paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
BIGBOY93 Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
DM5
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Ion
All American Back
All American 14'' Front
CP Trigger
CP Drop Foward
SP Q-Lock
SP Body Kit
Eggy 3
CP Reg on the way :D
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck is a must
Barrel
Trigger
Drop Forward becuase tank sticks out
Strengths: Low Price
Fast
Light
Wont break on you (well mine hasn't)
SEXY
Weaknesses: Crap stock barrel, feed neck and trigger
Is hard to take apart
Review: Ok, i know that over 70% of the bad reviews out there were written by people who have never used an ion, and they just want to bash it. I kno this becuase i know a total of 9 people with ions(including me), and they are work perfectly. They never had to return it, and they have never broken down. The other 30% or so did smething wrong, or the factory messed it up. Now i will talk a little about the stock components.

Feed Neck - Im not saying its bad, but its not great. I ordered this gun with an eVLution 3 hopper(which i still use today), and it didnt fit. So right away i went to the store and purchased a Q-Lock. I know people who still use the stock feed neck, and their hoppers fit fine. But if your hopper does not fit, dont start shaving off pieces from the feed neck or the hopper, this could just break your hopper. I think you would rather spend $20 on a feed neck, then having to order parts for your hopper becuase you shaved it too thin and broke it.

Barrel - The stock barrel is alright. Its just like any other stock barrel out there. Its accuracy is mediocre. And its loud as hell. I deffinitly reccomend picking up a new barrel, your gun will shoot better, and will look sexy.

Trigger - Lets face it, the stock trigger is just plain bad. Its plastic, and shapped very wierd. It can take a long time to get used to it. I had my gun for about a year before getting any ups tho(with the exception of a feed neck). Once i gor used to it i could shoot very fast, but i still didn't like the plastic feel. So i replaced it.

Regulator - I think the stock reg is good. When i first gassed it up i shot +/- 15... But after it got it going for a bit, and broke it in, it reduced to +/- 2, which in my opinion, is very good.

Maintenance - The proccess of taking this gun apart can take a while. When i first got it, it took me about 20 minutes to figure it out. Now that i know the terrain, i can get it apart, grease the bolt and put it back together in less than 5 minutes. Unless your really lazy, i dont think this is that big of an obstacle, and if it is, get the BOB (bolt out back) kit. But if your that lazy, i dont think paintball is the sport for you...
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this gun can easily take ANY other gun, as long as it has the appropriate after market parts. And seriously, if you gonna buy a gun, and put SO many upgrades on it that nothing is stock, i dont see the point of getting "the best" gun, becuase in the end, Its 100% custom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protolover123 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion pro (is faster)
Proto slg (the reason my name is protolover)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Blackheart Board
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger
Eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
SP Blackheart Board
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger
Maybe if you don't want Blackheart Board a Virtue Board??? (never used)
Strengths: Price
Upgrades
Fairly Light
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger
Plastic body (no lazering :'( )
feed neck (get clamping)
Review: Get the Ion... if you haven't already gotten anything from Proto, Dye, Bob Long, or Dangerous Power.

The gun itself is ok for recball and stuff but if you plan to play speedball then you HAVE TO get a roller blade trigger and Blackheart or Virtue board.

Also I'm not diggin the fact that they have plastic bodies :'( because that means I can't lazer it :'(.
Conclusion: In conclusion if you don't have a gun from the companys mentioned above GET THIS GUN... And some upgrades that it needs.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2008 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadbox146 Sunday, June 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS 1
Bob Long Marq 6 (Only Tested)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Firebolt
Crossfire 92/4500 N2
J & J Ceramic Barrel, 14"
Virtue Board
Mad Dog Designz Blade Trigger
Viewloader Evolution 3 Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK!!!!

