paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
twisted_cocker Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The stock, whisper barrel and A5 flatline
Marker Setup: model 98 custom with the flatline( works wonderfully), coil, AK loader,and double trigger with a custom trigger mod.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have mosly used Diablo paint and house paint they both work fine for me
Strengths: Distance!!!!
Looks!
Availability!
Durability
Weaknesses: Price ($120)
Takes a little bit of tinkering
Review: A week after i have purchased this barrel I went to my friends house to play paintball with a few of my friends. They were all impressed by how good this barrel looked on my marker. They all wanted to try it. Now my friend has a open area in a valley like area that is ten times bigger than a football field. He also has a forest like are that surrounds the open area. We were on our way to play in the woods when one of my friends forgot his mask so he ran back to get it and put it back on. Now while he was coming back i wanted to see how well this barrel really works at long distances so I just said " I want to scare the crap out of him!" I then took one shot and nailed him right in the gut. and it was about 100 yards!!! Yes I do have the numbers right. He was so mad that he started shooting all of his paint balls in his hopper and not one of them even came close!! After that my friends were even more afraid of me than before( I'm way better than all of them)
Conclusion: If you have the money you better buy this barrel you will never be happier it worked for me and hundreds of other people. SO i will give this barrel a rating of 10 because it is just an great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justin_pber Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, 12" teardrop-doesn't even come close 2 shot range
Marker Setup: 98custom
flatline
tippmann expansion chamber
drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi premiums
Strengths: How far it shoots
Balances out gun if u have a 20oz co2 tank
Weaknesses: Price
Installing
Review: i just got to say its a great woodsball barrel. The price is a little high but its worth it. If your wanting to make the back players nervous this is the barrel for you. Because it can shoot out and other barrel. The only really hard this about it is getting it installed correctly.
Conclusion: Buy the barrel its great but does have some bad points
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amazincluterman Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrel, JJ Ceramic, Smart Parts...you name it, I've tried it...including personal modifications!
Marker Setup: Ah, with the Flatline I have an expansion chamber, rocket cock, adjustable car stock and to keep the list short double trigger...and personal tweaks.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP Scherer Marballizer..or for half the year here in Indiana, Polar Ice
Strengths: Accurate at long distances and still powerful enough to break the balls.
Weaknesses: Cheap balls break easy, pull trigger too fast balls break. CAN'T rapid fire.
Review: I love the Flatline when I am playing sniper! There is nothing better on the market, bar none! That being said...you want the best in some areas, you have to sacrifice certain aspects to get it! Use premium balls and only about 3 balls a second. I have tried other "sniper" barrels and while some of them get the balls out there, they roll at the competitors feet.
The flatline, at distance can still mark up your opponent. My brother and I have a game where you see who can hit cardboard targets off each other at distance...across our pond. We have nine four inch targets we use. One on the head, two on the shoulders, elbows, waste and knees. (We threw the one for the crotch away) The idea is to hit all the targets WITHOUT hitting the person! IF you hit the person, they get 3 free shots! NO RESTRICTIONS! You just can't do that without the Flatline!
Conclusion: I love it for what it is designed for! DISTANCE and where the heck did that come from? One shot wonders...in a good way!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bpie03 Monday, November 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: 04 Prostock
E2
Crossfire 68/3000
Egg2

Tippmann 98 with a lot on it
Recommended
Paintballs:
marballizer, dusk, inferno are ok
Strengths: Shoots very far
Shoots flat and straight
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: well I am adding to what I said before. I realized that I had done something wrong so when I shot the ball would sometimes curve but I fixed it. Anyway this is a great barrel I wouldnt have gotten any other one. I knew that it would help me but not this much. I have gotten way better accuracy hitting 2 liter soda bottles from 80-100 feet away.

