paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Snip3r l3git Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only one that i needed.
Marker Setup: Custom 98 with stock, responce trigger, cyclone feed, and flatline barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbleizer, for distance and incredible acceracy.
JT Tatical for med.(range) and good acceracy.
Strengths: You can pick off your opisition easily, if you can aim well enough.
Weaknesses: Price, and it does slow balls down.
Review: When I first got this product, I wanted to return it emideatly. It seemed like a peice of junk. I shot many times, without moving my gun, and they all took off in every dirrection including: about 25-50 feet strait up, left or right, and even a few that went strait down and hit the ground. I was mad. 100$ wasted.

Then my dad convinced me to try other paint balls,( I was using Wal-mart Monster balls) and so I got some marbs, and some JT's. It was incredibal how strait they were going! The JT's flew for about 150 feet and droped, but they only cost 30$ for 1000. The Marblizers flew about 250 feet, and we never saw then again. But they cost about 50$ for 1000.

My addvice: get this if your willing to get great paint( dont expect to buy under 40$)
if not, then get another barrel, or better yet, onother gun. But remember the best advantige that this gun has is distance.

Conclusion: Simple: Get this!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Smock Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/
gas through grip
flatline
remote
double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use JT woodsballs, which seem to work fairly well
Strengths: Very accurate
Gives you more distance than anyone else
Sexy looking
Weaknesses: I have a problem w/ breaking balls, may be paintballs I use
Review: Installation
It took me about 5 minutes to install this barrel the first time. If you know how to screw in a normal barrel, and you know how to use a screw driver, you should be fine. I fiddled around a little with the velocity, and found that around 280 is best.

Strengths
distance- After playing with this barrel on my local woodsball course, i was immensely satisfied. I could literally stand straight up off the break, and send balls into them w/ out fear of them hitting me back. The flatline gives me so much distance that i can sit back 20 feet from other's farthest range, not even worrying about them hitting me, and send balls shooting right to them.
Accuracy- Other people complain that the flatline gives distance but no accuracy. After playing with this barrel about 10 times, i can truthfully say they they don't know what they are talking about. I have snipped countless people from halfway across the field. Tell me another barrel that can hit someone at that range, and ill willingly try that out.

Weaknesses
Breaking Balls
the only weakness iv noticed is that the barrels breaks a couple more balls than normal. What i mean is that i break about 3 balls per 1000 rounds. it might just be the balls im using, but 3 balls out of 1000 rounds is not terribly bad. i push a squeegee and a battle swab through it a couple times, and its ready to go again.

Sexiness
it is possibly the best looking functioning barrel i have ever seen. what more can i say?



Conclusion: I am not a fanatic when it comes to paintballing. ill go every week or so when i can. The 98 custom i use is reliable, easy to maintain, and inexpensive. using the normal stock barrel doesn't really cut it though, even on a local woodsball field. After i started using the flatline, im getting way more kills. almost every game, ill get at least 2 or 3 kills. Even the refs had started recognizing me. I wouldn't really suggest it for an air ball tourney, but for woodsball, there is no barrel better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nebulazator Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98C stock barrel (dose'nt compare)
Marker Setup: 98 Custom A.C.T
Flatline Barrel
Commando Stock
Cyclone Feeder
APP coiled remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Freedom, Marbelizer, Evil, Diablo Dusk

Cheap Paint works but the accuracy is inconsistant.
Strengths: Added distance is amazing
Noticably Increased Accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: Plastic Shroud
Trajectory of ball affected by paint quality/weather.
Review: Okay.....The 98 Flatline Barrel is a very good barrel and it its farily easy to install if you can read directions...one tip though is that when you are installing the adapter bolt take one of the wrench things and stick it through where the screw goes in and it will be easier to tighten into the barrel slot.
The Flatline barrel does add at least 100ft of distance too your shot and it does noticabully increase accuracy....I could shot a target that was at least 150ft away multiple times in a row that was a 1 inch wide tree trunk. I used freedom paint and did not have any brakeages. The barrel is actually more of a pain to uninstall than it is to install so make sure that you have everything you want on ur gun before u install it. (the cyclone feed will fit but you may have to do some cutting on the shroud to make it fit..no big deal...Same for the commando stock..both very easy)
The bad thing about the barrel is that the shroud is cheap plastic but it is very durable and easy to cut if you have certian modifications that just need to get a little bit of room on the gun its easy to cut the shroud with a pocket knife.

