paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Saturday, April 28th, 2001
Strengths: The most important aspect of this barrel is the incredible range it gives you. In the hands of a capable shooter it is also deadly accurate. However, it takes time and energy to prefect your shot with the flatline. I suspect that most of the negative reviews have been by people who have given up too easily. I couldn't hit anything for the first while with my flatline, one the weekend however I got a confirmed kill at 100 yards!!! Try doing that with any other barrel! It is an amazing barrel, just takes some practice and has to be installed absolutely perfectly.
Weaknesses: It's hard to clean and has to be used correctly with good paint to shoot well.
Conclusion: In conclusion, if you want to be a sniper, buy this barrel and spend some time getting to know it. You can't expect to just throw a flatline on your gun and hit people at 100 yards. I've put around 5000 rounds through my flatline and I'm just getting the hang of it, but it is a deadly weapon, I've had people with Dark Angels and Shockers afraid to face me on the speedball course after they've seen me take out people at the whistle. It's an amazing barrel as long as you aren't a whiny b##ch who won't spend the necessary time to get the proper feel for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
Strengths: Extra extra long range. Flat trajectory (kinda)
Weaknesses: Extra extra ugly. Not practical for intense play. shooting at an angle makes the ball loop hard.
Conclusion: Dont get me wrng, i was just as impressed as everyone else when i saw the range. The thing is, your balls dont have any extra power, so people can expect some bounces way out there. Another thing, the trajectory is up, down, aup a little bit more then it levels out to the distance. This makes it an exceptionally bad tourney piece.
Before i had the flatlineon my backup M98, (I use a 99cocker and an impulse) I walked onto a large 20 man game on huge speedball course and about 6 of the opposing team had flatlines. Uh oh...
It turned out not to be a problem at all. except at the breakout, the flatline turned out to be very long and akward to use on the course. Shooting the gun anything except at 90 degrees resulted in balls flying off the course. Most of the flatline people got bunkerd really really hard that day.
Im sure it would be cool in rec, or scenario games, but in tight speedball type courswes, or smaller fields, a flatline wont compensate for skill. 7 for innovation, 5 for price, 4 for tourney performance. Ovearall an average 5.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 24th, 2001
Strengths: I have been playing paintball for years, since early 1985. And I have gone through many paintball guns and barrels in that time. I will not stick my neck out for any pb gun manufacturer, but I will say Tippmann really found something with the flatline. I purchased my M98 2 weeks after it was realsed, and I will agree with anyone about the stock pipe. But when I bought the flatline system and used it for my self I was blown away buy the range. If you take the time to set up the barrel properly, you will also be amazed.
Weaknesses: If you plan to shoot with the flatline barrel you will need to make some gun upgrades to get the desired preformance. First get the aluminum front bolt and power tube from Psychoballistics. This will prevent many chopped balls. Second get an air regulator. I have noticed that the slight changes in pressure really affect this barrel. I run about at about 450psi and shoot about 260-268 fps. You should definatly expriment with your velcity, faster is not better, unless you are ignorant and wish to hurt people. I have tagged out people from 140 to 230 feet away. Not with one shot mind you, more like 15. The accurracy is not the greatest but you will not find a longer reach from any barrel.
Conclusion: All in all if you take the time to set your gun up properly, you will be the best sniper on the field. I have run more than 30,000 paintballs through my flatline and am pleased with the preformance. Also I use rpscherer big balls paint, and the stock elbow with a 12v rev. hopper. When I do break, it is easy for me to clean, flip the gun upside-down, flip the hopper and elbow out of the way and run my five disk pull through squeegie through the barrel and clean as the day I bought it. I highly recommend the barrel for m98 users if you are going for a long range game. You can lay paint on anyone before they can even reach you. Well worth the $160 I paid for it a year ago.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 23rd, 2001
Strengths: the flatline barrel system is the barrel on earth. only an idiotic dimwit would say but stuff about it because theyre too dumb to install it correctly. all you do is pop it in straight and presto. you can just step out of the range of all the little spyders and blow their heads off.there has never been a ball break for me and i use brass eagle.it has great accuracy close and far. i usually eliminate
5-6 people in a game.if you have a m98 and 100.00 this is the way to go.
Weaknesses: i dont even need this box.
Conclusion: i recommend this to advanced and young. its worth the money,if u install it correctly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 18th, 2001
Strengths: Man this barrel is great, expestly when you buy a vertical adapter to it, Its been very reliable and not to many PBall breakages.
Weaknesses: Its very expensive,
Barrel clean ups in the barrel
and The installation

Besides all that its a good barrel
Conclusion: I think this barrel is great exept when its really windy out b/c the ball fly around some times. but other wise it a great barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 16th, 2001
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very long range.
Weaknesses: The top plastic rail needs to be shaped for aftermarket feed elbows.

