paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord / Ariakon Overlord

Ariakon Overlord Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ariakon

Buy Ariakon Overlord

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ariakon Overlord
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 74
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Ariakon Overlord is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
crzbassist Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first pistol
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, cyclone feed, car stock,5.5 inch jcs barrel, firestorm crank
Recommended
Upgrades:
extra magazines
maybe a different trigger frame
Strengths: See review body
Weaknesses: See review body
Review: Strengths-
good barrel; not loud, and good accuracy
co2 efficient, 30ish shots off a 12 gram in room temperature
quick reload magazine
quick field strip
delrin bolt
looks great
durability

Weaknesses-
Trigger may break in the middle (starting to happen on mine)
nothing else besides some co2 cartridges getting stuck in the gun
Conclusion: If you are a woodsballer/scenario baller, this is one of the best choices of a backup gun you can have. A must buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordfish45 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First pistol
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
A-5 Dogleg Complete w/RT
Ariakon Overlord
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tapered-end 12g powerlets Only- see review
Large, 3rd party tac holster
Strengths: Performance, efficiency, reliability, standard features, leakless-ness, sexuality
Weaknesses: Weight, 12g service notice is a downer.
Review: The Ariakon overlord is a sexy beast. Seeing as youve probably read all the other reviews ill just go over the 12g issue. It is recomened by Ariakon and me to not use Crossman style 12g cartridges in the gun. They use rough, capped ends that cause the ejection washer sping to fail, and can rip appart the puncture pin gasket. A quick fix is to go to Ace and get a spring to put on the front of the cartridge, but it is recomened not to do it for long or you will have uncontrolable leaking. If you must use the assist spring method, use heavy lubricant to preserve the life of the o ring, you could also buy an oring kit from NAPA that could work in a fix.

The weight of the gun is the other issue, the barrel/air managment block weighs in excess of 14oz. w/o a clip. The problem is that it's machined from a solid aluminum block. For laughs, you could mount a folding weaver-mount foregip for $15. The Ariakon holster is a rough fit, and will wigle around to the front of your thigh while running.

Ironicly, Brass Eagle makes decent tapered-end 12grams. Please buy them for this gun.

Stuck between the Overlord and the ACP? The Overlord is the sexier choice, the ACP is the more customizeable, military style choice.
Conclusion: For a first choice for me, it was the best choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disciple Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none - first pistol
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are not using it, remove the accessory rail underneath the ASA to lighten the nose
If you are not reloading via other clips, tie down the plug to the magazine somehow
(I drilled out the hole in the plug a bit and crammed one of my wifes hair things through it, looped it through and bound it to the velocity adjuster under the allen screw.. It was going NOWHERE!)
Strengths: Mobility
accuracy with right sized paint
air consumption
Weaknesses: Plastic trigger shoes
Magazine "plunger" problems - occasionally
Review: I like this pistol. I played with 2 of them (1 primarily and then 2 if things got hot or I went on a bunkering spree). It is a blast to play with a pistol. I got them to make me conserve paint. I was shooting too much and this really worked. I gernerally got 20 good shots out of a 12 gram when I took my time shooting. If you rail on it you lose efficiency. One cool thing I figure out is since it comes with a Delrin bolt that is white, if you can aim with both eyes, you can aim right down the barrel and look at exactly what the ball will shoot at from when looking at the back of the bolt. VERY handy in close quarters! The only bad things I experienced is the metal trigger arm breaking through the plastic trigger shoe. The plunger in the magazine will get stuck and make it hard to RELOAD (it will push the paintballs into the gun just fine) if you reload with 10-round tubes. Cleaning after a chop is a pain, so be sure your paint is not too big.
Conclusion: I liked it and I think you will too.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jodo_Kast Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used a pistol, aside from an Airsoft.
Marker Setup: The MR-2, 20 OZ C02 tank, electronic hopper, Tru-Flight 14 " barrel, as well as a Overlord pistol W/Ariakon holster, and an extra magazine.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either a laser, a handle, or a tac. light.
Strengths: Sturdy
Easy to reload/load
Easy to figure out.
Weaknesses: My fingers are to big to pull the cocking bolt back.
Review: I haven't used this in the feild yet, I will here this coming weekend, but it rocked for a pistol out here shooting for target practice. I figured out quickly how to load the magazine, secure it,etc. I wasted 2 C02's forgeting to cock the bolt back though, before inserting the c02, which is also a sorta "weakness". But its your own fault if you forget about it,lol.

I got mine from PaintballGI, and it got here in 3 days flat. Kudos to them on the excellent shipping, plus, I got a free sticker. :D

I'll edit the reveiw with an actual more prescice one when I use it here just this weekend.


