paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  142  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  Last
        Next Page
ionkid1 Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, shocker, timmy, matrix, dm4, dm5
Marker Setup: ion, stiffi carbon fiber barrle set, hybrid clamp feed neck, hybrid contract killer grips, new designs rollar trigger composite, shocktech drop, smart parts dovetail on off, 30/47 crossfire aluminium tank, aka 2 liter reg, HALO B with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, reg, feed neck, barrle (stock is pretty good), on off, drop forward, body, QEV (quick eguast valve)
Strengths: sped awsome, accurecy great (even with stock barrle), small (very), light (very), easy cleaning, CHEAP
Weaknesses: CANNOT FIELD STRIP, capped at 17 (not that bad),
Review: This gun rocks. Just for 300 or less (got mine for 270) it is great. It has a good stock barrle, reg, and board but the body looks kind of strange and the asa is very long and bulky (get a new on off (z-drop)). Once i put on the trigger it was awsome. That thing can rip! All you really need is and drop and a new trigger and the gun is ready for a tornament. You also need to get shocker grease if you get the gun because that is the right type of oil for it (if you use any other oil it will screw up the gun). But it is very effient. I can get like 5 or 6 hopper fules out of and aluminium 30/47 tank. if you are not a beginner but you arent on a major team or play every day for 5 hours THIS IS THE GUN for you. Im on a team and i play every weekend and twice on the weekdays and in tornements and this gun is still extremely good for me. By this gun. Over all i rate this gun a 9.5 stock but an 11 with a new trigger and drop.
Conclusion: By this gun if you like to paintball or even if your on a team and you play a lot
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 at 5:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

x-isle-frontman Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Crap markers
Marker Setup: 2005 Smart Parts Ion, 20 OZ Anti-Siphon tank (Im poor till my Bday) Evvy 2 Y board, TEAM X-ISLE PWNS YOU ALL
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
HPA
Electric Hopper
Strengths: VERY VERY FAST
REBOUND
Accurate
Regulator
Weaknesses: Only about 800 shots from a 20 OZ
Review: First, off this gun kicks major anus. I was kinda weiry about this gun untill someone told me it was a good gun, so i bought it and i loved it very accurate. Also very silent almost like a cocker. But i would get a new barrel and HPA and a new Elecronic hopper
Conclusion: This Gun is AWSOME get it you will love it so this is why im giving it a 10 outa 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 27th, 2005 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cchanote Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K4, Impulse, Spyer rodeo, Spyer E99 Avent, Spyder Imagine select, Dragun TES, and Mangoose Diablo
Marker Setup: CP drop forward with on/off
3000psi 50ci Worrgame N2 Tank
Everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New regulator
Barrel system
Strengths: Shoot fast
Cheap
Best gun for the price range ($250-$275)
Eyes
Weaknesses: See review
Review: My ion experience

When we (2 of my friends and I) got the markers (total of 3 ions), we were impressed with the packaging. The box for ion is nice and everything is in it places; however, after installing drop forward, it is almost impossible to fit the gun back into the box.

First day at the field: everything went smoothly as the markers shoot flawlessly.

Second day at the field: one of the guns was having problem with velocity; my friend was not able to lower the velocity to under 300 fps. After 10 minutes of trying to adjusting the regulator, it finally shoots under 280 fps. I said to myself, it must be the hot sunny day and the cheap nitro tank that causes the regulator to go nuts (not realized that there was more to that). Another wise, the guns worked perfectly. After we got home, and we were cleaning the gun, my friend noticed that his gun was missing a grip screw, so I tighten the other two screws and told him to keep eyes on them and not to lose those screws.

