paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs / Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs

Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nelson Paintball

Buy Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 18
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Elite Grade
Metallic Shell
Designed with Special Forces training in mind
Featuring RANGER (green fill) and SEAL (blue fill)
Available through mass merchants and limited retailers
Product Availability 
The Nelson Paintball Special Forces Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sab541 Saturday, April 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nel-Splat
RPS Premium
RPS Stinger
Core Prime
Core Action
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with ACT
Smart Parts 14 in Linear Barrel
View Loader Eye Force Loader
Double Trigger kit
Remote Coil
Recommended
Barrels:
Smart Parts
Strengths: Consistant
Great for woodsball
Breaks on target, not in the brush.
Weaknesses: Only 2 colors.
Hard to track when firing long distance.
Review: I got this stuff on recommendation from a friend. It's expensive but not the most expensive paint out there. I've it about a dozen times now and for woodsball it's one of the best I've used. I really like how this paint will shoot through the thin brush to get to my target. I lot of the other good paint's I've used are made for speedball, which are design to break as soon as it comes into contact with most anything. The colors are limited to 2 but they both look nice but both shell choices blend well with nature which makes it hard to track as you shoot. This could be an advantage for a sniper but I play more of a run and gun style. No dimples, no breaks, no problems. Great paint for a decent price $55 retail locally for me.
Conclusion: This is great paint for woodsball, and if you own a Tippmann you can't go wrong with this stuff.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ITSRAININGPAINT Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Nel-Splat (worse than this)
US Army Paintballs (About the same)
Conquest Paintballs (bounce-fest)
Cryptic (bounce-fest)
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Custom Products 2 piece, .685
EVLution 3 hopper
DXS 48/45 CP tank cover
Recommended
Barrels:
.685 bore worked wonders.
Strengths: Accuracy, bright fill, dark green shell.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I got these at my field for $50/2000 paintballs. These performed much better than the Nel-Splats, and were much less greasy. This paint was also a little bit harder than the Nel-Splats, no one had any barrel breaks with these. This paint was very accurate when I used my .685 back, and no one had any problems with these. My paint had a dark, mettalic green shell, and a bright yellow fill.
Conclusion: Pretty good, very accurate, bright fill, perfect shell size (no barrel breaks, lots of outs), what else can you ask for for $50/case? 9 of 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AceKilla2u Tuesday, December 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
premium grade paintballs
all the good paintballs
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2 Blue Body Kit w/ Blue Barrel Tip
Pure Energy 45/30
Recommended
Barrels:
idk
my spyder vs2 barrel works fine for these balls
Strengths: Accuracy
Fill is thick, not as thick as anarchy but its thick
Not bad price
Weaknesses: The price could be a little better
Review: Ok, after reading every1 elses review on this paint, I thought, theirs no way it can be that good for the price. At the local field here, a bqg of 500 field paint is about $21 so I did save $1 buying these off the internet. I tried out the S.E.A.L. piant, which is the Nelson SF paintballs with blue fill. These balls are awesome!!! They fly straight, always break on impact, the fill is pretty darn good. This is just an all around good paint!
Conclusion: I recommend this because its price is not that bad, the quality is great, no barrel breaks out of the 500 I shot, accuracy is spot on, and its pretty BA. Go get some, you won't be sorry
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dodge68 Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nel-Splat
Nelson Hot Spot
Zap Cryptic
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Smart Parts 20in barrel
PMI 14in barrel
Shocktech spring
PMI feed neck
Extreme Rage Hopper
20oz CO2- DXS, SPYDER, SMART PARTS

