paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, March 11th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Umm... the range duh. I was totally shocked when I first saw this puppy fly at max range. The accuracy is way better than most say, you just gotta use halfway decent paint I think (I have yet to put crappy paint threw it). The wind problem is going to be a problem no matter what barrel you're using. It isn't as bad as others say. Compared to my boss progressive barrel which I felt was decent, accuracy was equal, sound was slightly quietter, range well you should guess right, installation is easy as loosening a screw or two put in the barrel and tighten the screw or two. The barrel is more forgiving if you install it wrong than others say. Ball breaks occur most when barrel isn't installed right or shooting on it's side (not reccommended). I heard thick filled small bore paint works best and that's all that I've used. As for the paint not breaking on a target from long distance, I say this: when was the last time you shot a paintbal and it hit someone at about as far as that barrel will reach and had it break, also use a thinner shelled paintball (stay away from 32 degrees far, far away).
Weaknesses: The first time installing it is a bit tricky, but if you already half way know your gun, like how to take it apart, which you should, installation isn't as hard as others say. The shroud sucks it is made out of plastic (which is fine by me) but it is unstable, so if you want to use a scope or a sight where you need a stable rail then having a sight is useless(use the gun without the shroud and get a raised sight rail if you plan on using a sight other than the stock gun sight). It is true that this barrel just doesn't shoot clean and even after you do clean it, it does tend to break balls still (paint gets stuck in the gun so I don't think the barrel breaks balls I think it is the paint in the gun). It isn't that hard to clean though, a straight shot squigee works fine and if you pop off the elbow by pushing down on the front sight and stick a wire squigee through it (I reccommed getting one with the disks in front and the cotton fuzy thing in the back instead of using the one the flatline comes with) it cleans it fine. And on last minor pet peeve, the muzzle break isn't part of the barrel it is stuck on there like it was two pieces (but it's not trust me), also the muzzle break is a way bigger bore than the barrel (which is big also). This creates some minor problems like average sized barrel plugs not fitting, but Tippmann provides a large bore barrel plug. Also the porting is sharp and cuts up the discs and barrel plug o-rings.
Conclusion: This barrel gives you a lot of bang for a lot of bucks. Just remember stay with it, it may take minutes, hours, days, or months to get it to work at 100%% capability but the end reward is well worth it. You have to use thicked filled and very small to medium sized bore for best performance. Also the rounder and thinner the shell the better but they aren't a must (I've used almost square Proball and have gotten decent results). Other than the shroud and muzzle break mess this barrel would be the perfect. I mean I've read about a stock '98 with a flatline barrel chasing off high-end 'cockers. I have a '98 with a flatline, a Palmers Stabilizer (I love this thing), and a full boar rear cocking kit and I feel that I have the perfect base gun, sniper gun, and reinforcement troop gun (a '98 is too heavy to be an offensive player). Bottomline-
Pros- Stay with the barrel (I had my doubts when I couldn't get it to work the way I wanted it to), use decent paint (I've used PMI and Proball, and Tippmann reccommends Marbs and Proball), and well... the big thing is to stay with it.
Cons- The shroud *sigh*, the muzzle break mess, and it takes a while to get used to the flight path (and when you do you'll stop breaking balls), and installation, but once you've over come the installation, it's just the little things that got me.
P.S. This isn't a speedball barrel or even for a speedball gun just remember this. And all the cons go away except for the crappy shroud, which was added as a luxury item anyways (the porting gets dull, you'll get used to the muzzle break, and once you get the hang of installing it, you can easily install it under 20 seconds, and even less with thumb screws (without the shroud). I had a hard time choosing between giving this barrel a nine and a ten but...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 8th, 2001
Strengths: The Accuracy. I installed this badboy on a 98 Custom and while it took about 30 minutes to get everything fitted right - it was worth it. I work with real guns so this little airgun wasn't a problem for me. The only hang up with it isnt the barrel's fault - its a design issue with the marker. After installing it we loaded it with green Marbs and did some testing. 75 feet it shot right to point of aim. Seriously - I didn't believe it. Another 75 I took aim at a little vending machine size dorrito chip bag. Direct hit center mass. Amazing. Closer targets? Not a problem for those who know how to shoot.
Weaknesses: The install requires you take the gun apart. If you want it done right that is. So if you dont know how to strip your Tip - dont install this your self. Take it to your local shop and let a qualified airsmith do this for you.
