paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  Last
        Next Page
a_sniper_dammit Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
jj ceramic, stock barrel
Marker Setup: flatline,stock,expansion chamber,scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
anarcy(nelson)
Strengths: Accurate,distance
Weaknesses: not many,one was that it was long wich for me is fine
Review: basically i always heard "u cant shoot fast,u cant shoot in rain,windy weather, ect. but after i used it it shot straight in all that wheather just use good paintballs or ur screwed
and if u bust a paintball u need to freakin make shure there is absolutly no paint in it at all! if ur a sniper id get it i have bunkered many players with this and shot pretty fast so it can be used for a front player but its a little long but that doesnt bother me since im a sniper.
Conclusion: GET IT! if u have the money if u dont get a jjceramic or armson rifled barrel.
but dont listen to me try it it might suck for u.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MasterMuller Saturday, September 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing that compares with the distance of the Flatline, other than the A-5 Flatline barrel which I have not used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Fatline Barrel
3x9-30mm zoom scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
-Marbalizer has worked best in my experience.
-Powerball works well also
-You need high quality paint in order for the Flatline to work right.
Strengths: -Range, 200 feet tops
-Accuracy - Only to about 120 feet.
Weaknesses: -expensive paint
-slow rof (fast rof breaks paint)
-not good for cqc
Review: First off, if you're not a back player or a sniper, this barrel is NOT for you. People who play in the back or play the sniper role, you should consider buying a Flatline. This barrel will give you superior range on the field. The maximum effective range is going to be right around 110-140 feet, whereas normal markers range is closer to 70-90 feet. After about 140 feet the balls tend to curve up, down, left, right, only slightly, but enough for you to easily miss your target. If using CO2 I would suggest getting an expansion chamber to stablize your FPS and offer more consistant accuracy.