Tiberius 8 Pistol
Crosman CO2 cartridges
Recommended
Barrels:
Works in all the barrels I have.
Strengths: Very accurate
Almost no seam
Break on target
Thick fill
Weaknesses: Expensive, But worth it
Review: I bought these paintballs to see what they Were like and they are AWSOME!!! They shoot very accurate and break on target. They shoot great through my Tiberius 8 and MR1. No breaks. No breaks in bag. These would be good for woodsball due to the color. (Bronze) (fill, green)
Conclusion: Recommend to anyone looking for a great paint. Never had a problem with Nelson Paintballs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer - Close but not quite as good
Allstars- As good
VL Heavy Metal- Crap
VIsible Impact - A little worse but decent
Diable Nightmare-Crap
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 and Piranha Evo
Empire Reloader II
PMI Pure Energy N2 72ci/3000psi
BT Apex Barrel
Empire 7 Piece barrel kit
NC Star Red Dot Site (for the MR1)
Recommended
Barrels:
Apex Barrel- This paint loves the apex
Any barrel that matches the bore. Seems to be a smaller bore paint -Aboub .681-.683
Strengths: Flies straight
Very consistent
Thick bright fill
breaks on target
Weaknesses: Limited fill color selection
Review: This is a woodsballers paint. It shoots through brush without breaking but break on target almost all the time. I shot this paint playing woodsball recently and shot it back to back with some Marbz. I like Marbz but what I found is that Marbz will break if you shoot through the brush . For some reason the Special Forces paint shoots right through it and break on target. I don't know how it does it but it does. THe other thing about this paint that I like is the consistency of size and roundness. When I barrel match the paint I check the size consistency so I avoid barrel breaks. I found that on average, this paint is very consistent as far as size and roundness goes. More so than any of the other paints I've used. Bore size is a lot smaller than some people have noted in older reviews. I don't know, but maybe nelson made them smaller. They seem to be around .681-.683. I compared them to the Marbz that I have and they are definitely smaller than Marbz. The Marbz ranged from .686-.689. If you own an Apex barrel this is the paint you want to be shooting. Accuracy on the Apex is excellent with this paint.. I
Conclusion: Awesome consistent paint that beaks on impact and flies through light brush.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ABN Ranger Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, PMI Marbalizer, PMI Polar Ice, Worr Game Domination, Brass Eagle Monster Ball
Marker Setup: Use both Tippmann A-5 w/ Hammerhead BattleStixx 14" Barrel & Tippmann X7 w/ OPSGEAR 16" Operator Barrel, Low Profile Hoppers on each.
Strengths: Accurate!
No Ball Breakage in Barrel!
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I bought a box of 500 of the RANGER to test this out personally after reading some reviews here on pbreview.com. I'll tell you what, I was NOT disappointed! I have been getting sick of paint breaking in my barrel, warped paint, dimpled paint, etc. So I have been on a mission to find some good paint I can rely upon knowing that my Tippmann markers are harder on paint than most others. I DIDN'T BREAK A SINGLE BALL OUT OF THE 500. All my shots were dead on and I am still using the stock bolts in both my markers. The fill is predator blood neon green and was nice and thick. I wanted to know how the paint would do if I happened to break a ball in the barrel as each time that happens with other paint, game over until I clean my barrel. Balls are just all over the place until I do. I emptied my hopper and put a few lower grade balls in my hopper that I knew would break. I fired them off and sure enough they did break in the barrel. I then switched back to the Ranger paint and fired off about 30 balls. ACCURATE! I couldn't believe it! Even with paint in my barrel the balls were dead on and this never happens. Once I had conducted that test, I was sold that this was the paint for me. And the coolest part is that it is RANGER paint and I happen to be an ex-ranger from the U.S. Army.

*** UPDATE March 31, 2007 ***

I bought 2 cases of RANGER and it performed just like my first 500.

I also grabbed 2 500 count boxes of SEAL paint as well. Same results. The only draw back to the SEAL paint is the blue fill. It's a little dark. The RANGER paint is like freaking neon and the SEAL blue just isn't as bright. Both have the same gold shell. As far as the SEAL performance, the same as my RANGER review above. Top-notch quality and accuracy.
Conclusion: Excellent Paint. I will be ordering more. These balls are accurate with little to no barrel breakage. It's pretty spendy paint but I figure I might as well spend $10 more a case for balls that are accurate and don't break in my barrel instead of the other crap that has been wasting my money.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 6:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

edcan Thursday, November 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Anarchy
Hemorrhage
Marker Setup: WS Pewter Heavy Metal Dark Shocker/ Red 2006 Stock Shocker
HE Bolt
Dye Stainless Boomstick
Trinity on/off ASA
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak .687-.691
Strengths: Accurate
Breaks on Target
ThickFill
BrightBRIGHT!
No wipe Fill
The Roundest Paint EVER!
Weaknesses: Price
That's It
Review: This is the first paint I ever shot through my Dark Shocker and it shot the furthest and straightest I've ever seen a paintball fly period. This is trolley professional grade paint but it should be, considering it costs $79.99 a case of 1800 rounds. I bought the navy seal version of this paint and although the fill was blue nobody could wipe the "Thickest Fill in the World!!!" Anarchy, which is also made by Nelson, claims the previous, but Special Ops has the same fill thickness if not it's just a little bit thicker. If you can find Special Ops for a good price I strongly recommend buying it.
Conclusion: Nelson the creator of the paintball they couldn't make bad paint.
TRULY the BEST PAINT EVER
10- Quality
8- Price
9- Overall
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cobalt75 Saturday, September 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Generic field paint, Evil, JT Elite, Freedom, Kick'n. The Special Forces Ranger works best with my setup.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
SmartParts 12" Big Daddy Barrel
20 oz. CO2
Ricochet Apache hopper
Response Trigger
Recommended
Barrels:
All barrels, especially larger bore size barrels.
Strengths: Thick fill, hard to wipe, very accurate, shell color.
Weaknesses: Shell color, only 2 fill colors.
Review: The Special Forces paintballs are available in two grades, Ranger (green fill) and SEAL (bue Fill) They're designed for the special forces to use during training operations and are extremely accurate. I've only used the Ranger, but plan on buying a case of the SEAL for my next game. I played a full scenario game with this paint and did a test session with a friend where we were trying different paint with different setups of the same marker.