Doesn't work very well if it is not set up perfectly.

Don't use small bore paintballs.

Horrible to clean after breaks, which occurs quite often.
Conclusion: I bought mine online and they said for best results use a small bore paint. Small bore paint gave me the worst results. I was using proballs and almost every other ball would break. It is also a b*tch to clean after a break. Overall, I don't think this barrel is worth the money. If you want a real good barrel with excellent accuracy and range, buy a J & J two piece.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 15th, 2001
Strengths: range if put on correctly...
Weaknesses: hard to clean, hard to put on, rarely will you actually be able to use the barrel to it's full potential if it's even on correct, you have to compensate for the balls tendency to rise, long, if you even manage to hit something at a far distance chances are good that the ball will bounce because by that time it'll be travelling so slowly.
Conclusion: If you have tippman put this gun on it'll be able to hit people at long range occasionally..... but for $100 I'd get a boomstick, much more accurate, and much less of a hassle... (I own the boomy and my friend has a flatline so I know what I'm talking about).
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 12th, 2001
Strengths: The range on the barrel is far. You can even shoot people from behind trees. Just shoot it sideways and the backspin will make the ball turn right or left.
Weaknesses: Has to be installed correctly for it to work or paintball will be flying all over the place. Once I fired the gun with the barrel out of place and the paintball curved left than suddenly made a right turn.
Conclusion: A good barrel that I would recommend to anyone. If you like being a back player this is the gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel has the most range and accuracy of any barrel on the market. as long as you line it up and follow directions on how to install it then it will work great.
Weaknesses: when it doesn't work it's a peice and you get pissed.(look for some of my comments on some of the other reviews for details). it breaks paint more than other barrels and looks like a banana when the shroud is off.
Conclusion: all in all the barrel is pretty good. all i do is sit in an open area that most guns can't reach and you see them and splat. i would reccomend anyone who is the tinkerer because if you don't get it right then you have to change it over and over again. If you have probs don't sell it because you will regret it. Stick with it and it will be well worth the money you paid because people will be amazed at the range and accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 11th, 2001
Strengths: 1) You will shoot at LEAST 10 yards further than most other guns.
2) More accurate about 5-10 yards further out than most other barrels/guns.
Weaknesses: 1) Pain to clean in a firefight, and it must be CLEAN to work.
Conclusion: The flatline barrel is possibly the most hyped, dissed and praised barrel on the market. According to Tippmann and various incoherent reviews I've read,
you can outshoot other barrels by about 40 yards. Before my comments below will make sense, let me refresh your memory on how this barrel works.

The barrel is curved to ( I think ) and 11 degree arc. When you shoot, the paintball picks up a backspin, giving the ball lift. This will cause the ball to sail further and somewhat straighter than an oridnary barrel. However, if the barrel is not perfectly level, or your paintball has an uneven fill or shell, the backspin is skewed, reducing the accuracy in those long shots.

While the ball may make it 250 feet in a lab under controlled conditions, in the middle of a fight you will most likely not have the barrel perfectly level, and your paint will most likely not be perfect. This results in less distance and accuracy than advertised.

HOWEVER, you will still shoot further and more accurately than any other barrel for the 98, and nearly every other barrel-marker combo out there ( with the exception of the rumored cocker-flatline ). This definately isn't a sniper only barrel. The length can make it somewhat awkward in a fast-paced speedball game, but with more than a dozen of these under my belt with my flatline, I have yet to have a problem.

To adress some of the paint breaking issues. I have shot 3 maybe 4 cases and had two breaks. One was dirt in the barrel, and I can't explain the other. Cleaning the flatline under fire is ... challenging. My suggestion is to take a few small pieces of towel, a water bottle and the squegee with you onto the field, and if you break a ball, hunker down and get to work. The barrel will not wantonly break paint, and even after poping it out of the adapter half and inch it still shot without breaking.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media