paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, June 1st, 2001
Strengths: The range is the best part. I love to hear people after a game saying," How the heck were you getting those paintballs flying by our ffeet from all the way across the field??" and I love taking people out saying," SUCK FLATLINE!!" They freak out. (Just hadta write that). And its very intimidating.
Weaknesses: Accuracy. Even with Pro Balls and any adjustment possible( Velocity, Barrel, paint) I still can't get any better than a 18" pattern. It makes your Model 98 Long and Akward. Its a little LOUD too.
Conclusion: Is it worth the cash? YES, Every penny. You get a total advantage over everyone.

How does it compare to similar barrels? I have the stock barrel, 14" J&J Ceramic, and the Flatline. The Flatline is the Stock barrel' s accuracy (which really isnt all that bad) and the Range is all in it's own. I can't compare the J&J to the Flatline because the J&J isn't that good of a barrel. I dont use it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soyboy Thursday, May 31st, 2001
Strengths: -adds a lot of range
-increases accuracy over stock barrel
Weaknesses: -picky on paint
-kinda loud
Conclusion: It was an O.K. barrel. The problem I think is that it wasn't properly installed. My friend let me borrow it without the shroud. I was using medium bore R.P.S. Premium and Tippmann reccomends small bore which could have affected it.
I believe that when it is properly installed and with the proper paint that it will be awesome. From my experience I would give it a 7, but my two friends gave it a test. And said that the range was unbelievable and the accuracy was pretty good with marbs. I averaged it out to a 9 due to the test and for it's originality.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 28th, 2001
Strengths: Just got it, and this thing is awesome! It slings paint for a mile! It is a huge difference from any other barrel I have ever seen. Didn't have any of the problems that other people have mentioned. It shoots paint straight and for a longggg way.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is the $, it is exspensive but well worth it. It doesn't have the visual flash that say a Dye Boomstick has but the performance definately squashes the competition! Little bit of a pain if you have a ball break.
Conclusion: This barrel it simply awesome, turns the Model 98 into a totally different gun. This is a must have for the model 98 when you need distance. Will simply out shoot any other barrel period.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 28th, 2001
Strengths: range. the balls really fly. ability to aim the balls around corners somewhat with the right tilt to the gun. trajectory is great for mid to long ranges. awesome for woods play!!
Weaknesses: not the most accurate barrel out there. difficult to change barrels during the day. pain in the ass shroud. i just leave it off. hard to get working right - plan to spend some time at the range, then once you have it sighted, make a small mark on the gun, the adapter and barrel to line them up so you can reassemble it perfectly at the field. trajectory is wierd - not good at short range. I found myself shooting *down* to shoot some players that were across a valley. accuracy sucks outdoors if it's windy, i would not recommend this for a small field. takes a couple of shots to range in.
Conclusion: the balls really fly. the flat trajectory is good in a certain range.. other than that, the ball will dip, rise go flat, then rise again before curving off or dropping to the ground. This barrelis sensitive to unround paint. ball breaks will put you out of commission. flip the feeder off and pass thru a squegee before shooting again - otherwise you will not be able to hit the side of a barn. not particularly accurate.. 4 out of ten shots will go exactly where you want it to, so just lay the paint and you should be able to hit a few.. I'll use this in woods, and outdoors on unwindy days. Get another barrel for other conditions so that you can toss the sucky stock barrel. just OK for speedball - just stay back. NOT FOR FRONT PLAYERS.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 27th, 2001
Strengths: If you have a Tippman 98, It would be the smart choice to look into this barrel. It's scary how far the paintballs can go, and it is accurate too. You can pretty much range any other gun on the market with this barrel! Just sit back and watch the paint fly!!!!
Weaknesses: It's a little pricey, but it's worth it. If it's your first time installing the barrel I suggest get some good advice on it and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Marballizer works the best for it. If you consider buying this barrel it will even your odds on the fields. This is the most outstanding barrel i've ever shot paint through!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 27th, 2001
Strengths: I first learned about it when someone brought it to a game- it was extremely accurate, even though it was very long. This was fixed by putting camo tape all over the gun. I got my own about two months later, I don't regret it. Has the best range I've ever seen, and I've only broken two or three balls in the barrel.
Weaknesses: Somewhat Expensive
Hard as hell to install if you don't know what you're doing.
Long.
