paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  Last
        Next Page
ronbunkerz#2 Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Tippmann 98 Custom, '04 prostock,
Marker Setup: black smart parts ion, with 47/3k crossfire hpa w/ black empire cover, stock barrel (best stock barrel ever), egg 2 w/ y-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE! accept maybe a barrel even tho the stock barrel is good.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, quiet, and popular ( ill tell u below), light ( like a feather
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I bought this gun 5 days before from a tourney. I went to shoot it outside and was surprised at how accurate and quiet this marker was. I invited my teammates in the tourney over to show them and they all wanted to hold it. when they held it they wanted one too! This gun is so cool it'll make ne one jealous. The tourney is in 5 days so i'll tell u how it performed when i edit it on the 23rd of July!
Conclusion: Get this gun! WHY? (cuz i said so)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 at 9:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPionDUHshizNIT Monday, July 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All ive had so far was an icon-e.(no comparison)
Marker Setup: SP Ion . Pmi 68/4.5k tank.Shocktech Chrome #4 Drop
Backup- Stock Icon-e
Recommended
Upgrades:
TRIGGER IS A MUST. im buying the CP this week. For me, the stock barrel isnt bad at all. i use PMI Premiums and they shoot fine.But i am going to buy a Freak Kit when i get the $. Also, a new feedneck. The stock one really sucks
Strengths: Everything(except for trigger and feedneck)
Weaknesses: trigger+feedneck. Magnets are a little strong but this can be fixed.
Review: I bought this gun for $250 when my local pb shop was having a sale. i bought a case of premiums for when i go to a field and a case of PMI seconds so i could break the gun in. and must i say: THIS THING RIPS. i love it. i went to a field yesterday, absolutely NO problems whatsoever. The thing worked great. Only bad thing (which i mentioned in the weaknesses) is the trigger+feedneck. The stock trigger is really hard to walk. Well for my at least. If u want a great gun for an even better price, by this gun. DO NOT listen to those other people who gave this gun a crappy review. its really a kick-@$$ gun.
Conclusion: BUY IT. its awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FALAT_WHMC Sunday, July 17th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months68 of 180 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse and Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Stock with HPA and Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Differnt Gun
Strengths: It was cheap
Weaknesses: Hose connections, frame, body, Setup,
Review: When I first bought my gun I though I had really made out due to the price. I figured that Smart parts had been a reasonably reliable brand name. I got home opened the box and found what I thought was every thing in the box. There was the wrench, gun, barrel, battery, barrel condom, manual and registration card. What did not realize was missing until I consulted a friend was the repair kit.

Looking through the manual I saw how to set the gun up and adjust the electronics. I found having to remove the grip to do so quite a pain and poor design. I understand since it is hoped to be used by tournament players and the restrictions put on those guns. Yet since this gun is only suited for random target practice in the backyard.

When first gassing up the gun leaked like a sieve. All throughout the body there were leaks. I called Smart Parts the next day and the rude tech-support was completely ineffective. I ended up taking it back to the store that I bought it. He looked at it and fixed in a couple of days in time to play on Satuday.

Took it home and ran though a case in the back yard getting used to how the adjustments affect the performance of the gun.

On Saturday the gun did alright it never achieved the 17 BPM. Even with a Halo B hopper. But as the day continued the gun developed a leak from the grip. Latter diagnosed as the solenoid. This is killed the day. I ended up with a rental for the rest of the due to the cheap piece of cr** .

Brought it back to the shop to get it looked at a gain it took almost a week to be told it had to go back to Smart Parts to be fixed.

When I finally got my gun back 1 weeks later it seemed to be fine for a while. Again the ritual of Saturday paint ball came around. The gun did well but I though I heard a light leak and then the world blew up a large leak explode with in the gun during a game. It ended up being one of the banjo joints. Back to Smart Parts it went. The break occurred so that the treads were stuck in the Ion Chamber.

At this point a have washed my hands of this gun.


As I read the reviews on this marker I shake my head and wonder how many of these posters believe what they are saying, or are they just trying to justify spending money on something that does not work as well or they are in collusion with Smart Parts in some way trying to make sure they continue to sell.

I can honestly say that the Ion is Smart Parts answer to the cheap Chinese made guns flooding the market, was is really said to say is that it was really made in the USA.

Smart Parts rushed to compete, but it really shows how little they put in to it. The gun feels cheap.

