paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
cradle_of_filth Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really similar except apex which i havent tested yet
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c w/ flatline ,tippmann low pressure kit,pmi reg,trinity drop forward,double trigger,maddmann springs
Recommended
Paintballs:
whatever doesnt chop i dont pay attention to paint
Strengths: Distance,accuracy,intimidation,looks,distance,distance,accur
acy,distance,and dont forget that distance
Weaknesses:
Shroud is plastic.it wont break but come on...plastic on a tippmann.
Review: I bought this barrell a year ago and at first i hated it because the balls would sway to the sides and always up so i quit using it .but after upgrading my gun to low pressure and putting a pmi reg on it i decided to out the flatline on and when i shot it i was amazed .it now shoots a perfectly straight line across any field ive been to and thats a very good thing .for any of you that have been to hollywood sports and have played the mad max field(junkyard) this makes the sniper tower an effective part of the game and i saved many of my teamates .another example is i was shooting at a guy witha brand new ion and being a high end gun over he was a wiper as all high end owners are because they think theyre gods of the field but anyways my balls were hitting his mask while his were land 15 ft.in front of me and rolling into my shoe.as mad as i was at him for continually wiping i was laughing my ass off at how pathetic his gun performed compared to mine and now any high end gun is pathetic when compared to mine with the exception of speed.hey its a tippmann and with its accuracy speed isnt an issue so if you plan to get it plan to get a tippmann low pressure kit and a reg .two must-haves when you own a flatline .they performbeautifully together the lp is about $120 and a reg is $50 to $150 . this concludes my review and if you do what i have told you then trust me you will not regret it at all
Conclusion: great when paired with LP and reg .otherwise its not very good by itself i am gonna rate the flatline the way i have it. not on a stock tippmann. stock tippmann gets a 7
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Zakk_wylder Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
Flatline
32 degrees colapsing stock
remote system
DOP bolt & power tube
Qloader system
Red Dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Hellfire
Strengths: Distance is sweet
Weaknesses: close range Acc.
Review: This barrel is awesome for players such as myself who need distance in their shot.

It dose increase distance at the cost of accuracy (depending on the quality of balls you use)

The main reason for my review is to say that, contrary to other reviews, this barrel couldn't be easyer to install! there is a flat peice at the top that fits like a golve into the adapter that screws into the gun.

Also I was a little angry at the fact that this barrels shroud was made to fit on the 98 custom with the rear sight pin not being able to be removed on my gun. so I just cut a small hole in the plastic and taped it up.
Conclusion: Good barrel, Bad shroud.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zagam Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel, Tippmann Sniper Barrell, Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline barrel woodsball
Sniper barrel speedball
Tippmann model 98 expansion chamber

Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer
PMI
Strengths: Very good range
Accurate
Looks pretty cool
Very respected
Weaknesses: Inacurate at long range
Picky about paint
Not good for speedball
Price
Loud
Review: I've had my flatline for about 2 years. I've used it around 10-15 times I'm not really sure i go paintballing a lot. It's a great barrell for woodsball. The range is just insanity and it's pretty accurate. However it's very picky about paint. If you don't use the right kind of paint, perferably Marbalizers or PMI's then it will break paint. Not an extreme amount of paint but i'd estimate 1 break everyone 100 shots, which is a real pain. If you use the right paint it works beautifully. It's also fairly loud, and as i'm sure everyone knows it's expensive. It's possibly a little quieter then the stock barrel, but not much.