Conclusion: I used all star paint in it, but I also used some hellfire and brass eagle- the brass eagle was responsible for the breaks, by the way. If you can afford it, it's probably the best barrel you can get for a Tippmann 98. It's length can be fixed with camo tape, and get a professional to install one, or at least someone with some installation knowledge.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kornithium Tuesday, May 22nd, 2001
Strengths: 1. Accurate! This thing flies like a dream!
2. Shoots far! Man this thing goes like a bat outa hell ! some people thing WTF? when they get his so far away its pretty funny.
3. Doesnt bust balls! I didnt have it properly installed at first but as soon as i did outa 200 balls i didnt break 1.
4. The barrel gives my m98 a good look with my stock
5. If it isnt shooting right you can adjust it in battle!
Weaknesses: 1.expensive
2. The plastic is cheap but gives it a good look.
3. I couldnt help but gigle once i saw it without the plastic and i might take the plastic off and go paintballing with it for a joke.
Conclusion: Great accuracy, great distance, bad price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 20th, 2001
Strengths: AWSOME! If you play in the woods this is the best because you dont have to arc the balls to make them go as far as a "normal" barrel, so you can shoot through the brush real well. I dont know how its made but i think the price is high....thats good!!! If it was cheap everyone would have one.
Weaknesses: The plastic piece of crap that comes with it........although with out it, it looks retarded.
Conclusion: Its a little bit longer than i than i thought it would be, and on the end of a m98 which is long itself, it gives you one hell of a gun. Although its alot better than crawling through the mud with an M16!!! I use 32* team colors and have no problems at all. If you play in an area where bunkers or trees are far apart get this barrel and you will start to win alot more!!
Now all i need to do is adapt it to my spyder MUHAHAHA!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Omega6_Virus Sunday, May 20th, 2001
Strengths: Excellent accuracy. Flies farther than any other barrle due to its backspin design. If you play back posistion or woods paintball and own a M98 get this barrle. You will love it. You don't have to pop out as much and move forward exsposing yourself to the other team. My friend and I got this barrle and absolutly love them. It's no contest going against this barrle on the other team. You will be pegged from the farthest reaches of the earth. You will be wondering where the hell that guy came from.
Weaknesses: You can't really change barrles easly with this on. The shell around the barrle is plastic but it serves NO purpose in the operation of the barrle. You will see a lot of players who own this and play a lot without the shell on because it is kinda a waste. The barrle is also kinda difficult to install the first time. Once you get it on make sure it is lined up correctly.
Conclusion: This is a wonderful upgrade from the stock barrle. A little pricey but you will love it because of the easy eliminations and excellent range you recieve. Make sure you use good paint. I used Nelson .68 and it worked fine. Only ball breaks I got were from the barrle not being lined up. If you can, get a tech at a proshop to install. Ask even if you didn't buy it from them. If you do get it from a proshop, ask if they will take off some money if you pay CASH. Most proshops like cash upfront and will take off for it. I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH, MAKE SURE THE BARRLE IS LINED UP CORRECTLY!! The only barrle which can compare would be a IRONMAN. Kinda the same price but you can't really change barrles easily with the Flatline. I give this a 9 because no barrle is perfect, you need to have the barrle alined correctly, you can't change barrles easily and its kinda hard to get used too. Just shoot a lot of paint in your backyard and you'll get used to it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 19th, 2001
Strengths: EVERYTHING PLEASE GET THIS BARREL!!!!!!!! I almost didn't get it, cause of what people said on this site. IT WORKS AWESOME. Brass EAGLE paint works in it too. I love this barrel and Trust me it is worth every penny. INSTALLATION is a sinch. It's so easy to install. Just READ the directions. The other people on this site must of been to dumb to read the instructions. IT SHOOTS SO FAR. It is by far the greatest invention made for paintball.
Weaknesses: Nothing. Cleanup is so easy too. If a ball actually breaks in the barrel, just use the quick release button on the shroud. Use the squegee that comes with the barrel and it is good to go. The only bad thing is that it is kinda long. THtas no problem.
Conclusion: GET THIS BARREL. If you take the 10 minutes to install it correctly, and not try to rush through it, cause than it is bad. GET IT, u will be so amazed at how far and straight it works. If you tilt the barrel on it's side it still works great. YOU CAN EVEN SHOOT AROUND TREES!!!!!!!!! I LOVE IT AND WILL NEVER GET RID OF IT. IT is great for speedball too. any questions please contact me. TRUST ME, GET THIS BARREL, If someone would of written a report like this at the begining, i would have gottern it a lot sooner. IT'S SO WORTH EVERY PENNY. I GOTTA GO SHOOT PEOPLE WITH IT NOW TAKE CARE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media