Conclusion: Quality paint is essential. Accuracy is beyond expectations for a paintball marker. After all, paintballs have more in common with water-balloons than bullets. In a word? Fantastic. Range is Fantastic. It even improves the look and overall Mojo of the Tippmans.
Squeeg? Just flip open the feed, run a cord through and pull it all out. Its faster than other guns to get back into action. If you think you have to unscrew the barrel - your just wrong. Just make sure your hopper and hopper lid is on secure. Faster than cleaning out an Automag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, March 8th, 2001
Strengths: It looks awesome compared to a stock M98.
Im not really sure how much better it shoots than any other barrel but it does seem to have higher velocity at longer range compared to my stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Don't expect rifle accuracy from ANY paintball gun. You're only asking for HUGE dissapointment. I was surprised that my disapointment came at such a high price!
Conclusion: The barrel does seem to have more range. accuracy is not too impressive (to me anyway). I've shot all kinds of cheap field paint through it without a problem. But paint quality has a GIGANTIC effect on accuracy. Basically the more the paint costs the more accurate it shoots. I see a lot of people complain about not being able to squeegie, i'm not sure why they can't. On my 98 custom i simply press down on the front sight and the hopper hinges open to the right giving me free acess to the barrel. Hell its faster than UNSCREWING a barrell, the screwing it back in. When i squeegie it goes like this "click, yank, click" and i'm ready to go again. all of 6 seconds.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 7th, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Range
Good Range Shoots Far
-Accuracy
Ok Accuracy not what i thought
-Look
Makes M98 look like a military gun

Weaknesses: Bad

Hard as hell to install. Must be perfect or you are screwed. Worst i have seen at short range i would have better luck with a pistol then this. Also most my long range balls that did make contact with enemy did not break because of the spin. If you break a ball there is no way you will be back in the game SCREWED.
Conclusion: This barrel is good for kids who like waste money and time. Me i like to save money and play paintball. I would go buy a LAPCO BigShot(this is what i did). If you are scared to fight and like to hide this is the barrel for you.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 4th, 2001
Strengths: OK, i like this barrel for a couple of reasons. 1st, the range is unbeleivable. I can hit a person from like 200 feet away. 2nd, it makes the m98 look really cool, especially with the shroud on.
Weaknesses: Ok, now the bad stuff!! horrible accuracy at close range, really bad for speedball. you have to aim up alittle for close targets. this barrell does have range, but bad accuracy at long distances. Whats the point??? If you get a ball break in this barrel you're #$%%@ up!! very hard to install. I think the shroud feels kinda cheap. takes marbalizers only!! trust me, i know from past experiences.
Conclusion: this barrel is not worth the $100+. it is only alright if you are a sniper. I would recommend a lapco bigshot or jnj ceramic. cheap price, great value.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 4th, 2001
Strengths: This barrel kicks a$$, its everything i thought it would be. I love out distancing other players with great accuracy. Its great to play defense with, cause i can be a great distance away and still knock out players one at a time. This barrel has allowed me to broaden my playing field. I can lay down in the corner and snipe off flankers and defend my flag at the smae time. I just love it, and the fact that i'm the only one with it, has boost my valuability.
Weaknesses: The only thing that sucks is when you break a paintball, the balls just go every which way. So you better retreat to some good cover and maybe get another player, cause it will take a while. I suggest you carry some water to quiken the cleaning process. It's not very often you break a ball. Just hope you don't get anybody else spraying paint into it.
Conclusion: This barrel all around is great, and even greater cause it is just for the Model 98. I haven't pinpointed the best paint to use, but if you know please email me. anybody who plays alot and owns a Model 98 better get one, the price is worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Well the best thing I can think of that is good about this barrel is that it shoots paintballs.it also can shoot pretty far but it is not as accurate as I expected it to be.I think it would be a good gun for someone who does not want to get near the enemy.
Weaknesses: The worst thing about this product is that it took like three weeks to get it on right.I think it had problems with close range shooting because I could hit somone 75 feet away alot better than I could hit them at 25 feet.This gun really stinks when somone moving forward, whenm people got close to me I just ran because I couldnt hit them up close.This gun would not be very good for speed ball because you are in trouble if they get close.I wouldnt have blown my woney on this thing if I knew it was like this.
