paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack / Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack / Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack

Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ronin Gear

Buy Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack

Paintball Packs / Harnesses

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $24

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It features durable cordura material, the tubes fit snugly, and the tank is held in place with elastic bands.
Product Availability 
The Ronin Gear 4+1 Pack is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
tacamo Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: tacamo 68D plain hoper soon to be electric 20 oz spyder co2 tank with spyder remote coil
Strengths: Cheap price, holds plenty of balls and made of durable material.
Weaknesses: Should have more straps to hold in the 20oz tank.
Review: I like this product over all it holds a good amount of balls with out going over board alot of reviews on here mentiond it was made cheapley personaly i think its made of a thick durable material the onley real down fall is i find the 20 oz co2 tank could be fastend in a little beter but not a real problem.
Conclusion: Its good .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FGC Thursday, December 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
12V Revvy
14"J&J Ceramic
Palmers Stabiliser
Titanium Hammer
Double trigger, Rocket Cock, trigger mods
Yadda yadda
Strengths: Holds paint
Holds CO2
Quite comfy
Black (woodsballer)
Cheap
Weaknesses: Poor Design
Cheap quality
Review: This harness pretty much does what is says, holds paint and CO2. Yay.

Downside is, its a very poorly thought out design. The straps for your CO2 DONT FIT PROPERLY around a tank, leading to lots of fiddly sorting out before and after a game, Did they even test this thing before they put it into production?
I read reviews about the tank ripping out the bottom of the holder, very concerned about this and will be keeping an eye on it, possibly doing some reinforced stitching of my own. It looks like there's only one seam holding it together at the bottom. From a design perspective, thats just plain stupid.
Conclusion: While it does what it says, poor design and cheap production both annoy me greatly in the field and make me nervous as to the life of this product. No attention to detail lets this harness down for me.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Pax
Redz Dimension 3.3
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
Flatline
CenterFlag regulator
Strengths: Low price
Good durability
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Not enough Velcro on tank holder
Review: I have used this pack for a while and have been happy with it. The pack holds plenty of paint and the tubes secure tightly. It is comfortable even though it has a buckle fastener. I have taken it through some rough treatment and the pack is still in great condition, a testament to the durable material. There's one weakness to it and that is not enough Velcro to hold down your tank. The buckles hold the tank in place except the tank will slide out if bounced around our is turned upside-down. The Velcro is there to stop that, but the straps will not be tight unless they're are wrapped around the tank neck and then fastened. Not a major problem, but could have been fixed with a few more cents of Velcro. Overall the pack does its job for such little money.
Conclusion: A very good 4+1, and a recommended product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samaael Saturday, September 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32d 4+1
brass eagle 2 pod holder
Marker Setup: A-5
20 oz. catalina tank
32d remote line
ronin gear 4+1
V-force sheild (black)
Strengths: Good construction.
Easy to clean.
Plastic reinforced pods stay open.
Holds 100-140 round pods.
Weaknesses: the tank holder is kinda skimpy on Velcro.
ronin logo not removable (no biggie)
Review: i got mine on ebay from i&i sports for dirt cheap, also got the i&i suspenders(makes a big difference). this product is very well made with plastic reinforcing tubes to hold the pod compartment open so you're not fumbling around behind your back trying to fit empty pods back in and getting shot in the process. the material it's made from is very durable and easy to clean. the only complaint i have about it is the tank compartment is pretty skimpy on the Velcro, if there were more you could easily strap your tank in and go, but as it is you have to be pretty creative with twisting the straps around to fit or have your mom/wife/girlfriend/grandma sew some longer strips on.
Conclusion: very good product. decent price. everything is well designed except for the tank Velcro. i got mine on E-bay for 5.50, plus 8.50 shipping, then got the suspenders for 1.20, plus 6.50 shipping..total of about 22 dollars for the whole set-up. great deal as far as i'm concerned, well worth the money spent.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 11th, 2004 at 11:01 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

