paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Numerous Dye barrels, Smart Parts and CMI
Marker Setup: Model 98 with tippmann expansion chamber, venturi bold, rear velocity screw, Flatline and .22/shotgun scope.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Paintballs with a large bore size.
Strengths: The best thing about the Flatline is that it shoots well past the range of any gun out there. The flat trajectory enhances a distant kill. The range on this thing will keep the heads of any player down. It's also light weight and works well in all weather. It's always nice to be able to shoot around trees!!
Weaknesses: The bad part is that it is messy when balls break. Most paintballs break near the top of the curve becuase of the paintballs resistance to change in motion. It has a large bore size which means you need large paint. There is also alot of turbulance on the paintball which means that it dosn't have the accuracy its intended to have. It's not very solid on the gun. The over piece is plastic....thats not so great for durability. It's expensive. Large paintballs are hard to find and thats what this thing needs.
Conclusion: In the end, the Flatline is only a so so barrel. It dosn't have the reliabilty of a straight barrel. The Flatline seems to sacrafice accuracy for range. Indeed it has range. Too bad it lacks accuracy. If you desire range and can spare the paint it takes to get the kill becuase of lack in accuracy this barrel is for you. If you want a more accurate barrel I would suggest CMI. The Flatline was fun to use but as you get better you want something that works for your level of abilities. This is not the barrel for that. This thing seems a little far ahead of its time.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: M98, Flatline Barrel System, Car Stock, Coiled Remote, 9V Rev Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
MARBALIZER - these are the best paintballs you can get, and i've shot well over 1000 rounds during games and never had a single ball break. You buy any thing less in quality paint and your asking for trouble
Strengths: RANGE RANGE RANGE! The range on this thing is what makes it a must have for anyone that wants to be the sniper of the team. During the wooded games I've played, I always am instructed by the team captain to stay in the back and snipe. I am able to shoot and hold the opposing team players down in their bunkers, out of range from their returning fire, while my team mates get into closer better firing positions for attack.

In the event that a ball breaks in the barrel, it's not as difficult to clean as some people say it is. You don't have to dismantle the gun, and you don't have to keep the shroud off like some suggest. I've never busted a Marbalizer paintball in my barrel yet, however I did use up an old bag of PMI Premium balls that I had leftover from last year, and I had a couple ball breaks. To clean the mess, all I did was tip the marker upside down, and drop the hopper. I then ran my standard squeegee through the feed and out the barrel a couple times, and I was good to go.
Weaknesses: Accuracy of this barrel is the negative. If your looking for real tight accuracy, look elsewhere. The pattern is a bit wide, however the range the barrel gives you makes up for this flaw.

If your the type of person that has a collection of barrels and likes to change them for different types of games right on the field, this barrel isn't for you. You have to spend a decent amount of time to get this barrel on your marker, and its not as simple as just screwing it in like other barrels.