Described as a tournament grade marker, the Ion falls short on consistancy and sustainability. A long string of balls produces shootdown in such drastic proportions that I thought originally I had run out of air.

In my opinion, anyone insisting on buying a marker that was not properly tested, deserves what they get, it is people too lazy to research that allows Smart Parts and Brass Eagle to keep putting out lame markers and weak products. From what we can tell the Smart Parts plan was to sell to the 13-17 age group, relying on their lack of consumer savvy to boost sales on the ION.

I spend the extra money for a real dependable gun I bough a Smart Part Impulse with Vision. I am not agaist Smart Parts products. Just the Ion was a horrible gun.
Conclusion: With the total lack of quality and horrible performance I give it a 1. Some might say I had a lemon but after I sent it back to Smart Parts and gave them a chance to fix the gun. There fix just proves that they dont care enough to put quality into this product.

To add to the whole thing the price of these guns a haas take a huge dive. When they came out they were fetching about 250 -270 used on e-bay; now they go for about 202-210 used. Word is out that there have been way to many problems with this gun. I t might work for some but it could not have gone worse unless it exploded in my face.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
82 Comments - Add Comment

mashedpotatoe8 Sunday, July 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra (old one), System X vengeance 4.0, DM4, Alias Intimidator, E-Bladed WGP Cocker
Marker Setup: Ion, CP Ion Trigger, CP Clamping Feedneck, CP Reg, 14" Freak barrel, Crossfire 4500 PSI Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger, New barrel
Strengths: Price, Rate of Fire, Accurate, small, light
Weaknesses: Stock trigger, Stock Barrel
Review: Ultimately, this gun rules. ESPECIALLY for the price. At only $299, and $284 at most places, this gun seriously is a must buy. Even if you're not going to use it as your main gun, at least use it as a back-up gun. This thing RIPS. It's also very easy to maintain, and easy to shoot and enter different modes.

First Impressions
When I first got the gun, I couldn't wait to try it out. Everyone at my local field that had one loved it, so I couldn't wait to get home. When I first saw the box, I was pleased. The graphic on the front of the box is quite simple, kind of like the gun. When I opened the box, I saw that it was packed in the box very nicely, with all the parts needed to maintain it already in the box, including 3 allan wrenches, and a wrench, pretty much everything you need to do work on the gun. It comes with a 9volt battery, which I've been using for around 2 months maybe and it still hasn't needed a new battery.

First time Shooting
After Putting the battery in, I screwed in my nitro tank. I couldn't wait to shoot it. Once the tank gets in, you hear a little sound (I'm pretty sure its the parts getting into place to shoot and the air rushing through the reg)pretty much confirming that it's in and ready to shoot. I turned on the gun, then took the safety off (Press the membrane [on] button once after turning it on) and got ready to shoot. I had set up a target about 50 yards away, and since it was a day with no wind at all, so I began shooting. With the stock barrel the accuray was pretty much dead on each time, the paint splats being less than inches apart. With stock barrel, the accuracy was pretty much 70-75%. Pretty good for a stock barrel. I took of the stock barrel and put in my 14" freak barrel and shot a few more times. Accuracy now was much better, maybe 80-85% possibly. I then decided to see how accurate it was when I ripped on it. To my surprise the accuracy wasn't that bad when I was ripping on it, I think it actually went up to about 87-90%, which wasn't bad at all. Only problem was the trigger, I'm sorry to say, the trigger doesn't allow you to get up to 17 bps. Most you can get up to with the stock trigger is around 12 or 13. So After I was all done, I was very pleased with the ion, and then went to go get a new trigger. Once I got it, I thought that it was quite easy to put on, and went outside to go try it out. This was a BIG difference, and I think I capped 17 bps. So, in short, a new barrel and trigger are pretty much musts if you want to get the most of your ion.

