paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
SpyderMan1492 Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Epiphany
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
68ci 4500psi pure energy tank
Halo B with rip drive

Smart Parts Ion
68/45
Halo

Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Clamping feedneck
Trigger
Strengths: Reliable
Fast
Fairly accurate
Quiet for the most part
Can keep up with any gun
Weaknesses: My Epiphany is better lol
Review: Well let's see what there is to say about the Smart Parts Ion. Its definitely as reliable as my primary marker the Epiphany, but not as quiet. Its fairly fast to keep up with any gun our there for sure. Cheapest, Best tournament marker you can get your hands on these days and is very popular. I gotta say this is a competitor through and through people.
Conclusion: Its only $130 now, Buy it lol
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Homan13PSU Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Lucky Stage 5 (Dust Silver)
Smart Parts Q-Lock
NDZ Blade Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Halo w/ Rip Drive
TechT L6 v2
Tadao Raider Board w/ LED relocation mod
Hybrid Gunslinger Leather Grips
Killa Reaction Magnetic Detents
AKA 2Litre + Regulator
Element V2 Grip Frame (Dust Silver)
CP Mini On/Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
See Above
Strengths: Price
Upgradeability
Simplicity of parts for repair and troubleshooting
Weaknesses: Disassembly is time consuming for regular maintenance
Review: I initially bought my Ion right after they first came out to be a backup marker to my Impulse. After playing a game with it, and seeing the upgrades that started coming out I quickly changed my mind and decided to turn it into my primary marker and design a custom Ion that nobody else had.

Out of the box the Ion shoots great, although it needs several instant upgrades of some of the stock parts; those being the addition of a QEV, a new feedneck and trigger.

Without a QEV the Ion is rather inefficient and does not get very good use out of a tank, I recommend this as the first part you buy. The stock trigger (at least in my case) had quite a bit of side to side play so I quickly replaced that as well. The feedneck is a non-locking, adjustable only by removing o-rings design that I also recommend replacing ASAP. The only other part I would recommend as a necessary upgrade is the ASA. As with many of their previous generation markers the Ion ships with a duck-bill style ASA that I simply cannot stand.

Besides that there is nothing else that "needs" to be replaced on this marker, of course though this is up to the preference of each owner, and clearly I did not follow this mantra as the only stock item left in my marker is the rear banjo. For those that do decide to go the full upgrade route there is a huge aftermarket list to choose from for the Ion making this a dream for those that like to tinker around with their markers and upgrade the living snot out of them.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this marker, either as an entry level electro for a new player, or as a backup marker for days when the primary goes down. For those of you that enjoy playing around with and designing a custom marker this is definitely the marker to purchase. Keep in mind though that you will end up sinking quite a bit of money into it.

I give the Ion two marks against for difficulty of disassembly, and poor efficiency out of the box. Thankfully these are two easily remedied items so in all I give the Ion an 8 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morningwood Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Stock Barrel
Empire Electronic Hopper
360 QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
360 QEV
Strengths: Accuracy
Easy Trigger
Very Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: i havnt used the ion that much but from wat ive done with it in speedball i love the gun its got great acuuracy its fast and with a 360 QEV its even faster the gun is crazy and not that expensive. i havnt had any problems with it yet and hoping not to encounter any all in all great gun thank you smart parts!
Conclusion: Id Reccomend it to anyone its a great gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egomaniacPB4L Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto SLG (way better and waaayyy more reliable)
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
spart parts on/off
proto clamp feed neck
halo B with rip drive and V35 board
crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
to tell you the truth if you buy a smart parts gun and want to make it actually work you're gonna have to upgrade almost everything.
Strengths: I hate this stupid gun...
Weaknesses: Everything...
Review: If ur planning on buying a good tournament gun for not too much get a proto SLG or if you're willing to go higher get a DP G3.
This gun is absolute crap, the reg might as well be a terd cuz it really sucks.
the ASA leaked on me Multiple times, used like 20 rolls of anti-leak tape on it (foorgot the name of the tape)
the feed neck, might as wwell not be a feed neck lol.
the board... what can i say about the board, it sucks!!! i fried it after the 3rd time i went and i had to buy a brand spankin new one...
and you have to dig through the gun for 5 hours to get to the bolt...
If you don't mind having a gun that breaks constantly and isn't reliable for poop go for it, other thna that just don't buy smart parts crap.
Conclusion: This gun sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ghost08 Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
autococker
Marker Setup: q-lock clamping feed neck
dxs 68/4500
roller trigger
dxs pulse with speed feed
smart parts 16'' progressive or linear barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a q-lock clamping feed neck once you buy it.
different bolt.
different barrel.
Strengths: It's a good price.
It's pretty fast.
Easy to work on.
Weaknesses: So far none that i have experienced.
Review: It's a fun little compact gun. Does good for the price.I reccomend it to anyone getting into paintball or just finally buying their own gun.I like mine except i would like to get a viture board so it shoots faster. It's kind of heavy with every thing on it standing in the same spot watching a guy.
Conclusion: Overall its a nice gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ludwig4me Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot-worse