Here is a typical situation in which the "Flatline Moment" occurs: I am crouched behind some shrubbs along a trail. The opposing team comes into view after climbing a steep hill and they take cover behind a large tree stump, theres about 5-7 of them. Range: About 150 feet. I stand up, and walk down the trail in plain sight. They open fire at me, paintballs land well in front of me, and sometimes behind me, and a few bounce harmlessly off of me. I have now closed to about 120 feet, I raise my 98 Flatline, look down the scope at 3x maginfication to get their bearings, and drop about 20 paintballs at them. (Now I said they had been using the large stump for cover, but since they THOUGHT they were out of range [from a normal barrel], they have been crouching/prone in open sight without cover.) The first thing that happens is they scatter into the woods to find cover. About 10 seconds later two people hold up their markers and insert barrel plugs.
Conclusion: The Flatline has some noticable drawbacks (slow rof, expensive paint, not good for cqc) but the distance/accuracy far outweighs those when it's in the hands of someone who knows how to use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SpyderVenom000 Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock 98c barrel, stock rebel, spyder barrels, smart parts freak and all-american
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with flatline and expansion chamber, double trigger, car stock, empire reloader
Recommended
Paintballs:
diablo draxxus
Strengths: accuracy, distance
Weaknesses: shroud made of plastic
Review: This is the best barrel for any gun on the market. But it only for tippmann and one autococker. (Good news for tippmann owners). Outdistances and is more accurate at those distances than any other barrel. Only the freak barrel was able to come close, but its range was less than the flatline. only thing bad about it was the price, but it was well worth it and the shroud is made of plastic but it is strong and can take some punishment.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a upgrade barrel for your 98c then get this barrel. You will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hurtcow Monday, September 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, bore's too large for any reasonable accuracy.
Marker Setup: M98c (duh)
Flatline barrel (see above)
Ballistic Sports aluminum double trigger
Lapco rear velocity adjuster
Vertical adapter
32 Degrees x-chamber
System x drop forward
VL Evo2
Crossfire 68/3k
(soon)LP kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use Big Ball, but I've put about 15k balls of varying pedigree thru this thing, and mine doesn't seem to be as picky as some say. It seems to do better with smaller paint, though.
Strengths: Flat trajectory, no lobbing.
You can hit people that can't reach you
Weaknesses: Predictable trajectory
Bad on windy days
Plastic shroud is quite flimsy and cheesy.
Review: If you're a woodsball person, this is the setup for you. I also use an Automag Classic and a very tricked-out Rainmaker, but I always fall back on this gun for woodsball. I've stood out in the open with my arms spread wide as the guy on the opposite ridge lobs balls at me with his cocker/electro whatever, and then taken him out with my increased range. It does take a few shots, because while the balls do go farther (due to the Magnus Effect), they DO slow down the farther they go. I've been shot at by Flatline barrels, and it's easier to predict their trajectory, so you can dodge them easier than balls that are lobbed at you.. People complain that they're hard to install correctly, however I've found that if you lay the barrel on a flat surface with the ported tip-part hanging over, you can use a 90 degrees carpenter's square to mark the absolute top of the barrel, then align it with the seam on the shroud, and it's pretty much centered. Before you tighten the adapter, tap the end of the barrel on the floor to ensure it's fully seated. I've never had any problems with ball breakage. Probably 5 breaks total in 15k put thru it. The high ROF ball breaking thing is a myth. A straight-shot squeegee is the way to go if you do break one, as it WON"T shoot itself clean like most barrels will (I've tried). The balls go all over the place till you clean it.
Conclusion: I'm very happy with my Flatline barrel. Borrow one before you buy. I bought mine cheap from a guy at the field that said it broke balls left and right. I knew from his description that he hadn't installed it correctly (not that I was gonna tell him), so make sure you know how to do it. You have to loosen the 2 front screws on the body, and don't over-tighten the top (front sight) screw. This barrel does exactly what it's advertised, so that earns it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yay4paintball Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, cp, armson stealth, stiff!, all american, ceramic, teardrop, exel.....uhhh...putting tape in the stock barrel to make backspin...... cardboard tubes...... thats about it
Marker Setup: 98c with flatline. (both were used, but shoot fine)
Recommended
Paintballs:
marbs work well, make sure you use small bore paints
Strengths: ***DISTANCE***, curveing around trees, accuracy, looks pimpin
Weaknesses: it is greatly affected by velocity spikes, wind, paint in the barrel, etc.
Review: ok idiots, although it takes a bit of time to get it right, its not that hard to assemble.

it doesnt break paint, my marbs were really old and as long as you dont shoot over 280 fps you wont have a problem

what are you people smoking, this barrel is more accurate than all of the barrels i listed in simmilar products. except the armson, because the armson is pimpin. ok, i did a little test. there is a tree no more than 12 inches wide 95 feet away from my backyard chairs. i sat in the chair, and fired at the tree. the paintballs that didnt spike high, all hit the tree, some of them hit exactly where i was aiming, and some didnt. but 12 inches at 95 feet is pretty good eh? at longer ranges, (approx. 250 feet) i would get a 2 foot spread. (2 up and 2 right, the spread looked like a square) when i was shooting, 2 paintballs per hopper would just soar in to this air over my trees and fly to my niehbors houses. i think i hit them, then i went inside
Conclusion: NEWSFLASH: IF YOU PLAY SPEEDBALL, DONT BUY A SNIPER RIFLE. although the accuracy under 100 feet is incredible, and you can hook it around bunkers, its a long gun and to shoot straight you have to aim straight. this concept is very hard for speedball players to grasp. Most of them have the accuracy by numbers, or spray and pray motto. so if you want a far shooting and accurate barrel, and dont want it to look like a lazergun, buy this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lancer Saturday, September 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most Rebels out there
Every Tippmann out there
Kingman Spyder E-99
ATS AT-85
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - only a flatnine barrel now...
Recommended
Paintballs:
I recommend Big Bore balls (such as Proball or Big Ball)
Strengths: Range
Accuracy
Gives a "Rifle-Like" feel to the gun
Weaknesses: Gives a "Rifle-Like" feel to the gun
Takes time to set up right
Review: The first thing that I need to say about this gun, is that not everyone will like it. The players that will like this gun the most are either scenario players or woodsball players. Speedball players do not even need this (since I can easily throw a ball the length of the field) and will probably not enjoy it.

