paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  98  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  Last
        Next Page
smartparts Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers, empire timmy, alias, 2k2 timmy, (basically all the timmys out there i have used)
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
hybrid AP bumperless ram cap
function trigger
function rail
empire quick flip
empire barrel kit
infamous m5

SP ion
virtue
CP trigger
Cp rail
Empire on/off
NDZ adjustable feedneck
Freak barrel
QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue
Barrel
QEV
feedneck
Strengths: Fast
light
compact
accurate
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
reg
Review: To start off this gun is better then my empire timmy. My empire timmy has nothing been trouble and my what really makes me mad is that the board fried the next day i bought it and tadao wont let me return it. I traded my timmy for this ion and cash and i just upped it up alot. Im play on a tourny team and a working gun is a must and i have to say is that this gun is really reliable. I have slid my gun in mud and nothing goes wrong with it. As of drop offs, i havent had any yet. Shoots really consistent. I sont know much about this gun yet cuz i just traded my timmy for it but i know that this gun shoots mad kids. I think this gun is really good and its perfect for snake players. Also the amount of upgrades available also lets u make the ion shoot the way u want it to.
Conclusion: Get this gun. Its really good and reliable. I wouldnt have traded if my timmy worked but the ion is good when u play with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rockinthe98 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom (not even close)
spyder electra (still not close)
Marker Setup: black ion
halo b
q-lock feedneck
blackheart board
ndz qev
ndz spring detents
micro max flow 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck the rest is optional
Strengths: In the review
Weaknesses: In the review
Review: Looks- the looks of the ion is pretty good overall but i don't really care about any guns looks because it doesn't effect the performance of any gun

Performance- im going to start off about the speed of the ion because you get a whole lot of speed for your buck. that pretty nice getting 17bps stock and if you get a blackheart board and ive seen the ion at 20bps without shoot down and its crazy fast and if you don't get anything for the shoot down like i did u wont see your ions full potential thats only one problem i had with the ion was the shoot down but i fixed that after $225 with my micro maxflow 68/4500 and the eyes are amazing and some people get different eyes and they dont need it unless you broke it and another problem i had was the feedneck it doesnt fit hoppers like the halo and if you u get the ion right when u get it because your going to buy a new body breech and a new feedneck.
Conclusion: I highly reccommend the ion because you get a whole lotta gun for your buck so get it now for a main gun or even a backup gun
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 12th, 2006 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

kylebasketball Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
other high end electronic markers... PEVS EGO. KARNIVOR
but nothing really similar
Marker Setup: 2006 Smart Parts Ion
Virtue Board
Virtue Laser Eyes
Orange Bolt
CP two piece barrell kit
Ton Ton frame
Kage body
CP reg and on off
Halo w/ Victory board
CCM low rise feedneck
Roller bearing trigger
68-3000 Air America carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The ones that I have... it's a personal preference, but I really like my setup and it has done very well for me in speedball and xball games. New regulator(CP is very reliable and consistent and easy to maintain).
Strengths: Price
Fast
Accurate
Tight profile
Easy to run with & use
Simple to clean & maintain
Weaknesses: Leaky if hoses aren't trimmed correctly....
thats about because it works like a charm
Review: It works well. I have used this marker in various weather conditions... including hot Texas heat, 60 degree year around temperature at and underground limestone mine that is all speedball fields in Missouri. Interchangle bodies are very neat, and the new colors are cool. Very easy to change out depending on what you would like your marker to look like.
Conclusion: Buy it, anyone can use it from rec ball player to tournement player. It's a very good marker and you cant beat the price(roughly 289$).
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 4:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shark-bait Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tried a lot of stuff
Marker Setup: all that is needed
Strengths: Acurate Fast
Weaknesses: GAS HOG
EMO MARKER
Velocity is a no fun to change
Review: The first month i had the gun i loved it took perfectly good care of it worked perfect the whole nine yards. I couldnt of been happier with the gun. The problem is when you get to the longer range targets you not very accurate at all. Perfect borings on balls and they were landing places. Also gun does kick and is an extreme gas hog eats up air like you wouldnt believe. When going up against meaner guns you feal outgunned becuas eyour balls do start to drop. The only blessing is that these things are selling so fast that i could sell it in a week. I play paintball mostly for fun a tourny here a tourny there but the last 2 times that i went to the field i have had the gun malfunction in some way or another. I ended up useing my friends ion but was not confident that i would hit the target until i was 20 yrds away and thats with a freak perfect bore matching. I am willing to give the gun one more shot at impressing em or it is getting sold and i am investing on somehting else.
Conclusion: Confidence in a gun goes a long way with me. I dontknow when the ionis going to work and when it will not. Very emotional sometimes it cries and sometimes it brings down the glory. Every ion seems to be different to be and i recomend buying it if you only have $300, but right now i am thinking of an upgrade.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

