paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel / CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 272
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Precision-Rifled Barrel Specifically Designed for Paintball
Four years in development, the Tru-Flight Rifled Barrel is making paintball history for: Extreme Accuracy,
Tighter Pattern,
Greater Distance, and
Spin-Free Projection.
Product Availability 
The CMI International Tru-Flight Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
hornydevil Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 stock barrel, spyder stock barrel
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ 14" Tru-Flight (pretty basic)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch
Any decent medium-bore
Strengths: Very Sturdy
More accurate than stock barrel
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Rough internal finish
No porting
Gloss finish (does not match the a-5)
Review: The first thing I noticed about the barrel when I pulled it from the packaging was the stamp, "Made In Mexico." I thought I just got burned by buying a cheap barrel...

Not true! The barrel is surprisingly accurate for the price. It has good range and is fairly consistent from shot to shot, even using CO2. It looks good as a scenario barrel and carries an attractive price tag (<$30). I have put about 12,000 rounds of Scorch through it without a single break. The barrel is very gas efficient due to the lack of porting. However, this makes the barrel loud.

It is a little long, but it is a small price to pay for the accuracy that you get out of it. The color and finish of the barrel do not exactly match the A-5, which, in my opinion, does not matter much. The barrel is no quieter than the stock barrel. Not the best craftsmanship, but it performs well.

The internal finish can be improved by running fine steel wool through it, but it is still rough by my standards. There are many different opinions about rifling and I don't think it affects the accuracy enough to notice.
Conclusion: Good barrel for the price (great value)! For increased accuracy, get a good paint match.
Good first upgrade for the A-5...

I give it an 8 just because I am picky...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike-tippmann34 Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
just the progressive which is a HELL lot better
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
*expansion chamber (soon to come)
*viewloader tripod
*proggressive 14" barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
eliminators
Strengths: Pretty accurate
Can shoot pretty far
Weaknesses: Chops ball
Inconsistant(sometimes)
Review: Ok so my bro has a tippmann and has this barrel. I tried it out and i mean it was ok but i wouldn't pay 35 buks for it. its pretty accurate but still not so good. Chops balls like a mother. If you want to buy it i advise you to go with the progressive for 30-60 buks, its alot better. but then again this barrel is ok..
Conclusion: Sure get it but you might not be so satisfied when you play.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpYdErMaNX Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04, HALO TSA LCD Backman Hopper, Catalina CO2 tank, Thunderpig Tru - flight 16" barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
X- Ball white box rec sport paint worked awesome with this barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Doesnt Chop
Cleans Easily
Does What its supposed to do
Weaknesses: Muzzle Break gets Sharp ( No big Deal Though)
Review: this barrel is pretty awesome, for such a low price you wouldnt expect this kind of quality. this barrel is very accurate and holds to its name of Tru - Flight. It also Doesnt Chop unless those muzzle breaks get sharp on the inside, but thats not a problem just take some steel wool and rub it back and forth until the edges are nice and smooth and your good to go. the barrel also cleans very well if it does chop which allows for you to get back to shooting fast and thats pretty important.
Conclusion: Get this barrel it will definatly improve your game
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BALROG1012 Thursday, June 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
My stock barrel does not compare
Marker Setup: 04 Spyder imagine 16'' tru- flight barrel 20oz CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
less ball chopping
Cheap
Weaknesses: If you do chop a ball lose alot of accuracy
Review: All and all this barrel rocks. It is cheap and reliable. I went from a stock 9'' barrel to this one. I have a greater distance and accuracy, and a better look as well. This barrel is sold in most paint ball stores as well. For a small amount of money this barrel is remarkably nice.
Conclusion: It is cheap, reliable, looks good, and performs great. I give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Flash190 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Tippmann barrell. The stock barrell was fine until I saw a guy that had one of these 16'' CMI's at my local field.I had to get it after i shot it. Once i got it I noticed a little bit more chopping and pinching but the accuracy was improved greatly. There was only a small difference in performance between stock and the CMI.
Marker Setup: I currently have a Tippman A-5
16'' CMI Flite Barrell
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fresh but any brand will work.
Strengths: Accuracy!!!!!!!!
Price!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: A slight amount of a little more pinching and slicing.
Review: Overall a great barrell it was a nice upgrade especially for 30 bucks. But there was only a slight difference in accuracy. It also seemed to chop and pinch a little more. Fresh paint would cut down on a little bit of this. During playing I noticed that it seemed to be a little longer than I accually needed especially being upfront. Remember bore is what makes it accurate not length.
Conclusion: I would recommend getting this barrell for the increase in accuracy and a cheap price.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilsol04 Wednesday, May 25th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: custom 98 W/flatline (wich is a pain in the u know what}
Recommended
Paintballs:
nothing they all are bad
Strengths: Good for shooting around corners or poking your opponents eye out.
Weaknesses: Balls fly left and right and never go strait.
Review: I bought this after reading reviews on the barrel and I was looking for something cheap. So I purchased it for 20 dollars on ebay. I then proceded to shoot it and nothing ever shot strait. They went left and right and I was very dissapointed. I thought that a longer barrel would increase accuracy. Well it does'nt. All it does is add more spin and it shoots out with a mad curve that does'nt get better as you shoot. I was very dissapointed in the way it shot and I will probably end up throwing it at my opponent instead of trying to shoot them.
Conclusion: Don't buy this item! It will only give you problems.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