Months Later...
I still feel the same about my Ion and don't regret buying it. In 3 months I've gone paintballing every single week, and I haven't had any problems with my ion. It's incredibly easy to disassemble and reassemble, easy to clean, and you can buy new bodies for your ion, I mean seriously =D . And in those 3 months I don't think my ion has chopped once, thanks to the vision eye system, it REALLY does its job well. I tell every kid that I meet that is looking for a good gun but doesn't have alot of money to buy an ion, and a lot of them have and love it.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I would recommend this gun to anybody, it's so easy to maintain, doesn't chop much, is easy to clean, is accurate, is fast, light, and small... Only problems were the stock barrel and stock trigger, but the stock barrel wasn't much of a problem. Get this gun, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

birdnal Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 2k5 SP Ion
VL Revy
47/3000 Crossfire Tank
CCM No rise feedneck
CP Rail
Phat On/Off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Trigger
On/Off
Egg/HaloB
Strengths: Price
Weight
Performance
Weaknesses: Shell may crack?
Review: I bought this marker about a month ago. I got it for $215 because I found someone selling them dirt cheap. I played with this gun the weekend that I got it. During play, my noid went down on me, but I sent it in to SP for a replacement. Under the warranty, they replaced it for free. I love how the ION is very light, affordable and it performs very well when you get it tuned right. The only weakness that I can think of is that the shell may crack if you hit it really hard.
Conclusion: I love my ION and it is a great gun. Everyone should buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 14th, 2005 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xyzt Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Stock Autococker, Rat Impulse, Nasty Impulse, Tippman 98, Spyder E99 Avant, Diablo Mongoose II LCD(chops like no other, never get one, if you do I will come to your house and kick the crap out of you) :D
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION with Phsycho Ballistics 7inch drop, Empire Reloader B, 68/45 carbon fiber wrapped Pure Energy Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing except a Fast Loader
Strengths: Everything-Price, Speed, Accuracy, Reliabilty
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: The ION is the best gun i've shot, out of the box it was awesome. It is one of the fastest markers I've shot too. I had an EVO 2 that was capped at 17 BPS, same as the ION. And i out shot the hopper, so I don't know. Thats why I'm getting a Reloader B.

Speed
I give it a 10 out of 10 on speed cause I must say if you can't hit some one with 17 BPS, you shouldn't even be playing paintball.

Accuracy
Everything you would expect from a Smart Parts Barrel, I mean they make the most accrurate barrel in the world, The Freak.

Reliability
Even though I've only had it for less then a month I think it's really reliable. I'v slammed it on the ground and there was a nothing wrong with, that i could find anyway.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun. Buy it I think it's better then B2K's, the Wrath, all guns in its price range. It's even better then my friends Base Shocker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 14th, 2005 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer1989 Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Trilogy Competition Autococker
Stingray II
Spyder Esprit
Pirhana EXT Pro 2k3
Marker Setup: 04 WGP Trilogy Competition Cocker
ClearEmpire Reloader
47/3000 ACI Bulldog
-------------------------------------
05 Blue Vision Ion
Blue Diamond Empire Reloader B
Same Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Durable
Compact
Heavy Duty
It has Ramping
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got the Ion for a birthday present, and I loved it from day one. The trigger can be adjusted 2 ways, which is nice. Anyway, I played w/ it about 3 weeks in a row, and the gauge blew, but that was minor. I fixed the gauge, and it has worked fine ever since. I used it in a tournament one day, and it worked fine. I had vision off most of the day, and I didn't even have one ball break. No chops either, which made me feel good. There were ppl there w/ dm4's and I was out shooting them on Semi Auto. The Ion was so lightweight, it made snap shooting, and running easier than w/ my tippmann. After the tournament, I brought air home, and was fooling around in the back yard, and turned vision off once again. I outshot my Empire reloader, so that is why I got the Reloader B. The Ion w/ vision on is also amazing. I have never had a problem w/ ball breaks, or chops, but vision is still a nice thing to have. Another good thing about the Ion is that they are able to be customized how ever you want. Not body kit wise, but parts wise. It is nice that the Ion is Impulse threaded. Since Impules are no longer made, you get parts (such as barrels) fairly cheap.
A lot of ppl will say a lot of crap about the ion, but don't believe one word of it. I know from experience, that the Ion is worth every penny.
Conclusion: I reccommend this marker to anybody that wants to get into speedball, and rec ball players also. The Ion is durable, fast, lightweighet, heavy duty, and small. If you are looking for amazing. get this marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tydog2424 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other Smart Parts markers
Marker Setup: Ion W/ a dye ultralite barrel, Halo B with rip drive, un-mont adaptor, CP reg, and a 45-3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well what i think u need is a new reg defintly- CP reg
a new Adaptor, and if u want a new barrel

