paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
RogueCanuck Monday, April 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 8" barrel from Tippmann
12" barrel, unknown make
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98 Custom
- Flatline Barrel
- 6 position adjustable CAR-style stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that doesn't pop right apart in your hands. I have used some cheap six month old paint with no breakage, as well as some higher end paint at my field. No in-barrel breakage was found.
Strengths: - Extreme improvement in effective range over other barrels tried
- Simple to maintain
Weaknesses: - Very sensitive to fouling
- May be tough first install
Review: The flatline barrel for the Model 98 Custom is a must-have accessory for any serious or even weekend warrior who owns this marker. I found that I was able to direct my fire with decent accuracy for a pneumatic weapon at almost any target I could see in the woods.

The first thing any new user should remember is that keeping this barrel clean between rounds will dramatically improve performance. This is easily done - as many have noted - by simply running the cord of your squeegee through the ball feed hole after removing the hopper.

One small issue I did note when first installing this barrel was the slight difficulty getting the adapter into place fully. Even with the suggested bolts backed almost out of their holes, the final rotation was slightly taxing for me. To offer some perspective with that, I work with my hands fairly regularly and am far from weak. People with smaller hands will likely want something akin to a strap-wrench to aid in that final turn with your brand-new adapter. Subsequent removal and replacement gets easier as the part gets worn in.

Anyone with familiarity with the H&K G3 rifle or MP5 submachinegun will recognize the style of the plastic shroud/front furniture. Having seen the metal shroud, I'd suggest trying to fit the front section of the plastic in if you switch to a metal shroud for both aestetic and comfort reasons. The front furniture allows for a slightly longer spread between hands and I feel provides a bit more control for precision shooting.

I recommend some form of a stock for even more precise use for those people comfortable with the larger length. Those of smaller stature will likely prefer to use an adjustable position stock with a remote line for comfort and ease of use if they use a stock.

After a day of lugging my gun around in the woods, I found it more than light enough to move quickly on the speedball court, although I again must admit that smaller people may find it a bit more unwieldy. (I stand 6' tall and 260 lbs)
Conclusion: If you're at all serious about turning your Model 98 into a lethal paintball weapon, this barrel is your best start.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dirtbiked14 Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12 inch pro one
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with egrip, exspainsion chamber,and 28 inch sniper barrel
3 model 98s
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ones without dimpels
Strengths: Distance
Weaknesses: If you don't have good paint you get alot of zingers
Review: I love the Flatline for my 98s because it lets me shoot farther then most other people the Flatline was very inovative but i think im going to get an Apex for my A-5 because it is adjustable and alittle cheaper. however the Flatline is a very good barrelit looks awsome gives you great distance however if you don't have good paint it will make your balls wing of in all diffirent directions
Conclusion: i will give it a seven because it has some room to improve and is getting outdated by other barrels on the market like the Apex
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shadow23 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion. Im going to get a empire b with rip drive. And possibly a blackheart or virtue board in it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big balls.
Stingers.
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance.
Weaknesses: It's not that good with a response trigger.

It's kinda hard to clean.
Review: I used it and I thought it was going to be the greatest and that i would own people. It is very nice but it has its ups and downs. Its not that good with response. It's pretty hard to clean. Because you have to take The barrel off. But then again it is accurate and it has pretty nice distance. Its worth it.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball player and have a 98 custom it's very useful. If you are a sniper buy this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BlkSabbath1970 Saturday, March 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Nightstick 16"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Coil Remote and Flatline Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Monster Balls, or HotSpot, NO Zaps
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Curves balls
Review: I have noticed that accuracy is impossible w/ this barrel. You will shoot and they will curve randomly. I even adjusted the barrel and it showed no effect. For $100 this barrel is garbage. Range could not even be considered because the curve throws the balls at the ground sometimes. Do not buy!!
Conclusion: I did not like this product. Maybe I did not give enough time and effort to adjust it right, but I'm not out there to waste money on 2,000 paintballs when I won't get the thing to work.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

billyboy098 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Standard barrel
14 inch smart parts
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with flatline
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus frostbite, Hell fire, Midnight, Recon Cammo
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Looks
Can shoot around corners
Weaknesses: Little bit expensive,
Little bit choosy on paint, cos the barrell is aggressive
Plastic body
Review: I cant recomend this barrell enough, when playing it takes a little while to get used to, i can hit people square on whilst their balls are dropping at my feet. If you tilt your marker on its side the ball will curl around the obstacles.
Installation is a little bit tricky, took me 15mins to fit. and about 5 minutes to get it fring straight.
i recomend summer grade paintballs with this marker if you dont want bounces, winter grade balls, unless you hit someone square on, will bounce.

