paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5 / ANS GX-5

ANS GX-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-5
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $525

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The latest creation from ANS yields the best closed bolt marker on the market today. The GX-5 marker is lighter and faster then it's predecessors of the GX series. The GX-5 marker is the first mechanical marker to come standard with a 90 degree swing frame which is ergonomically designed to allow for easier and faster trigger pulls. The body is lighter and the overall marker is lighter. Everything you need comes with this tournament ready marker. All of today's aftermarket upgrades come standard on the new marker including QEVs ,Clamping Feed Neck, Delrin Venturi Bolt, New Dual Detent System, and every new marker is e-frame ready with no drilling needed.. The Clamping Feed Neck is designed specifically to fit the larger necks on the high end loaders with no sanding required. Each marker comes with 3 different detent strengths to choose from. You can adjust the detent depending on loader strength and paint-barrel match. The IVG has been redesigned with a longer internal spring. You will now find the gauge for the new marker operating pressure on the bottom of the front block and the new In-Line regulator has the same high flow rate as the X-2 as well as a bottom inlet hole for your air source to provide a comfortable fore grip. The new marker also comes with a 15 degree ASA. This marker will perform the best with compressed air and a eVLution or HALO loader.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-5 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
pbagent Wednesday, December 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98 Custom, Diablo Wrath, Ion, misc automags
Marker Setup: ANS GX-5, J&J Ceramic barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mechanized hopper is a must, barrel kit (as for all autocockers)
Strengths: Sexy
No batteries
Dependable
Weaknesses: Must match paint to barrel!
Must use compressed air
Gas hog
Review: This is the first autococker I have ever owned, and it has been a pure pleasure.

The 90` grip frame is heavenly. Not only is it comfortable on the wrists, but it helps you tuck the marker in nice and tight. The marker has been very dependable. Once you learn how to properly work the trigger (i.e. not short-stroke!) it is smooth sailing.

Not only that, but you will turn heads on the field.

With prior markers, I felt obligated to upgrade - but this gun comes stock with a delrin venturi bolt, 15` ASA, clamping feed neck, double trigger, drop forward with on/off, etc etc etc. I would have to say that all of these "extras" is a major selling point.

As with any autococker, crappy paint = barrel breaks or paintballs rolling straight out of the barrel, hence a barrel kit is a must. I have had great luck with the J&J ceramic kit.

This gun is an air hog, but it may be that I do not have the reg's set efficiently.
Conclusion: Everything is as advertised. Not for newbies. If you're thinking about a cocker, check out the ANS web site. You won't be disappointed!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcclintock89 Monday, September 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of other autocockers.
Marker Setup: ANS GX-5 Blue, Empire Barrel Kit, Empire B Loader, ANS 68/4500 HPA, Madman Spring Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Spring Kit
Strengths: Light
fast
comfortable
accurate
consistent
Weaknesses: Main spring
barrel
Review: 'Pros-

Gun is very light for an autococker, still not as light as any of the high end electros, but it's an autococker, it's supposed to be heavy. For a mechanical marker, if your good at shootin cockers with out short strokin, you can get this one to sling some paint. It's also very accurate. accuracy with stock barrel isn't too bad, but the afterket barrel KIT with inserts, help out a lot. it's everything you expect a cocker to be. but better.

Cons-

the main spring that comes stock is almost too soft, i had mine tightened all the way down and it was still shootin at 265. i got the madman spring kit and it solved all of those problems. the spring kit is only like 6 bucks, and well worth the money. i also highly recommend a barrel kit. a barrel without inserts just. sucks. so get one.