U will need a fast hopper
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Barrel - once in a while i well have a barrel break
Review: All right I got this cause my autococker suck... do not get any kind of trilogy!
Right when i got my ION i air-d it up any i put a bag in it... I like the gun very much i only had 1 barrel brake. And the chrono said I was shooting 12 bps.. wich is pretty good.
After a month I work up enough money to buy a couple up grades.. So i bought me a new barrel- Dye Ultralite, and a CP reg. when i went to go shoot it again i put another bag in it. This time no barrel brakes and i was shooting 14-15 bps with my new reg! thats a lot better. I LOVE THIS GUN!!!! if ur looking to get one well u should get a ION they well work with ya
Conclusion: Great Marker, if ur going into tournys and u need a new gun get this!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DarkKnight207 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Prahina GTI E-Force, and a JT 3.5 E. These 2 put together does even compare to the Ion.
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion
Viewloader Evolution II with Z-Board
68 CU/ 4500 PSI Java Compressed Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel kit. But play with the stock first, it's amazing.
Strengths: Great board, hates gas, Very VERY Fast.
Weaknesses: Power button is hard to push and see.
Review: When I first pulled the Ion out of the foam protective case, I could not believe how light it was. The gun feels like you are holding the remote. I took the Ion apart, to make sure it was lubed, because some of them come from the factory unlube, and thankfully it was all good to go. I aired it up, and found a leak. The sound was coming from right behind the trigger. So, again, I took the gun apart and checked the hose connections, and the leak stopped. I shortened that process for you guys. I aired it up again, and another leak was found. This time it was coming out of the ASA adapter. After doing some experiments, I had to unscrew the adapter and put some teflon tape on the line the runs from the adapter to the regulater. The screw wasn't sealing all the way. So, after a while of messing with it, and getting frustrated, I would have sold it for $20 to the right person. I got up the next morning and went out to the field, and aired up the gun. All the leaks were gone. I shoved my hopper in, turned on the gun, and went to work. The gun performed like a dream. My Big Balls fit the barrel perfect. I shot over half a case of paint without a chop. At one point I put some Freedom balls in my hopper, and the barrel didn't like them. The barrel broke 2 Freedoms, but they were sweaty, so I do not knock the barrel because of that. When you decide to start shooting ropes, the Ion is right there and ready to do it, and the barrel puts the balls where you want them to go. At 17 bps the gun will keep the player at the other end of the field behind the bunker. After having some problems with the gun, the performence more than made up for them. A gun with no kick, a great barrel, a strong body, and amazing speed, it is well worth the money.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a step to the upper levels of playing, or even if you are just getting started and want a great gun, go buy one. Do some price shopping though, check Ebay, I got mine there for $250. Go buy one, you won't be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mif_aznslim Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E, Stock Impulse?
Marker Setup: SmartParts Impulse with every upgrade you can think of, all Newdezign parts.
3000psi 68 bulldog
4 inch dropforward
egg2Z
freak set
Wicked Air Sports equalizer
low riser
Pentium4 sticker on my Impulse (its running at 3.9Mhz LOL)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel... but I still dont know.. look at review
Strengths: Small
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Review: Okay, I went to Agape in Fresno and played a day of paintball there. My Impulse was headed to the fill station and my teammate wanted to play 1 vs 1 with me.. my brother-n-law has a ION so I asked him and he gave it to me. I first impression it was kewl looking.. kinda reminded me of Spider man because it was the black/red one. Anyways, me and my teammate went off to the feild and we count down and played...it was a Angel Fly vs a ION. first off I started to shoot lane...it was kind of usless because the balls flew everywhere so Lane was unsuccessful. I ran up a bunker and all I heard was balls hitting everywhere around my bunker. Luckly I has a opening and I saw him run to the left and I shot my lane again...I actually hit him this time but he was only 20-30 feet away. .. I recall seeing some balls start to cerve...anyways, I unloaded about 170 rnds the whole game... about the 170 rnds maybe 100 rnds were useful rnds. My bro-n-law said his Stock barel sucks so I gave him my progressive barrel (impulse) and as I recall the progressive barrel shoots nicely with my impulse..but with his ION it sucks! Im thinking its not the barrel.. its more of the marker itself. Cant do much with it unless SP or Newdesignz comes up with an accuracy upgrade.
Conclusion: the marker sucks. Good rate of fire.. but usless if none will hit your target farther then 20-30 feet. Im sure theres upgrades for it.. And im not saying its the whorst marker ever.. Its just that if you ever shoot REAL high end markers you'll know the diffrence between ION compare to High end markers.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media