paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
reverse edge Tuesday, September 13th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Azodin Blitz
Invert Mini
PMR 07
Marker Setup: Invert Mini, DP Threshold, SP Ion, Angel A4 Fly, Azodin Blitz, Spyder Extra (1st generation), Tippman 98 custom, and PMR 07.
With:
Invert Too hopper, Halo hopper, VL Evo3 hopper; 48/4500 HPA Pure Energy Stubby Tank; 14" carbon-fiber barrel, 14" & 16" two piece FREAK barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Reg
New feedneck
New barrel
Strengths: Trigger is decent
Eyes typically perform well
Not bulky
Not too heavy
Weaknesses: Barrel
Regulator (debatable)
Maintenance
Feedneck
Loud
Review: I was using a 14" two piece FREAK barrel, my Halo hopper, and my 48/4500 HPA stubby tank whenever I used this marker.

I like the Ion as a back up gun, but it definitely wouldn't be my primary marker. I found the eyes to work better some days, and less so on others (granted, they never failed badly, but there were occasions that I believe were attributed to them).
Taking this gun apart, and getting the bolt out was OBNOXIOUS. I absolutely HATED to use this gun, solely because I knew I'd have to clean it afterwards. The bolt system consists of a few different parts, and is a pain to get it all back together when re-assembling the gun.
This gun isn't terrible on lube, but you always want to be generous; I didn't find it needing lube incessantly.
This gun is pretty loud, so don't count on sneaking up on anyone if you play woodsball.
This guns also eats through air pretty quick. Again, it's not terrible, but it DEFINITELY could be better.
Conclusion: Over all, I'm going to give the Ion about a 7.5 out of 10. If you put money into upgrading the regulator, barrel, and maybe the feedneck, I would give it maybe an 8.5.