EDIT -

I forgot to mention, I used it on the feild here this past time, and out first game, I used feild paint, which was horribly disformed, and when we finaly made it around the fort, we got pinned down, and I broke TONS of paint in my rifle, and the hopper, so I took cover with a more reliable tean mate, and then I pulled out the OVERLORD, in all its glory, and opened up on the defenders sliding into tag the fort and win the game....So I can honestly say, if you need to move faster, need to slide with less worry, break paint, or run out of paint in your primary, you can deffintly switch up to a reliable sidearm like the Over Lord.
Conclusion: I enjoyed it, and if I had to, I'd buy it again.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 14th, 2006 at 6:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom-21 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 8 , pgp
Marker Setup: Overlord , upped 98 , tigershark.
Recommended
Upgrades:
10 round tubes no need for extra mags
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Strengths
1. Accurate.
2. Shoots far and hard.
3. Quick mag eject
4. Some people like the looks.
5. Comfortable grip and trigger.
6. Rails for red dot , or laser on bottom.
7. Made by Ariakon , which has great customer service.
8. Quick field strip.

Weaknesses
1. Very big
2. 12 grams get stuck , except brass eagle which are hard to find for me.
3. Mag is not closed so after a while the paintballs will swell up and chop.
4. Sometimes the mag doesnt feed the ball or it will go halfway and the bolt will chop the ball.
5. Cleaning chops is horrible , have to take gun apart.
6. When i got my gun the spring is tight so the velocity is at deadly speed and I had to leave it cocked over night for like 5 days.
7. If u don't cock the gun before you put the 12 gram in you lose all the air.
Conclusion: I am satisfied with my purchase because it was only 100 dollars and it shoots really good for a handgun. I played with it as my primary and I competed pretty well with a5 e-grips. I give the gun a 9 because of its accuracy and power , not a 10 because no guns are perfect and the mag problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Actor Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: stock pistol with a laser Co2 cover cap
2 extra magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy extra magazines and holster
For night games the Co2 cover cap
Strengths: Sturdy
Nice weighty feel
Never chop
Clip reloads fast
Great velocity
Weaknesses: Reloading the Co2 and clip can be a little stressful under fire
Review: This is the first paintball gun that I have purchased. Until recently I have been playing with the field markers....they suck. So I decided it was time to get my own.

Now since my playing style is very conservative, yet 'up in your face', I thought a pistol would serve me best. I then Googled ‘paintball pistol reviews’ and came across this site. After reading the reviews here I decided to purchase one myself; a perfect decision in my opinion.

I got a group of friends to go paintballing with me later that week. As I waited with the group to head to the first field I had people commenting on me using only a pistol. Many thought it was pretty cool that was doing so but, foolish at the same time. I proved them wrong later that game.

Never once did the gun chop or misfire for me. It is also a perfect size for those who wish to move from bunker to bunker without having to deal with a 7 some odd pound weight. Many times I would pull of only a couple of snap shots from behind cover as I saw someone moving from bunker to bunker and nailed them.....this is without taking aim.

The only thing that annoys me is when you have to change both the Co2 and clip at the same time. When you are at the 50 with paint flying all around you, you feel a little stressed while reloading. In actuality it really isn’t much worse than refilling a hopper, but it is different and not something you are used to the first few games. I’d recommend practicing it a few times before hitting the fields.

Another thing that is a must is to purchase the holster for it. If this is to be your secondary that’s a given. However, even if it is your primary you need one to hold your extra mags and Co2. I didn’t have one on one map and regretted it. I was constantly on the move (being pursued) and didn’t have time to put my magazines into my cargo pockets. Big mistake. After the game is over trying to find two magazines was a pain (not to mention they got a bunch of dirt in them which jams the springs). I will definitely got a holster once they are back in stock.
Conclusion: This pistol will serve you well in both speedball and woodsball (smaller courses or as the scout of course). It is relatively small so you can easily maneuver while either crawling, sprinting, or making your way around bunkers. All in all, this pistol is a great buy!

9 out of 10 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brokenwing Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98c w/ r/t, cyclone, polished internals, J&J 14' ceramic, flatline, dop wer tube, dop rocket cock 2, dop derlin bolt, java remote, tapco stock, tasco 30 mm red dot scope, x-chamberkit

Ariakon Overlord w/ extra mag

Syndicate Misfit w/ Bandit Bolt, J&J Performance 12" sr barrel, spring kit, Ricohet Apache LCD

Tippmann Pro/Carbine

spyder tlr w/ the 2 stock barrels it came with
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am thinking of the laser Ariakon makes and at least 1 extra mag. 2 would be better
Strengths: Every thing is great for a stock marker
Weaknesses: Others say the co2 gets stuck. Thats never happened to me.
Review: I have used this marker many times as a side arm. Thats what i suggest using it as just that. If your stuck without paint for your primary go for this trusty pistol. I tried to use it as a primary but i am just not quick enough to reload it although with practice i am sure i can get better. So if you your quick then try it and tell me how you do it. But dont get me wrong it is easy to just slide the mag in and out and replace it with a full one.