steve_man_9110 Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
sonix stock
Marker Setup: spyder sonix
(2) 12oz co2
sight
16" Cmi barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
the best you can get
zap will cut
Strengths: $20Cheep$20

Grate for the $$
But will need work
Weaknesses: It needs lots of Work
Review: ok i got a good way 2 get this bad boy going.

take a muti-tool and get the plairs out and put them in the ed of the barrel and twist/push. This will make it bevelled so the balls can get in the barrel.
Now get sum steel wole and out it in the outher end the twist it in that end so it well not cut the balls.
do this and it should stop the balls from busting.
So if you can do all this it is good but a barrel should not have this much work 2 do on it.
Now i have it up its all cool but when it not its 1 long thing of crap.
But i like it and it looks so hot on my spyder sonix!
Conclusion: Good but needs work.
When its up its da bom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spikoman69 Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart-Parts Progressive
Evil Pipe
Stock 98 custom barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Double Trigger, Empire Reloader, Premier Drop Forward, 14" Tru-Flight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that matches bore size, I shot cores out of it and they did pretty good.
Strengths: -Really accurate for the price
-Big step up on shot distance
Weaknesses: -Consistency could be better, but for $20 it's really good.
Review: The CMI Tru-flight barrel is definitely a good barrel for the price. I shot a 14" tru-flight on my old 98 custom for close to a year and I had nothing but good things out of it. It wasn't bad on barrel breaks, I did have a few but it was only because of warped paint. It has an intersting bore design, there is straight rifling on it. I'm guessing this was there to prevent paint from curving by making friction on all sides of the ball the same. It definitely did a good job at that, very rarely did I have a cuvry shot come out of it.
Conclusion: This barrel is by far the best you are going to find for $20. It definitely wont compare with something like a freak or ultralite, but for $20 it exceeded my expectations. If you don't have $30+ for a barrel, buy the CMI Tru-Flight, you will not be disappointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

igota98custom Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Eggy II, ups+
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
Big Balls
Diablo
Any non "deviant Wal-Mart crap"
Strengths: Fairly cheap
Pretty light
Accurate
No chopping
Weaknesses: Length (I have a 16 in)
Review: I got this barrel when I first got my Tippmann, and It is pretty good. The only thing I was bummed out about, was the fact that it is 16 inch's long. I know that everything over 14 loses velocity, but when I tested it out, it actually works pretty well. This barrel is fairly cheap, you can get them for under $35.00 dollars. It's also really light, considering it's size. This barrel is pretty accurate, if your using some good paint that is. I used some 2-year old Zap paint, and man did this sucker chop. But when I actually used good paint, RPS Big Balls, out of 1000 shots, I never got one chopped ball. Once again, If you don't like long barrels, then you might not want this one.
Conclusion: Get this barrel, if you want a cheap, and reliable barrel. I recommend some other barrels though, say the SP Progressive and the Dye Xcel. These are around the same price, but may work better.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikemiel10 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel (no competition, cmi barrel is sooo much better)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, 16" CMI barrel silent), handguard, brass eagle laser scope, sling, double trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
zap rec series paintballs work great and there cheap, only $30 for 2000 paintballs!!!
Strengths: Very quiet(only with silencer brand)
16" goes very far
accurite
cheap
goes far
Weaknesses: The threads wear out quicker than most barrels, but thats no problem
Review: the barrel was very cheap when I got it off of eBay. EBay is the best place to get the barrel. When I say silencer I don't mean an actual silencer. There are 2 types of cmi barrels, the special silent one or the regular one, but the silent one is a few dollars more. If you don't know what I mean than look on eBay or somewhere to see where it is. The threads are fine, what I mean is that I take my barrel off so many times during a game that it causes it to get weak on the very end, but the barrel still attaches fine.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who needs a cheap long barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (28):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media