Rumors:Chops so much paint
Not very accurate

Both those rumors are untrue.....it is more accurate than 90% of other barrels and even when i didnt have the cyclone feed i hardly chopped any balls...now with the feed ive actually chopped none.

Now for those of you that are thinking about buy an apex barrel...here are my 2 cents on that barrel and i have used my friends many times......

The apex barrel is very accurate and i can shoot very far...it can shoot farther that the flatline but the accuracy will be awful and even if you do hit at 250 feet the paint WILL NOT BREAK TRUST ME. Also the apex does not do what it is said to do, there are very few times the "curved trajectory" works as its supposed to and even if it does...are you honestly gonna be able to sit in a game and test out the curve of the ball..then someone charges you and you have your scope right on them..pull the trigger and right before it hits them the ball curves (although i must say the divebomb does work awsome) also the apex barrel can go furthur but in my opinion (im a woodsballer) it is not as accurate as the flatline if you are using somewhat decent paint in the faltline and the weather is up to par....yes the flatline is picky but when the conditions are up to par it is just simply an amazing barrel, now even if you did get the curve of an apex down do you know how G** you sound... I mean im soo pus** that i have to sit 250 feet away from you curving my ball behind the tree ur behind *cough* NO SKILL *cough cough*
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY reccommend the flatline barrel...if you will take the time to tune it, it will treat you well for woodsball and takes much more skill to use that the apex barrel which is for the ulti-noob....I givve it a 9/10 only because the barrel shroud is plastic but that is good because it allows me to put my stock and feeder on it but it does dissappoint me that you loose the capability of a weaver rail for your sights....thats why its a 9...but u still can use lasers...HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BARREL FOR ANY 98C OWNERS....DO NOT BUY THE APEX it's a 140$ peice of plastic that has a huge end in it...YOU MAY THINK THAT IM A BIASED FLATLINE OWNER....IM NOT I HAVE DONE MY HOMEWORK!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fightthecool Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom, flatline barrel, howitzer bolt, stock, sometimes a remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that are not practice balls
Strengths: Ups accuracy, ups range
Weaknesses: Price, the trouble of installing it
Review: This barrel is well worth the price.

This gun has increased my accuracy and my range to the point that i can hit and break a ball on another player so far away that he has to lob the balls to reach me and they usually end up bouncing and not even breaking.

The major downside is that if you dont install this barrel correctly your accuracy can actually be lower then the accuracy w/ the stock barrel
Conclusion: My rating would be a 10 if it was easier to install but other then that it deserves a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phethesk8 Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tru-Flight 20" rifled barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
HALO TSA led hopper
Tippmann E-grip
32 Degrees Aluminium Collapsible Stock
32 Degrees Remote Coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
Super Swirls
Marbolizers
(anything with a rough textured shell and hard)
Strengths: great Backspin and flat trayectory
Weaknesses: Annoying to take off and clean
Review: the flatline barrel system was the best thing i've bought for my gun after the e-grip. after reading online that super long barrels dont increase accuracy. the key was in the flatline's techniche to put a backspin on paintballs to give more distance and an exellent flat trayectory for exellent accuracy.

once with this barrel. im never going back to any normal barrels. simply because the flatline is superior. the only flaws are that the barrel needs to be untighten with an allen wrench, but not much of a hassle. and that the barrel might cause ball breakage on thin-shelled balls.


i recomend good paint to achieve maximum preformance on this barrel. i use SuperSwrils and Marbolizers and they work incredibly great.
Conclusion: Best barrel out there for maximum distance and flat trayectory.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