It is all a matter of personal opinion when it comes to this barrel.

*The Good*

Range - Not many people can argue with this point, but the barrel will do what it is supposed to do, which is to fling the ball farther than any other paintball gun out there. This barrel is the only type of barrel that I know of that can actually pull this off well.

Accuracy - The gun is made more accurate by this barrel. There is no question in the barrel's accuracy, but the fact that the barrel system must be set up correctly to have this confuses most players. You need to tinker with the system to get the full potential of this marker barrel. Some players eye-ball how the barrel is screwed in, then keep it at position, and play away. Then they get very angry when the accuracy is very poor, and their paint seems the curve in the air. The system must be installed correctly and tinkered with to work. I will go into this more later.

Gives the Gun a "Rifle-Like" feel - Some players will like this fact, others will not. This point is all a matter of opinion though...

*Bad*

Gives the Gun a "Rifle-Like" feel - Some players will like this fact, others will not. This point is all a matter of opinion though...

Takes time to set up - This is where most people give up and say the barrel is worthless. It takes time to get the systtem installed the first time, and after that you must screw the barrel from side to side, turning it depending on how the balls curve in the air. When it is moving forward striaght, then you must adjust the velocity level. Some players will enjoy the tinkering, others will hate it and sell the barrel. Again, all opinion.
Conclusion: Ok, well.....

The barrel does what it claims to do, and adds accuracy and definate range to the gun. But it also adds length and takes time to set up and get used to firing.

This is all a matter of opinion. I cannot honestly say that everyone should go out and but this barrel and will love it, because that is not true, this barrel is not for everyone. Not everyone will like this barrel, but some will love the fact that it gives them a "sniper-like" ability.

I highly stess that before you buy this barrel, that you test fire it at least once. If possible, try to play with it a gmae or two, and see how you like it. This will probably be the best possible way to decide on a purchase of any paintball product.

Ok, to wrap this up I will score the product. This is not a fact, but merely my opinion, which is all I can give to people about this barrel. Good luck, if you buy this barrel, and I hope that this review has been helpful.

I'm giving it a 9 because even though it has some bad points, the good truly outweighs the bad. I believe that this barrel has made me a more capable player as well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintmaster88 Friday, September 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothin like it
Marker Setup: 98 custom
gta inline x-chamber
blackpoint engineering combat folding stock(bp-usa.com)
flatline barrel
tasco rifle scope
32* coiled remote
psycho ballistics rocket cock
Recommended
Paintballs:
best-diablo midnight or rps big ball
good-competitive edge
bad-brass eagle
Strengths: distance,looks,accuracy
Weaknesses: plastic shroud,price,installation
Review: This barrel is the best barrel i have ever used! After carefully adjusting the barrel, i was able to hit a honda civic every time from about 50 yards(150 feet.)The windows were down and i could shoot through the car and hit the tree behind it! This barrel takes a little getting used to but once you know how it shoots, you can repeatedly hit a tire sized object at 50 or more yards i am more used to looking down the barrel to aim but the scope works for when im being "sniper".
The inside of the barrel is coated with a really fine sand like material.This provides the grip for the ball to spin.The shroud that comes with the barrel is plastic and kind of flimsy, but a metal shroud is available for about 45 dollars.The barrel makes the gun look very intimidating. It looks really intimidating with a stock.This barrel does best with small or medium sized balls.
Conclusion: Overall, i am very satisfied with this barrel, as it broke 0 out of 500 big balls.With my folding stock, the whole gun is 38 inches long.If you have enough cash for this barrel, then it is the only one you need.I play woods ball where all of us try for 100 yard shots.It's possible to hit someone that far away with the stock barrel.If you know your gun as well as i do, all you have to do is arc them and they'll make it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kuzo811 Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5 flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c- Flatline, double trigger, expansion chamber, a red handle t-stock with a drop down, system x dropforward.

