paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Hamneggs Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/20oz. tank..and a flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Still trying to dial that one in. Looks like it'll be Marbs or Diablo Dusk though.
Strengths: Can the trajectory get any flatter?
Weaknesses: Didn't know you could slice or hook a paintball....
Review: I feel like I'm using AT&T. Reach out and touch someone! And I do believe I could train a chimp to put it on correctly and center it. It really is easy. The long distance ability to hit targets is amazing. Being able to make a paintball hang a louie is pretty interesting, and will, no doubt, come in handy at sometime....
Conclusion: Kill people from far away. Shock your friends, amaze your neighbors. If you like to hang back and snipe, get it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ballerbaby21 Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, 14 inch smart part barrel, 20 inch lamco barrel...none compare to the distance that this barrel has. The accuracy does not vary that much from barrel to barrel though. The big advantage to the flatline barrel is that you can tilt the gun to hit people around bunkers.
Marker Setup: tippmann custom 98...e-bolt (fully automatic), car stock, laser sight, remote coil, 2 figer trigger, electronic trigger, sniper stand(instead of left handle)
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint is fine really...marbalizers are my choice when entering larger tournaments
Strengths: Distance!!!, accuracy, and consistency
Weaknesses: hard to clean and maintain...horrible if you break a ball while being fired at!
Review: The barrel is the best i have ever tried...although i have many different markers, some that or $1,000 more expensive than this it still gets the most distance. Accuracy is also improved although not as dramaticaly as distance. Great for shooting the intended curve balls. There is only two real disadvanates 1. hard to set up and maintain
2. bad if you break a ball
Conclusion: I would strongly suggest purchasing this great barrel is one the best add-ons for the tippmann 98...also if looking to further update the marker think about getting the e-bolt system(although it costs almost twice as much as the gun!)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

PAX IMPERIALIS Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 flatline
Marker Setup: Custom Built Shocktech Autococker
Custom Rainmaker (work in progress, best gun ever!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizers
Strengths: Shoots FAR, looks cool
Weaknesses: Hard to put on/center, breaks balls
Review: I bought this barrel back when I was just gettin into paintball and my first gun was a m98 so i was a little naive. This barrel is great when it works, but mine has a tendency to not work and just break balls a lot. You can't shoot it fast or it busts even worse. It's hard to get centered and if you can't do that it doesnt' shoot straight. You have to take it off to clean it (or get a straight shot squeegee). This barrel is only a woodsball barrel, at least in my opinion.
Conclusion: Nice barrel when you want to sit and aim your shots, but after a year i replaced mine with a new barrel. I think Tippmann should redesign this barrel to make it like the A5 one (which i hear is awesome and putting it on and keeping it centered is no problem). It sure does look cool though.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 at 3:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Hunter Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
8.5" Standard Barrel for 98 Custom
J J Performance Ceramic Barrel Spyder 14 inch
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel system
Strengths: Very good Range and OK accuracy
Weaknesses: Not great for CQB.
Review: Great range and accuracy
It can hit a non moving man size target which is 160 feet away in 3 shots.
PERFECTfor snipers.

It makes the 98 Custom looks like a rifle, which is awesome. But a 3 feet gun is not very good for speed ball or CQB

You need to hold the gun perfectly straight and still for good accuracy.

It doesn't work good in windy or rain weather.

It needs good paintballs to get the job done.




Conclusion: I love my Flatline. It's little expensive but it's worth the money. If you are a sniper, go get one. You will love it. But make sure you install it right, otherwise funny things will happen.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2003 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

silverblade Sunday, March 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months42 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Big Daddy 12"
Smart Parts All American 14"
J&J Ceramic 14"
Marker Setup: 98C/Flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Dusk
Strengths: Extreme distance
tight grouping on shots
same length as my 14" AA
Looks good
Weaknesses: It cost $100.
But that is no more than the other "hyped" barrels out there.
Conclusion: This barrel rocks! I installed it in under 10 minutes and it was shooting straight as an arrow. If you can use a screwdriver and read, then the installation will be no problem for you.
As for the balls going slower. Wrong! I am painting players using Boomsticks whose balls are bouncing 20 yards in front of me. Because the ball has a flat trajectory it is hard for the human eye to judge the speed of it. Whereas the average barrel shoots balls in an arching pattern, making it easier for the human eye to see the ball "moving."
After buying this I have yet to use any of my other barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