Barrel
Board
Trigger
Strengths: Cheap
Tons of Upgrades
Fairly simple to clean, just takes a while.
Weaknesses: FEED NECK!!!
Board
Trigger is a pain. If you remove the magnet, it's ok.
Review: THe Ion is a good marker for the money that you are paying. I personally have had no issues with leaks or the solenoid, and with all of the available upgrades, it's not a bad marker to buy. The stock parts are a little on the cheap side, but when you're paying 170$, that's to be expected. You cannot use a gravity feed w/ this gun. It will not work. It will jam every three shots. Don't even try it, I was a cheap skate and got owned the first time I tried to use a gravity feed. Bad Mistake. The Barrel is worth upgrading. It's fairly accurate, but inconsistent. The bolt upgrade is amazing. The Firebolt's reviews speak for me.
Conclusion: An okay marker stock (maybe a 6/10-7/10), but due to the abundance of amazing upgrades, I'd have to give it an 8-9/10. A good marker for it's price, but can't compete with the other high end markers (Egos, etc.)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CJMerc Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra
Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: Ion
Evo-2 Egg Hopper
Proto Precision Barrel 14"
48" 3000psi o2 tank
Firebolt Bolt
Trinity Low-Rise Feedneck
Virtue QEV
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Sticky Grips
Firebolt Bolt
Trinity Low-Rise Feedneck
Virtue QEV
Virtue or other after-market board: Only if you like to have settings
Strengths: Reliability: Once its fixed and set
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Crap out of box: Upgrade at least a few things
Review: Overall, I would say this is one of the best markers I've used.

Started out as a big hassle due to the amount of problems I had with the leaks and other bothers, but it really brought itself together. Out of the box the barrel is sub-par and the grips are hard plastic that get slippery when painted. When upgraded with newer performance parts, this gun really has the opportunity to compete with all of the other high end guns.
Conclusion: I would say buy it since it's only $150 now. Upgrade it with the $100 you save and you'll be rollin' with the best of 'em.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

olliefan123 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
cp reg
cp asa
shock tech trigger
firebolt
redz barrel
dxs feed neck
blackheart board
virtue ollie lang grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything
Strengths: Umm $165 for 17 bps.
Weaknesses: Needs lots of upgrades.
Review: first i must talk about smart parts as a company.
they were a great company back in the day. they made the shocker which worked out great. then some smart guys over there decided to put their brains together and mess up the industry. if you own a smart parts marker i am pretty sure you have this board problem. if you look at a virtue baord and a smart parts stock board you will see one major differnce. the stock boards are unable to be flashed or updated. they had a port there that allows you to update your board but they decided to be retards and melt plastic over both ends of that. i mean if you can update your board to the new 13 bps then you have to get a new one.
so wuts the big deal?
smart parts got smart and decided to charge companies like virtue and todao the royalty checks. so they purposly mess up the boards then take the money from the companies that you buy the new board from. that is messed up. they are costing those companies so much money that they could have made.
if youve been reading about our industry you have read that hybrid is going out of business. FEP now only has about three guys sitting in an office just waiting to go out of business. the FEP is everything that the shocker wasn't. fast small light efficient accurate. smart parts is screwing all of those small companies that are trying to make paintball better for use






now that i got to vent on that let me go to the ion. for 200 when i bought it, it was great. it had eyes and ramping. thats all you need in a gun when you first start.
but then i quickly became sucked into the tournament scene. i had to get a new regulator or i risk the chance of a hot shot at the chrono. i had to get a new board because the stock board doesn't even have fricking debounce. what board doesn't have debounce? i had to get a new barrel and bolt to help with efficiency because this marker sucked the life out of my 45/4500 tank. you may also see that in the picture the asa is sticking out a full inch. could smart parts be any more retarded than to add a full inch on the asa. so once im done with the marker i put about 600 dollars into it.


for 600 you can get
dp g3
pm7
invert mini
etek ego
2-4 months suply of paint
brand new gear with pants jersey mask glozes ect.



there isn't enough time in the world to list all of the possibilities you could have done with that 600 dollars that you blew on your stupid ion.



next point

does the ion preform like a 600 dollar gun?
even witht eh cp reg which was 70 dollars i can watch the gauge drop 40 psi when shooting above 5 bps. if my ion opperates at about 150 psi and it drops 40 psi, you will be dropping 80 fps. at 300 fps while walking in straight semi you guns will be dropping to 220fps with in the first three shots.


you can watch the gauge drop after every shot.


the range and accuracy on this marker is terrible. beyond the drop you can't even shoot across an nppl size field with this marker. you will be lobbing balls at 30 degress to make it to the other side. i have no clue why but the accuracy on this marker is terrible. i shot ultra evil and marbs durring my first tourney with this gun. i remember the first time i shot the marker witht that paint a day before the tournament. the paint was no better than white box with this gun


the stock pmr se is better than this marker and it sells for 275

for a hundred dollars more you can get a superb marker. the invert mini is not much more. the dp g3 is well in reach after you go over 300, and for six hundred dollars you can start looking at used dm7s and and angels.