Tippman A-5- stock is worse

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Redz White Body Kit
Virtue Board
360 QEV
Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
Q-lock
14 All American Barrel
Blade trigger

68/45 tank

And a Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV
New Feed Neck
Virtue Board if you can afford it

Strengths: Feel
Weight
Regulator
Weaknesses: Trigger
Board
Drop Foward
Review: Alright, I'll start form the top

Overall- A great entry level marker. I wish I wouldve just gone with a PMR though because I have put so many ups into it.

Barrel- Alright, but a little loud. Fairly Accurate

Trigger- Horrible. It feels like it will snap off in your hands, so definitely get a new one

Regulator- I've heard tat its great and that it's horrible. I guess I just got a good one cuz i shot +-5 right out of the box. Also, it looks a lot cooler if you take of the front grip.

Feedneck- No question, GET A NEW ONE. The stock one is high and it doesnt work.

Disassembly - Hard the first time you do it, but after a while it becomes routine.

Stock Board- Fine once you get set up, but changing the settings is really hard to figure out.




Conclusion: I would buy this gun if you're upgrading from a mechanical marker. It beats out any other marker in its price range and performance.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

juit Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of guns
Marker Setup: PM7
Lucky barrel kit
halo v35 cranium shell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger magnetic
autococker breech
clam feedneck
barrel
bolt
QEV
Strengths: Low profile
Weaknesses: Dificult to clean
Review: I bought every thing ANS man thi guns rock I like it over my pm7 its very fun to shoot
has a spactacular sound with the lucky barrel
I dont think you have to upgrade to an autococker warrior breach but I had a lot of AC barrels so this make me tested with more acurate brands
this gun rocks
Conclusion: Buy it if you like to custom your own guns
I give it a 10 because all the upgrades that are available for it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nickakathebest Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
vibe,wrath,slg
Marker Setup: ion with 06 trinity body ,tadao board,360 qev cp shorty reg,cp direct mount on off,co flame drop ,q lock feedneck,virtue v.2 easy on ,hybrid grips,and fire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger,feedneck,asa ,reg
Strengths: Small, very fast , almost no kick
Weaknesses: Reg, asa, feedneck etc etc
Review: When i first got my ion i was surprized at the box it was very well put together and i liked that i took out the ion and held it and it felt very lite i aired it up shot like a champ still lite with the tank on it and when i actully put paint in it shot ropes and was amazeingly accurate

Its a good gun for backup or a main marker its cheap and with a few minor up's rocks alot of people seem to like this gun alot as i did i have shot many differnt gunsfrom ego's to shockers to dm's etc etc and with all the up's i have put into this gun its holds its own very well imo
Conclusion: I think any player should try an ion for back up or a main gun it preforms very well and it doesnt put a huge dent in ur pocket and is also very customizable to the players style
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 9th, 2008 at 8:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-spyders/spyder clones, tippmans, pistols, friends shocker/minion/PMR/DM6
Marker Setup: Primary Speedball
-SP Gen1 Ion
-APE Rampage Board
-DW Fibur 12" barrel
-DW Finngerlock trigger
-DW Hollowpoint Bolt
-DW Pro ASA
-DW Negitive Ion body
-DW QEV
-Halo Happer
-48CI/3000PSI steelie tank
-CP shortty reg

Primary Woodsball
-98 custom
-Opsgear 18" Fluted SNIPER Barrel
-Rocket Cock 2
-Opsgear 12" Floating SR Hand Gaurd
-APP Stainless Steel Screw Kit
-M82A1 Gas Thru MAG
-GTA Car Stock
-TACAMO AK-47 style Weaver Rail
-Polished internals, Pen spring mod

Backup
-overlord RX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-not to bad as far as stock barrels go, but would have liked to see a progressive on this gun

QEV- if you want some more firepower, a good cheep upgrade

Trigger- the stock one is garbage, it has a TONE of side-to-side play in it
Strengths: -Looks
-Speed
-Price
-LOTS of upps
see review
Weaknesses: -everyone has one
-Trigger
-Barrel
-Stock board eats batterys
-Regulator
see review
Review: **Please note im am reviewing the STOCK gun without any upps**

So all my friends were getting e-spyders and minions so i though i had better get a faster gun to keep up with them and go speedballing with them. I got this used off my friend for $160.00, so not bad. Its a nice gun for the price. Skip to bottom for major pros and cons.

