paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit / Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit / Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit / Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit

Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit

Paintball Hopper / Loader Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Halo Rip Drive upgrade allows you to pre-load the Halo B Feed Cone with up to 15 balls ready to load into your marker. It can be used to clear a ball jam from out-of-round paint, or to manually feed balls in case of battery failure during a game.

A must-have for any Halo B owner!
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO Rip Drive Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Drek26 Saturday, September 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
halo b
cp drop forward
Strengths: Never jams.
Weaknesses: None have had no problems with it.
Review: This accesorie is great it never jams and keeps your hopper running quickly and smothly. Great for any type of paintball player of any age i mainly use it for speedball. If you want a reliable electric hopper that never jams that you can use in all conditions this is the way to go.
Conclusion: Get this for your hopper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

illman17 Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Invert mini w/virtue board
halo B w/ rip drive & warrior speed feed
68/4500 crossfire LP tank
Strengths: If your hopper dies in the middle of a game you can keep playing
Weaknesses: Installation is nerve wracking and you have to be careful
Review: i got one of these free with my halo b and the first time i used it it actually came in handy. i was using dark paint and i guess the halo eyes were having trouble reading the ball so it kept reading a malfunction. so rather than go home i turned the hopper off and used the rip drive for a full day of paintball. def would have preferred a working hopper but beggers can't be choosers

the only problem is the installation which isn't easy unless you have a lot of time on your hands or your a real techie at this stuff. it took me almost 2 hours to get it installed but i saved ten bucks at the pro shop for installation so im putting it in the win column
my biggest complaint is that u have to deal with E-clips which should frankly be hunted down one by one and cast into the fiery pits of hell.
Conclusion: E-clips suck a$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2wiSteD Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: 2005 Proto Matrix
Shocktech Rail with ASA
14" Progressive Barrel
Halo B w/ Rip
68/3000 Tank
Strengths: Clear jams and 'Pre-load' in the event of a dead battery.
Weaknesses: Not the easiest thing in the world to install.
Review: I got this with my Halo B that I purchased off of PbN. I figured it would take about 2 minutes to install. I fiddled with this thing for an hour and still managed to forget to put the beads and spring back on the side. The two biggest installation downsides are the 'E-Clips' (little metal clips that vaguely look like an 'E') and the instruction sheet.

The e-clips are fantastic at what they do. That is not bend, and hang on to their little steel rod securely. After I took apart the gear box, I did some damage to the larger white gear with the screw driver I was using to get the clip off. There must be some hidden strategy to these clips that I don't know about.

The second downside was the installation guide itself. One of the most crucial steps is the first step on the back side. The last step on the front side was to reassemble the drive cone. Well the thing didn't say that it was 'VERY IMPORTANT' that I take caution before putting it in. In this next step, you have to make the cone "pre-load"-able (the whole idea behind the rip drive). I had already put the cone down, and after flipping the sheet, I felt I needed to take it back out. This is a problem. The upper feet neck comes into the loader was now preventing the newly slightly elevated drive cone from coming out. But just by a hair, so I took a nail file and sanded it down a little. After doing it, I realized I didn't really need to take it all the way out. It still helps to know I can take it out now in the event of a broken ball inside.

To the guy that said it makes a rickidy sound when installed improperly, skipping that step is why.

For those of you that might not know what this part is for, it's pretty simple. Turn the knob in one direction, and the cone will reverse to clear a jam. Turn the knob in the other direction a maximum of 340 degrees (it'll stop) when your battery is dead and you can set tension on that spring inside that will give you a force-fed loader for the next 15 shots (tested). It may not seem like much, but when your battery is dead, it can be a life saver.
Conclusion: It's a great addition to a great loader. If you can, have someone at your pro shop install it for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 12th, 2007 at 9:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer992 Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Is there anything like it?
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Halo V35 w/ rip drive
14" Dye Ultralite w/ gold tip
Steel 47/3000psi tank
XSV clamping feed neck
New Designz Pro Bolt
Strengths: Great if your batteries die (which does happen)
Weaknesses: None really. . .
Review: The rip drive is I think, a great thing to have. I've actually had to use it once or twice on the field when my batteries have died, or my hopper has malfunctioned. Yes kids, it does happen once and a while. Don't think that you're special.
Conclusion: I think it's worth the small amount of money. But you dont REALLY need it. . .
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 12th, 2007 at 10:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBWU1F Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nada
Marker Setup: pmr, halo b, 68/4500
Strengths: A good investment.
Weaknesses: Hard to put in
Review: Got the rip drive for 17 bucks. came in like 3 days. i knew it was going to be easy to install. its just the E LOCKS, sucks to put in and take up. also my screws that hols the shells were stuck. i had to drop oil down the shaft so it came out. and even after that it sucked to get out. also trying to put it all back together with pinching the wires is kind off challenging.
Conclusion: Over all the rip drive is kick ass. you better off getting with the halo than buying it and istalling your self. the instructions are ok, but still get the job done. if you need one buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Thursday, January 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Strengths: Saves batteries
Easy to use
Weaknesses: Hard to install (not really hard, but I explain more)
Review: This is a cool add-on for your Halo, I love it

Pros-

Easy to use, just spin it to load your marker and shoot

It saves batteries, you dont have to turn on your hopper to shoot every time like chrono or testing, and if it happens, you can still use your Halo if your batteries run out, but you wont be ablt to rip strings or anything

It looks cool, I like the razor wheel look it gives to your halo

Cons-

Its not hard to install, but it requries you to take your Halo apart all the way, I dont know about you but I dont want to risk messin up my $130 hopper, so I let a tech install it, its more of a personal thing, but I dont want to screw up my belt drive and wait for it to come in from the shop, so be careful and read all the instructions
Conclusion: Nice add-on, I like it its useful and looks cool, nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NastyImpyman Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really like this for a halo.
Marker Setup: Gen-e 2k2 Matrix
Victory board Halo w/ rip-drive
88ci PBN2 4500 tank
Strengths: Loads if battery is dead. Can prewind drivecone if you are using a victory board.
Weaknesses: If not installed properly it makes some rattley noises. But nothing really.
Review: This is a quick simple upgrade for any halo. Its installation is fairly simple for even the newbiest of players. If your batteries go dead or weak you can feed them manually until you are off the feild and grab some more batteries. The rip-drive also makes the victory board usable. For some the victory board will not pre-wind the drive cone spring. With this you are able to pre-wind the drive cone spring. Overall this is the best upgrade for Halo's for the price. You can do all of this for ONLY $20.00-$30.00!
Conclusion: I highly reccomend this product for any person with a halo. Because it is easy to install. Its cheap. And it WORKS!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media