If you're looking for a gun of this caliber, I would recommend buying an Azodin Blitz instead. Much better performance, simpler to work with, not to mention cheaper.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 13th, 2011 at 7:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeroPaintball Wednesday, June 29th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder ACS
Spyder RT
BT Omega
BT TM15
Marker Setup: Ion w/ Freak, Clamp Feed-neck, On/Off ASA, Halo B, 45cu 3000psi Empire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck, barrel, ASA, Board, Eyes
Strengths: Fast, Light, Durable, Decent air use, Doesn't Chop, Easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Takes to long to clean, Name of Smart Parts.
Review: I love this gun to death except for the name of Smart Parts because that makes the gun seem bad. I love that you can upgrade to crap out of the gun but hard to find replacement parts. They say only use sleek lube but there are others out there that can work just fine.
Conclusion: All in all its a great gun for beginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 29th, 2011 at 8:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KWGPaintVeins Wednesday, June 22nd, 2011
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Proto SLG
Any Tippman Marker
Sling shot
frying man
my hands
Mud
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS:
-Dye sticky
-low profile clamping feedneck
Proto SLG 09 Basic:
-CP Clamping Feedneck
-CP Sling Trigger
Dangerous Power G4:
-Proto 2 piece barrel w/ 12-14" tips
-No upgrades needed for G4 really :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Every single thing needs to be upgraded
Strengths: Color kits are cool idea, but those cost money
Weaknesses: Trigger
Barrel
Body
EVERYTHING (See review)
Review: Okay so before you guys, and lovely ladies, who JUST got this gun today call me out for BS or anything like that, please take into consideration that I have been playing paintball for 3 and a half years tournament style, and 6+ overall in the woods and such along with tournament style. I have been tech-ing markers for about 2 and a half years and I have confidence that I know a thing or two about paintball guns and how they work.
That being said, onto the review:
This marker by no means was a "Piece of crud" that is a compliment to the gun relative to its performance and composition. This marker was another attempt for Smart Parts to milk the cow of the younger, financially and socially unaware children. Yes, I am implying that Smart Parts was TAKING ADVANTAGE of younger kids who are all to willing to place their trust in, what looks like experienced engineers and people, Smart Parts for there so called "experience" and "reliable products". This gun is the phallic of paintball. I have no idea where to start, so I will work my way from the top, down, from the outside, in:
The gun body: Cool idea, I guess, it seems that Proto did a better job with the SLG in utilizing composite polymer in the gun body. The body looks depressing and fake. When I touch it I often feel scared that it will crack under the pressure of my index finger. The feed neck or as I call it "The feeding apparatus of the Kraken" is an excuse for a feedneck because not only is it made from the cheap plastic that crumbles in your hands like sand stone, but it goes through O-rings like crazy because you need them to hold a loader in place. THIS GUN COST ME AND OTHERS NEARLY $300 AND THEY DIDN'T ADD A CLAMPING FEED NECK? (You know Dangerous Power sells the G4 for about the same as the Ion sold for, and it rips this gun to shreds.) The grip frame, which is made from the same polymer and cracks ever so easily. The trigger that they claim has magnet tension feels more like a chunk of wood was wedged in there (a weak plastic chunk of wood.) my trigger broke after the first day of play so now I get to one finger it. The stock ion regulator is big, bulky, and doesn't deliver any performance. My standard deviation (The amount the FPS increased or decreased at a certain setting in this instance) for reg consistency was +/- 25-28 fps, not a consistent reg at all. The ASA looks more like a European plug outlet and you need to be in the strong-man competition to take a tank off the stock asa. The guns barrel is not micro honed at all it's powder dusted and it's so terrible that the back end of the barrel bores out at a .688 (.688-.690 depending on what angle you measure it at). You don't get a consistent shot at all from this marker. The board is terrible and the cap is 17 balls per second! I mean seriously guys? 17? a Prime and odd number? most companies would cap in values of 5 (so 10 bps cap, 15 bps, 20 bps, 25 bps, etc. etc.) which means they either tested the solenoid to try and achieve 20 bps but it broke and 17 was the limit or they were so uninterested in the value of the gun that they hit two random numbers. The BOLT DOESN'T COME OUT THE BACK! You cannot access the bolt for maintenance without preforming exploratory surgery. on top of that the Solenoid coil is totally exposed when you open up the gun. To give you guys who don't know what that means and idea of what I mean, having the solenoid coil that exposed would be like having major arteries and heart ventricles in your body outside on your skin. No protection at all. If you MANAGE to achieve a steady stream of paint on this marker the shoot down is terrible. It sputters and gasps in pity of how much of a terrible marker it is. I can't really insult the bolt, because it's built like any other dump valve.
Conclusion: This concoction for a paintball marker is a monster. This is quite possibly the worst marker in paintball. It's worse than the blade (because the blade costs $10 and shoots like $10 and the ion costs $300 and shoots like $10) I would never recommend this marker to anyone. If you have $300 burning a hole in your pocket BUY AN SLG, PMR, OR G3/G4. Although my review seems sarcastic and rude it is because of my disbelief and anger that this thing was produced. I am beyond happy that Smart Parts in gone this was a terrible marker. DO NOT buy this marker, ignore all the reviews that say it is amazing, those kids signed on here and lied about their age so they could make a review about a gun they probably have never shot, but own because they got it the day before for Christmas. This is a terrible marker. The reason I am giving it a 2 is because you still got a gun (although air would have performed better) and because there some upgrades available to make it perform at about the level of a stock Spyder.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AllStar Italian Thursday, April 21st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini- More reliability and faster shots from that extra $100. The Ion is a good alternative if you are strapped for cash.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
2P Freak Barrel w/ inserts
Evolution 3 "Egg" electric hopper
Crossfire Fiber Wrap 4500psi, 68ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel
(Also, electric hopper and a 4500psi, lightweight compressed air tank are always good additions.)
Strengths: Affordability
Accuracy
Excellent starting electric marker
Reliable
Easy cleaning and disassembly
Weaknesses: Requires frequent maintenence check-ups
Smart Parts out of business= no warranty and few techs
Review: For 4 years, the Ion has been my marker of choice. I hate to see it go really, with Smart Parts out of the business. Though in the time I've used it, it has served me well. Its accurate, cheap, lightweight, and just well designed. The only reason I'm considering getting a new marker is because Smart Parts techs are few and far between and marker problems are inevitable with electrics. Also, there are better markers out there now for those who want to continue playing paintball.
Conclusion: If you happen to find one that's in still good shape and you want a quality tournament marker that doesn't starve your wallet, get the Ion. You won't regret your decision. One final warning though, if you do decide to get one, make sure that you are in a good relationship with a field or someone who can help you with technical problems if you can't yourself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PainTBaLLMOFO1 Tuesday, April 19th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini, Etek 3 LT, Empire Axe and Many more High-end markers.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion, Two Piece Proto Barrel, Q-Lock Feed neck, Cp reg, Cp on/off, and Blade trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK!!! and Barrel, trigger, and asa later.
Strengths: Board, and Barrel
Weaknesses: This gun comes with the worst feed neck ever.
Review: This gun is a good gun but smart parts made it so you have to get $200 worth of upgrades to make it a good gun. The stock board has ramping, full auto, three shot, and semi. It's caped at 17 bps on all of them except full auto, that's capped at 10 bps. Overall its a great gun ive done great with it as my back up gun. My main gun is my Etek, which i LOVE!!!
Conclusion: Great gun, i give it a 7 because you have to upgrade it right when you get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 19th, 2011 at 2:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion XE: Access internals through rear.