outofdarkness Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used just about every type of gun from Spyders, to A-5's, all the way to Angels and Shockers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco Snapshot Barrel
R-5 Ricochet Loader
Z drop forward
Palmer Stabilizer
HPA
APE Rampage Board
JCS Dual Trigger
Macrolined

ION
Freak Barrel
Z Drop forward
Violent Products Scythe Trigger
Halo B
Membrane Mod
Palmer Stabilizer
SP 360 QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend upgrades in this order.
Halo B or Empire B Loader
ON/Off and dropforward
Trigger
Feedneck
Barrel
QEV
Strengths: Durable
Fast
Light
Inexpensive
Accurate
Efficient
No Kick
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger
Stock Duckbill
Stock Power Button
Review: I spent a very long time researching the ION before I finally decided to purchase it. Warpig.com 's review was a great place to start. I was moving up from my A-5 because I started playing small tournaments, and found that my A-5 was pretty heavy and cumbersome, although still a beast and great gun. ( I Started as a woodsball player)

The ion in person is much better than you would think from pictures. It looks plastic, but is nothing like those cheap plastic guns in stores. It is mostly aluminum and only has plastic covers on the top chamber and the regulator. In person, it is actually a very sharp looking marker.

I find that the stock trigger just had a very lame feeling to it. I don't like it at all. It wobbles and is awkward to walk. This however, is relieved by the huge field of aftermarket triggers. The Absolute best trigger is the Violent Products Scythe. This gun feels like a totally different gun with a new trigger.

The duckbill adapter is just lame. Honestly though, I believe this isnt a problem because 99% of people will buy their own dropforward anyway. So its basically like Smart Parts put something in cheap so the gun would work, save US some money by not charging us more, since we were gonna take it off anyway. I like the Z drop because its fully adjustable, and includes an on/off.

The power button is weird because its not only a button, but a light. So basically you have to push the button and look for a light as you press it under your finger. Also, i found that mine was kind of hard to press, and have read that people have pressed it so hard they they break the button on the board. This seemed scary to me, so i performed the membrane mod. This makes the button into just a light, and places a dye membrane pad on the grip like the Dye DM's (google and you'll find ion membrane mod)

Performance wise, this gun is great. Its very compact with a good dropfoward and performs flawlessly. The regulator is great and the stock barrel is actually accurate enough that it can be used. You will probably eventually want to replace it, but its not high on the list. It feels very solid as you play with it and I am able to keep it pretty tight and play small. You can play front or back man with this gun. The big point on this gun is that IT RIPS....period. It rips, and it rips in ropes and ropes of paint. Also, theres pretty much no kick at all. This is thanks to the fact its not a blowback and just relies on a 2 way solenoid. God...it rips.

So there you go. A 300 dollar marker ( got mine for 220 new on ebay) that rips like its big brother the shocker.

I love this marker.
Conclusion: Save some money. This gun is the best deal if you want to play speedball.
It performs better than many other guns, or pretty much the same.
All for 300
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

GenX 101 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix, Freestyle, timmys
Marker Setup: Ion with ans trigger, QVE's, proto barrel, and bruce lee bunkerking grips!

Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, QVE's, and feed ncek
Strengths: Fast, Light, Small
Weaknesses: No clamping feedneck but no big deal
Review: I bought this gun brand new and it shot fast as hell out of the box! the only thing i dont like about it is the fact that there is no clamping feedneck but that is no big deal. it shoots great out of the box this is by far the best gun for the price that i have shot!
Conclusion: If you want an cheap fast gat get the ion!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pOp N frEsH 017 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse
Diablo Wrath
Dragun TES
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Black SP Ion
PMI 68ci 4500psi HPA
Ricochet Apache
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Strengths: -Light and Small
-price
-reliable
-consistent
-accurate
-Fast enough
Weaknesses: -Dissembly
-barrel (sort of)
-trigger (sort of)
-magnet
Review: I must say this is a great marker for the price. I bought mine refurbished for $230. This marker is great out of the box. I took it out, and i couldn't even believe how light it was and you really gotta love smart parts for the design. So I screwed in some air and no problems like I have had with past guns. So I called my friends up to take it out for a game or 2 and this thing can rip. Some people complain that it only reaches 17 bps but not many people can even get that high and I can't so not a problem for me (and for those it really bothers that much they can buy a Blackheart board which will give new firing modes and 20bps). I used it on rebound mode and got it up to about 15 bps. It was very consistent and pretty accurate for a stock barrel. There was some spray and it did take a couple shots to actually hit a person but overall pretty good for accuracy. One thing I loved was absolutely no chopping at all. I went through 1000 without chopping that day and my friend who also has an ion has gone through about 3000 rnds and chopped once with the eye off when he did, so i figure his fault. The more I played with it the more I started to just love it. So took it home that night and decided to find out how to take it apart. This is a pain. It is not hard but is time consuming and when you chop during game play it will be annoying to take the time to clean it out, but since hardly ever chop, not a big deal. So i took it apart and put it back together and took me maybe 15 mins at the very most which isn't bad for a first time. One thing that I find very annoying is having to unscrew the grips every time I want to change the fire mode. It would be much better with an LCD screen like on the TES or Wrath. If you plan to get the max out of this gun you will need a fast hopper like an eggy, Ricochet or Halo B. You will want to upgrade your trigger for faster walk, try a blade trigger or a Custom Products Ion trigger. The feedneck is horrible. It is tall and hard to get hoppers to fit in right and just a pain (especially if you have a Halo B). Get a clamping feedneck just to avoid the hassle. The barrel can be frustrating sometimes. I had it on Full auto and the spray was too much to bear. It took about 30 balls to get out someone sittin out in the open. Try getting an All American or a Freak. DO NOT USE CO2!!! YOU MIGHT BUST THE SOLENOID!! Buy a High Pressure HPA (preferably 68 ci, 4500psi). After you get all these upgrades you can customize your Ion to give it your own unique look that'll turn heads (I'm looking Hot Pink body). The design is perfect (electric pneumatic), beats the crap outta air ram and I would prefer it out of all of the above listed in similar products used (except the Impy).
Conclusion: I absolutely love this marker. I would highly recomend this to any intermediate player looking to take their game to the next level and upgrade from their low end guns. The price is amazing for such a great highend marker and it can stick with almost any other gun out there. I would give it a 10 but there is a lot of money to spend on upgrades to make it perfect and dissembly is a pain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Richie B Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ben tipmenn bt-16 (sh*t).
Marker Setup: black ion with yellow trim
14" freak back aa front
egg2 y board.
sp Q lock.
sp qev 360.
sp max-flo reg.
pure energy 47/3000.
vp scythe trigger.
sp drop forwerd.
Recommended
Upgrades:
good barrel.
fast hopper.
locking feed neck.
roller trigger.
Strengths: Light.
Strong.
Shoots fast.
eyes.
Weaknesses: Barrels not up to much.
Major gas hog.
feed neck.
not much else.
Review: what can i say.......this markers totally sweet, ya that sounds right, sweet i tell you.
I paid 185 ($300) for this gat plus another 150 on ups, now it rips and looks great.
all the lads at the field think its sweet, but not when i pop them in mask at 60-80 feet no sh*t, with the freak its so accurate it hurts, them... not me lol. with the new scythe trigger i can walk it right up to 17 bps all day long. alot of people talk about drop of with the ion, personally i have not experienced any but i did get a max-flo reg the same day i bought the ion just in case. if you are looking to buy an ion (and i recommend that you do) make sure to get a locking feed neck, the stock one is not up to much and a freak, yes cannot forget the freak, this is the icing on the cake. now im not saying the ion is as good as an angel, but with these ups you wont be so intimidated by the rich kids with there speeds and flys.
one last point, stock the ion can be one hell of a gas hog, but this can be sorted with a lightening bolt and a qev or just a big bottle, personally the bolt and qev works out much cheaper for sure. so what you sitting there for, buy the ion, you will not regret it.
Conclusion: Why spend $600 when you can buy an ion for $300, you now it makes sense.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 at 12:47 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