if you plan on shooting in the woods with your friends or you have a hyper field in your back yard this marker is great.
don't expect it to live up to any of your tournament dreams. this marker will fail you miserably the second enter the tourney.
Conclusion: If you play in the backyard and you plan to shoot everything stock. then this marker is fine.
but other than that stay away from smart parts.
i am not please for wut they advertised this marker to be.
smart parts=$#!t
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mongoskater3 Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Impulse
Marker Setup: Stock Titanium Karnivor
Pulse hopper with speed feed
crossfire 70/45 peanut tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Qev
Feedneck
on/off
thats all thats really necessary especially the feed neck, but it depends on how far you want to invest in it.
Strengths: Very cheap
Good entry level marker


Weaknesses: HARD TO MAINTAIN!!!
no tournament modes
feed neck BLOWS
Review: Ok , if you are a beginner to paintball, this is a decent gun. But now they have so many more better guns at the same price level such as the PMR. Back when i got this gun it was the best gun for the price. not any more. Im not saying its not a good gun, but I just would recomend a pmr over this, Ions require way to many upgrades to where you can easily put an extra 400 dollars into it before you'll be done. With that money you would have been better off buying a fusion or threshold or something.
But it shoots decent out of the box its great for beginners and its fairly accurate.
Let me just tell you about cleaning this thing. OMG. Ive never seen a marker built so pooryl for taking a part for normal maintance. In order just to wipe down the bolt and lube it you have to remove the grip frame, unscrew several air fittings remove the board, unscrew the breech, its like WTF why should i have to unscrew my frame to get a bolt out? I dont even clean mine anymore because it seems like every time i go in to clean it i get another air leak. i recomend paying a professional every few games to clean and lube it if its not to pricey. But this is a more than good gun to start out with.


PLZ RATE AND LEAVE COMMENTS, i want to know if u guys think my review is fair, i am not trying to hate on the ion, as i own one (completely aftermarket) and i love it, but like i said there are just to many new guns out that are far better for the same price, so let me know if u think i was fair or if i was to hard on the ion.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recomend buying this gun anymore, because like i said the pmr, same price, and its much easier to maintain, more firing modes, faster, not as many need upgrades. So im going to give this gun a 6 out of 10. If i wrote this review about a year ago though i would have given it an 8, but its just not worth it anymore.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2008 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer540 Sunday, June 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: crappy empire loader. i dont know what its called got it off ebay.
48 cu 3000 psi tank. again dont know what brand it doesnt say
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck- the feedneck stinks.
a board that u dont have to open the grip for!!!- it will get annoying after a while oppining your grip
Strengths: Price
Good begginger gun
loads of upgrades so you can change the look and trigger
Weaknesses: feedneck
board
ARE THE MAJOR PROBLEMS

Review: The gun is a great begginer gun. It allows you to get into the sport and have fun without being owned by the really good players with you using a rental gun. I would certainly buy this gun for anyone looking to get into the sport.

FEEDNECK- you will need to buy a new feedneck if you want to really put paint through it. i found that most of the good hoppers have to be crammed in and i still wouldnt play with them on the field. They will deffinantly fall off.

BOARD- the stock board is ok not great but if you are looking at this gun for tourny play get a new board for it. oppining the grip will get annoying after a while.

besides that the gun is really great. it is just those few exspensive replacement parts that will end up pissing you off.

OTHER GUNS ON THE MARKET: THERE ARE OTHER GUNS. CHECK THEM OUT BEFORE YOU BUT THIS GUN. CHECK OUT THE PROTO SLG, INVERT MINI, CHECK OUT ALL THE GUNS IN YOUR PRICE RANGE BEFORE YOU BUY THE GUN
Conclusion: i would reccomend this to anyone that wants a good beggining level gun. It is a great gun for the price however as i said earlier check out all the guns in your price range first. ask your local store owner on what he reccomends for your pricerange.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heylookwhoitis Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 08/7 (used friends)
DM8/7 (used friends)
PMR
PM6/7
Tippmann 98 Custom
Etek Ego
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
- CP Shorty Reg
- Red Body Kit
- Virtue Board
- Dye UL Barrel
- SP On/Off ASA
- Virtue Instant On/Off Button
- Q-Lock Clamping Feedneck
- CP Rake Trigger