Third day at the field: I did not use the ion that day; however, two of the friend did. One of the ions was leaking air from the solenoid area right after gassed up, but it was not a bad leak, so my friend ignored the leak and continued playing. The second ion then started leaking air from under the regulator, and it was a big leak. After a quick look, I noticed that the air was leaking from the micro-line hose and connector. My friend told me that the micro-line must have got lose when he was adjusting the velocity, so an easy fix was made. Back in the game, the same ion was giving my friend a bad drop off, and I mean really bad. The ion would shoot pew peew and peeewwwww and at the forth shoot the paint just rolled off the barrel. I noticed that the pressure gauge dropped to 0 psi; and after looking at the gauge and wondering wtf happed, the pressure is back at 130 psi (regulator must has been recharged). I was laughing my butt off to my friend, and told him that I will look at it after the game. After the game, my friend and I were trying to find out what would cause the problems and without proper tools and clean area to strip the ion, my friend have to finish his game early (but only 30 minutes left for that session anyways). So end of day 3, one leaking gun and one mess up gun; however, that was an inspiration for naming our team, we named our team the broken gun.

Back at home after the third day:
With good tools and clean area, I started striping the ion that was leaking air from solenoid area to find any lose micro-hoses or bad connectors. Then I realized that the micro-hoses was over lapping each other and would cause the air to leak out when screws the grip too tight. No big dial, an easy adjustment was made, and it did not leak air anymore. I was would have to give a negative to Smartparts QC people for that.

After finishing fixing the leak from the first ion, it was time to look at the ion what was giving bad drop off. The conclusion that we had at first was that the micro-line must have been bad somehow. A new micro-line was installed; however, that did not fix the problem. Another conclusion came to mind, the drop off must have been from the bad regulator. So, I replaced the regulator with the regulator from another ion, and the problem was fixed. We decided to open up the regulator (I would have to say the manual was helpful). Once I got the regulator opened up, I found that the brass hex was lose. A quick tighten of the brass hex, the ion was able to shoot without any problems. Another bad mark to Smartparts QC people.

Until now after 2 months or 12 games: I never had any problems with my ion (I only used it 3 times). As for my friends ions, I have not heard thing regarding the ions so far except that one of them installed drop forward and got the freak kit for it.

Added:
None of the gun has been taken apart without me knowing it.
It was an easy fix because I have been in the paintball for sometime; another wise, those guns would have to be return to the Smart Part for repair. (I did not said I am an expert; do not get me wrong.)
Conclusion: These are my experiences to the ions so far. I did not rated the gun on its shooting performance (because I was using stock barrel and cheap paint); I can only give you my personal experience with the ions (3 ions), and hope that you would not have to go thru what my friends and I went thru.

Added:
I am giving this marker a 7 because of the initial problems. I was hoping that the gun would just shoot flawlessly right of the box (need better QC); in the end, this marker is desiged for new entry level paintballers, they might not have skills in repairing the marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

aballernamednic Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyda imagine
Marker Setup: sp ion centerflag 47 3000 smoke halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck barrel kinda on/off
Strengths: Pretty much everything
Weaknesses: Kinda gas hog
Not open bolt
Review: Buy it now its awesome so far ive had 2 problems with it a leak which all it needed was to tighten the banjos
wouldnt shoot bad battery
this gun rips it pretty easy to change modes all you have to do is take off the left grip.
im gettting a scepter barrel system for it though and a sp q-lock
Conclusion: Gets a 9 because nuttting perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann9753 Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dragon intimidator, shocker, dmc, dm5, proto matrix, brass eagle marauder
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro with response trigger, halo tsa frontman led, 20 ounce catalina co2 tank, 11.5" tippmann werks barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward
Strengths: Fast
Lightweight
Cool looking
Weaknesses: Kinda feels like a toy because of the weight and trigger
Review: I like this gun because i think that it should definatly be considered a high en electronic marker and it is amazing for the price. i shot about a little bit more than halfway through the hopper and was amazed. i really like how the gun looks futuristic. It is sooo neato!
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want a great gun under 500$. Thanks to lance who let me use this gun and good luck for him in teh ny cup!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 27th, 2005 at 2:34 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