I can pick off paper plates at 80 to 95 feet away easily. The co2 problem well i have never had one stick. I love that i can get 30 to 35 shots out of one 12 gram powerlet. that means i can go true both 10 round mags and i still have to fill one up again which is quick.

The first time i used it i hid it from the other team. Then i ran out of paint in the first game. So as they thought they had me i just took 4 shots and got 2 of them out. 1 of them was about 45 feet and the other was about 70ft. It was great there faces were stunned to see me pull the Over lord out. Everyone wanted to know what it was, where i got it. I didnt have to explain why a pistol is needed in paintball everyone understood. After that they were very careful coming after me.
Conclusion: If your looking for a pistol that is accurate, power full, amazing looking, and just near perfect as i marker comes to being. This is it. Own it and own the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 19th, 2006 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DHS44 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro w/ 3000 54 HPA, CP 'Flame' drop foreward, Ricochet AK mech hopper.
Ariakon Overlord(backup), stock, thigh holster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Mags(2), Ariakon's Holster
Strengths: Very Accurate
good range
Weaknesses: Not very efficiant
No upgrades
Review: I will keep this quick.

I often use it as backup, and even as primary sometimes. It has great range, similar to the range of a Spyder Victor.

It is accurate to probably 70 feet, and has potential up to 120.

Flat black finish and small size(compared to full size markers) makes it ideal for woodsball in dense woods.

As backup, it is best, obviously, when used with the holster. See reviews-pistols-sub category 'holsters'.

You will need at least two mags, because you cannot reload it easily in combat. It also needs high quality, fresh paintballs.

Brass Eagle CO2 cylinders are a must, because some other brands get stuck.

No upgrades available, yet.
Conclusion: A great little marker, fun to use and even more fun when you kill(fig.) a better-armed opponent with it(somebody say humiliation!?).
Great as backup, fun as primary.

Just wish it had a bottom line and a spot to attatch a hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freedom Fighter Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Most Pistols
Marker Setup: MT-66 Asp
Coiled Remote
20 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tubes and an extra mag
Strengths: Accurate
Weaknesses: Weight
Size
co2 getting jammed
Review: Well, i got this marker in a trade for my MT-66. I used it for 1 game so far and i must say that its not a bad pistol at all. the only things wrong are the its huge, and sometimes the co2 gets jammed. there is an easy way to get the co2 out by a small tool you must buy. Anyways, this thing is very accurate and a well made pistol
Conclusion: Get it just to fool around with a little
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nohbody83 Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warsensor Zeus G2+ - better cocking worse reloading
Tiberius 8 - the true god among pistols
Marker Setup: tiberius 8, extra magazine
ariakon overlord, extra magazine
warsensor Zeus G2+, warsensor tactical holster, BSA laser
Recommended
Upgrades:
extra mags, laser sight or tac light for added intimidation factor
Strengths: Rapid Release Magazine, very comfortable, delrin bolt
Weaknesses: cocking difficult for larger hands, CO2 cartiges get stuck
Review: Great pistol overall. Very good as far as packaging, nice and padded. Out of the box was a very good performer, 25+ shots on one 12g cartridge, as acurate as a full size marker at around 40 ft. The magazine system works beautifully, it is possible to not align it correctly and have it get stuck on you but that is rare. The delrin bolt is another nice feature, no more worrying about oiling the bolt after every game. One of the not so good things is that although a lot of people say it is only with crossman cartriges i've also had the problem of the cartrige not ejecting with a few other brands as well, even though it's not all the time. Another is that as a guy with large hands the bolt can be a bit difficult to get at and pull back but that is pretty minimal. So far i've been putting some really crappy paint through it and i've had very minimal chops which i attribute 100% to the paint being really old and of low quality. The looks of the pistol are very cool as well and will most definatly cause others to marvel in its beauty, but as always looks come at a price. A lot of the sharp edges, especially on the magazine cause this pistol to be a little harsh on holsters as it will catch on the fabric going in and out of the holster. Durability-wise this markers a tank and even stands up to the tippman standard of quality, i expect mine to last for quite some time.
Conclusion: In this reviewers opinion it's a definate buy. At around a hundred bucks in most stores it one of the best pistols you can get in that range. Quick reloads make it good for a main and good reliability and accuracy make it good as a backup as well. Final word: its a great gun but it could be better, a few problems on an otherwise beautiful marker bring this one down to an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media