This barrel is not good for fast paced games, such as Speedball, where you have to move fast and deliver shots with accuracy.. It, in my opinion is meant for slower paced scenario based games, where you can hide and snipe.
Conclusion: If your looking for RANGE, and you love to play the sniper position most of the time, then this barrel is an excellent upgrade for your marker. I haven't had any problems with it, and only spent $95 on it. If you do decide to get it, be prepared to spend a little more on paint. Marbalizer is the only paint I recommend, and it has proven that can handle passing through this barrel with out exploding.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer47 Wednesday, April 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14 inch Dye Excel
Marker Setup: Stock 98
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything i've shot as long as its new has worked fine, i like diablo midnight the best
Strengths: The incredible distance, the incredible accuracy. My stock 98 and flatline, can take any electro, cocker, or automatic out there. I do not break paint in mine, the balls break on contact, it works up close, and far away... (note i play woods NOT speedball), I think the barrel is a little tough to tame at first, but its WELL WELL worth it once you get the thing down.
Weaknesses: The bad thing about this product are IDIOTS who write reviews for it when they have no clue what they are talking about breaking balls, peices not fiting, balls curving, looking like a penis? Seriously anyone who gives this thing a 1 is really an idiot. Its just as easy as any other barrel to clean, IF you even break a ball.
Conclusion: I would recommend using this barrel and gun over anything else, from what i've seen and played with, the consistancy, reliability, range and acuracy is perfect. and please, don't listen to these idiots, spend time with the barrel give it a chance, you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing at all, after i shot this and then used my blade i laughed hystarically and swore never to use it again
Marker Setup: custom 98 and I use a remote w/ a 20 oz
Recommended
Paintballs:
powerball and brass eagle,viewloader and powerball
Strengths: the range and accuracy is incredible, i only busted 1 ball in 200 w/ viewloader paint!!! and it doesn't waste co2
Weaknesses: everyone says squeegeeing (is that a word?!) is hard but just order a battle swabv and you'll be alright. installation does take a little while but one good thing that comes out of it is that you get to "know" the inside of your gun so if something goes wrong you'll probably be able to tell
Conclusion: it is simply the most affordable and acurate barrel on the face of the earth right now, and by the way it's about $95.95. Also w/out an expansion chamber it shoots awesome and if it had one i could only imagine.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
um...there aren't any that shoot this far
Marker Setup: I have a custom 98 and model 98, sniper barrel and flatline.
Recommended
Paintballs:
well, I used zap and none broke, plus it was raining outside. Anything but brass eagle probably would work
Strengths: I don't know why people say it's hard to install. Maybe it's an older version or somthing, but it takes me about a minute. Sure it doesn't take a fraction of the time with other barrels, but common. You can clean this barrel so easily. It shoots super far and awsome accuracy. When i first shot it, i laughed it was so crazy.
Weaknesses: it's kinda expensive and long, but it needs to be to work. I don't really mind the price anyway, the guns are cheap.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel! it's super awsome. It looks cool and a scope would actually help it. BUY BUY BUY BUY $$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts all american. shoots good but makes you appreciate the flatline
Marker Setup: Model 98 with psycho ballistics drop forward and expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer, JT maxim or All Star
Strengths: This is a very good barrel. it shoots really far and is still extremely accurate. the flat trajectory helps in thick brush and low canopy playing. the curving of the shot also helps to get around small obstacles.
Weaknesses: the bad thing about the flatline is how it goes into the gun. The actuall barrel has no threads or anything to lock it into place. you have to srew the adapter piece down very tight or the barrel will slip around and send your shots all over the place. they should have the barrel and the adapter welded together or something like that.
Conclusion: this is a very good barrel. It can be a pain in the butt at times. but the distance and flat trajectory are such benefits that it is hard to use another barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Stock
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom with Flatline Barrel and a Rifle Scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big Ball or Marbalizer (the smaller the better)
Strengths: I was a sceptic when I first bought this barrel but my instinct served me wrong. It is the best barrel that I have ever seen in a longball game. As long as you install it correctly, its quite good. The cleaning is also much easier than people say it is.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing that I could see was the plastic shroud that it comes with. I havent broken it yet, but it looks kinda cheap for a Tippman product. It was also a bit pricey, but worth every penny. (except for the tax)
Conclusion: It is a very good longball barrel and I recomend it to anyone who is willing to shell out the cash.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom/w flatline barrel
superbly RETARDED talon
Marker Setup: cutsom 98-flatline, double trigger, rear velocity adjuster, remote line, starfirre bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
tournament class
Strengths: the good is that it shoots extremely far, mainly for ppl who like to snipe, pretty accurate for a long range, looks cool
Weaknesses: the only bad i can think of is shooting it sideways, like cotton mouth said, it will turn horizontly, but other than that, nothing, and why do you even look at the flatline like a sex toy? you worry me, paintball guns are not for sexual pleasure.
Plus, when cotton mouth, or who ever that retard is, says by the time it gets way out there, its going really slow, that may be true, but atleest it can get out that far so you have a better chance of hitting some one than u can with any other gun, which would have already hit the ground by the time the tippmann flatline is way out there.
Conclusion: in conclusion, i think this is an awesome barrel, and a must by for the tippman 98 and the tippmann 98 custom paintball guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP-Progressive, SP-AA, PMI Perfect Pursuit, CP 12inch
Marker Setup: 2002 Impulse, 12v, 20oz anti-syphon
Recommended
Paintballs:
Small bore paints, nothing big like brass eagle
Strengths: Shoots @ extreme ranges, Outshoots expensive guns, Good for people who like to snipe.
Weaknesses: Looks like a sex toy.
Installation can be a pain in the neck. My friend had one before he bought a cocker. If you're not really careful, you'll end up with a little gap between the breech and the barrel, or you'll end up wth hitting it in too hard and you'll mess it up. Ok, this barrel may outshoot any electro or cocker, but what's the point if your opponent can see the ball coming at them? Ya, that's right by the time the ball gets pretty far out there, it is going extremely slooooww. That means lots of bounces, paint breaking in the air, and people dodging it. So what's the point of playing dodgeball, when the game is paintball.
Secondly, try snapshooting this barrel. Because it puts backspin on the ball, if you tilt it sideways even a little, your balls will curve on a horizontal plane. Now that sucks if you're trying to snapshoot. Kinda tough to hit what you're trying to aim at because of the spin on the ball.
Conclusion: For the money you pay buying this barrel, you could have a boomstick and a half. But what's the point spending 110-150 on this barrel if you're gonna put it on a tippman. lol. Anyways, if you do have a tippman, if you like to snipe, and only play recball, it's totally up to you. I myself would save some of that money and buy a traditional, perfoming barrel like a Dye or a Smart Parts or anything else that's decent.
If you plan on using a bunker, don't buy this barrel. As for you sniper wannabes, try it out and it might tickle your pickle. As for anybody else, don't buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 w/ Flatline Barrel--no stock just buttplate on my tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 degrees or better...no brass eagle!!!
Strengths: You can sit back and watch people shoot at you and see their balls hit the ground about 50 feet in front of you, then raise your gun, pull the trigger and watch them run like little girls!!! This combines accuracy with distance like no other!
Weaknesses: it's heavy so be prepared. it's also a gas hog.
Conclusion: this gun is good to own as a second gun. putting the barrel on is a hassle so taking it off at the field and using another barrel isn't conviniant. if you do have another gun you can run and shoot, then when you are tired you can get out the flatline and sit in one or two places the whole game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media