paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, May 19th, 2001
Strengths: I've read the reviews for the Flatline Barrel System, and I've noticed that there are two types of reviews. Really good ones and really bad ones. The main difference in the people who give good reviews and bad reviews is that the people that give it a good review know how to INSTALL THE BARREL CORRECTLY. The barrel does not break balls. However, if you don't INSTALL THE BARREL CORRECTLY, then it will. In fact, maybe every ball. The barrel looks great on the M98 onlly if the plastic shroud is also installed. The distance is awesme, but if not INSTALLED CORRECTLY, it will have no range, and it will swerve to the side, it will suck. This barrel is only useful if you do it right, and some people just can't get that. Besides, who leaves paint in their barrel? Why shoot paint when there's paint in your barrel?
Weaknesses: OK, I will admit, it is HARD TO INSTALL CORRECTLY. Get it wrong and screw it up. It's a waste of money if you don't do it right.

Since the barrel is curved and the shroud is hard to get off, cleaning the barrel is hard as a mother. But I never had to clean any paint out of the barrel during play, so it's no big deal. Of course, I INSTALLED IT CORRECTLY.

The barrel is around 16 in. long, which is pretty damn long. It reallly sticks out, so you should remote your gun off or get a real nice drop forward.
Conclusion: The barrel is great. It is the best in the paintball industry, and probably the hardest to get right. If it is INSTALLED CORRECTLY, the barrel will shoot far and will be accurate, even on CO2, and will not break up balls. It costs $100 now, so it's a really good deal if you're willing to take the time to put it together correctly.

The real bottom line: The Flatline Barrel System is awesome, but onlly if it is INSTALLED CORRECTLY. If not, you're not gonna like it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 18th, 2001
Strengths: Distance. This barrel out ranges any other barrel I have ever seen.
Accuracy is decent.
Weaknesses: Loud as heck.
One tough S.O.B to clean.
Once you break a ball all the others fly wildly in every direction.
To pricy for what you get.
Makes the gun too long.
Looks bad
Conclusion: The barrel is ok. Just dont count on sniping people off after about 150 feet. After that point the accuracy goes from ok to sucky real quick. Good for a back player. You will be able to put down suppressing fire while your teamates can really take the people out.

You dont get alot for the money. Boomstick is 10 times better. You may not be able to get the range of the flatline with the boomstick but you will get a hell of a bit more accuracy.

Bottom line buy a boomstick
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98 Thursday, May 17th, 2001
Strengths: extremely good distance and acurraccy. instead of lobbign ball at lond ranges it shoots flat no arc. Not a bad price very good
Weaknesses: long barel but just play thwe back of th efield and you will be fine. kinda hard to move around with but thats it.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel very good you will eb amased by the distance and acurraccy. can outshoot any other barrel on the market. shocker autococker angel all those.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, May 13th, 2001
Strengths: - Shoots very far
- Quite accurate, specially compared to normal barrels at long distance
- Looks cool with shroud
Weaknesses: - Expensive
- Balls fly all over the place if they are not round and consistent
- When raining or in wind, the balls also go swirling about
- Only comes for the m98... A flatline barrel on i.e. an automag would rock even more!
Conclusion: This is a very good barrel if you use the proper paint... It is expensive, but I think it is a worthy upgrade for your tippmann. Use good paint in medium or small size, or the balls will not spin properly.

Many say it is unpractical because of the shroud, but I just use the flatline without any shroud. Also, the lining of the barrel is very easy if you don't use the shroud...

Cleaning the barrel is easy, just use the squegee that comes with it. Open the feed and pull it through the barrel from there.

Bottom line: This barrel is good!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

