paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 272
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Precision-Rifled Barrel Specifically Designed for Paintball
Four years in development, the Tru-Flight Rifled Barrel is making paintball history for: Extreme Accuracy,
Tighter Pattern,
Greater Distance, and
Spin-Free Projection.
Product Availability 
The CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jordan31392 Friday, April 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a flatline for my a5 which gave it the distance but the accuracy was not the greatest. So i bought this barrel because my friend recommened it and let me say my accuracy increased dramatically due to the straight rifling that this barrel has.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
Saw Stock
Remote Coil
Red Aluminum Power Tube
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
It really doesnt matter for this barrel because it can shoot the crapiest paint and still make the paintball land on target.
Strengths: Accurate
Lightweight
Sweet Design
Cheap
Weaknesses: Havent found one yet.
Review: If you are thinking about getting a barrel that will increase your accuracy and distance think no more and buy this barrel. I highly recommened it because of the straight rifling which is what old muskets had. Best of all this barrel on ebay will run around 25 dollars which is a remarkable price for this kind of quality.
Conclusion: Buy this product if you want to take out your friend with one shot. You will never have to spray and pray with this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aznspyder Tuesday, April 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spdyder barrel(better then this thing), J&J, AA barrel
Marker Setup: spyder imagine 04' , EGGY 2/ Z board, tru flight barrel sniper barrel 14", homemade drop, sweet spot trigger, high flo internals.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, I use hotspots mostly
Strengths: Came packed, looks nice, fairly cheap
Weaknesses: INACCURATE, POOR RANGE(my stock barrel does better), SPREAD IS HORRIBLE, LOUD
Review: I was excited to get a new barrel for my gun and thought that this would be a good barrel to start off since the reveiws were pretty good and that it was fairly cheap barrel to get. When i finally got it I was all hyped up to use the barrel since it looked cool and was longer than my stock one( now a shorty barrel). I put the barrel on and gased up my homemodded imagine and put some paint in and went outside for a test. While test I notice that the barrel wasn't shooting any farther or more Accurate than my cutted down stock barrel which SUCKED balls in facted it was get LESS range and LESS accuracy.
I don't mean to rip on this barrel but it's the truth, this wat so called barrel is horrible for me and i would gladly use any spyder barrel over this one.
Conclusion: I DONT recomand this barrel to anyone, ur stock barrel will shoot better than this one. Buy this at ur cost, im just saying that this barrel isn't worth my 30 bucks or even 20 bucks. I cant even trade my friends this sone for their stock.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonp2x4 Monday, March 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tru fleight 14 inch
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom 12 inch milsim silent tru flight barrel viewloader egg2
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintballs i bought some cheap stryker paintballs and shot with them and they were fine
Strengths: Cool lookin strong accurate super silent cheap(38.00)
Weaknesses: Nothin yet
Review: The barrel is great is accurate and i would rather spend 38 on the truflight than 100 on a flatline pretty7 much the perfect barrel if you clean it right after using squeegee and barrel swabs run it under hot water than clean it with towel and the inside will be spotless if you put flatline that isn't cleaned properly vs your stock barrel the stock barrel will win
Conclusion: Great barrel for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scooter7897 Monday, April 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just the stock barrels that come with the varies markers used.
Did buy a cheap barrel off ebay once. Not sure of the brand. Wasn't worth the 11 bucks I paid.
Marker Setup: Spyder pilot acs '05: 14" tru flight barrel
low rise clamping feed neck
run on co2 (tank size varies)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big Balls worked well.
PMI's
Dusk (can't find locally any more)
Strengths: Affordable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not the best on the market
Review: Ok you can get this barrel for about $30 or less. This barrel is much more accurate then the stock barrel. Now I am not saying that this is the best barrel out there to get. But a better barrel is one of your first upgrades. Could also be one of the cheapest upgrades (if you go with the route of a cheaper after market barrel).
Conclusion: I am not sure it it is the length or it being "rifled" that makes it more accurate. but regardless it is more accurate than the stock barrel. inexpensive and works.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grayf0x Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts progressive barrel 16in (better but more expensive)
Stock barrel on my MR-1
Marker Setup: Model 98custom A.C.T (realtree hardwood camo)-16in smart parts progressive barrel,virture russian legion grips, bt spring kit, bt sealed bolt system