srpoopir Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 CUSTOM
great gun i loved it so many ups never broke but speed
Spyder Fenix
Chopped Loads Of a$s Heavy Loud Flimsy Parts Loose Stcok Parts
Marker Setup: Stock Hpa 72 ,3000 psi tank VL Evulition 2 hopper CP 14 in Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New regulator new AS'A/On/Off switch Feed Neck BalckHeart Barrel
Strengths: Speed Eyes
Weaknesses: reg ASA feed neck
Review: The ion is great for any player al you need is a FAST hopper (reloader is best for moder like rebond) all you need to do whan you get it is ajust the dwell and finely tune it not that to bad to do it its a esay gun to use just turn on mode 1 eyes on mode 2 etes off hold to turn on/off
and it so easy for body changes just unscrew 3 screws and you ready there are so many ups you can buy for the ion and it light wehight durablity is great for any front man back or mid or just to play PB you can use this gun
they mode's are easy to change just take the grip off nd change it its a a easy gun to work with and light great for any serious PB player all you should get is a nirto tank and a fast hopper
Conclusion: the Ion is one of the great markers i used and the reliabiality of it is great its never chopped on me only on rebound when my Egg died but it did good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JimMooney23 Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AutoCocker Trilogy Pro (Ion is better)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION (no trigger magnet)
VL Evolution 2 Hopper (egg)
Freak Barrel w/ All-American Front
Pure Energy 48ci/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fast Hopper
Q.E.V. if you'd like to increase R.O.F.
Strengths: $PRICE$
ACCURACY
Speed
Weaknesses: Magnet in trigger
Feed Tube (if you have a Halo B)
See Review
Review: I got this gun in a package and put a Egg loader on it. There is no problem with this hopper I suggest thsi hopper for this gun because it is cheap compared to the other high end hoppers. (Halo & Reloader B) The first time I fired this gun I was amazed this gun rips... as soon as you take the magnet out of the trigger. Compared to other guns I have fired this gun is DEAD SILENT with my Freak Barrel. When i started to trigger walk the balls all hit in the same exact spot showing this gun to be just as accurate as an autococker. Have a Tippmann or a Spyder or even a cocker? My Suggestion? Sell those guns as I did and get one of these guns if you want to have the edge over everyone else. This gun can take a beating and shoots just as faast as higher end guns. BUY ONE

Weakness: Not reallly a big deal but if you plan on using a Halo B Loader on this gun tou would either need to try to take out the top O-ring in the feedtube or you can upgrade to the Smart Parts Q-loc feeedneck for around 40 bucks. Also if you want to shoot the gun faster you will want to take the magent out of the trigger so the only resistance is the microswitch. The magnetis too strong for most peoples liking.
Conclusion: Buy it. It is very quiet accurate, fast, and dependable.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 10th, 2006 at 12:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  98  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media