This is a very good marker, especially for those of you who prefer accuracy over speed. and at this price (i got mine for 220 bucks) you really can't beat this gun. It also might say that the delrin bolt does not require lube. don't believe it. always lube your stuff. especially your bolt. i recommend smart parts sl33k. overall gun works great, shoots straight, and i can get it to sling paint pretty good for a non e-bladed cocker. just takes some fancy finger work.
Conclusion: Worth the money. people try to compare this to a tippman a-5? get the gx-5 before even considering an a-5, just make sure u get the barrel kit and spring kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor
Trilogy Taactical
tippmann A5
custom 98
afterburner
sting ray
Marker Setup: ANS GX5
Armson stealth barrel 16
Phat 14 barrel
Centerflag Uprising Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just an electro trigger
Strengths: prepared for electro
I got a 13 Bps
Light
gauge
Weaknesses: Needs an electro trigger if wanna go pro
Review: Recomend a centerflag and antichopbolt dont need to worry for seloniod because its all in the trigger and the 3 valve is fast enough
if you go to wgp get E2 it works great on this gun
I stick on the uprising because is trouble free and very reliable
this gun is very light and fast out the box but if you instal an electro trigger it lightning fast!
Conclusion: Best mecha gun ever used!
Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Don Carnage Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other cockers (mechanical)
Automags
Smart Parts Ion
A-5
Custom 98
various Spyders
Marker Setup: Paradigm Pro Automag w/ Custom Products Razor drop and on/off ASA, Viper-blade trigger, and Lapco Snapshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good barrel
High Pressure Tank
Strengths: All ANS upgrades come stock
90 degree frame
Short Triggerpull
Weaknesses: No safety
Review: Iíve always been a fan of the GX5, now that their price is $290 direct from ANS, I couldnít help but get one as a backup/loaner.

The first thing I noticed when the box arrived was how comfortable it feels. The trigger frame is one of the most comfortable Iíve held and with the forward-angled fore grip the gun feels amazing. The drop is very adjustable as far as moving it forward and back and the air outlet can be moved to the top, left, or right sides. The ano job is nice and thick, so it will be fairly resistant to scratches. It also comes with a full o-ring kit as well as extra detents of varying strength.

I took it out, it was already timed at the factory, and the chrono was 290. The reg had a bit of variance of + to -8, however, since itís a new reg, they usually take a few hundred shots to break in anyway. The stock barrel seems fine, but I already had a good barrel kit that I used.

The trigger pull is half of normal mechanical cockers Iíve owned. Between that and the ergonomic fit of the 90 degree frame, I could very easily get a manual ROF of 11 bps.

Iíve heard the downside to the tight trigger pull is that it makes a safety dang near useless. However, mine didnít come with a safety installed at all. Some fields will require a safety on top of just a barrel sock, so I recommend installing one. Theyíre very cheap and easy to put on.

I have used this marker in a scenario game that rained. Many other players had to run back to the ready station because they didnít want to get water in their electronics. This gun however, kept on working great.

I fully recommend this cocker to anyone who likes mechanical guns. IT already has eyeholes and covers installed for upgrading to an e-frame if you want. The price is outstanding to other cockers since this already comes with the ANS regs, 3-way, valve, great bolt, quick exhaust valves, awesome drop, twisting feed neck, and the 90 degree frame.
Conclusion: The GX5 is the best mechanical cocker I've ever used. The price is comparable to most mech WGP cockers, and the stock upgrades and quality far surpasses theirs. For less than $300 straight from the factory, this gun is an extreme bargain.

I would give I a 9.5 only due to the lack of a safety, but rounding up, it comes to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jebo120 Saturday, April 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker trilogy, wgp autococker karnivor
Marker Setup: stock ans autococker gx-5
stock smartparts ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better ram, and an e2blade, or worrblade if u can find it.
Strengths: lightweight, VERY IMPRESSIVE RATE OF FIRE FOR A MECHANICAL
Weaknesses: timing, out of the box... "What timing?" Also on/off valve didnt work
Review: well, this gun rocks compared to a lower price autococker. it even gave my bros suped up karnivor a run for its money. aside from the problems it came with from ANS (out of the box) i quickly had it up and timed, and played several games, this gun is THE FASTEST mechanical marker i have ever seen. it gets almost 11 bps, i was getting around 10 with the timing job i did. and consistant accuracy and velocity. the only thing i can say is i would save for the gx5-e because if you ever wanted to update to electric, it is sooo hard to find an eblade. however, the x5-e is the same great gun with the blade on it already. gun is fun to shoot, and easy to adjust. once you hit the sweet spot, you can play all week with it, and only have variations of a few fps.

overall, great gun, the ion is a better buy for a midrange marker, but then again, cockers take devotion, and love of the gun to own. if you are a cocker fan, this is an avid choice that competes with the WGP superstock. which is only a little better in my books. for the money, you cant go wrong. i got mine for only 230, and u can find them cheaper online than the msrp.