I just did a test about 10 minutes ago between the stock barrel because I forgot how it shot after so long. So I clamped my gun in a vice and shot 30 rounds at a 1 1/2x 1 ft target and the flatline hit it 26/30 ( I was about 30 yds away) Then the stock barrel oh my gosh what a diference the stock barrel couldnt even shoot that far! It would start dropping so soon. So i decided i'd give the stock barrel a handicap and move it up to about 50feet away and when I shot it would hit the target about 10/30 times!. People have said theres no diference between a flatline and the stock barrel man they couldnt be more wrong.
Conclusion: This barrel is great for anybody that likes to shoot long distances.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 5:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbghost Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is one of a kind
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 coustom,
flatline,
car stock,
lazer sight,
camo painted,
remote coil.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any that dont break really easy
Strengths: Shoots straight, far, and accurate. Great for medium/long range players
Weaknesses: Dosent shoot if you break a ball, takes time to figure it out, exspencive
Review: This is one of the best barrels for the tippmann. This can be used as a sniper or medium range player. because it shoots so straight, it dose also shoot far but accurace woulnt be perfect. it dose take some time to figure out. when i first got it i had it installed but the person did it wrong so it was shooting paint in curves. i took it apart fixed it and now i can shoot a bottle from 100 feet away. but be sure to have some other back up gun, or rental money because if its windy the wind catches the balls and throws them in any direction. be sure to carry the squeege also, if a ball breakes the balls will have no accuracy.
i hear rumor that the balls go slow, this is true, after about 200 feet they start to lose speed, but there is no diffrance, i bet if u could get a regular gun to shoot that far it would lose twice the speed. And how many times do you shoot that far? and even then its still going about 190fps so it wouldent matter. but at regular distances they will never see it comeing!
ive heard that its a gass hog, its not
the one thing i recomend if u get this get a motterized hopper to take care of balls breaking.
Conclusion: I reccomend this barrel. this is one of the upgrades that make the 98 coustom from a medium class pb gun to a high class. there are some problems but the over all outcome of how far and how accurate this shoots is definantly worth the investment.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 24th, 2004 at 11:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kruelness Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Silver (M-4 Mock up to be)
-Collapsible Stock
-GTA Double Trigger
-3pt. tactical sling
-Vl Revi
-DOP Rocket Cock II
-GTA expansion chamber
-Response trigger
-J&J performance Ceramic
-J&J 14" Performance Ceramic

-32 Degrees
* Remote
* 4+1 Belt
* Gloves
-JT Masks *2
-VL elbow and hoppers *2
Recommended
Paintballs:
High Grade
Strengths: Bush Ball
Distance
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Inconsistency
Price for some
Review: Tippmann Flatline Barrel System
By Billy Goodman


What it is
The Flatline barrel system manufactured for the Tippmann Pneumatics Model 98 is designed to produce a backspin on the paintball, which in theory produces lift, giving the ball a flatter trajectory. Since it's introduction, the system has been the subject of controversy, with some people calling it a revolution, and others writing it off as a gimmick. From my personal experience, I'd say it is none of the above.

The kit comes with a curved aluminum barrel and adapter, a plastic barrel shroud, several screws, a squeegee and a barrel plug. Installation is fairly straightforward and only takes a few minutes if you follow the included instructions. Operation of the gun remains the same after installing the kit. Physically, the gun is both longer and taller than it's original form, although not substantially heavier, in part due to the fact that the largest piece is made of plastic.

Performance
Upon shooting the Flatline for the first time, you'll notice the almost eerie floating effect of the balls. At a given velocity, the balls do fly with a flatter overall trajectory, as opposed to the pronounced "dropping arc" seen from standard barrels. This translates into a greater range without drop, and without the need to aim high and "lob" the ball for long shots. Aiming the Flatline is an odd experience for anyone used to a regular paintball gun. At first you may find yourself habitually aiming high for long range targets, but with the Flatline, things are much more "line of sight". The downfall to this greater range is that the ball slows substantially as it heads beyond "normal" paintball ranges, which could lessen the chance of a break on a soft target.

Accuracy of the Flatline system is overall better than the stock Model 98 barrel. However, that isn't saying much since my experience with the stock barrel has been somewhat less than amazing (see the accuracy test in the Comparo article). Accuracy at "normal" ranges falls short of other well-set-up guns as far as consistency is concerned. Although relatively tight groups of 3 or 4 consecutive shots can be attained, the Flatline produces an unusually high number of "zingers" which fly well off the intended target. At longer ranges it's difficult to compare the Flatline to other guns, since other guns simply cannot reach those ranges without aiming high above the target.

