paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Joe7254 Sunday, June 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel,
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Response trigger
Double trigger
Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
DXS
Strengths: Range
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Paintballs Curve
Hard to clean
Hard to install
Price
Review: It is a good barrel as long as you don't break paint because it will curve everywhere but all barrels will do that but it is hard to clean and takes a long time to clean. But it does increase the range of the gun. It also takes a long time to put together.
Conclusion: It is a good barrel but is hard to maintain
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Amras86 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
G36 Barrel
Stock 98 Custom Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a good reputation.
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Cleaning
Review: This barrel is quite an expensive upgrade for just a barrel. Then again, pretty much everything for paintball is highly priced. This was one of the first upgrades I ordered for my Tippmann 98 Custom.

Strengths:
There is a huge difference in distance when you shot paint through it on a windless day. You easily get at least 100 more feet per shot. I am always surprised when I just fire at someone very far away and if it wasn't for a slight breeze or something in the way, I would of hit them. You don't get this kind of distance with the stock barrel. The accuracy is one thing I don't find a big difference in. The stock Tippmann 98 Custom barrel never let me down for accuracy. I have friends who have been using the stock barrel for quite some time and never seem to complain. There is an accuracy increase but its nothing to boast about.

Weaknesses:
It's quite expensive for a barrel. Although I didn't pay 150$ for it, I paid roughly 100$. Most other barrels are a little cheaper, maybe 60-80$ in price. When you chop paint in this barrel, it can take a little more time to clean out then the stock barrel. Because its curved it doesn't let the squeegee quite pull through as easily. Other then those two weaknesses, this barrel is pretty good.
Conclusion: I like the barrel. It makes my Tippmann 98 Custom look more intimidating I guess. Only problem I have found with the barrel is when I put it on my gun it doesn't screw on straight, there it still about a quarter turn left in it to get it tight enough to not move. I corrected this by rigging up a brace that connects the barrel with the receiver via a brace using the tactical rails.

Score: 8

I give the flatline barrel an 8 because of the price and its slightly increased difficulty to clean on the field under fire. The accuracy is not a huge improvement but distance is amazing.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmanncustpro Sunday, April 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X7 flatline and some 18 inch barrels for 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro with ssl200 hopper flatline barrel tippmann quick dissconnet remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premium or marbleizers.
Strengths: Accuracy down rang distance no ball breaks ever compactness
Weaknesses: None yet!
Review: I've been using this barrel for about 2 weeks and have played once with it. But I've put 1000 balls through it and no nball breaks from the premium paint other than when I had to shot an inch of mudd out of barrel. And it just popped because of zecond ball hitting firts but only broke near end and not in the barrel! I shot a target no wider than 1 foot by 1 foot from about 75 feet away and only missed aboout 10 of the 300 shots! It kept right up with the x7 with a flatline barrel that my buddy has.it also out shot my buddies tippmann 98 with a 18 inch barrell on it.
Conclusion: This is a extraordinary barrel and for only being 79 dollars its a must have for those serious tippmann long shooters out there! Or if ur a short close quaters guy its works doublely as well since it is so short.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XIII-124c312 Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
20" barrel *_* but still no back spin
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro so i don't have to buy everything else to make it better later, like response trigger etc. with some slight modifications, tweaks, etc.
Flatline barrel
Piranha side arm sometimes...
REMOTE/CYC FEED someday if I feel I really need it...as of right now...I just feel that I want it...
Recommended
Paintballs:
High end...cheap ones will almost always break...why? because the ball as to sort of go UP a little and then roll out the barrel and cheap flimsy ones will break
Strengths: Very Accurate and Precise, great intimidation factor
Weaknesses: when you are shooting and there is WIND, high breakage of cheaper balls
Review: Awesome barrel. I installed it, but was incorrectly installed as I had to slightly fix the notch ever so slightly to make it fit better and more snug as most balls were breaking when I first tried it out...was slightly crooked for some odd reason so balls fired slightly off to the right or would break before they even left the barrel....sure I could have traded it back in for another one...but no fun in that...as it was more USER error than anything

I use my marker all the time and it is the only gun i ever bothered buying because of the barrel and marker pricing. I am more of an outdoors/scenario player and have enjoyed using it for picking people off in attack/defend.