As ball breaks do happen, you will need a squeegee with this barrel, they supply 1 with it when bought, but it is very cheap and nasty.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel, it has it all, accuracy, distance, the lot
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tomster Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrell for custom pro and spyder xtra, teardrop.
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro ACT, drilled out 98 custom stock to fit, tippmann flatline, 20 oz pure energy co2 (sometime next week, upgrade to e-board in gun, tippman triumph ssl-200 hopper, 32 degrees remote line)

Ariakon overlord pistol, extras mags


Spyder X-tra stock barrel, 14 oz and a vl-200.
Recommended
Paintballs:
x-ball bronze or up....., origin, the money symbol ones.........even had luck with wild streaks(which was really suprising, think i broke one.....).
Strengths: Increased distance and accuracy, not having to lob shots to get distance.
Weaknesses: Umm..............connector piece gets stuck because of paint on the marker from company finish.
Review: I have nothing bad to say really about this product, i got it last season with my custom pro. Took it out of the box and couldnt figure how the hell to put it together, but i cant blame that on the product, i was born dumb..., once i install it properly it worked like a charm, the first day i used it in a friendly match with my buddies i got 3 one shot head shots and about 60-80 feet. This may not sound like much, but we were playing woodspall in a creek bed, i was shooting through a bush......or 5. Anyways, this is the sweetest setup ive seen yet for range and accurracy, while i never tried pumping large quantities of paint through it, for for long range, low paint shooting, nothing can touch it, just make sure it is installed properly before firing(barrell all the way into adapter, if you have a gap, well, lets just say its messy.
Conclusion: Not to copy earlier reviews, but the early reviews that bring the rating of this barrell down were incopetent like me where they couldnt install it right, but too impatient to think that nothing could possibly be that bad, so there must be a problem, just slap it in right and youll be owning whatever place you play at.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

xonelastsalute Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
11" custom pro stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98CP, flatline barrel w/shroud, VL Revolution tripod loader, PMI 48/3000 HPA, GTA E-trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I shot about 1000 shots today in 85 degree weather with Diablo Nightmares, and only chopped 1 ball. If you can afford Marballizers, they probably are a little better, but I'll never spend 55 on paint. Nightmares are like 40 for a 2000 case and they're accurate and break on your target, not in the barrel.
Strengths: Increased effective firing range, flat trajectory
Weaknesses: Gas hog, and difficult to remove from the marker.
Review: I think a flatline is the most valuable addition you can add to your M98. It's advantages far outweigh it's disadvantages, and it's easily the most innovative and effective barrel on the market right now. As for what it'll help you with: You wont have to play up front to be able to get hits. In fact, in the last game of speedball I played today, from the very back of the field I hit two guys hanging out behind a small bunker thinking they were out of range from even the front players. In addition, it's easier to guide shots to your target when they travel in a flat line, rather than a lob shot. The downsides of this barrel are that it uses more gas and its difficult to remove from the market and clean. The reason it uses more gas is because unlike a normal barrel with seals with an o-ring, the flatline is held in place by a clamp that tightens with a screw. Bad design on Tippmann's part, in my opinion. There should be a quick release clamp that seals better. Anyway, because there will be a slight gap between the clamp's open end and the tip of the barrel, air will be able to escape, causing pressure to decrease as the ball travels from the chamber to the barrel. You'll notice this as you feel air blow against your lead hand every time you take a shot. This causes you to have to turn up your air to get to around 280 fps (best velocity to operate at) and in turn makes you use more gas. With a 20 oz CO2 tank you'll need to fill up after about 4 or so games to make sure you dont lose pressure on the field due to a near-empty tank, because when you lose pressure you have to lob shots again and your flatline is useless. In addition, if it is not installed properly, it will chop nearly every ball you shoot and not break 140 fps. You have to make sure you hammer (literally) the barrel as far as you can into the clamp, as the instructions tell you to do, otherwise the ball will hit the edge of the barrel as it leaves the chamber and will chop. DO NOT try to remove the barrel to squeegee it, like you would any other barrel. Instead, loosen the top screw (next to the front quick release feeder/sight) and push the top botton, which will open the quick release feeder and allow you to feed your squeegee in through the chamber. If you notice that you chopped a ball, immediately squeegee, because the flatline is useless once the barrel's inside is lubricated: the sandblasting can no longer give the ball backspin, and the curve of the barrel will cause the ball to curve every which way imaginable. Useless.
Conclusion: The bottom line is that for this barrel to be effective, it must be treated well. It WILL take a lot of work to maintain, and its likely that you will chop a few balls before you install it perfect. Once you understand it though, it makes you one of the most dangerous guys on the field. nobody can even enter your sight without becoming a target, and it's a huge advantage in paintball to not have to worry about the range of your target. the only downside is that it needs a quick release clamp instead of the screw-tightening one, so its easier to clean and remove, and increase air efficiency. -1 for bad clamp, otherwise it's the best upgrade you can add to your M98.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bloody Wolf Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, sucks
21" tru-flite, pretty good
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c with flatline and coiled remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
not sure very picky with paint
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Looks
No need to arch shot
Weaknesses: Hard to squeege
Expensive
Review: this barrel is by far better than any barrel iv had or seen. I have shot so many people from ranges that you would not belive if i told you. I have managed to shoot a paintball from the distance of about 2 football fields and i was even using cheap paint. i praise all the good reviews for ther scientific evidence of why the barrel shoots so far. But i shun the bad reviews from people who install it wrong and actually polish the barrel out and rid it of its backspin capabilitys i mean come on people common sense, common sense, common sense please if you are thinking of buying this barrel please remember to get it professionly installed and DO NOT POLISH IT! If you heed my advise this barrel will be your best purchase for your tippmann. The only thing bad about this barrel is that you have to get moderatly good paint or it will break balls. But once you get good paint insall it correctly and DO NOT POLISH IT then it will be near perfect I mean whats not perfect about not having to arch your shot and shooting your friends the range of 2 football fields away and having the accuracy to hit a knot on a log?
Conclusion: If you own a tippmann dont waste your time looking at the bad reviews because they were all written by noobs that know nothing about paintball so heed my advise and buy one today!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ConvictsPB Saturday, January 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Apex Barrel, flatline (a-5)...none other compare..
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C,flatline,double trig.