A few notes about using the gun;

1) It is fairly dependent on using good paintballs - the more consistent the paintballs are from a physical standpoint, the better the gun shoots.
2) The Flatline does not shoot well above 300 fps. If for some reason your Flatline is shooting "hot", you will know it, because it tends to produce a number of balls that will actually climb as they sail to their target, making aiming very difficult. Flatline users have no incentive to "cheat the chrono". We have recently found the best results actually come when using the gun in the 260 to 270 fps range.
3) Holding the gun in an upright position improves accuracy. Leaning the gun over can produce a curving shot - although it is an effect that can be used to advantage if you are creative.
4) The stock Model 98 is not very stable in terms of maintaining velocity (again, see the Comparo article), and as I've found out since first writing this review, addressing this fault does improve the performance of the Flatline system.
5) As with most paintball guns, paint in the barrel can play havoc with performance. However, the squeegee provided with the kit works very good, and as a matter of fact I have started to carry it with me regardless of which gun I am using.
Conclusion: Opinion
On the field, using the Flatline is an experience that's hard to translate into words that will do it justice. The very first word that comes to mind is "fun". The ability to drop paint on opponents at an extended range surprised both my opponents and me. It often lead me and my team mates to laugh out loud, as someone who thought they were in a safe position at an extended range suddenly found themselves exposed to Flatline fire. With the liberal use of the trigger, it was quite easy to eliminate opponents at ranges beyond where normal guns could go. This was especially true in wooded portions of the field, where the overhanging canopy made lob shots difficult for other players. With the Flatline, you simply shoot straight through. And even though there were times when balls didn't break on opponents, the threat of a break was still enough to chase them from their position, allowing my team to advance.
Is the Flatline the perfect gun? Certainly not. I personally wouldn't want to have it as my only gun, but I really like having it around when needed. It works in certain situations, and is suited to a certain style of play. There are probably better (lighter and smaller) guns for short field speedball play, and on any field where opportunities for long range fire are non-existent, the Flatline is excessive. However, other situations beg for the Flatline. Although in print, or off the field, the performance of the system may be the subject of controversy, on the field where it counts there is much less debate. During the first scenario game in which I used the gun, there were over 300 players, and I personally saw over a dozen of them using the Flatline. People on both teams took note of "the guys with the Flatlines", calling on them to make long shots, and warning team mates of a Flatline user on the opposing team.

Due to an overall lack of consistency, the Flatline is not the magic answer to the long range, single shot sniper's dream - the gun does not inspire enough confidence to be used in that manner. However, in the right type of game, a determined player willing to spend some paint and use the Flatline effectively can certainly have a positive impact, not to mention a lot of fun!

Thank You to
http://www.pukindogspaintball.com
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98cman Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None this is the only barrel that has the effect this great.
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Flatline barrel
remote
Solid sniper f/x stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI PREMIUM!
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
trajectory
game control.
Weaknesses: Have to hold gun close to straight up. ( buy stock )
Not really justified in speedball.
Review: Ok. since you all have heard the hype of this barrel i'm going to pound you with undeniable facts. This barrel will give you, when installed correctly, the accuracy of almost any if not all barrels you can buy. It will also give you the insane thought that you rule the field you are playing on. ANYONE with in the max range, which is really far, is pretty much screwed over. All you do is aim pull the trigger and watch the man/woman walk out. Accuracy re-defined is the only way to describe the accuracy. This is the proof of accuracy and distance I personally came up with.

I took a lazer level and made sure the barrel was on as straight as I could get it.
Then I loaded it up with about 100 rounds and walked into my front yard.
Next, I put my plywood target with a 1x1 foot square on it about 200 feet away.
I took exactly ten shots and walked down to see what I hit.
Here are the numbers.
10/10 in square.
2 inch spread of all ten balls paint on the board.

I was in total awe. I didn't expect that kind of amazing accuracy after reading the other reviews off of this site ( except 1 ). So I contined, I walked in about 50 more feet after washing off the board. I had also read not to shoot quickly with the flatline. I let go 20 consecutive shots in about 3 seconds. This was before the stock some of the numerical problems were me.
18/20 in square (2 misses by about a 1/2 inch to inch)
4 inch spread ( more paint maybe the problem)