Conclusion: overall, great gun, the ion is a better buy for a midrange marker, but then again, cockers take devotion, and love of the gun to own. if you are a cocker fan, this is an avid choice that competes with the WGP superstock. which is only a little better in my books. for the money, you cant go wrong. i got mine for only 230, and u can find them cheaper online than the msrp.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdoc Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 99 cocker - not as good.
Custom cocker - best cocker I've ever owned, sad I sold it. I can only hope this X5 compares.
Marker Setup: ANS X5
Dye Boomstick, Powerlyte Scepter
PMI Pure Energy 88/4500
VL Revolution
Strengths: Lightness
Good R.O.F. for mechanical gun.
Looks good
Weaknesses: Stock timing
Review: The stock timing was off, and had to be fixed before the gun was usable.

Once I adjusted the back block, cocking rod length, and sear lug length, it shoots very well. I can shoot much faster than previous cockers I have owned. I also removed the safety and smoothed out the 3-way actuator loop in the trigger plate to make the pull smoother.

I also received eye covers that were the wrong color - at least, according to the pictures on the manufacturer's website. I asked them about this, and they said that all X5s are coming with black now, whether your gun is black or not. The stock drop-forward is adjustable, but you will need to buy new macroline and possibly angled fittings if you want to move it from the stock configuration, since it only comes with the shortest length possible (drop-forward set all the way forward).

The feed neck tightens onto hoppers by screwing down a collar over some vertical tabs. It is impossible to tighten it down on my hopper, I have to set it at a certain point and see if my hopper will go in and stay tight, then try another turn in/out to get the right fit. A clamping feed neck would have been better, but this is better than a fixed one.

This gun shoots fast, and it would have been perfect had I not been blowing balls up in the barrel. I'm not sure if it was the paint or the gun, but either way, I'd rather it hadn't happened.
Conclusion: If you know what's what with a cocker, and are looking for a value mechanical, this gun appears to be a good way to go.

8 for its bad first impression (bad timing, high reg setting) and ball breaks, though it is accurate and hasn't broken down.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmaster23 Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann, trigloy pro,triligy,pm5.
Marker Setup: ans gx-5 clear to blue fade
72/30 alumiunium tank
evolution3 hopper

soon have....
e-frame
sp freak
new bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
some sort of eframe for faster speed
a barrel with inserts
Strengths: Short trigger pull, no straininng to walk the trigger.
Looks awesome.
Light.
Weaknesses: Cant walk the trigger to fast or it will chop since it isn't electric.
Review: Well, i got this gun for christmas, and right when i picked it up i noticed something, it was light (compared to my last gun, a tippmann).
Next weekend i took it out to my feild to play and it worked great. Even with the stock barrel it shot pretty straight. There was only one problem though, one of the orings in the 3way had a very small whole in it and was leaking,but i could still play i just needed to refil every other game.
Conclusion: Great gun for intermedent players just slap an e-frame on it an bam it rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoticlevels Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2-Worr autococks
3-Spyders
2-Angels
Strengths: This gun is light and pretty accurate.
Weaknesses: The safe pin for the trigger is useless.
Review: Body Rocks.like i said before it will stand out. it has a nice paint job, plus you don't have to do upgrades like some of the other brands.

I will keep yall inform' about any thing new with this gun, i will keep using it and abusing it. if anything goes bad i will keep YALL updated.
Conclusion: so far I LIKE IT. it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 28th, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OmegaBurn Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO COCKER, Couple of custom built cockers, Eclipse Cocker, ANS Gen-x3 Chaos Series w/ ups.
Marker Setup: GenX-3(blue to black purple fade), DYE Trigger Frame, DYE drop and air source w/ on/off, DYE beaver tail, Eclipse RAM, 68/4500 DYE Throttle bottle(or 8?/4500 PS Stubby Bottle, VL REV 18v

---either cocker----DYE BoomStick 12", J&J Ceramic 16" flat black

GenX-5 stock(Black), Either tank i own, Black VL REV 18v

Origional RT Automag w/ custom wood grip, KAPP Drop Zone 2 or KAPP Drop Zone Stubby, either tank, Clear VL REV 18v
Recommended
Upgrades:
New pneumatics hose, trigger job, Drop Forward and on/off ASA, after market barrel.
Strengths: Sleek, tight, very light compared to previous ANS models
Weaknesses: Stock pneumatics hose
Delrin bolt pin
Large on/off
Feed Neck
Review: Overall this gun is attractive, efficient, and quiet. Out of the box operational w/ minor reg adjustment. Easy to maintain and the delrin parts are a much appreciated upgrade from previous models. In the hands of a good player this is a lethal marker!