allamericanman Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts All American Teardrop Barrel (Better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline barrel
Smartparts all american Barrel
Response trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch, JT tactical.
Strengths: Range.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate, expensive
Review: I have had my flatline for a long time and not liked it a whole lot. It cost me $80 on sale. I was so excited when I first got it but that dispelled quickly when I saw its accuracy. The shots all went really far but it was not very accurate. Some shots curved, others dove, and some just plain broke in the barrel. An alright product but not worth $100.
Conclusion: If you want range, go flatline, if you want accuracy, go smartparts all american.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Supra_368 Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the stock barrel on the M98. It still shot pretty good but I would suggest getting another barrel.
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann Model 98 with a flat line barrel system and a Autococker for speed ball.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I suggest marbalizers but I haven't shot a wide variety of paint out of this gun.
Strengths: Accuracy and distance
Weaknesses: Hard to install, and cost
Review: The Flatline Barrel is a good buy for the tippmann M98. I have used it for some time now and I have been very pleased with it. The only complaints I would really have about the barrel is that it is hard to install and the price. I put the barrel on my tippmann in a hurry and it shot very poorly, you really have to pay attention and make sure you are putting it on straight and that your gun is shooting at the right velocity. As far as the price, it is expensive but you get what you pay for.
Conclusion: Its a good barrel and as long as you are getting it for rec ball then its fine. But don't get it for speed ball. NO
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetipman Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippman model 98,(original)/w expansion chamber.
Spyder TL-X/anti chop tech'
Recommended
Paintballs:
any will sufice
Strengths: Intimidating, quiet,long range, looks cool.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a pretty good barrel for 100 bucks. when your out of range of peoples guns you can always get a couple of good shots on them to break or atleast make them be afraid of the power of the flatline barrel. when i got my barrel and put it on and used it i noticed it quited down my gun significantly and it was really cool. the balls just seem to hover then hit wat u wnt.


Conclusion: This is a great barrel on of the best on the market.Itis a good barrel for 100 dollars
I really like the barrel but there is alot of things you have to ajust on it to get it to shoot straight so i give it a nine but once it is set your flatline is very dangerous.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

woodedsniper Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
14 in 32* Terminator
16 in Armason
11 in Werks
8.5 in Stock
Marker Setup: Realtree Hardwoods Grey Tippmann 98 custom
Flatline Barrel system
32* Hyperstar bolt
response trigger (sometimes)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I'm not sure what paint works best for mine, but I know that the Scorch from that cheap place that everyone says to not buy paint from works great in the A-5 flatline.
Strengths: Range
Accuracy
Intimidation factor

Weaknesses: Bulky
Difficult to learn to sight

Review: This is an excellent barrel. The best there is to offer. With the range and accuracy that the flatline gives you, how can it not be. The flatline gives either the 98 or A-5 more range than any other gun can even think about achieving. My first experience with a flatline was from the recieving end...after that day, i had to have it. This guy was hitting me from nearly a hundred yards away, yes i said yards. After fitting my 98 with the system, i began to notice that if you hit the ground just right with a paintball, you can actually bounce the paintball pretty much where you want it go, with some inconsistiancy of course.

Like any good thing however, there are bad things. for the 98 the Flatline has a bluky shroud that comes up over the top of the gun, causing you to remove the old rear sight and use a very pitiful sighting system. I've learned to use the front sight only, lined up with the flute in the barrel that is on the top, it works. Also, this barrel runs anywhere from 90 to $130...not to cheap.
Conclusion: The Tippmann Flatline Barrel system is expensive, yes, but totally worth the price in the end and since nothings perfect, it gets a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JMCeltics34 Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I had a spider extra as my first gun, then got the 98 with a flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Response Trigger
Flatline barrel
M4 Adjustable Car stock
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Look (personal preference)
Weaknesses: Size
Low Quality
Price
Jamming/Breaking Balls
Review: Strengths
This barrel is good, and u should get it if u dont really care about spending $100+, but i really dont think its worth it. i can hardly notice the added distance, and the accuracy is a little better but i could get the same thing with a J&J barrel or somthing along those lines. So the only strength left is the look.

Weaknesses
The size of the barrel is a little annoying. I play some speedball, and its just a killer. Im always getting hit in the gun, and even if you dont play gun shots=kill shots, it still jams the gun a lot. Also, it makes the gun unbalanced, so i got the stock to keep it more balanced. Next is the quality of the barrel. the whole covering is plastic. i dont like having to worry about cracks, dents, ext. then theres the price, which is up to you. if im paying 100 bucks for a barrel, it better allow me to hit basically whatever i want, which it doesnt. The jamming is one of the biggest problems. for some reason the barrel jams constantly now. i played just yesterday and i could get through a round without it jamming and having to take it all apart, then i couldnt play the rest of the day. There are a lot of weaknesses in this barrel.
Conclusion: If you have the money, buy this barrel, but i really dont think that it was worth it, in fact, i wish i had never bought it.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media