DYE DM4 and Proto / Evil Minion 2007: Overcomplicated bolt system.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, lotsa markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
1 Piranha/PCS USP pistol
1 Piranha EVO
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger (Lots out there, recommend Custom Products)
Bolt (SP Firebolt or Tech T Level 7)
QEV (Quick Exhaust Valve, recommend SP 360)
Lever Clamping Feedneck (SP Q-Lock)
Barrel System (Total Freak Kit)
BOB (Bolt-Out-Back) Kit
Strengths: Cheap
Light weight
Firepower
Weaknesses: Public perception of Smart Parts
Review: Smart Parts changed the face of paintball with the release of the Ion.

The Ion XE allows you to access the internals through the rear like the DYE Matrix series for easy maintenance.

However, the older Ion design does not have this easy access feature. As a result, there are many BOB (Bolt-Out-Back) and semi-BOB kits on the market.

I myself went with the ShockTech semi-BOB kit because the milling looks cool. However there are better kits out there in terms of access to the internals.

However, unline the DYE FUSE bolt, which is over-compliated and uses many o-rings, the Ion spool valve bolt system is simple, lighter and smaller.

As a result you get inexpensive light-weight firepower in an electro that is quiet and accurate.

These are highly under-rated paintball markers, you can find used upgraded Ion XE's for cheap. or do one up yourself the way you like!
Conclusion: These are highly under-rated paintball markers, you can find used upgraded Ion's for cheap. or do one up yourself the way you like!

It gets an " 8 " rating because you can't get to the internals easily, and upgrades are required to really make it rock.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sublimetool Friday, December 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, reliable
Smart Parts shocker, great marker but pricey
Smart Parts ion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion black
Black Heart board
14' Dye ultralite
Q-lock black
Dye Rotor black
Dye throttle preset air
CP roller trigger black
CP rail black
CP on/off black
Black contract killer grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, stock is decent
New adjustable feedneck, stock is not adjustable with a high profile
Black Heart board, stock isnt bad but black heart rocks
New rail with adjustable on/off, stock is long and cant be adjusted
New trigger, stock one is fairly loose and difficult to walk
Strengths: Great Price
Reliable
Tons of upgrages
light weight
Can take a beating
Weaknesses: Smart Parts out of buisness
Feedneck
Trigger
Review: For two hundred dollars this is an all around good marker. With a new trigger and new feedneck, about eighty bucks, this is a great marker. Add a blackheart board a better barrel and an adjustable on/off and this is truly an amazing high end marker. I use and like this five hundred dollar, fully upgraded for performance, marker just as much as my 2005 stock smart parts shocker i got for around double the price.
Conclusion: Highly recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2010 at 12:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Ion47 Sunday, November 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is my first marker.
Marker Setup: Jet Black Smart Parts Ion
CP 14" One Piece Barrel
Invert Reloader 2
Pure Energy 68/45 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely the feedneck. I recommend a different barrel and trigger though the stock ones are ok. The regulator isn't great, but it works sufficiently. Definitely upgrade the ASA if you can.
Strengths: Electric, decent price, quiet, 17 bps on the stock board, lightweight, smooth, cool look.
Weaknesses: No BOB kit stock (Ion XE does), regulator isn't great, trigger, ASA.
Review: I bought this marker when I first started paintballing about 6 months ago and it hasn't failed on me yet. The ASA will eventually start wearing out your tank threads so I recommend upgrading that. The feedneck is terrible so just buy a clamping feedneck. Other than that, it is an excellent gun for the price. I have shot about 5-6 cases through it and overall, it shoots really consistently. Although, the regulator isn't great either, but it doesn't effect gameplay that much at all. Overall, great marker for the price, but take these upgrades into consideration. Also SMART PARTS is OUT OF BUSINESS so those set backs apply.
Conclusion: Great marker for the price, but definitely consider those upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gagnierj Sunday, October 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 12" stock barrel and 16" linear barrel, clamp feedneck, L7 bolt, CP pro rail, CP on/off asa, QEV, tadao dynasty board
68ci 4500psi crossfire tank
emipre reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
board, bolt, QEV
barrel if you feel it necessary
and however else you wanna customize it
Strengths: Price
Customizability
Disassembly
Works great even in cold (see in review)
Weaknesses: Weight
Body is bulky
Review: I've been playing with this marker for a while now and i figured its time to write a review about it.