basher Sunday, May 13th, 2001
Strengths: Distance............INCREDIBLE!!!! I don't know who can say that they've seen other barrels shoot as far. They certainly didn't do it without lobbing the paint. This thing is just like its name....a flat line.
Accuracy............I have to disagree with many other reviews on this one. If installed correctly it is dead on.
Weaknesses: Can be tricky installing it correctly.
If not installed correctly it WILL break paint.
IF paint is broken in the barrel you will get some of the most unbelievably curved shots you've ever seen.
Conclusion: Overall I love the flatline. It takes some getting used to but once you know the barrel you can do some pretty incredible things with it. Try tipping your gun on its side when your target is hiding behind a bunker and see what happens...it's a blast.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 12th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel has it's strengths. It certainly has a lot more range than most other barrels. The flat flight path of the ball is great and ...well, the flat path is good.
Weaknesses: there are many weaknesses in this barrel's performance. first of all, it is hard to put together untill you get used to doing it. Second, my stock barrel, though it does not have the range, is more accurate overall than the flatline. The barrel has a tendency to break paint, and when it does, the accuracy virtually dissappears untill extensivly cleaned. Lastly, it is rather expensive.
Conclusion: the flatline has a lot of potential for the tippmann 98, but still needs some work. As far as the range goes, some 14 or 16 inch barrels can match it. The best paint I have found so far is a paint called Quake by vortex.( can be found at sports athority ) If you can spare the money and can put up with the constant cleanings it's worth it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 12th, 2001
Strengths: I thought the distance and accuracy was very good. I had alot more distance then most of my other friends. Didn't chop many paintballs either. The barrel is very light so it didn't add much weight.
Weaknesses: It was a pain in the butt to put together. To many parts to remove and put on. Didn't chop much paint, but when it did anything that would come out of the barrel after, would break to. It is also a pain to clean, since you have to clean the inside of the sight rail. Makes the gun very big and bulky.
Conclusion: What type of paint should be used?
Anything but cheep paint!
Is it worth the cost?
The accuracy and distance, yes. Everything that goes with it, no!
Would I recommend it?
To people who have the time and patients to put it together and clean it all the time. It does shoot good.
So in conclusion, it is a great shot, but also a pain to use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 11th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel was the coolest thing that I had when I played with my Model 98. If you know Murphy's Laws than you know that one of them basically says that if you are close enough to shoot the enemy then they are close enough to shoot you, well you can through out that law. This barrel shoots way farther than any other barrel. The only way that they can get you is if they turn up their velocity or if they arc their shot, or both. Me and my crew used to play out in a big open area that you could see every body, it had hills and stuff but other than that there was really no cover, the place basically sucked...until I bought this barrel and was hitting people farther away than they could dream about shooting.
Weaknesses: The Flatline is tough to get used to so you do have to practice with it a whlie and it shoots like $#!+ if you break a ball in it and won't clean easy either. I didn't find it hard to put on but it is tedious getting it perfect so the ball won't vere off course. Also a lot of the time when you shoot sombody far that's away the ball won't brek because it looses velocity. It does suck at a fire fight too. And it does look like $#!+.
Conclusion: This is a good barrel to use and fun to piss your friends off with by picking them off with it but it does need practice to get used to the way the ball travels (it first drops off and then picks up after around 25 feet). I would recomend this barrel to anybody that likes to play games that involve a lot of distance between the players but not to somebody who enjoys speedball. Overall it's a fun barrel to have and play with, but most impotantly it works just like Tippmann says it does.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 29th, 2001
Strengths: I couldn't wait to get my flatline barrel and when it finally came in I was amazed.
The Tippmann Company live up to their saying of "going the distance" with this barrel. I was amazed of how far I could shoot. With the combination of the distance + the flat trajectory, it is safe to say that it is the farthest shooting barrel out there.
Weaknesses: Now its time for the bad.

This barrel has got to be the biggest pain ar$e. Everything in the above is true as long as you installed the barrel PERFECTLY, otherwise you can kiss you distance a flat trajectory good-bye because your shots will spin off into oblivion!!!

This barrel was ment for SNIPERS ONLY! If you try to use this in a firefight you will be at a definite disadvantage. The length of the barrel will probably cause you have a bigger fight with the cover you are behind than from the guy shooting at you. Also, if you have a ball break you might as well have the other guy walk over and kick you in your special area because that would feel better then trying to squegee this barrel out.
Conclusion: Overall I would not suggest this barrel to anyone. Maybe if the price wasn't so high it might be worth it. But since the cheapest I have found was $99 (without shipping) I think I will just sell my flatline, buy a terminator barrel, and save $60.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 29th, 2001
Strengths: listen up the flatline is without a doubt one of the farthest shooting, best performing barrels in the world. The accuracy however is in question, and everyones right when they say it takes a long time to break in. but you quickly forget all your worrys once you get that perfect barrel alignment and are pegging people from 100 feet away. man it feels good, when you can laugh at your opponents, get it alone for that feeling, you won't regret it.
Weaknesses: Man is it one difficult mother to install!!!!! man is it hard, but once you get it you feel better. ive been through every problem possible with installation and am sort of a pro now. if you ever need help just email me at palmer_switch@xmail.com. i guarantee ill be of more help than the tippmann company, they never even returned my emails. oh well thats about it for bad.
Conclusion: WOW!!! what a great barrel, ive used everything from boomstick to J&J and wow is the flatline ever amazing. for outdoor use nothing even comes close, if you're an indoor player go with a boomstick, but man you've never felt so confident as with this barrel. now im not a huge fan of tippmann, in fact im sorta bitter at them for not replying to my email, but man is this barrel ever sweet!!!



truly revolutionary and dominant, perfect in every area of the game.

long live flatline
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media