Back up- Black Dragun LED Stock.

Soon to come a phantom stock class. Phantoms rule first time i shot it i was in love w/ it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
any good quality paint. good quality smaill bore works the best
Strengths: as long as u get it lined up good it range, accuracy, and look.
Weaknesses: none! but if its not alighned just right u tone have major problems.
Review: It ga great product just have it aligned good and with good paint and if u can a smaller bore size paint it will work great it may be longer than the a5 flatline but just as good! dont believe any of that stuff about it curving it wont if its aligned right. i short allot of paint trough it and my 98 and it was awsome cause i could shoot out of range of the guys that were shooting at me and there balls were bouncing like pretty far infront of me and my balls were hitting some and just wizzing by others heads.
Conclusion: BUY BUY BUY one if u plan to use urr 98c in the woods its awsome! i used it at splatt attack to the willaim shatner charity thing and i short allot of paint trough it and my 98 and it was awsome cause i could shoot out of range of the guys that were shooting at me and there balls were bouncing like pretty far infront of me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Recover Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
their isnt many other products that put a back spin on the barrel
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom flatline barrel, regular hopper (snipers dont need eletric feeds), And going to put my sure shot back on when i get a elbo.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive only tested proball so far and ive shot about 200 rounds no breaks at all,
Strengths: good range
good accuracy
Weaknesses: -any mistakes on setup will mess with accuracy
-
Review: I plan to get a stock for this baby help ou with stabilitie, i used a rifle taget outa of 100 shots at it almost all of them hit the 2x2 target a couple bullseyes i wasted most of my 200 rounds on adjusting the barrel shooting 20 rounds adjusting some more. if u just get the barrel id reccomend getting used to it alittle more then i did i think ium gunna shoot a couple hundred rounds every day to get used to it

ive been shooting at a thick card board refrigerator box most of the balls go right threw both sides at 100ft. I mean they leave a hole in the box on both sides and theirs about 3 1/2 feet of room between the 2 pieces. No such thing as needing to shoot slow i coould pop of 20 rounds as fast as i can and almost all nall the target where i want them to go. everyonce in a while one ball will miss the target by maybe a couple inches. It looks very nice. Nice range i shot one paintball and it carried about 300feet til gravity slammed it to the ground.

When i set it up the adapter was at about 5 oclock position which put a nasty curve on the paintball. but that took 2 seconds to fix no biggie. Some companie needs to make a shround grip cause that would make it feel a little nicer. u need a elbo for a dot sight now because the shround.
Conclusion: great product havent seen a better barrel need patience. my brothers fired the gun fine and theyr under 5 foot dont recall if the used the shround or not.

Nuthings perfect but this ones close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dave brown Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: i have a tippmann98custom w/ flatline , hyperstar bolt $11 and a rocket cock
Recommended
Paintballs:
i used marbalizer and pmi bigballs and pmi ice or something like that
Strengths: range,accuracy
Weaknesses: none
Review: i read alot of reviews and alot say a bunch of bs about breaking balls , hard to put in, not accurate,

ALL ARE WRONG , if they broke balls they are stupid , probly used cheap paint or old paint or put the barel in wrong , it takes me like 2 mins to put in and a min or 2 to take out , and this barrel is mass accurate.

people say the balls go slower but ACTUALLY they are going 15 - 20% faster , they just look slow because they go so strait and far, people who thing they can dodge it are full of crap , i shot at a guy and he was looking at me and he didnt even see it coming when it went strait into his face.

i have had this barrel since i started to paintball
Conclusion: i DEfinately recomomend this to everyone witha tippmann 98 , i rather have this
tippmann 98 custom with a flatline than the idiots with $600- 1200 guns,
when you get good with a flatline , YOU OWN THE FIELD BABY id give it a 12 if i could
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media