First Impression:
well my buddy is kinda lax about his gun cleaning and oiling so the first thing i did was rip the gun appart and clean everything. Its a very simple design and its very user friendly of you have even basic technical know-how. The only part the really moves and needs lubing is the bolt so it beats my tippmann in that department. The looks of this gun are nice, good clean lines. I got a metal body for it as i always thought it kinda looked like a toy with the plastic one.

Programing/electronics:
The stock board is very easy to program, it has 2 LED's (red and yellowish-green) that flash to display settings. The 2 major ones i used were the Dwell and Fire setting (semi-3shot-ramping-auto). The auto, and 3 shot are capped at 10 bps, the ramping is 15-17 i think and the semi is as fast as you can pull the trigger. The eyes work verry well, and you can even use a gravity hopper with them, no breaks...although you can only fire at like 8bps. The only beef i have with the stock board is even when its off i seem to drain my battery. Its not a big deal i just pull the battery out when im not playing. Get a APE board, it fix's this.

Fireing/Feild test:
The first time i used this marker was in 2 feet of snow (go canada) and it was ugly so im just gona review the second time i used this marker. Conditions were as follows:
-Sunny
-no wind/ min wind (in forest)
-22 degreese C
-Stock barrel
-shooting at 264 FPS

The stock barrel is fairly good compared to a spyder or tippman, it is however, no freek. The operation PSI is 150-200 and the range is roughly 60-80 feet (i eyeballed it). The left and right swerve is not to bad as long as the barrel is clean. The regulator worked this day and was very consistant +/- 5fps. I was fireing on semi-auto, only barrel breaks due to less the ideal paint.

MAJOR PROS:
Speed- yes this will do 17bps out of the box on ramping, get an e-hopper :P

Weight- Yea its light, makes my overloard RX feel heavy

Feed Neck- Some people say its loose and wont hang onto your hiopper, i havent had any problems with mine, i really have to force the halo into the neck (although halo has a very thick feed neck on it)

Eyes- these work flawlessly, amazing, simply amazing


MAJOR CONS:

Regulator- im not sure if i just got a bad apple / my friend didnt do propper reg work on this gun but some days my regulator just wont work. It will jump from 150 PSI to 250PSI (wich causes the gun to stop fireing) and effectivly sends me off the feild. Just Buy a CP reg, they cheep and they work.

Trigger- major side-to-side wobble, the triger pin is a Bi*ch to punch out of the grip frame, get a deadly wind trigger, they use screws insted of a pin, MUCH easyser.

Stock board- Likes to use battery power even when off....must be a glitch/bad board.
Conclusion: Overall a nice marker for the price, giving it a 8 because of the trigger wobble and regulator issues. Nice gun with lots of upps, go buy one and upp it untill it can beat you friends shocker (trust me the look on his face was priceless!) :P
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nemesis2k4 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BL TIMMY
Freak Factory Impulse
Various Autochoppers
Some Lower end Electronic Markers
Marker Setup: SP Ion(Blue)
68/4500
AA Freak
SP QLock
NDZ On/Off
Reloader B
Dye Stickies!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
On/Off
Barrel (the stock is good dont get me wrong but you will wanna upgrade eventually)
Strengths: It's Fast
It's Light
It's Cheap
It's Accurate
Weaknesses: Feed neck has no clamp
No on/off
Review: I paid 176 for this gun with a Blue Body kit as part of the package. www.punisherspb.com
I owned a Freak Factory Impulse before and loved everything about it except for the weight so because ions are compatible with imps i swapped most of mods to the ion!

Strength:
It is very fast, very light weighing in a 2.2lbs and a lot less than my Impulse. The accuracy is AMAZING with my freak barrel system and it wasn't much worse with the stock barrel. it is so easy to maneuver with and i got a fairly good regulator so i have not had a single problem....yet...and i hope not to.

Weakness:
Smart Parts didnt put a clamping neck on it or an on/off air source adapter...but then again if they did would it be so cheap?(price wise) i don't think so. A personal preference would be a small drop forward to give you even more mobility.

Conclusion: This product is great but at the same time i don't believe it is a gun to start with. Find something a little lower to start playing with if you are new. You may end up spending a lot of money on upgrades and wanting something else. heck my first was an imagine...hah...All in All great great GJ SP
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media