when practicing it can shoot about a full case with two fills shooting at about 280. i used it in a tournament for the first time recently and it handled itself pretty well against the many egos and dm's out there. the morning started off quite cold and it seemed like my teams markers were not shooting so great in the cold, but the ion was still performing like it would on any other day. everyone i know thinks its an okay of a gun, but to be honest it was set up in 12.5 bps with ramping and it was doing work.

There are a few issues i have with it right now. the first is it does chop every now and again, but thats because i turn the eyes off so thats my own problem.... there is the weight of it to take into account. it isn't as light as the other markers you'll see out there. for instance i used my friends ego and another's dm7 and both were so much lighter than the ion. when i asked my friend to fill the tank on my marker he picked up the marker and said "holy $h!t this is heavy". there was an issue with a type of paint i was using, granted it was really cheap paint. what would happen is the paint broke in the feed neck (it wasnt the marked porblem it was the paints cuz everyone else who used it had to deal with this stuff) and the paint went everywhere. and when i say every where i mean everywhere. got on the eyes the bolt, some how got on the board and the battery
Conclusion: Its a pretty good marker thats very customizable. ive enjoyed using it these past years. im sure other people enjoy theirs. i would really recommend it to new players looking to get into speedball, i would also recommend as getting it for a back up marker for those who already have markers. there is still room for improvement
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ijinxd Sunday, August 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, CCM clamping feedneck, Dye Sticky 3 grips, TechT L7, 2 piece 14 inch CP barrel, 3000 psi Pure Energy tank, Evlution 2 loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Techt L7 bolt.
360 QEV.
Any 14 inch barrel (CP seems to work perfectly).
Strengths: Inexpensive.
Easy to work with once you get used to it.
Reliable.
Customizable.
Weaknesses: Requires many upgrades to get it shooting at "tournament level"
Not B.O.B.
Review: This is the marker that got me into paintball, after tossing out my VL triton 2. I have owned an Ion for about 8 months or so, and have been playing with it since the day I purchased it. I have put in well over $120 of upgrades (many which were not necessary).
The Ion is one solid shooting marker, whether is it upgraded, or 100% stock. I have never had an issue with this marker that I couldn't fix for less than $15.
The great thing about the Ion is that it is 100% customizable. Almost every single part of the marker can be changed/upgraded. From the body all the way down to the ASA, everything on this marker can be purchased aftermarket.
Although it doesn't shoot like an Ego or a DM, it gets the job done. Both reliable and easy to use, the Ion is probably one of the main markers from a huge list of other markers that actually gets people into paintball.
Conclusion: Buy a used Ion and give it a shot. They can be purchased stock off most forums for around $90 shipped. Or semi-upgraded for around $140 shipped.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media