Lasoya Promaster on its way:)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANYTHING! i used zap paintballs, works perfect. I've only chopped once..and it was no problem to clean. Tippmann 98C is perfect for the new paintballers.
Strengths: Very good distance
Looks

Weaknesses: Frickin huge. makes gun very large
Review: Ok so, i bought a tippmann 98c off my friend brand new for 60 bucks..and i immediatley found that the stock barrel was a piece of garbage, so i went out and bought a flatline the next day, so easy to install, It brought tears to my eyes. then. i went out paintballing..wowowowwowo so accurate, it will sometimes throw out a random curve ball, but hey whos complaining. this thing shoots wicked fine. I've only chopped once.


Now for its flaws.
this thing..
is massive.
I went speedballing with it..i probably got hit in the gun more than i got hit on my body. its a good thing a baby could clean this in its sleep. its amazing i love this gun.
BUT..
im selling it and buying the lasoya promaster, because me and my friends are starting up a team.
Conclusion: Definitly recommended to the woodsballer/scenario player.
not so much the speedballer..its too big for that.
definitly expensive too. so because of size (-1) and price (140ish[-1] )
i give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j_rod_619 Friday, January 12th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
There is nothing quite like it
Recommended
Paintballs:
Probably Big Ball
Strengths: Looks good
Weaknesses: Pain to take apart, unreliable, doesn't clean well
Review: First of all I was soooo excited to get this barrel. When I got it I could not get it to do anything near like everyone claims. This barrel has to be installed perfectly to work. Well I did everything by the book and it still didn't perform like I hoped it would. I finally got it to work. Well sort of. When it does the ball seems to hover. Flat trajectery is strange looking to say the least. The best I could get is a shot at about 75 feet. Compared to 250 like some people claim? After about 75ft the balls started to curve. I couldn't hit a 12X12 square more than 5 of 10 times. Personally my 98 Custom shot better with the stock barrel. Also sometimes the balls wouldn't break. When you chop a ball or it bust in the barrel you have to drop your hopper with the front site, run a cable squeegee down the barrel, then put it back up and hope it doesn't do it again. By the way I was taking about 5 seconds between shots. There is no way the bolt chopped the ball. $100 for a barrel like this is nuts. You can get a better barrel anywhere. Also you can't shoot fast or the balls will break in the barrel. Trust me I spent alot of money on this setup only to be dissappointed. Sure it looks cool but looks don't win games. I've heard that every Flatline is different. But I have used Big Ball (the best), Visual Impact aka Scorch, Monster Balls (SUCK), Zap, JT tactacle,and stryker and was dissappointed.
Conclusion: Don't believe the hype. There is no "one shot one kill" gun in paintball. Paintball sniper rifles DO NOT exist!!!! I have never seen one and neither has anyone else I know. I have heard more stories of flattys being soooo accurate. They are either stretching the truth or both of the ones I have had were junk. ONE WAS PROFESSIONNALY INSTALLED! I wish mine was half as good as everyone says thiers is. Then I wouldn't have sold it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media