fatalityballer9 Sunday, June 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Odyssey o3, b2k4, cockers
Marker Setup: ION w/ CIP unimount, DYE sticky 3s
Recommended
Upgrades:
New ASA and Feedneck
Strengths: light weight, Crazy fast, relativly small, and
Weaknesses: the ASA
Review: Ok at first i was a little on the fence about getting an ION because to clean it you have to take the entire gun apart. When my friend bought one i tried it and i was hooked.
I immediatly started saving an reading up on it soo i knew everything. I then bought my ion brought it home with my friends 88/3000 and shot it a couple hundred times to break in the reg and stuff. I then broke open the handle and started to play with the modes my personal favorite is rebound. There is another strength to this gun its the only gun that for 300 dolars comes with ramping, my friend just paid like 500 dollars for a semi only e-orry. So all in all this is one of my favorite guns out there.
Conclusion: THis gun owns and you should buy one now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtreme_baller21 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
E Spyders and other Electric markers
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion
cp flame drop

Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward
New trigger
New feedneck
Strengths: Weight ( its light)
Speed
Acuracy
Nice feel
Size (its small)
Price(very low)
Weaknesses: Worst feed neck ever made, other than that its perfect.
Review: Its an awsome gun, for an awsome price, light fast, acurate, as far as I can tell there is no trigger bounce. Its easy to manuver around its size helps to keep a tight profile. It looks great. The reach is a little long for me but with a good drop forward will fix that. two other guys on my team shoot ions and are both very happy with them as well.
Conclusion: I reccomend this marker to beggining players as well as seasond players. Its a great gun for the price. It hardly ever breaks paint. Its every players 300 dollar dreams. I give it a 9 out of 10 because of the feedneck.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 30th, 2005 at 10:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrazyDriver84 Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha SRT E-force
Black Magic Autococker
Marker Setup: Blue SP Ion
Blue Q-lock
Blue CP On/Off
QEV Mod
Progressive Barrel
Halo B
68/45

Black Magic Autococker
Egg II
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Clamping Feedneck- A must
On/Off- Frogfeet are stupid.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Strengths:
Price
Dependability
Stock Ramping
Spool Valve
Takes gun out of the equation- Skill alone will decide who wins

Weeknesses:
Triggers Break
A pain to dissasemble and clean at first.
Stock Feedneck does not fit anything.
They say it can be ran off anti-siphoned CO2- It can't

Ions are awsome for $300. After some upgrades like a Q-lock, Unimont, New trigger the gun will keep up with any high end gun out there. There are a lot of guns that I would rather have, but it does the trick. I have done quite a bit to it and I have a lot more I want to add to it. It is a very good gun at a very good price. I had to replace the trigger because it snapped in half, replaced the eye when it fried out, and I replaced the eye wire when that happened just for good measure. I really like how it feels and shoots.
Conclusion: It's very good for the price. Pretty dependable and pretty fast. If you do not have the money for a better gun, then buy this one.

DO NOT USE CO2
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: SP Ion, Egg II, PE 42/3000 aluminium tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Grips
New power button (see body text)

Strengths: Inexpensive
Good quality
Quick shooter
Modular
Weaknesses: Dropoff
Power button (covered in the body text)
Looks
Programming
Review: I just played my Ion for the first time last night at the local field, after picking it up the day before.

My Ion weighed in at $369 canadian, which for what you get is a freakin' bargain.

A WORD OF WARNING: This marker should be run on HPA only. The manual says it can run CO2 as long as you have a bottle with an anti-siphon tube, but I've heard horror stories about Ions running AST'ed CO2 bottles and melting down. Spend the extra cash and get an air bottle. Besides not wrecking you marker, your shots are more consistent, and you won't freeze up your marker like your marker when rapid firing. (What's the point in having it if you're not going to rapid fire it?).
The Ion is a solid entry-level e-marker, with all the functionality a recball player (like me) could need. It's not an Angel, or an Ego, but you can throw a lot more paint with an Ion than a rental or your average mechanical. And if the present gameplay lends itself to anything, it's throwing paint.

And the Ion throws paint, albeit with mixed results. I walked the trigger between and during games while playing the back, and after prolonged firing, the pressure drops way off, to the point where balls are flying not even half of their proper distance. The Ion also fires only fires accurately at 1/3-1/2 field ranges with the stock barrel. Anything beyond that is a matter of 'spray and pray'. Balls develop quiet a curl or drop at these distances. This is probably correctable with a decent barrel like a Pipe, Teardrop, Boomstick or Freak. The up side is I probably went through 1000 balls, and not a single chop. The eye system works like a charm,. You also have the option of turning off the eyes to de-gas when removing your bottle.