Spyder Mr1-18in barrel; ak-47 expansion chamber: t-lock for hopper

Tippmann sl-68 II
Recommended
Paintballs:
I think that visual impart are the best match for this barrel. You can get them at walmart. RPS Super Swril are a definate NO NO they break like crazy in this barrel. Diablo and marbalizers are are also a good match for this barrel.
Strengths: Rifiled
Cool looking muzzle break
Accuate for price
Weaknesses: Finish is crap....
Review: This barrel has many god things going for it its accurate for the price and looks overall pretty good, also its rifiled. I used the 16in barrel of this type on my Mr-1 with great results, it gave me groups of a human silhoute out to 30 yards and after that the ball started to wander a little. However for its price ( I got mine for about $10.00 U.S.) its a good buy for someone looking to replace the barrel on their gun and not dish out large amounts of $$$$. The finish on the barrel is not the greatest in addition the barrel is a little picky on paint, with this barrel you eaither have the right paint or you don't, so dont get cheep paint!!!! most higher quality paints work well in this barrel. After using this barrel for a while i upgraded to a 98 custom with a smart parts progressive barrel, and gave this barrel to my friend, he uses Diablo paint and it seems to be working well with his spyder..

Conclusion: In conclusion if you have $10-20 setting around and you want something more than a stock barrel then get this barrel. If you get the right kind of paint then the barrrel is quite deadly, other wise you end up with a mess of chopped paint .
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Glowivan Tuesday, December 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Pilot barrel ( not as accurate )
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS, 16 in Tru-Flight barrel, Eggy 2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Paint you get at PBmatrix ( only in miami ) Diablo Heat works pretty well too...
Strengths: Range ( big Difference )
Weaknesses: Shiney.... Not god for woodsball. 16 in too long
Review: Pretty good barrel overall. Price is relly good for the performance. And looks great on just about everygun. ( yes even on an ion ) Like I said before, Dont get a 16in. Good for back players in Speedball, But reallt bad for paintball ''snipers'' Recomended for someone who just started out.
Conclusion: good Barrel Overall. Not something to get to comftorable with though.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

calcm27 Saturday, October 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO, 68/4500, VL Revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
Maraballizer
Strengths: Affordable
Weaknesses: Honing, accuracy
Review: I did a comparison with the stock 12" barrel. Fired 50rnds through the stock one, then 50 through the CMI, then again through the stock barrel. The CMI was LESS accurate, no doubt about it. It shot just as far though. The honing inside is the worst Ive ever seen, very rough.
Conclusion: Not for use on Piranhas.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Sunday, September 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LAPCO, Stiffi and stock barrel on my A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Special Ops air thru stock setup with remote, Centerflag air tank with sliding valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything more than .689, and as fresh as you can get
Strengths: The cost, reduced sound signature
Weaknesses: The design, the materials used
Review: I'll try to keep this short, I wasn't very impressed with this barrel at all. It came stock on my A-5 when I got it, and I used it exclusively until recently when I knew I had to replace it. The barrel I had is a 9" barrel, with porting and rifling from the factory.

Porting and rifling is more than a little overkill. The porting was over 50% of the barrel, so I had an effective solid barrel of 3" to allow air expansion. As a result, I was losing a lot of air efficiency with this setup. Running compressed air (88 ci / 4500 psi) I was lucky to get 500 shots off an air fill. In a lot of cases, I would have the velocity screw to the point that it was going to fall out of the gun, and I would only get 260 FPS.

I also had to sand down the end of the barrel a few times, as the threaded end got very sharp more than once. I was breaking paint out of context with it. The balls were catching somehow on the lip of the barrel and shearing apart on the sharp edge. I spent a night sanding it down with fine paper, and it solved the problem. When it happened again, I knew that something needed to change. And I've never had this problem before with any other barrel I've owned in 10+ years.

The only real advantage is that it's a cheap after-market barrel. I feel in this case you get what you pay for. The sound signature is also relatively low, for an A-5. Beyond that, there's not much in the "plus" side.

Accuracy, it put paint where I wanted it to go usually. Like any other paintball barrel. I honestly didn't notice any considerable difference between this and the stock A-5 barrel. At least not enough to make me sit up and take notice. This barrel is also huge, .695 most likely. Most paint rolls right out of it.
Conclusion: Even though it's cheap, I wouldn't recommend this barrel. Save up some cash and get something that works better. I personally bought a new barrel a few months ago, and placed the "Thunderpig" into the box of stuff that will never see the light of day again.

