paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, November 3rd, 2000
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The barrel gives you an 80ft protection pocket between you and the other player. The Accuracy is as good as any other aftermarket barrel. Makes the gun look cool.
Weaknesses: Nothing really the price is a little steep but I would pay it. Only can use for the model 98 for now.
Conclusion: The barrel shoots far. Is easier to clean than people say. Use a pull through you can do this with out removing anything. If you have a model 98 or want to wait awhile for the adapter I suggest you definatly buy this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, October 29th, 2000
Strengths: Depending on what you set the velocity at, it can shoot atleast 200 feet and at the most (keeping the feet per a second under 300) 250 feet. A regular barrel (depending on it's velocity) shoots 120 feet to 150 feet.
I also own a Lapco BigShot barrel and the Flatlines accuracy is amazing (if you use the right paint) compared to any other barrel out thier.
I can snipe people from 220 feet with one shot.
You will notice a ball shot from the flatline won't decelerate as fast as a ball shot from a regular barrel at the same speed.
I haven't had problems with ball bounces from long ranges like others have claimed it has.


Weaknesses: If you don't have the barrel mounted right or you have paint broken in the barrel your accuracy will be terrible.

If paint is lopsided or has dimples the accuracy will be terrible.

If you have a ball break it (It almost never happens to me)
will be hard to clean with out taking it off and washing it out.
It is pretty expensive. $110 is a regular internet price
Conclusion: If you have a Tippmann 98 buy a Flatline.
The Flatline dwarfs even Angels and Bushmasters. (electroguns) with its accuracy and range.
I suggest Marbalizers or another good consistant paint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 18th, 2000
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: the name sums it up! the ball does travel a flat line. the range is insane, with the right paint!
Weaknesses: when the barrel gets filled with paint it causes trouble. after you clean the barrel,if you don't line it up perfectly it makes it incredible inaccurate.the curved barrel must be perfectly straight! It just causes you to cappi tow.
Conclusion: I recently bought another barrel for my 98. I just got fed up with all the breaking balls and lineing up the barrel.If you play rec ball in the woods with your friends buy it.If you play speedball or closer range games pass on this barrel, or try it first.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 18th, 2000
Strengths: Range, reasonably accurate. REALLY upsets those poor souls who've paid hundred more for their marker. I've been playing all year with it and once I found the right paint, it really shines. It's especially nice with a red dot sight since the ball tends to fly with a flat trajectory. Once you've dialed the sight in you can usually get on target within one or two shots.
Weaknesses: It's sensitive to paint. Avoid paint with visible, raised seams. They tend to break more ofen than not.. It's nearly impossible to shoot through a break. Buy a cable squeegee. They're fairly easy to get in and clean out all of the colorful muck.
Conclusion: Buy it! Make sure you use good paint. I prefer PMI premium. Others like Marbalizer. For a long time I used it without it's shroud. No easy to sight though. I wasted too many shots getting on target. With
the reddot, I'm there! I goggled a guy at 100 feet with two shots with almost no effort. Amazing!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 11th, 2000
Strengths: I have used it four times, against all types of other guns. Each time my range and accuracy was so great other players complained that the gun should be illegal. I was making shots from ACROSS a field that had never even been attempted, let alone executed.
Weaknesses: If you do not have the right squeegie and an allen wrench, you better bring the stock barrel with you as well. If you break a ball w/o the proper squeegie, the balls will go everywhere. The proper squeegie is critical to using this barrel. Once you have one that works, its just like any other barrel.
Conclusion: If you can't spend $ 300-500 on a gun and already have a model98, the flatline can help bridge that gap if you play the right way. In close quarters, you are not provided any advantage. But from 40 yards and out, there is not much better for the money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 5th, 2000
Strengths: It really will increase range. Gets some attention at the field. Fun to shoot and watch the paintballs seemingly defy gravity. Can worry targets who cannot reach you with their inferior old tech barrels :-)
Weaknesses: Kinda long. Barrel interior finish is almost as bad as the stock Tippmann 98 barrel, although maybe it is required to affect backspin. Range is improved, but at its' further reaches accuracy really suffers. You need the right equipment to clean it, a flexable swab is a must, and I'd leave the shroud off so you can unscrew the barrel and run a cable swab/squeegee combo through it, followed by a good absorbant flexable squeegee. It's length is a bit of a problem in tight bunkers. The barrel is very particular about the bore of the paint used.
Conclusion: I really couldn't reccommend this barrel, unless you have one or two decent aftermarket barrels for your 98 already and want something to use when conditions are ideal. Good for those who can bring their own paintballs insuring an ideal paint match for the barrel. As stated, not reccommended for your only alternative to the stock 98 barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Typhren Wednesday, September 27th, 2000
 
2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The ONLY thing on the marked that will improve range.
Weaknesses: Breaks balls uless you use new marballizers, can't be squeegeed, balls break on target less often, wind and angle screw it up. It's accurace isn't so great at longer ranges, but it does hav a long range. Use it mostly to keep people down at bunkers; just stay out of their range and shoot the bunker. They'll get down. Especially if they know you outrange them.
Conclusion: A fun toy, with a very limited usefullness.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 10th, 2000
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its the only backspin barrel, it by far out ranges other barrels
Weaknesses: Backspin on the ball takes force otherwise used to propell the paintball forward, to counter-act gravity. Breaks are hard to accomplish a longer distances because the paintball is "floating" no really projecting throught the air. Due to this effect, the paintball is far more suceptible to turbulence decreasing accuracy greatly.
Conclusion: My personal trials showed the range was incredible.. but the accuracy was horrible. I tried it indoors,using marbalizer, with no wind, and still bad accuracy. ITs a good gimmick, but i do not reccommend it. Too expensive and it doesn't perform for what it costs. If you're someone who has a mommy or daddy who will buy you whatever you want and you buy anything thats new.. go for it.Those who don't waste money, this is not the answer. It isn't a miracle barrel. It goes far, but hits are rare, and if you do hit someone, it is a slim chance it will break. From someone who has actually used one and tested it all day, i do not(in my opinion) recommend you buy this barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, August 21st, 2000
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Very consistant accuracy and distance if there is not any stong wind...if there is it can be a problem, but usually if the wind is constant you can compensate for it (just like them snipers who shoot miles and have to compensate for wind!)
Weaknesses: Since there is backspin put on the ball they float through the air and there is less chance of breakage, but think if you didnt have the barrel you couldn't even get a paintball to get to that person and usually they will break...its just that sometimes they don't when you think they should.
Conclusion: I ordered it with my model 98....so I have never used another barrel and can't really compare it to anything else! For my style of play I love it! I am usually not the person rushing up front in the close fire fights. I am usually off to side trying to flank or in back giving support and this barrel is great. I have even been in close fights and managed to do ok. The ball will rise a little at first for close shots, but thats about it! As I said the only disadvantage is that there is the chance that the ball won't break! But heck, even if the ball doesnt break you can provide cover fire for your teammates to advance!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 19th, 2000
 
0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Range. Definitely outranges anything else on the market.
Weaknesses: Accuracy. You really have to rain on a bunker for a good chance of catching the person behind it, even if they are really sticking out. This is only for the longer distances that the flatline is capable of, however. Before the ball hits its dropoff point and the backspin begins to take it, its accuracy is almost comparable to a Bigshot.
Conclusion: I dont recommend it. If you're willing to spend a lot of money for a barrel, try an All-American. Unbelievable accuracy, for normal ranges. If you faced a Flatline 1 on 1, you would be out ranged, but you'd probably be able to move up on them because of the accuracy and difficulty of leading the paint correctly. Once you're in range, it'd be all over.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media