Only warning though, is get used to playing with it in the WIND. With all things that spin, wind will greatly affect the flight...but...that can be to your advantage instead of disadvantage....no you can't bend shots like in WANTED...too much anyways...;)

10/10 because I'm not going to dock for something that can't be helped so just don't play when it's really windy...or else...have fun because I always do. what better way to pick off people when they are behind cover and a ball some how flies AROUND the tree/wall ever so slightly...but down to 9/10 because once a ball breaks...it's not going to work as well so I need to have the special squeegee on hand for a quick 6 second fix...good ol' piranha side arm...but final 10/10 because when you look at it, it makes your marker look almost like an MP5...so be S.W.A.T.

It will wear out faster than other barrels due to the way it fires the rounds...but even then...you won't really see that unless you really paintball with the mindset of "spray and pray"...one of my friends had to replace it just last year after a few years with it because he's trigger happy...mine? i still have it from 2002 and it still shoots like new...
Conclusion: Buy it, Use it, and when you do, you'll thank yourself because your shot is highly accurate and you won't have to reload so often because you know that your shots will count
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KBug Monday, December 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, gravity hopper, adjustable stock, response trigger, gurilla air 48/3000
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Can't hit the side of a barn
Review: I got this for my 98 custom and it sucked! You couldn't hit anything with this barrel. Also it seemed like none of the paintballs would bust if you could actually hit someone. I also tried this on a tippmann a5 and it sucked just as bad. About the only thing good about this barrel is that it looks cool.
Conclusion: If you want your gun to look cool, buy this. If you want to be able to shoot people, dint buy this.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 22nd, 2011 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

niese96 Monday, August 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom Stock Barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series
Flatline Barrel
Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Recon Ball and V1 paintballs.
Strengths: Accurate.
Looks cool.
Adds 100 feet of distance.
Adds a better balance to gun.
Weaknesses: Can't get straight shots over 290 fps.
Kinda pricey.
Review: The Tippmann 98 custom Flatline is a very unique and weird barrel. If you dont know how to use it, it isnt good. If you know how to use it, it is your best friend.
This barrel is great for sniping, frontline men, heavey gunners, and commanders. This is by far the best barrel I, and my friends, have ever used. This barrel adds 100 feet of distnance to every shot you take. This barrel puts a backspin on the ball so that it flys straighter. A weakness I didnt state above is that a breeze and/or wind will throw off your shot. This barrel(on a fairly calm day) is great to have and own.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel! I highly recomend. Im giving it a nine becuase everything can be better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

321pb123 Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
No other tippmann 98 barrel can compare to this
but i'm sure X-7 and A-5s are similar
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann 98 with a flatline barrel, double trigger, and 3000 psi compressed air tank/ CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
tippmanns can withstand almost anything, but i find that almost any draxxxus paint works good
Strengths: Range increase, accuracy
Weaknesses: Although I said accuracy was a strength...sometimes the ball curves (if you dont clean)
Review: Ever since i got the flatline barrel my 98 has improved greatly. I've been a key "sniper" to my friends and almost always hit my targets from near and far. If you find satisfaction in being able to hit your targets when their balls are landing in front of you, you'll like this barrel. I bought mine on amazon for $80. The reccomended retail price here is $50 over what i would pay. you can probably get a flatline for around $80-$110 ($120)
Conclusion: Yes, i would most definetly recommend this barrel to anyone who wants to improve their range and accuracy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdykev Friday, March 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to the Flatline but I own the full freak barrel system.
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion-
Freak Barrel Kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 68/4500
360 QEV
Smart Parts Q-Lock

-Tippmann 98 Custom-
Flatline Barrel
Cyclone feed
Double Trigger
32 Degrees Remote
a different front grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a thicker shell.
Strengths: Adds distance.
Nice feel.
Weaknesses: Price ($100)
Doesn't work with thin shelled paintballs
Not very accurate.
Review: I purchased the barrel about five years ago for my Tippmann 98 custom. Unfortunately I didn't realize what a bad idea that was.