4/10. I'm not impressed.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

u238 Thursday, May 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
various stock barrels
Marker Setup: Used on various spyder or spyder clone markers.
Strengths: Pretty decent structural tubing and/or prybar...
Weaknesses: -Quality of manufacture
Review: I really don't understand why anyone would give this barrel a high rating. After using two of them, one 14" and one 16," I can say that they are overall a terrible buy. Firstly, the quality of manufacture is extremely low. The barrel appears to be drawn rather than bored, as it is not a consistent diameter over its length. In one of them, the bore was so uneven that the straight rifiling all but disappeared for an inch or so about 2 inches down the barrel. Apparently these barrels aren't honed, because the inner surface is anything but a mirror finish. Another serious flaw in design is the breech end. The portion rear of the threads is far too small a diameter for its application in addition to being too thin. This means paintballs are forced roughly into the bore, contributing to chops.
In actual performance testing, these barrels appear to have no better performance than stock 8.5" spyder barrels. Not only is their accuracy poor, but they actually develope less velocity due to their excessive length. (12" is the maximum length necessary to achieve the highest velocity.) The usual stock spyder barrel aslo has a considerably better finish in the bore as well as more precise machining. I will say, in the barrel's defense, that I had no chops while using it on most spyder guns; only one gave me a problem.
I highly doubt that I happened to get two of these barrels that happened to be low quality. If it were true, however, it would only support the fact that CMI barrels have poor quality control and should be avoided.
Conclusion: Save $20 and stick with your stock barrel until you can afford something proven.
This barrel gets a 2 because it does, in fact, work as a barrel.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

eagle212 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts progressive – no straight through rifling but shoots much straighter
J&J Edge kit, - this is a barrle kit with no real comparison to this barrel.
Marker Setup: 06’ Black Magic
MP4 Ram
68/4500 Crossfire tank LP regulator
J&J Edge Barrel kit with 5 backs and 5 fronts (8, 10, 12, 14, 16 inch)
Halo w/ Rip drive and stock board (for now)
Kila magnetic, derilin ball detent
Drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
none, they all shoot badly through this barrel
Strengths: None that I can think of
Weaknesses: Length (I got the 16in)
Accuracy
Noise
Price
Review: I bought this barrel out of sheer curiosity as to whether or not the straight through rifling would add any accuracy; I even read the reviews on it which were mostly good. What I found out is that this barrel has about every bad quality possible for a barrel.

A little about the barrel, it has straight groves and lands running through the barrel in some attempt to keep the ball flying straighter than through a smooth bore barrel. I would not ever buy a barrel with spiraled rifling do to the mere fact that physics tells us that the amount of spin required to effectively stabilize a paintball to the point at which you will see noticeable results would destroy the fragile ball in flight. (Ever notice that most high velocity bullets have a copper jacket on them? That is too keep the lead bullet from flying apart in flight because of the spin that is on it.)

Key weaknesses

Length – Most people say the longer the barrel the more accurate it will be (ensuring of course that you have a good paint to bore match) I have not found this to be true especially with this barrel. The 16in length that I got this barrel in makes it very cumbersome to get around barricades you have to sit back so far that you end up putting yourself in the open. I have a J&J edge kit that I have all five tips for (8, 10, 12, 14, 16 inch) the 8 inch shoots the same groupings and the same distances as the 16 inch barrel and it even out performs the 10, 12, and 14 inch barrels. So do not believe those antics about length matters, because paint to bore match matter so much more. I recommend getting the shortest barrel you can that shoots the groups you like; you will be amazed at how much your game play improves with your increased mobility.

Accuracy – I had a very good paint to bore match when I tested, and played this barrel, I even used good paint, and the results were very disappointing. I have a Black Magic Autococker which most know to have legendary accuracy. With this barrel on the marker however I was shooting worse groupings than any of the Spyder’s, and Tippman’s with stock barrels on the field. I was embarrassed to even have this barrel on my marker.

Noise – This thing is loud. It sounds like a cannon going off. It does have a muzzle break at the end but lacks proper porting holes to limit the noise it produces. I will again reference the 8 inch J&J edge barrel and say that it is much quieter than this thing is.

Price – I am saying price is a weakness because even though I only paid $20 including S&H for this barrel, it is just not worth it. You could (and I have) spend $20 on a Smart Parts barrel and get better accuracy a shorter length and less noise.
Conclusion: As I see it the straight through rifling has no benefit and is merely just a gimmick. This barrel is so bad even for the price, that I do not even think I could sell this thing knowing what I was passing off to someone.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media