helmet_indabush Saturday, July 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: armotech sim4, spyder avant e99, 32 degrees slide check remote w/on/off, vforce shield, 20oz. co2
Strengths: Durable, lightweight, comfortable, has rings to attach suspenders, cheap
Weaknesses: Bulky but not in the way
Review: This is the best belt ive used by far. it fits very well around my waist and isnt too heavy even with 400 rounds in it. add the co2 and it does try to sag but you can attach suspenders to the belt with distributes the weight on your shoulders rather than your hips. for the price, id say you cant beat it. i got mine new in package off ebay and paid only 10.00!!!!!! i bought military issue combat suspenders(8.00) and i have not had one single problem. even when running through brush.
Conclusion: If you want a great quality belt that can hold well over 600 rounds(with the appropriate pods) and comfort, then buy this. if you want a big name on your belt, then i suggest you bend over and take that big...hhhmm... name.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smartarse Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 200 round harness.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, Freak Jr, Revolution and a 47 ci Nitrogen tank, PMI Remote Coil.
Strengths: Tight fit, easy to take the pods out and back in, inexpensive, great looking
Weaknesses: no place to hold a squeege or no pouch for a alan key.
Review: When I first got this tank I didn't think that my 47 ci tank would fit but it did and there was still room left for an even bigger tank. This harness is well built it wont break easy. The pods store in nice and snug. I also liked the fact that it came with 4, 100 round tubes. it was a really cheap harness I think I paid $15.08 americian for it on e-bay
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good harness I would recommend a Ronin
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

longball Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ronin 4+3 harness (see review) and various other belt based pod haulers.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, 20oz, 3A 16" bbl, BSA 30mm red dot sight. Blackpoint (Jet City Specialties) Offset Sightrail. Stock bolt
PMI TTracer pump, Thunderpig springs, Stock except Palmers Pursuit ported my stock bbl, and went thru it for me.
Strengths: Low Cost, Quality Materials. Small Profile, Suspender Hooks
Weaknesses: Poor Engineering, and a lack of forethought cripples what could be an outstanding product.
Review: After playing for a while with my Ronin 4+3, I decided I wanted to have the option to go with a remote setup, and also to drop a bit of the bulk I was carrying with my 4+3 Ronin Harness. I almost never carry the extra 3 tubes, because it is almost imposible to get a pod back into the elastic loops while your wearing it anyway, so why not go with a 4+1 and rig out a remote?

OK.... So after reading all the reviews I could find, and asking everybody I could find that was wearing one what they thought of this unit, I went ahead and bid on one from II Sports thru EBAY. Funny thing is, they were out of stock at II Sports for several days after I won the bid. (gee isn't a company not supposed to post auctions on items they do not currently have stock on)?

Anyway after they finally send the thing to me I am amazed. Not because they screwed up my order again (said they shipped my 30 day back ordered suspenders but forgot to put them in the box ). I mean after dealing with II Sports for this long on different items and issues, I pretty much expect them to screw up on the order, or have a backorder problem, or some other small but significantly annoying problem.

No I was amazed at how well made this unit was, and yet, how poorly designed (or poorly executed) the design was. Wow, a nice low profile 4/140 harness with a center bottle holder.... man, life should be good now!

Alas it is not..... I keep hoping that I will be able to report that a product they (II Sports) ships me is going to please me to no end. They have yet to be able to perform this even once. (ok, my smoke 140ball pods work as advertised, but other than that......)

Now before you start hammerning me about this I will tell you right up front. I do not expect the quality and workmanship of a $70 harness for $20... but for the most part, I am amazed because that is exactly what I have gotten. The harness is sturdy, and the pod holders are of the keep open stiff design. Bravo Ronin! I check the stitching and at least on this example I find no obvious defects in workmanship, (unlike my Ronin 4+3 which started loosing Velcro off the pod holder closures on the very first day ) Again Bravo Ronin! Excellent craftsmanship!

But this harness suffers from products built by factories or designed by engineers that are CHEAP SOB'S. Why would I say such a thing? Simple. After taking a look at this harness I can see that they tried to save a few cents by only putting about 1.5" of Velcro on the straps that hold the CO2 bottle in. This means that you can not adequately cinch the bottle into the pocket because they also scrimped maybe another 6 cents worth of Velcro pile on the pocket front itself. This means that the straps only loosely fit across the top of the bottle allowing it to wobble and bounce in the pocket.

While I found the vertical bottle pocket big enough to hold a 20oz CO2 bottle with probably an inch of slack around the bottle, in a one size fits all world, it is a poor fit. I will admit that they have tried to improve this, by adding the horizontal straps that go over the outside of the pocket (though difficult to tighten) these at least helped to marginally stabilize the bottle.

Alas these straps also cause a problem since they lay right where the Velcro tabs should hit the currently non existent Velcro pile material. This problem could be fixed either by adding more Velcro Pile material on the outside of the bottle pocket, or even more cheaply (are you listening Ronin factory?) by adding a couple more inches of Velcro HOOK on the bottoms of the straps. Man, don't you guys test your gear before you put a Design into production?