First of all the flatline barrel system does add distance to the paintballs. I have never measured the distance but I don't think it is the 100 ft that they claim that it is. At about 200ft the barrel is too inaccurate to hit anything anyway so the added distance is pretty much pointless.

Compared to my stock Ion barrel the flatline is pretty inaccurate ever at normal range (50-75ft). The paintballs often curve one way or another. It is more accurate than the stock 98 custom barrel but not by much.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. It's just not worth the $100 they sell it for. If you really want to be a "sniper" go with an Apex which is half the price. Or be a real paintballer and move if you're too far away to hit someone. Odds are at 200ft the paintball wont break no matter what barrel you're using. I recommend going with a J and J barrel. They're only $30 and are more accurate than the flatline barrel.

A 5 is average. This is an average product. Therefore it deserves a 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lanestanley Thursday, February 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
well no other barrel has an arch
Marker Setup: I have a tippman 98 silver with the new flat line i got rid of old commando stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
procap triump
Strengths: Range Accuracy and Durrability.
Weaknesses: Very expensive.
Review: Well when i first got it i shot at my target[house] almost 170 yards away and hit it i recommend it to the intimanator play it was god for me. Good barrel. Highly rcommend it weighs a little. But its worth it.i never chop balls or throw paint it just a good barrel i bought mine a bass pro good deals there
Conclusion: Good for milsim and senario rather buy new new flatline.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4TippysDude Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 14" GTA Sniper barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
M16 Stock
Drop Forward
Halo Rev Hopper
R/T kit
Forward Expansion Chamber
Forward Starbolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs or equivalent quality paint
Strengths: Extended Range
Weaknesses: A little awkward on the gun
Annoying installation

Review: I had used this barrel several times when I first got it for my 98. I have had mixed feelings about it though, since it does indeed deliver longer range shots but seems to reduce the accuracy and impact of the balls on target. I dont have any concrete data to say that it actually weakens the impact but I did notice that at maximum range the balls tended to remain intact instead of breaking on impact with the target. It seems to lower the velocity of the paintballs quite a bit, but that's to be expected when you're extending your range a few dozen yards. I also noticed the balls tended to wander a bit more than with a traditional straight barrel. I know a few people have talked about "floating" paint with this barrel and I have definitely noticed the same thing. Sometimes when the paint leaves the barrel it will corkscrew or fly off to the side or otherwise not track straight. This may be due to the barrel being slightly crooked in the adapter, or perhaps a dent in the paint or something, but it is quite annoying when you're trying to make long range shots and cant consistently hit a target. I have noticed a tendency to break paint with this barrel if you're trying to rapid fire, however, if you're using this barrel you should really be trying to play a sniper role anyway.

One thing that I did notice about this barrel is the installation is a bit of a hassle. The plastic shroud can get annoying because the allen screw in the rear is a different size than the frame screws for the rest of the 98. I have actually cut off the entire back of the shroud so I only have the foregrip still covering the barrel (which I have held in place with a rubber band around the hopper elbow). The barrel has to be set in the adapter just right or else you will wind up breaking a lot of paint. Not a huge deal, but it's a little annoying at first. This usually means you have to check the fit up with your finger through the breach to make sure that the barrel is seated correctly.

I only woodsball, and by that I mean the type where you play on someone's property, not in a well cared-for field. This means that the opportunity for long-range shots are not too common, being that there is often a lot of branches and brush in the way. For me, the flatline is not quite as useful as a similar length straight barrel. My Tippmann GTA barrel delivers fairly good accuracy while taking up the same length as the flatline. Sure it doesnt give me a range advantage, but like I said, I dont really require that.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel if you are able to utilize its main advantage: range. For restricted range woodsball, I'd recommend using a decent length straight barrel since you'll rarely get opportunities to actually use it's extra capabilities. I do think it's a bit expensive for something that doesn't function perfectly, although maybe the newer models are better designed than the one I have (about 5 years old now). In my opinion, it's more of a specialist barrel for the sniper who doesnt intend to engage in extended firefights. I play sniper most of the time, but I still prefer a barrel that will at least allow me the option of burst firing should the occasion arise.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media