Another good thing about this barrel is everyone is almost afraid of it. They see you with a flatline and there either amazed or afraid. It's good intimidation but they don't have much reason to be. It's a very good barrel but not many people know how to use it. If you don't install it perfect it wont work real great. One last thing i don't like about it is the screw at the back of it strips easy. It's not anything extremely seriouse just something that has bugged me. Also the screw that holds the barrel in place is to short. I used the barrel from the hopper elbow instead cause it's the same size but much longer, it works a lot better. I just use the stock hopper and it still fits fine without a screw there.
Conclusion: I would suggest getting this barrel if you play woodsball and your willing to spend some money on good paint. It's really not expensive to get good paint if you get it off the internet. You also have to be patient, and it's helpful to know someone that has one, that way they can show you how to put it on. Most people when they first get it put it on wrong. This barrel can be your best friend or your worst enemy. I gave it a 9 because there are a lot of bad things, they can be fixed no problem, and the ones that can't be fixed aren't a big deal. I didn't give it a 10 because it is so picky with paint and can be so anoying sometimes.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 24th, 2005 at 5:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eperron Friday, October 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
smart part 14 " barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything works
Strengths: -Distance
-Dccuracy
Weaknesses: Getting this barrel setup
Review: Alright a lot of people have been writting bad reviews on this barrel and that makes no sense. First thing is first a lot of people say that this barrel is terrible because the ball floats and can be dodged easily........i guess that why i can hit all my friends from 150 feet without to much of a problem. think about it this barrel adds 100 feet to your shot wheather it appears to be floating the extra 100 feet you get the fact remains that you got an extra hundred feet. Also i find it is so much easier hitting someone not using an arc when shooting. Some people say it is also hard to install the flateline.... well its not rocket science i did it my first try the only hard part is getting the barrel to line up with the shroud but when u line it up perfectly it shoot amazing. Also this barrel breaks as many balls and a normal barrel does. If this barrel is breaking a lot of balls on you it is because you have not set it up correctly or your velocity is to high. this setup isn't just used for sniping you can also use it for just running around like any normal gun why not? Think about it if the flatline is really accurate from far away wouldn;t it be really accurate from short distances??
Conclusion: I would say that this is a definite must get if you have the money and want to spend it. this barrel works great and shoot straight as well
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiersDasGut Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline
2005 Spyder Electra
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline system
Metal shroud for flatline
Pro-team rifle stock
Vertical adapter
Allen expansion chamber
6 inch hose
Ricochet 2K hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any tournament grade paintballs
Strengths: Addes significantly range and accuracy.
Weaknesses: Plastic shroud bends when put under stress.
Review: I have been using the flatline for over a year and it is incredible. With it you are able to really reach out and touch someone. They claim it adds 100 feet guaranteed but it seems like it adds like 200 feet.

I purchased the metal shroud for the flatline. Its aluminum so its light and more durable than the plastic one. I had a problem with the plastic shroud after I put on my pro-team stock on it. It caused the shroud to bend to the right. The metal shroud prevents this and the barrel lines up making the gun more accurate.

The metal shroud is good but it does not have any sights on it but you can use the sights on the plastic shroud w/ a mask on anyways. The thing that is really weird about the metal shroud is it has no button to realse the hopper elbow. I have to use an allen wrench to press the foward sight down to release the elbow.

The metal shroud is a must buy for the flatline
Conclusion: Significantly adds range were other guns can reach you. The metal shroud for the flatline is a must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 9th, 2005 at 10:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

westwrestlngguy Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
14in. Teardrop---good barrel, but doesn't have the reach the flatline has
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine
14in. Teardrop
Vertical Adapter
GTA Expansion Chamber
BT Double Trigger Kit
Viewloader 12V Revolution
Penspring Mod
Polished Internals
Rocket Cock II
Remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers(sp?) or PMI Premium
Strengths: Range-(10)
Accuracy-(9)
Curve balls-(7)
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to align, but thats it.
Review: The range is an obvios A++++++++ with this barrel. The curve and the rough interior add a backspin that add the kind of range the many other barrels dream about. The only reason I gave the flatline a 9 for accuracy is because my teardrop has a better close range shot pattern. The flatline also has the abilty to curve a ball into a bunker, allowing you to hit a person hiding behind a corner. If you tilt the barrel to the left, the ball will curve left. Same goes for the right. This is the only advantage the flatline has in speedball. It is a long barrel, and it does not have the close-up accuracy of some other barrels. It is best suited for woodsball (or maybe((big maybe)) a backman in speedball).
Conclusion: The flatline is a great barrel for long shots and all-around woodsball, but I do not recomend it for speedball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 5th, 2005 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pattons3rd Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that compare. The new Apex is similar but havnt used it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Response
Flatline barrel
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Spyder Shutter stock
remote line
72ci 3000psi Pure energy nitro tank

Zap ZXS 200/Winchester Laredo 80 Pump
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Stingers worked surpriseingly well. no breaks. the rec /recyeled draxxus (not sure, came in white box) broke often
Strengths: Range....MAJOR range
Accuracy
look
Weaknesses: Accuracy
look
installation
Review: I got this barrel used for $75 which was a good price. i tested it in my yard and saw major range increases. the first time i shot i noticed the "second wind" given the ball (dips then backspin carries it back up). but after that, i didnt even notice it (eyes playin tricks maybe).

I put accuracy as a pro and con because it is more accurate than my other barrel but at longer ranges it's accuracy decreases (curves to the sides sometimes but tahts far out. maybe 235 ft)

I also put the look as pro and con because i like its look. more of a rifle feel but others might not like that.