98customcrazy Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
thats the great thing, nothing like it
Marker Setup: 98c w/ flatline, remote, saving up for E-bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use dusk diablos they never fail me
Strengths: 1. its looks are that of a true marker (looks cool)
2. no other barrel has this gun's range, you can mark anybody with this
3. No matter what anybody says, the accuracy is great, right on.
4. Even though the shroud is plastic it is very hard and durable.
5. Nothing knocks off its aim, even if the barrel itself is hit
6. Finally, it never breaks any balls, you just have to make sure the barrel is all the way in the adaptor. They never even broke when I was shooting as fast as possible.
Weaknesses: There shouldn't even be a bad column
Conclusion: Overall, I have come to the conclusion that this is the best thing to ever happen to paintball. If you have questions go to the forum tippmann then the thread called flatline on this site. Definitly get this barrel, even if you dont like it now, you will when you get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunblazesnyper Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts, ACI, 32 degrees
Marker Setup: m98 w/ 14" Smart Parts Teardrop, Core 22 Stage Expansion, ACI Coil Remote, CAR FX Stock, Harris Bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but Brass Eagle, particularly WORR paint
Strengths: It has distance
Makes your gun look cool
looks better with metal shroud
Less expensive that most barrels that range around $120-300 in kits and such
Weaknesses: The fact that the backspin causes the ball to float like a UFO makes other players laugh at you as they SLOWLY dodge the ball, or even catch it with their hands. and the fact if you dont have it turned right, you could have a major accuracy problem, its better for medium distance if anything, long distance wont catch you a break at all, and for people who put scope on your gun, dont use one with this, its about as helpful as salt in a slug farm
Conclusion: Trust me guys, the gun has distance, but, i notice it comes with a price of not breaking upon impact upon 50%% of the time, if you dont keep it turned right you'll miss your target by a long shot, its not very weather tolerant, any condensation that gets into it cause the ball to either break or have less distance.and you have to crank your velocity up a few notches, which may disqualify you from the field, but, as any pballer knows, you have to find the right barrel for your gun, and for me, it doesnt work, do like i did, get a Smart Parts Teardrop they come in 12-14" and offer tight accuracy, and they are very weather tolerant and they dont scratch up because of the Smart Parts Tuff Coating
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Team_Shibby Wednesday, March 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: black 98c
FlatLine barrel system
Tippmann x-spansion chamber
remote
20 ounce tank
4+1 harness
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Zap Pro series and Diablo Midnights. They both work very well with this barrel
Strengths: What isn't good about this barrel.
It is great if you install it right. Which isn't hard if your not a total idiot.
Doesn't break many balls.
Accurate
Great Distance
Can put a curve on by tilting when firing
Weaknesses: If not put on right breaks balls.
It's a little big but the performance makes up for that.
I found that the tip scratches easily.
When it is shot the paintball kind of floats there it goes slower than most barrels when shot bevause of the back spin. But you do get a lot a distance.
Review: Very nice barrel. Would reccomend for mid to back players. Front men don't really need distance and it's a little big to be running with. Very accurate. Doesn't really shoot cheap balls to well. Why do they make you write so much now to review a barrel. This review body wasn't here before atleast I think it wasn't. Anyways this barrel will put the ball where you want it. Diablo paint works fairly well with it. So doesn't zaps pro series.
Conclusion: This is a great product if installed right i give it a nine. You will be elimanating players that can't even reach you. I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2003 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EddyM Friday, February 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the stone cold barrel 20" its a lil better inthat it goes at far and doesn't flow down..but it is a little long
Marker Setup: i have a drop kit, barrel, many other...
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pro ball or Venom
Strengths: it shoots over 250 feet it accurate..and its only 14 "
Weaknesses: I have seen this..the bent barrel put backspine on a ball, and u know anything u put backspin on is gonna shoot slow..it seems as if the ball floats toward the target. It is what i have heard and experienced once.
Conclusion: If you need to clean this gun just stick ur squeegee through the hopper input...simple as that easier than taking it all apart..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pasterhatt Thursday, February 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Flatline
Expansion Chamber
32 Degrees Drop Forward
Rocket Cock
Ricochet Autoloader
Recommended
Paintballs:
El Tigre or Marbalizer
Strengths: Flat track on balls.
Smart Bomb Accurate
Best range I have seen on anything costing less than 700$

Weaknesses: I felt like a caveman putting the thing on.
Odd ball flight can be disconcerting.
Needs good paint.
Hate the shroud on the thing.
The A5 one is better...so I heard.
Conclusion: Its nice. I reccomend. Buy it. Submit to a gun that doesn't need batteries. You will not regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media