If those numbers don't really convince you I don't think anything will.
Conclusion: I WILL reccommend this barrel to any one who wants Accuracy AND/OR distance.
If you own the 98 custom make it however you want. This barrel will give you all the options in the world. A nine is given due to the point that the ball doesnt travel forever and there is a spread. In other words the flatline isn't exactly perfect. But it is real close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippboy101 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom flatline barrel system expansion chamber double finger trigger ebolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
any worked great for me
Strengths: Everything period.
Weaknesses: None i found this very sweet
Review: I love this i bought it last week and i [played with it and this thing is a key strength to get u ahead of anyone who doesn't unless they have a different gun this is the best barrel i think u can get for a paintball gun i was shooting barges on the mississippi river from my deck that were easily 75-100 yd away and i was hitting them like it was nothing this product rocks
Conclusion: This is a great product for anyone with military experience
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 6th, 2004 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shutter212001 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock- Not enough range and too loud
JT 1 Piece- Better Accuracy but loud
Marker Setup: M98 LP w/ Flatline
Spyder Shutter LP
Zeus G2
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium
Marbs
Evil
Strengths: Great Range
Great Accuracy when tuned correctly
Weaknesses: Tuning takes time but not that hard
Shroud is made of plastic
Review: Most people say that this barrel is heavy, not I. I actually prefer a heavier barrel, but I guess that this is due to the fact that I actually hunt and am use to carrying heavier guns. The heavier barrel is also better for swinging through a target that is moving because the momentum keeps it going forwards. This barrel will turn the reliable Model 98 into a true Sniper gun because of the minimal drop of the paintball. This barrel along with the crappy shroud go great with the whole Sniper image (not because they make this look like an actual gun but because they are matte black.

No the Tippman with this barrel will not win many Speedball/Hyperball/Tournament Ball Firefights but that was not what it was designed to accomplish. It was designed to "REACH OUT AND TOUCH SOMEBODY". That it does and it does it well. If you are shooting this and not getting breaks my suggestion is to switch to a LP set-up and use thinner shelled balls (break easier).

For the people complaining about the weight- Go to the damn gym and lift weights. This barrel was not designed for tournament play but for Scenario (nights all hits are counted as outs regardless of break).

I bring at least two guns to the field with me and decide which to use based on what games everyone wants to play. Fast games (Hyper/Speed/Close Woods) I usually bring a gun with more firepower. Slower games (Dense Woods/Medic/President/Strategy) I will usually bring the Flatline because of the better range and because it is not seen as easily.

The best time to tune the barrel is when there is NO OR LIGHT WIND as this will affect tuning. If the balls keep hooking one way then the barrel needs to be adjusted, takes time but not that hard to do JUST PATIENCE. The balls do have a tendency to sail in the wind but this is usually not a problem as there are more than enough trees around to keep the wind down.

My barrel has not chopped that many balls (usually around 5 per case) but IF it does all you have to do is run a flex squeegee through and you are good to go.

The balls do look like they are floating and going slower, but they still pack more than enough punch to break on impact and get that out that is needed. Some people were shooting at me from a distance but within range to hit me or get the break and I hit two before the third ducked for cover to avoid the out.

The shroud should have come from the factory made of metal but that would make this gun even heavier (to appease those who complain about weight I guess). This is the only flaw that I see with this barrel.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel if you want the ultimate in range. Set up the marker to be Low Pressure if you want all the long range shots to be breaks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrel (98 & A-5)
Tippmann A-5 FLATLINE

WGP Kaner barrel (.690)
WGP stock barrel

DYE Exel

3A Knockout barrel kit (.687 .690 .692 bore sizes)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Flatline barrel
BT Double trigger
Check-it-Products Uni-mount tank ASA
Vertical Adapter
Shocktech gas thru grip
88ci 3000psi Pure Energy tank & NXE tank cover
Polished Internals
Ported feed neck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evils & Midevils

RPS (almost any)
Strengths: Distance, distance, distance...decent accuracy
Weaknesses: If paint-to-barrel match does not match..so so accuracy
Review: This barrel is pretty darn accurate...and the distance can't be matched by any other barrel currently in production today.

I use this set-up mainly for woods ball because of the extended range distance it has, this advantage can help out in dense woods...the curved barrel set-up puts a 'backspin' on the paintball thus giving it a flatter trajectory increasing the ability to shoot between and thru the branches, leaves & brush also the 'backspin' increases the distance because of the 'decreased' resistance of the rotating paintball (I still think the paint inside the ball is not spinning). I found that setting your velocity between 270 & 280 fps (if your field allows it that high) to be the optimal velocity setting for the most consistant accuracy.

Problem:
The bore size of the flatline barrel seems pretty large so if the paintballs are on the smaller size this will decrease your accuracy. The inside of the flatline barrel is sand blasted (to help create the 'backspin') and after it rubs off (after several thousand shots= 30,000 to 50,000) you will have to send it back to Tippmann Pneumatics for them to re-do the inside of the barrel (I hear you only have to pay for shipping to & from)
Otherwise this is a truly unique set-up that works!
Conclusion: Somehow this system works like a champ...it works, it works, it works.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 27th, 2004 at 3:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media