I don't know what all the fuss about the trigger has been about. I really didn't mind it. It has a bit of side to side play, It's a really sensitive trigger too with adjustable travel. After playing mechanical markers, I wasn't prepared for just how sensitive, and shot the floor by accident a couple of times during pre-game (thank god for the barrel cover that comes with it).

I wish the strengths section looked a bit longer than it is, because all in all, it's a really well put together marker for the pricepoint. With that, I give you:

THE BEEFS

The first major problem I've had is the power 'button', which is actually a sticker. I don't know what the folks at SP were thinking, byt making a power button out of a freakin' sticker was not a wise move. They also got the dimensions of it wrong, so the button face doesn't sit properly on the LED/contact surface, making switching modes a right pain in the backside. It's easily correctable by trimming off a few millimeters/fraction of an ince from the back of the sticker so it lines up right, and calling SP Customer Service for some spares. You'll need them, because I got hit square in the power button with a ball last night, and it wasn't long before it was starting to slide all over the place.

<<EDIT: I'm trying to keep in mind that most of the headaches caused by all of this is the fault of the shop I took it to, and then lost my contact info, so I was was without a marker an additional month and a half after it was fixed. Badlands Painball Toronto, I hate you.

The second game I played, there was an internal air leak, small at first, ut as the night went on, it got worse and worse. Turns out with the initial design, they didn't machine the body properly, so the banjo fitting became compressed and leaked if the shell was screwed on just so. I'm sure the folks at Smart Parts have taken steps to remedy this, but keep it in the back of your mind.>>

Now for the small stuff.

The grips that come stock are not good. Considering Smart Parts also makes the Sticky Grips, you'd think they'd go so far as to slap a set on. Instead they come with a grip that cosmetically looks like the SGs, but it not nearly as grippy.

Programming it can be a bit of a challenge, since there's only one input, and you rely on the less than stellar power button to do it.

The look of the marker is alright, but the composite shell doesn't have the nicest look about it once it's in your hands. Minor issue. There are aftermarket bodies you can replace it with, and some are anodized aluminium which look really sharp. You'll still get the odd sneer from the 'gun snob' vet, but $%^# 'em. You paid less than half as much he did for his Ego...
Conclusion: This is a spectacularly upgradeable marker. After market companies are piecing together some really sweet upgrades for the Ion. The problem is, you might not want to. You can end up spending what you paid for the marker itself in new boards, triggers, regulator, drops, et al. If you're happy with the way it is after you put a new barrel and grips on, that's all I'd really put into it. If you want to go nuts and upgrade like crazy, I'd say just wait and buy a better marker. That's not a knock against the Ion, but why turn what's essentially an entry level marker into a high end marker, which I'm not convinced it can be.

If you play front or mid on a high level, this would be an outstanding backup to keep in your bag. If you're a back player at any level, give this marker some considerable thought before you pick it up.

I'm really happy with my purchase, but some might not be, earning it an 8 with the caveat that this score represent s the Ion straight out of the box. A couple of tweaks takes it up to a solid 9, which is what I'll give it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 18th, 2005 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

tuil123 Thursday, June 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy autococker (sucks compared to this)
shocker ( same)
angels
protos dm5s
timmys
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
45ci 4500psi carbon fiber tank
dye sticky grips
halo b reloader w rip drive and virtue board
qevs
freak barrell kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit
clamping feedneck
qevs
good loader
Strengths: Light
Fast
Cheap


Weaknesses: None
Review: I have been using this gun for three months now and I play speedball every sunday in a league and it owns I am the frontman for my team and I love how light it is I would take this gun over more expensive ones. I play against angels cause that is what most of them have and have no problem keeping up it is a good gun for anyone just getting into the sport or someone playing tournament paintball.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  142  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media