It was a little windy the day of the test session, so I wasn't able to get an accurate distance determination, but I was able to put every round within a 1' square from about 100 yards once I accounted for the wind. My friend uses a flatline barrel and was able to do it at about 130 yards. I was pretty accurate despite using CO2 with no expansion chamber. We tested generic Wal-Mart paint, which was crap, up to Evil. My friend liked the Evil just a little more than the Ranger, but I got better accuracy with the Ranger than with the Evil at longer distances. I think the Evil is a smaller size ball, so I probably had some blowby in my barrel.

I've only shot about 1000 rounds of it, but I haven't chopped a ball yet and don't know anyone who has. The outer shell is pretty thick and does not feel as delicate as the evil. It is prone to dimmples, but I did not notice a difference in performace. Although the shell is thicker, the balls rarely bounce off, probably due to the heavy fill paint. The extremely thick fill makes the paint tough to wipe, it's almost like house paint. The fill only comes in Blue or Green, so it could be tough to see if your target is wearing camo or darker colors. The shell is kind of camo color, brown and green, and can be tough to see in flight. This is good if you don't want your target to see what hit him, but bad for you if you use your paint like tracer fire.
Conclusion: This is my prefered paint at the moment. I'm typically a lie and wait guy who pops off a couple of shots at a time, making first round accuracy very important to me. I've seen it online costing anywhere from $40 to $60 a case making it a possible bargain. I give it a 9 out of 10 because of the color issues.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Raiders32 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Spank
Marbs
Big Ball
Core Premium
others...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip w/ W.A.S Board
4 piece Empire Barrel Kit
Ricochet R5
PMI Remote Line
Pure Engergy 20oz Co2

Core Zx
Core Holster
Strengths: Accuracy, ball quality, consistancy
Weaknesses: Little brighter fill would be nice
Cost (but worth it due to quality)
Review: Really impressed with these paintballs. I could not find a single ball with a dent, pimp, or other malformity. The bronze shell is easy to follow, but makes it incredibly hard for your opponents to zero in on. I shoot about 1100+ rounds through my A-5 (with empire barrel) and another 400+ through my PMI Tracer, Electra ACS '05 (with 2 piece All American), and Core ZX without a single misque. The balls stayed right on target no matter how fast I shot.

As far as weaknesses go, I wish green fill was a wee bit brighter. Did have a couple bounces (but I always do with any paint). Cost about $10-$15 more per 2000rd case then some other decent paintballs that are out there.
Conclusion: Overall very impressive. Maybe not a ball I can afford each time I go out ($48 a case a local shop) but definately my new favorite for woodsball when I got an extra $10 to spend. Best quality ball for ball I have every seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronCorps Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Everything out there.
Marker Setup: Silver-Gray Wrath LTD, Apache LED, Worr air 50/3000, shocktech #5 drop, random on/off, empire barrel kit.
Recommended
Barrels:
One's that are the right size, duh. lol. Barrel kits are best.
Strengths: Excellent accuracy, good fill and shell.
Weaknesses: Expensive sometimes.
Review: So far this has been my favorite kind of paint to use. I shoot it in my Empire barrel kit with the .691 back on, and it's ball on ball accurate. More accurate than the freak barrel systems around here. This paint is what you could call tournament grade, but less brittle. The fill is of the perfect viscocity so that it doest slosh around inside the ball causing curves. The shell is somewhat brittle, but tough enough to use in low end guns such as Tippmanns.
Conclusion: I reccomend this paint to players of any sort wanting a tournament grade ball, without the super brittle shell.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media