Cons-

The trigger is much slower than any DYE trigger frame. Trigger is also a bit bulky for my tastes. Mabye its just mine but i have noticed the saftey interferes with trigger operation with the slightest bump also my marker can fire with saftey engaged you just have to manually return the trigger forward.

When i first pressured my gun up the 3 way hose to the jackhammer popped right off but it was easily replaced. Feed neck is rather large and hard to adjust once a hopper is on the marker ( at least with a VL REV due to battery compartment).

I find the hopper adapter to be very difficult to adjust once hopper is on the gun, also it large and intrusive when sighting down the body. If this can be replaced it should!

Also IMHO the drop is OK because i like KAPP Drop Zone's anyway BUT the on/off is huge(although it works excellently).


Pros-

Light, Sleek, very accurate stock 2-piece barrel, very smooth on/off action, comes with a rebuild kit, Presetup for E-grips( if you like that sort of thing), delrin bolt, and the excellent array of quality ANS internals and pneumatics.
Conclusion: This is a truly wonderful cocker and can be turned into an A1 slaughtering machine with a few aftermarket parts. The trigger may just need to be worn in, I just think the trigger truly stinks. Get a dye frame on the bad mother and a madman spring kit.

Overall This is the best mechanical stock marker i have ever used.

Definatlly not worth 500$ but i got mine new in the box for 250$ so i cant complain :) :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 9:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jasonkc25 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other similar gun used unless you count other mechanical markers such as: Brass Eagle Posion (yeah, I've been playing that long), F2, and various Spyders.
Although not similar I also own a homemade Timmy as well. I have owned an SL-68 II in the past (that's a pump if you are wondering) so I am familiar with a wide range of markers.
Marker Setup: ANS X-5 stock (thus far), black to gray fade
Nitroduck 68cu, 4500 tank
Halo hopper (it's a bit overkill for this gun, but it's what I had)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Only thing I could possibly recommend is a barrel kit (and we all know why).
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Speed
Very quiet
It's a very sharp looking gun
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have never owned a cocker but have always loved shooting them. A couple of friends of mine have consistantly shot cockers since they first came out back in the days when the only way to get an auto-cocker was to buy the auto-cocking kit for the Sniper II (yeah yeah, showing my age again).
First off, the X-5 was shipped very promptly. The packaging was very secure, it was shipped in a box in foam cut specifically for the marker that was then placed in another box packed with foam peanutes.
Again I have mention how sharp this gun looks. The fade job from black to gray is very smooth and so gradual you can hardly tell it's there. Overall the fit and finish of this gun is very nice.
One of the first noticable things about the X-5 is the HUGE drop forward. I wasn't real sure about this at first, but after throwing my 68 on it I am no longer skeptical, it really feels very comfortable.
Once gassed up we did need to do a little timing but nothing major by any means. After that, it shot like a dream. This is by far the shortest trigger pull on a mechanical autococker I have ever seen. One can trully fire like a madman with this thing (and I typically play with a Timmy). As with most cockers the accuracy and range are second to none, can't wait to try some different barrels on it. It's also very quiet.
Something else that is nice, though hardly nessecary are two set screws in the trigger to tighten down any slop you may have in the trigger pull. I did adjust these albeit just barely. The trigger comes pretty tight as it is.

Finally play tested:
This gun rocks.It's quiet, it's fast and it's accurate. I even had a couple of the refs on the field checking to see if I had a an E-Blade on the thing. The FPS stayed consistent throughout the day. The only time I had a ball break was when I decided to go to the range and shoot up some 6 month old paint I had (big mistake there...and this is not a complaint at all...shoe me a gun that wouldn't have chopped six month old paint.

I just have no complaints with this marker what so ever.

For anyone that is a fan of cocker's this is a must. Especially if you like proving that you don't have to have a 1500 electro gun to shoot up the competition.
Conclusion: I can't say anything bad about this marker. The fit of the parts, the design and the anodizing are all top notch. Out of the box the marker worked pretty much flawlessly. I would highly recommend the X-5 to anyone that loves the mechanical cocker. I know I will have a very hard time going back to using my Timmy (it's not all about bps).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 7:49 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media