Installation requires more work and tuning than other barrels (not just screw in and shoot.) It requires the barrel adaptor-like part screwed in so the clamp screw is on the bottom. then the shroud is put on the gun, requiring the rear sight to be removed, and the shroud screwed in. then the barrel is pushed in through the shround and into the clamp. now here is the tricky part, the small porting indentation on the muzzlebreak should be lined up with the front sight (if off, the balls will curve).
Conclusion: Flatlines are a little picky and not for the newbie...well, maybe an experienced newbie...but all in all is an amazing barrel. With that said, i give it a 9 because it isnt perfect and not for the newbie. plus, there is another barrel out there sort of like it (BT Apex)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hubbert15 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal barrels, i guess
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
Response trigger
Rufus Dawg Double trigger
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not brass eagle
Strengths: -Distance
-Accuracy
-Intimidating
-shoots like a real gun
Weaknesses: Installation
have to install correctly or balls fly
bad with low co2
Review: I bought my 98 custom during this summer so i could do some sweet upgrading, i heard from alot of people the Flatline was the "best"
I first put a response and a double trigger on my custom to get the bps up, then i decided i need accuracy. I bought the flatline and me and my bro installed it that day. It was annoying to get the barrel and the stupid front sight to work properly but we got it. I went outside to shoot a few at a bucket in my backyard (hey, thats all i got). I shot a few, they were shooting terrible, probably because like 10 shots in, i ran outta c02. The next day i went out and refilled the co2 and this thing sht like a dream, i was shooting into my bucket from 150 feet away, but when my neighbors tryed, thye hit the house behind us, the distance was so good.
Conclusion: This is a great upgrade, i suggest trying it out before purchasing one, u may not like it, but i do
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Elmar Monday, August 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" sniper barrel, tested an 21" sniper barrel
Marker Setup: Custom 98 tippmann, m98 stock, remote coiled hose, m98 sight rail.
Recommended
Paintballs:
high quality, this barrel DOES chop balls sometimes, but it's all about adjusting.
Strengths: okay, it DOES add range, and it can be very accurate.
Weaknesses: - Balls sail a lot
- Does strange things to you velocity
- Time to install
- the cost
Review: Okay, when I bought this barrel, my excitement was killing me.
After installing it (took me 30 mins to get it right), I tried it at the field the next day.

It immediately started chopping!, so I knew the problem was that the barrel was not perfectly fitted in the marker. After getting it right, it had a HUGE inaccuracy to the left.
the match was beginning, so I tried to play. But nay, it was no good.
I started to adjust the barrel on the range, and I started firing and adjusting at the same time. after getting it finally right, it didn't chopped anymore, and it was somewhat accurate, yes. But the range could not really impress me.

A while later i chopped a ball, so i grabbed my squeegee, and... well, you know.
when i squeegeed the barrel (it still stays a little bit dirty, because of the sandblasted inside), I started swearing, a new inaccuracy! now all balls are sailing to the right!!!

back to the range, I AGAIN adjusted the barrel, and I grabbed the chrono. WHAT?! 154 fps? 5 minutes ago it was 260!
After messing with the velocity adjuster a little while (which acts weird on this barrel), it was somewhat accurate again.
I finished the day with that little accuracy, and only hitting 3 guys with 500 shots.
Conclusion: okay okay, I have paintball experience, but I still prefer the simple things. this barrel is NOT good if you want to switch between scenario's/roles. You cannot switch from a front player to a backplayer easy.

- this barrel DOES make you balls sail, about 4-5 sails per 10 shots
- Adjusting, is bad!!!!
- no good for beginners

Just buy a good screw-on barrel! it saves money, and you have the same fun!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

REtArdSOn dAbUS Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
14" pmi razzor
stock barrel
(niether really compare to flatline)
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro w/camo finish
flatline barrel
blackpoint folding stock
akairon remote line
20 oz co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big balls
zap rec series
scorch
Strengths: Distance
looks
easy install
Weaknesses: price ($100)
Not too accurate at its fullest range but hey whatd ya expect?
Review: I like this barrel because it can outrange anything else on the market. some of the other reviews ive read on this site said that its hard to install, and that it breaks paint. well, ive shot about 2500 paintballs out of this, and have had one break. people say that they take the whole gun apart just to squegee the barrel. all you have to do is press the front sight down and it quick releases the hopper, allowing for easy cleaning.this barrel took about 15 mins for me to install,. but.. when i shoot, the paintballs tend to curve up and over my target, i probably have the velocity set too high though
Conclusion: Its a good barrel, jus expensive
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media