VLocity w/ Speed Feed
70/4500 Pure Energy Tank w/ Red Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off ASA, Q-Lock Clamping Feedneck, New Barrel, New Board, and the rest of the upgrades are all preference.
Strengths: Great beginner gun, can out perform some guns with a few $ put into it
Weaknesses: Hard to clean, too many upgrades that could cost more than gun itself.
Review: When I first received this gun, I thought it was amazing. I fell in love with the design and shape. What really got my attention was the ability to change body kits whenever I wanted. It was basically a "runned-down" shocker. However after reading the manual, I realized that my eyes were broken. I called up Smart Parts and they sent me new eye wires for $10 shipping. It took two weeks for me to receive it. I then immediately replaced the wires and my eyes were still broken. Luckily, my friend had a spare Ion laying around and he gave me his Ion's eyes. So there's my story.

Now for the review part. The gun itself is amazing overall. I mean for $200 you could not ask for a better gun for it's price. I know now that there's the PMR and Epiphany, but keep in mind that I got this gun before either of them came out. However for $200, I thought that Smart Parts should have put a little bit more work into this gun, such as a q-lock clamping feedneck and a better barrel. The gun weighs about 2.5-3 lbs without a barrel. As for the stock board (17 bps max), it shoots pretty fast, but a better aftermarket board would be better to increase bps and have more modes. The stock barrel could have been better though. It is a standard 11" one-piece barrel (no logo or anything on it.). The accuracy was decent, but it could have been better. After test firing it, I noticed that the gun was really quiet compared to the Egos that I used to use. As for accuracy, I could say that 3 out of the 5 shots would hit my target. One problem that I always have with my Ion is cleaning it. It is a real pain because you have to unscrew almost all of the bolts/screws, disconnect the wires and eyes, remove the body kit, take apart the bolt, clean it, then put it back together. Taking it apart and putting it back together would take about 10-15 minutes of your time.

After upgrading my gun (see my set up for list of upgrades), I was fairly impressed with it's performance. It's bps was not as fast as the other high-end markers, but it was pretty close.

I am giving it a 8 because of the problems I had with this gun when I first got it and no gun is perfect.
Conclusion: If you do not want to spend a whole lot of money on a gun that you can walk, then look no further. This gun will be ready right out of the box and is very reliable. However, upgrades are highly recommended.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 26th, 2008 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhony115 Friday, May 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmr
stock invert mini( but mini is still better but not as relieable)
evil omen
Marker Setup: All stock parts
steely air tank
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Neck
trigger
asa
freak barrel
steel easy bolt accsese body
(this is if you want a really really nice gun)
Strengths: Speed
accuracy
price
lots of room for upgrades
quiet
Weaknesses: Neck
uses alot of air
Review: When i first got my ION i didnt expect it to be as good as it was or said to be... be when the game started i was amazed and very imprested by the speed accuracy and the price of the gun the only thing i didnt like about it was trying to clean it but after you clean it once or twice it is very easy. the only reason i sold mine is because i got a job and bought a shocker but im still impressed by the ION.
Conclusion: I would highly suggest this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trumbower123 Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
impluse
auto mag
shocker
Eos
vibe
sp8
invert mini....
ummmm....... they're many more i just can't think of all of them
Marker Setup: pink body kit
T-Tech L7 bolt
shocker reg
ans worr trigger
virtue eye
epiphiny volume chamber
freak kit
Ans drop forward
Trinity low rise feedneck
tadao raider board
TWO 360 QEVs(getto i know)
Recommended
Upgrades:
L7 bolt
barrel
feedneck(the stock feedneck sucks balls)
Strengths: it totally customisable (and yes i know i spelt that wrong..LOL)
Weaknesses: If it doesn't like the weather it'll let you know
Review: i love this gun i've done so much to it and it can out run a halo with no problem...ha ha. this gun a beast everyone on my team has at least ONE ion in their collection. it fast quiet, easy to keep up and buy stuff for you can make it into YOUR gun if your serious about paintball no two ions are the same. you find this gun everywhere in the woods on hte speed ball feild every where. this is the most amazing gun i've used..
Conclusion: Get it you'll like what you get trust me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media