paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman / Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 64
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tilt Sensing - the agitator always pulls the balls up towards the feed hole. If you tilt it the right it spins counter-clockwise. If you tilt to the left it spins clockwise. Low frontal profile with 180 ball capacity Sound Activation
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO TSA LED Frontman is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
IrishFury Friday, April 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Feed
Halo Backman
Halo B with ripdrive
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
WGP Autococker Carnivore
Strengths: Good feed rate, and tilt activation is nice.
Weaknesses: Can be broken with rough play, but what can't be?
Review: All around good hopper, as well as the backman, but holds less balls. As a front or middle man I would suggest this hopper over the backman due to diving and sliding, the weight of a backman will snap the neck of the hopper fairly fast. This hopper will also allow you to get more visibility when hugging close to bunkers, and not leave you as exposed as well.
Conclusion: I would suggest this product to anybody, for its reasonable price and reliability.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattwbr Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Egg Hopper
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker OutKast

Strengths: Appearance
Fast Loading
Toughness
Sound Sensing
Simple
Tilt Sensing
Water-Proof
Weaknesses: None
Review: So I needed a cheap hopper for my OutKast and I looked around on ActionVillage.com for one.
All I saw where huge, ugly, expensive hoppers.

I found this hopper in clear and it is my favorite now

Appearance:
I bought the clear hopper and it is beautiful. I can easily see how many balls I have left and it is small, gives great bounces and fits my gun perfectly.
Strength:
My friend (idiot) dropped it from about 5 ft onto the concrete. After reading all the reviews and hearing it was weak, I feared the worst. Luckily it didnt have a scratch. The feed-neck is plenty strong as well. The polycarbonate is tough and light. because the paint exploded inside, I had to clean it out. I was scared that it would not work after having water in it but it worked perfectly.
Sound Sensing:
Works perfectly-no annoying buzzing sound all the time like an eggy.
Simple:
1 button, press on, hold off
Tilt Sensing:
As soon as I lean out of a bunker the other way, it switches and consistently loads balls.
Fast Loading:
I cannot outshoot this with a perfectly timed mech marker. I shoot around 16 bps and have never outshot this thing.

PRICE: $36 ON ACTIONVILLAGE.COM! (the Diablo version [same thing, different sticker])

This hopper cannot be beat. Who needs a belt hopper anyway, save yourself the money and get this
Conclusion: Buy it, you wont be sorry
I feel like a n00b giving it a 10/10 but i cant think of anything wrong with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

idiotwithrpg Wednesday, January 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity Hopper-obviously cant keep up
Marker Setup: SP Ion w/ Halo Frontman + 48/3000
Scepter Barrel
Locking Feedneck

(Other Gun)
98 Custom
CORE Double Trigger
CORE 4 Piece Barrel System
Pure Energy 12oz CO2 tank
Strengths: (see review)
Faster
Reliable
Simple
Battery Life
Passive agitation
Smaller
Bounces Paint
Looks
Cheaper
Weaknesses: (see review)
Feedneck
Magnets
No eyes
No off (auto turn off)
Review: ---OVERVIEW---
The frontman by halo is a smaller profile hopper that holds up to 180 balls (ideal for front players...frontman for front players, WOW!) The agitator (thing in hopper that moves ball toward feedneck) spins on sound/vibration (such as when your gun shoots) so the motor does not run all the time and that saves you some 9v. If your gun is tilted one way (extremely), the hopper compensates by sending the balls upward and into the feedneck (hope that made sense). The lid is held closed with two powerful magnet pairs (one on hopper, one on lid). The frontman runs on 2 9v or the tray can be removed so 2 AA battery backs can be inserted instead.

note-if you want a larger hopper, the Halo backman holds more balls (stop giggling).

---STRENGTHS---
FAIRLY FAST-The frontman is said to do 13+ according to the company but my buddy and I have got it up to around 17/18 bps.

RELIABLE/SIMPLE-The frontman has never let me down on the field (no broken balls, etc.) because its so simple! A chip hooked up to the agitator -that's it! Also, it has one button and one LED light...you can't screw up turning this thing on (if u do...paintball may not be the sport for you, try extreme checkers). The Halo name is in general reliable (in products and customer service)

SMALLER/BOUNCES PAINT- When your up there grinding at an almost point blank range or running with your gun, small/light is what you go for. The frontman has a small, smooth, and rounded shell which bounces paint. I've played countless times and no paintball has every hit my hopper dead on and broke...EVER.

LOOKS/CHEAPER-Halo has always made attractive products and the frontman is no different. It's sexy. The price is too; if you can't afford those 30+bps hoppers that run the bill or just don't feel you need to rock your gun that hot, get this.


---WEAKNESSES---
FEEDNECK-the feedneck feels a little bit thin (not that bad) but just be careful.

MAGNETS-the magnets the keep your lid open/closed can pop out. A bit of glue and then putting the magnets back in fixes that. Halos newer hoppers have the magnets on the other side of the lid so they can't pop out. The magnets also could've been stronger but no big. (This hasn't happened to me, a few people told me about this)

NO EYES-There are no eyes (to "see" the paint in the feedneck) but that adds to the simplicity of the frontman. You also wouldn't need eyes on a passive agitating hopper. Plus there a pain to clean in my opinion.

