paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Shaggie Thursday, December 21st, 2000
Strengths: Super distance with good accuracy. Flat flight path of shot. Almost doubled my range of the 98, easily double the distance of my mag with a 16" ported barrel. No breaks with average to good paint (Big Ball, PMI Premeim, Marb)
Weaknesses: Very large and expensive. Shroud is kind of cheap. Very Loud. Must use good paint.
Conclusion: Worth the investment. Adds a whole new diminsion to woods play. I love mine, this is giving my mag and cocker alot of shelf time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Boneyfreak Tuesday, December 19th, 2000
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Shoots further than any barrel i've ever used, and straight , no left/right drift even in moderate winds out to 2/3 the total distance, in low and no wind its straight out to 98%% of total shooting distance. Hitting a 5 " dia tree beyond the max distance of any other barrel not much of a surprise anymore for me , so peggin someone in the goggles peeking is now my favorite shot.
Weaknesses: about the last 5%% of total shooting distance the ball has a soft hit , so in winter or poncho'ed opponent a break is harder to achieve (thus my liking the goggle shot)uses lower fps for highly accurate shots. There is a short aiming adjustment you have to make since the ball flight path is basically opposite of other barrels. I did polish the first 90-100mm of the barrel and it eliminated 80%% of breaks, I believe the high pressure/drag was causing "egging" of the ball and overstressing the skin. Still I get about 5 breaks out of every 250 balls or so which can be a pain since in long distance sniping you rarely get a second shot.
Conclusion: Standard length>
Tippman>
I use proballs I find it shoots best at 60-90F weather,more breaks seem to occur at the 90-110F moderate humidity.
As far as its price is concerned , it could be cheaper (i'm cheap).

compared to other barrels i've used, it has no match in distance shooting , for close in combat the barrel length can be a problem in the thickets. ( i carry a pistol for that anyways on my thigh).

If you like sniping or moderate distance single shot "kills" this barrel is the snipers choice without a doubt, This is also the only barrel I use with a 'dot' sight since where you put the dot is where the ball goes, unlike 99.8%% of other barrels at longer distances.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 17th, 2000
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This barrel is great! I can shoot farther and more accuratly. Don't listen to the people that say it sucks, they're idiots and didn't bother reading the directons or doing more research. If you install it properly, and use the right paint then its time to rock. People also complain about the shroud, well I think it looks cool, and makes the model 98 look even cooler. People also say that the paintballs go slower, but actually because they are flying straight makes them look slower, but they're actually going at the same velocity.
Weaknesses: It's a little pricy, but thats about it. But if you want extra range and accuracy the price is easily overlooked.
Conclusion: You should get this barrel, if you're upgrading from a stock barrel like I did this is a major improvement. Read the directions carefully, use marbellizer or proball paint or balls will explode and you'll come back here and whine about the flatline. If you do everything right it is worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 17th, 2000
Strengths: This barrel shoots hella far! It only slows the balls down a little bit and I have never had a problem with bounces, even at long range. In fact, most barrels will cause balls to lose speed after a short distance and be traveling extremely slowly by the time they reach the person, whereas this barrel starts off a little slower, but doesn't decelerate, causing it to have a faster f.p.s. upon impact. It's also pretty quiet.
Weaknesses: * The price is extremely high, but worth it.
* It's fourteen inch size is pretty big and so is the model 98. If you're the type of person that likes to sneek up close to the enemy and take them by surprise, then this barrel, and gun,is not for you.
*It is very tempramental. Only a FEW VERY EXPENSIVE brands of paint will work in it. If you use cheap paint it will shoot 20 foot groups from twenty feet away and break every other ball. Also, if you cant (tilt the gun left or right) it will cause the ball to spin a little bit off target, so you have to take you're time and set up.

Conclusion: If you like to lie and wait for people to expose themselves and then shoot, get this barrel. Don't get it if you want to sneak around though, because it is big, clumsy, and hard to crawl with. Overall, this barrel is awesome! I think that most of the bad reviews came from people who didn't give the barrel a fair chance and use the right paint. Also, you can't expect to hit somebody every time from 100 yards away. No barrel is that accurate.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 9th, 2000
Strengths: this barrel is great. outstanding for woods play. nice flat trajectory WHEN USED PROPERLY, you have to use small paints, and you have to keep the gun level
Weaknesses: the shots can curve in the wind more eaisly then nowmal barrel due to the magnus effect (backspin). It isnt the most accurate barrel but it certainly isnt bad. If you are a strict recballer this is one of the best investments you can make
Conclusion: I would recommend it for recballing, sucks how the shots curve sometimes, I would like it to be a little more accurate and more adaptable to paints of diff sizes
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 7th, 2000
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This puts range and accuracy up aa notch but not really 135 dollars worth. Get a ice cold for it instead.
Weaknesses: Not as much range as i thought or they say. Can't turn up power at all because the ball will fly the opposite of where you're aiming. quit possibly the worst barrel/price on the market.
Conclusion: don't get this get an ice cold barrel instead saves money time and your butt in a war.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 7th, 2000
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Better range and accuracy than the stock 'cocker barrel.
I have tried it installed on a WGP 2000 Autococker.
Despite all you hear that it needs expensive paint, I used it with 32 degrees competition ($40 a case) and it worked well.
Weaknesses: Looks sorta ugly, but it wasn't made for this gun anyway. Also a bit pricey, I hear, to convert to it.
Conclusion: It's highly recommended for people who liek to stay back.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 5th, 2000
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I only used the Flatline once in very cold weather. SO I dont have anything good to say yet.
Weaknesses: It is really picky about paint, so in the cold, when the paint become egg shaped, it is really useless! Forget about using this barrel in the cols. I switched to stock instead. I am buying a DYE Boomstick, since it has great reviews.
I was in 28 degree weather using Diablo paint.
I can't recommend it yet till I try in in warm weather
Conclusion: I used my Barrel only once so far in 28 degree weather. Diablo paint is the field paint, and I did not have a chance to try anything else.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Marty Sunday, December 3rd, 2000
 
5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I played my first game with the 98 Flaline today and I was very happy with the distance I got. And I like the cool look of the shroud, I got several comments from players saying how they liked it. The accuracy was also very good that I could shoot all the way accross the woods field. The field I was on was FPO and I bought RPS Premium paint which did well.
Weaknesses: If you break a ball in the barrel and you don't have the right squeegie your S.O.L.
Conclusion: If you have a Tippman 98 and you have some spare cash burning a hole in your pocket I deeply suggest you buy this barrel. It is a definite improvement. The only aftermarket barrel worth a fart for this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 27th, 2000
 
1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It makes the gun look really cool, the shroud covers the goofy banana curved barrel, and the shroud has a sight rail on it
Weaknesses: First of all the price.Unless it is phenomenally accurate, no barrel should cost $120. The barrel is insanely picky about paint, if you don't have the right paint, the barrel is WORSE THAN USELESS! Plus, if you break a ball in the barrel, you are completely screwed, because then you have to take it off to clean it (which requires tools), and realign the barrel, which meens shooting different groups untill it is straight again. Also, installing the barrel is very tricky and annoying
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel unless you are reaady to spend alot of money on different kinds of paint.It is not as good as it says it is
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media