Conclusion: I believe it is worth about 50 dollars I feel dumb for spending 100 bucks on it. All paint that I have used works abouy the same.I would not get it instead I would get a CP barrel and sve alot of money.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GIZMO8Z Thursday, March 1st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Long range.
-Gives the M98 a military look.
-Lets you lob paint long distances to catch people who aren't paying attention off guard.
-Good for a person who plays a medium to long range game that is allergic to adrenaline and is afraid to get close in a fire fight.
Weaknesses: - Difficult to correctly install
-Difficult to take apart gun while it is installed
-Difficult to correctly align barrel so the balls don't whiz out in weird directions when you shoot.
-Extremely poor short range accuracy (The balls often fell short and rolled to enemies less then 60 ft away!)
-The barrel tends to "lob" paint over great distances giving enemies a better chance to react to the slow moving balls and reducing the chances of the ball breaking when it hits them(sometimes it bounces :o/ )
Conclusion: After using the Tippmann Flatline I have come to the conclusion that this gun is not worth the 100+ dollars tippmann is selling it for. Even though the barrel works well with almost any size paint the barrel has a lot of problems and make a very reliable gun (M98) seem like a newbie $50 gun. I would recommend that any one who owns a M98 and is looking for a great after market barrel do a little research on the Lapco Big shot.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 22nd, 2001
Strengths: Excellent range and good shot groupings. Installed on a new Custom 98. Quieter than the Piranha Pro, Stingray, Talon, & Winchester I've compared it to, not sure why everyone says its so loud. Few ball breaks, even in the 20 deg F weather we were playing in. Maybe 4 breaks in 1000 rounds of paint last weekend, and those all seemed to come relatively close one after another in a 15 minute span or so, after we had been out for a while. I squeegied after each one. Not hard at all to clean with provided pull-through squeegie, just pop elbow open (take off hopper & remove paint first) and slide it through. Have only used Marbellizer paint through it.
Weaknesses: Making sure the barrel is fully seated (not a big deal). Lining up the barrel correctly takes some time, especially since I put a Simmons Deerfield 3x9 X 32 riflescope on it and have to correlate the two. Yes, the scope does work, puts my eye right about the right distance with buttplate on a 20 oz. tank. Don't expect the balls to hit right where the crosshairs are every time, but they certainly stay within the sight window at 3 power, and you can track the shots well.
Conclusion: I play all rec-ball... the "sniper" with ghillie and all that stuff (they call me silly bush man). Its definitely a good barrel for this type of play! I certainly have extended range and have experienced this firsthand. A long range firefight between an outhouse and a metal building convinced me. The opponents balls were lobbing in, so that i could stand out in the open and sidestep them if necessary. My paint was streaking right over there, many times curving past within inches of the edge of the corner he was hiding around and sailing into the pine trees beyond. Other than my one little string of breaks, I was about to say I had finally discovered one of those miracle guns you hear about that shoot through "cases of paint with not one break." My experience with the other guns i've listed has been fairly often breaks (granted we weren't shooting good paint with them either). If you follow all the instructions right and line things up then it is a great barrel. Don't expect a "one shot, one kill" at 70 yards, but many times a simple 3 round burst at that range will compensate enough for possible individual paint & spin inaccuracies to get one perfectly on target and put your target out of the game. In one weekend of terrible weather conditions, i've done lots with it, from target shooting, to taking sniper-like shots through dense brush and long ranges, to trading about 50 shots in a few seconds at 6 foot range on a staircase. Yes, we were doin a little zombie-ball, and burning paint at the end of the day. Although, i think i walked out the winner of that one, had the stairs helping me :) Oh, one other thing, don't forget to adjust velocity back up after gun maintenance. I did that when i first fired it, and couldn't figure out what the big deal was about it, until i remembered to crank the air back up... then it was just wow!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 17th, 2001
Strengths:
I have Just put the Flatline on today. I love it.
Weaknesses:
you have to have to have some free time to line it up right.
Conclusion:
I feel that it is a great barrel. I saw that alot of you say you need great paint to shoot it, well I used Brass Eagle abd it worked fine. I also shot some marbs, they worked better,its better paint. I feel if you just put the barrel on right it will work fine at all ranges,with all paint. Another thig I see is alot of people not putting the shroud on the barrel, That might be why it moves on them, Tippmann put it there for a reason!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media