NO OFF-The button on the front man only turns on and after 30 or so minutes of nonuse, the hopper shuts off. The hopper can turn on by itself if it is set off. That gets a bit annoying when its in storage and you pick it up or something and it turns on but you love it when you're neck and neck with the other team and the hopper turns itself on so you dont have to stop gunfighting to push the button. If you want it off flip BOTH batteries so the + and - are screwed up (don't forget to switch them back...).
Conclusion: Hopper is great, not quite NPPL, PSP quality but good for those recball, even low tourneys. Fast enough (for me), simple, Bounces paint, looks good. Feedneck is a bit thin but nothings perfect and Id think Halo would give you a replacement or something if you broke it. Hope this helped, HAPPY BALLIN'
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

f.r.a.n.t.i.c.. Wednesday, December 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Gravity Hoppers- BOOO throw it out if you shoot 6+bps
Halo B- Very nice, but expensive
Empire Reloaders- a good product as well
Marker Setup: Ion max'd
Crossfire 68/45
Bue rhino cover
SP qev
Blackheart board
Halo tsa frontman smoke

Back up:
Spyder xtra 07
VL viewloader 200
68/45 crossfire with
Nxe 4+1 pod pack with remote
Strengths: Fast for the price.
Duriable
Not as big
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is pretty much all you need if your field keeps you on a cap of 15 bps. And i am one to obey these laws due to being kicked out for shooting hot, (on accident)... This is a great hopper for my ion, but the feed neck was a little small for my q-lock and i have to use some paper, but no biggie.. The first time i put it on my spyder and started to run, it obvisouly just came right off with out a problem.. But never the less it is still the best I have ever owned.
Conclusion: Go out and buy one.. Or at least try it before you turn it..
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 5th, 2007 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed VL hopper
Marker Setup: Dioblo Mongoose II Reincarnation LED (blue black fade)
CMI True flight barel
Hallo TSA Front man (Smoke)
Strengths: Magnetic lid.
Tilt sensing.
Sound activated.
Feeds fast enough.
Weaknesses: My hopper is screwy and the battery door falls off.
Feed neck is too small.
Review: I have only used this thing a cupple times and every time I do my battery door popped off. When we onctacted Hallo about it they sent us a new battery door and that one still came off, so it must be my hopper. My dads doesn't have that problem so just be perpared that it could happen. If it does just put some duct tape on snap and the problem goes away.

Also when I would fire the the hopper would come out of the marker. Just put more duct tape on the feed neck and that problem also goes away.

I don't know if this hooper would feed fast enough for every one but I have never out fired it.