This design defect could almost be overlooked if it were not for the second glaring example of trying to shave a nickel and that is the waist strap. Instead of the wonderful wide, comfortable and stable Velcro rig of the 4+3, they went with a big plastic snap style buckle that digs into your gut when you try and get behind a bunker!

For crying out loud people!!!! You are selling to AMERICANS, You know... land of the Big Mac and Super-size everything! This waist strap can barely and I mean barely make it around my 38" waist, and the thing has to ride under my gut (yea I got a gut, you would have one too if you review beer for a living!) Come on! How much would an extra 6" of strap cost you?
The unit has none of the wonderful Velcro and Elastic adjustments of their 4+3, No lumbar support and as far as I have found, none of the nifty key pockets accessory pockets, or squeegee loops you find on the 4+3. Someone said it will fit up to a size 42, well maybe his will, but I assure you, this one will not even comfortably fit on a 38 waist.

Now to it's credit, yes this is a smaller unit, and does not have room for ALL of those nifty things, but This unit has none of them. It does have the attachments for a set of load bearing suspenders to help distribute and stabilize the load, but since they can not seem to ship those things to me I can't really include them in the review.

As for all this malarkey about the Ronin Gear Logo patch on the thing, come on!!! Get a Life! All I see is people running around with Jersey's and T'Shirts with logos and company names plastered all over them, and almost every mask I see has the company name if not their logo emblazoned on the strap! So Ronin gets hammered because they do it too? It ain't that cheesy and looks better than a bunch of the stuff I see on people most any day. Get Over It!

Since It comes with 4ea of their 100 round pods I guess I should say it has even more value for the dollar spent. But these pods are very very cheep pods and the construction indicates they would be better used in camp to top off your hopper before going out instead of in the field where you might actually be under some pressure and forget to treat them with kid gloves.



Conclusion: OK, My final thoughts on this are this.

For a $20 harness it is a really good value. For $0.25 more it could have been an outstanding one!
Quality of workmanship on my unit at date of receipt: 10
Design functionality: 8
Execution of the design: 5
Overall Value for the money spent:10
So after hammering it for all this time the Ronin 4+1 harness itself gets an overall score of 8.
But since the largest single distributor of this product seems to be II Sports the best I can give them is a 6, (for choosing II Sports as their Dealer/Distributor). This company has some of the worst luck with all things customer related.

By the Way II Sports......where is the replacement for my defective Slide Check Bleed Valve I sent you 10 days ago? Why did I have to pay shipping to return to you a defective item YOU sold me? Did I mention the suspenders?

Nuff said.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 26th, 2004 at 12:07 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nofxious Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI 3 pod harness
Marker Setup: WGP Outkast
Strengths: Hmmm, well, it was decently comfortable....thats about it
Weaknesses: CHEAP! so cheap, my 20oz co2 tank busted threw the bottomin a matter of months
Review: I heard a lot of good things from Ronin Gear, so I picked up the 4+1...bad news, in about 15 uses my remote c02 tank basted threw the bottom of the harness. I don't think Ronin is going to help me out either, as they dont seem to enjoy answering e-mail...
Conclusion: Buy a reds, or anything, just not this. I bought it brand new and it got ripped to shreds.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

markmco Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
umm some 14 dollar one i saw at a local store 2 pod holder
Marker Setup: spyder imagine, ricochet ak , sartparts teardrop, 12 oz co2
Strengths: snug durable
Weaknesses: cant find any except hard to tighten but it ok
Review: this is a great harness it carries 4 140/100 round pods and a 20 oz (or smaller) co2 tank.it's a great comfy snug harness. it is tight fitting east to use. i thre this as far as i could on concrete and no podz came out. it is alsome i think the best first harness ever. go for this for your first harness... if you any questions about this or paintball in general im me at DCpntbllr.
Conclusion: i reccommend this product for a first harness or even a rec players harness
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dizan187 Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder xtra with a j&j ceramic barrel. 91ci 4500 psi tank
Strengths: light, durable, holds 140 rd pods also
Weaknesses: not velcro only holds up to a 20 oz tank
Review: this is a good harness, made to endure playing in the field. comes with 4 100 rd pods , but can hold the bigger 140 rd pods. front part of the harness is a buckle. a velcro strap here would have been better, still the straps can be adjusted. some people i know have complained that when opening a strap to take out a pod,that it opens the pod accidentally.this can be solved be making sure your pod's lids are twisted so that you do not open them, when you pull the pod straps
Conclusion: good harness if you are lokking for something light, not to much pods, and is cheap.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media