is the hopper you want to buy if your looking for if you have a fast gun. It keeps up with my imagine (not too fast but 13bps) very well.

2)The magnetic lid helps so you don't have to be trying to lock a hopper lid after reloading under fire.

3)The tilt sensor is helpfull to not expose as much of your self. You can literally have your gun sideways and the paintballs will still be feeding, whether your leaning left or right, the agitator just spins with the tilt.

4)The sound activation helps so you don't have a motar running while your creeping up on someone in scenario, it runs when you shoot.

5)This hopper has nemerous settings on it such as motar duration(how long the motar spins on one shot), shot counter, game timer, sensitivity and motar speed. All of these can be adjusted to your gun and liking.

6)The low price of $50 for such a nice hopper is definatly worth it.

Weaknesses-

1)The HALO stickers on the side fall off very easily.Most think it won't matter but they look really good and just a little super glu can fix it.

2)The wors weakness i've found so far is the cracking. I played one paintball round with it and it hade cracks every where. It was only hit once though.
Conclusion: The HALO backman LCD is a great buy for it's price. Those cracks that i mentioned were easily fixed after sending it into odyssey (it was free). Since then i've had numerous shots to the hopper and no cracks ( i might have had a defect) so i give it 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdebauche Saturday, May 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Odyssey Halo B, and 12v Revvy
Marker Setup: Impulse with WAS board, NDZ internals with Rat Hammer, Freak kit, Air America tank with reg, Odyssey Halo B.
Strengths: Directional feed, sound activated, magnetic lid, large capacity
Weaknesses: Brittle plastic means; within the first month, stress fractures appeared.
Review: Eventually my feed neck lost 1/3 its height to fractures, and screws began to strip out. You have to dissassemble the hopper to clean inside, and once it is apart you cannot reassemble this thing more than four times. I am now lacking two screws to hold it together, since they will not go back in where they belong. The cracks throughout the body now mean this thing can take one good hit and it is done. The magnetic lid and bidirectional paddle system were a good idea; but they made this product on the cheap, without screws and nuts, just sheet metal screws into a hard plastic. The setup is not good for tournament play, only for light duty, and not worth the money ($70 or so) or consistent with other Odyssey products
Conclusion: Skip it; speed rating is only 15 bps or so practically speaking, it is not force fed like the Halo B: get an old Halo B, or spend real money and get the Empire Reloader B.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drum_head_70 Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix Halo TSA hopper pure energy compressed air and 32 degrees 14'' whisper
Strengths: Keeps up with the gun
Weaknesses: Not Durable
Review: The hopper held up great the 1st 4 times i played with it and last weekend ( the 5th time ive played with it ) i noticed that it is starting to crack in about 10 different spots from normal use of the gun. I have been seeing this happen more and more in these types of hoppers.
Conclusion: Fast hopper but can't hold up from cracking and is weak.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SWAT2291 Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Angel Force 14" Barrel
Strengths: Hold a lot (for a Back Player)
LCD is pretty good
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loads kinda slow
Irritating
Sound activated
Review: Well I used this a few times and really tested it on a Spyder and shot it like..... 10 bps. It skipped one shot for some reason. It made the gun top heavy even with the 20oz. on it. And since its sound activated sometimes it skips a turn. But other wise its pretty good for a mech gun. But if you have an elec. and you are a back man this is too slow for you to use.
Conclusion: It loads pretty well with some flaws.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JswifT369 Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
revolution loader
Marker Setup: Icon e
T board 50 gram switch
sweet-spot trigger
dye stickies
pmi reg

2nd
Piranha ext 2k3
Strengths: Loads fast
Looks great
Nice lcd menu
Weaknesses: CRACKS CRACKS CRACKS

ball count is inaccurate
Review: This is an ok loader for people who don't have clamping necks and don't run around alot, the first time i played with this hopper i got a small crack from a blow up bunker... A BLOW UP BUNKER, it was still usable but recently, the neck literally imploded in the jaws of my chiply no-rise. Is great for one time usage,it will fees at around 13bps,but i dont recommend acutely making it.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, it breaks.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooldude9000 Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity, halo b, empire b, veiwloder tripod, and and viewloader 12v
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04, 12oz CO2 tank, 20 oz co2, 14 in. barrel, Halo tsa backman l.c.d.
Strengths: Fast, l.c.d.,
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: It's great fast hopper. I loved it!! it shot continuoulsy so i dide have to shake it around like a vl 12v every once in a while. It's lcd so I can look at the shot counter and see how many times ive shot and determine whether or not to use a pod. The only problem with it was that it's feed neck is prone to break and the stickers come off easily.
Conclusion: Buy it!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jakuzzi Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity hopper (it doesn't even compare).
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 16" st!ffi and halo LCD backman hopper
Strengths: Agitating, nice look, ball counter, motor duration reset, sensitivity reset, game timer, and power use.
Weaknesses: Sometimes if something hits it, it spins and gives away your position.
Review: This gun has so many features. It's really good if you want to keep track of how many balls you've shot so you dont waste paint. I also like how it uses almost none of it's batteries. Ive used it like 5 times, and it only went down 0.3 volts. If you like a high-end high-tech hopper, get this one.
Conclusion: This hopper has a lot of features and uses up almost no power.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy ande reloader
Halo and empire B's
Egg
Quantum
Marker Setup: 04 vert(prostock) cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Strengths: capacity
sound activation
tilts the right way
price
LCD
more in review
Weaknesses: Speed 12bps fast for some slow to others
Big
Heavy
Review: Great for backman with the large capacity of over 200 so you feel like you shoot forever.
sound board- no eyes to mis read paint and spins the way you need it to so it feeds even when tilted to the side.
This thing has a pretty nice price tag of $50 for what your getting. It has an LCD and game timer and a the sound board which is not paint sensitive and a speed of up to 12bps It feed constanly unlike the revvy makeing itvery superior in speed for its class. If you dont need the extra speed get this instead of a egg because the egg isn't very durable with the weak feed neck and batterie door problems and it is about $15 cheaper. These are more reliable and faster than revys and reloader as well as having space for 15-20 extra balls. The revys cant feed very well when packed full but the TSA can partially because of the better purpler blades. Being about the same size as all of those hoppers and still has all the upgrades makes it a much better buy but if your playing back the size doesn't matter and this was make for a back man with all the things in mined that they will need in a game. It has more initial weight than the others and with it having the ability to hold more balls it could be a problem with the weight for some.
Conclusion: If it is used for a back man hopper it is the best in its class it is perfect for what it is meant to do but dont expect it to put out 17-19 bps and to be super light with little 10/10 for backman 8/10 for everyone else
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 8:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spshocker Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revvy
Halo B
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vision Shocker with a 14" All American Barrel and a Dye Throttle air system.
Strengths: Capacity
LCD
Weaknesses: Fragile



Review: When I got this loader I was really excited (first had Spyder Imagine(bad)when I bought this, then got rid of it to get a Shocker(kick ***!). But I soon found out that the hopper is pretty fragile. If you were to see it, you would see that what I am saying is very true. The feed neck has a big crack down the side of it(wide open crack!), the lid has cracks all over it, the agitator has a crack on it, everything is just all cracked up! And I know what some of you are thinking, do I treat my loader well? Yes I do. I treat it the way a loader is supposed to be treated. It is made out of a material that is very fragile.
Conclusion: If you have a gun that shoots like 12-14 bps and you are trying to decide beween this and a VL Revolution, get the VL Revolution because it is more durable and almost just as fast. You would probly have to get a new body kit pretty soon if you have this hopper.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 at 10:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media