I do like the smoke because you can see your paint but other people cant really see your hopper.
Conclusion: Good hopper just a few slight problems that can easaly be fixed. Best hopper in the price range though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trayeater Thursday, September 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvy - better
haloB - way better
quantum - doesn't compare
gravvy - same as quantum
Marker Setup: ICD promaster
WGP on/off w/ empire mini rail
Halo with rip
AA barrel
evil detonator regulator
68/4500 PMI glass tank
Strengths: Looks sweet
Pretty light
The tilt and sound activation is good
Weaknesses: Weak shells
Extremely unbalanced
Not as fast as advertised
Review: Ok, i had a quantum for a while and it was terrible. So I decided to get a new hopper. I originally looked for a new hopper that would not feed so slow. My friend had a revvy but i wanted something different. I came across the Halo TSA Frontman hopper and I instantly wanted it. So i bought it and was instantly amazed when I opened the package. It looked awesome. I had the all black and it was a really shiny black, almost mirror like. So I throw a couple of 9volts in it and turn it on. It spun once one way and then back the other way. When I put a pod of paint in i had to tap the back plate to get it to spin (sound activation, duh). It emptied in a reasonable time. Maybe about 7 seconds. So then I slapped it on my modded tippy 98c (walkable mech) and tried to rip. it feed for like a second then all hell broke loose. it chopped every other ball after that. Knowing that i should have put in a heavier spring in the sear of the 98c I went ahead a switched it back to the stock form (heavy pull, not walkable by any form imaginable) and shot as fast as i could. It kept up well at about 12bps. With the Mods though I bet the Tippy could shoot about 17-18bps. So that explains the chopping. So i made a mental note not to shoot so fast. In between the time I got it and the first game it saw the feed neck broke! I was doing slides in my basement and did a little bit of a botched slide and my hopper came flying off. I was very unhappy because I thought the shells were pretty strong. So after that incident I rigged up a support feed neck out of a piece of piping and a piece of metal bolted to the side of the hopper going down to the part when the bolt is on the clamping feedneck of the 98c. It felt sturdy after that but i couldn't take the hopper off without unbolting it from the feedneck. Fist game it feed pretty good but i noticed it was a little slow. So I put some 9volts in it and tried again. It wouldn't feed if it was more than half full. I took it apart to see what was wrong and I find that the impeller has cracked right in the middle so it couldn't spin if it was more than half full. I cursed it to hell and went on with the day making sure to only fill it half way. In the last game of the day I took a hopper hit to the front and the nose cracked and left a huge hole in the front. I finally got fed up and tossed it out. I went out and bought a revvy which still hasn't broke two years later. I had a terrible experience with the TSA. It probably had the shortest life span out of all of the hoppers I've had.
Conclusion: It didn't last past its first day of play and broke on me with in a period of 3 weeks. Save yourself sometime and buy a revvy or if you have the cash a HaloB.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feed VL hopper, Extreme Rage ehopper, Vforce ehopper
Marker Setup: '07 Fusion
Halo TSA Frontman E'hopper
Carlton/Crossfire
Strengths: Cost effective
Tilt sensing
Low profile
Weaknesses: Feedneck is TOO small for the feedneck of the 'Goose. Great with the Fusion.
Review: For the sake of this review I would like to divide e'hoppers into three categories:
entry level, intermediate level, and advanced level. The Halo TSA Frontman I would consider an entry level e'hopper. It is rated at appoximately 15 bps. This is plenty fast enough for my Mongoose , my Fusion and most other entry level markers and even some intermedtiate level markers.. Since PSP, and NPPL are now capped at or around 13-15 bps maybe it is fast enough for just about anything.? The sound activation is sweet. It seems to save on battery life. The tilt sensing for the feed is great too. I tend to tilt my marker when I am behind a bunker and the tilt sensing keeps paintballs coming at a normal rate. My gravity feed hopper was a problems here. I usually use rec quality paintball. The feed mechanism is certainly gentle enough for this quality of paint. The only time I have ever had any break in the hopper was on a very cold day (it was snowing) and I wasn't using paintballs made for the cold conditions. I have had the hopper jam once during play. However, one of the paintballs that was jammed up was badly dimpled. So maybe it was the paint and not the hopper.The shell is made of polycarbanate. This is a very light weight buy shatter resistant material-the same material that safety eyeglass lenses are made of. I dropped mine in the rocks of a parking lot from about 4 feet and there was no visible effect. Yes the Halo sticker on the hopper is cheesy-so what it doesn't effect the performance. I really don't care if everyone knows I have a Halo. The feedneck is a little too small for my Mongoose, but other reviews I had read had suggested this. So no surprise. The best thing about my TSA Frontman though is it's low profile. It doesn't stick up nearly as high as the other two hoppers I have used
Conclusion: For an entry level e'hopper, this is a great deal! No it doesn't compete with the Empire Magna drive etc-but it is not supposed to.
If you are just getting started I would highly recommend this hopper. It will serve you very well until your skills or your pocket book can justify a premium hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 17th, 2009 at 6:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sackfacekilla Thursday, July 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any sound agitated hopper.
Marker Setup: '04 Prostock Autococker
14" CP Barrel
Halo Frontman TSA LED
Dye Invision I3
Strengths: Sound Agitated
Low Profile
Magnetic Lid
Weaknesses: Hopper neck is too small for my autococker's feed neck.
Review: So I believe that I bought this hopper for about $54. Which in my opinion is a very good price. I have only busted one ball in it but that is because they were really crumby balls anyways. The hopper is farely easy to clean until you are trying to put it back together. It is somewhat of a heavy hopper but that is because I had only used gravity fed hoppers before this and it takes 9V batteries.
Conclusion: I love that this hopper is sound agitated and it is a very durable and quality product. If you don't want to be spending about $100 on a Halo B then just buy this for about half the price and it has just about the same features. I'm content with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlackSushi222 Monday, July 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard 200 hoppers, Revvy, Richochets, and other Halos.
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Sport
Jackal High Speed Derlin Bolt
Shocktech #4 Dropforward
Halo TSA LED Frontman
Teardrop barrel 14"
72/3000 HPA
Strengths: Sound activated
Decent bps
Can shut off at your leisure
Strong magnet
Low profile.
Weaknesses: Looks a bit fragile.
180 balls.
Review: The bps of this hopper is pretty consistant as long as you tap on drop tests. When on a marker it activates well to the sound and is more than enough for mech markers. Sometimes it activates when you yell out on the field but this is not a problem as nothing really happens such as the rotor screwing up ball formation and such. Tilt activation is nice. It keeps up very nicely with my autococker and I have never encountered a chop with my current setup.
Conclusion: This is a great hopper for a great price tag. You can get them for $40 and they perform well. Speed is great, but not fast enough to feed anything more than an Ion or other electro marker. Great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 6th, 2007 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stikyniky383 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B (holds more paint)
Marker Setup: Sp Ion(black), Halo tsa led frontman, proto impulse 14 in,crossfire 4500 psi, and
Q-lock clamp.
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is one of the best hoppers I've used. It's strengths include Tilt sound activation, it only holds 180 rounds so you don't waste to much paint, and if you tilt it right it turns counter-clockwise,if you tilt it left it spins clockwise to feed rounds good any way you shoot. Only real weakness is a pretty weak feed neck but youdon't have to worry if your gentle.
Conclusion: So in conclusion i give this product a great rating and recomend it to anyone who wants a good frontman hopper that uses less paint then other hoppers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media