paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  148  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  Last
        Next Page
bluesgoalie44 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
non this gun is so AWSOME
Marker Setup: SP Ion
flam dropforward
nitron tank
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
dropforward
nitro
Strengths: The ball on ball target and the speed on this gun is awsome
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little loose
Review: i had a evil omen and it was the worst gun ever my icon z was better so after a wile i got an ion and this is AWSOME my friends has an impulse and this is way better. accuracy is the best it shoots like an autococker and the speed it like an angel by far the best bang for the buck I was playing forest with it and i got 2 guys out of the brake 300 feet away and every one at the field was asking and talk about it playing air ball was awsome i play 1 vs 3 and won and they all had impules's
Conclusion: this is the best gun i have ever used if u want a good rec ball or a tourny gun this is it dont worry about the other reviews say this gun suck if the Philadelphia Americans can use them so can any other person so go but one it is awsome and i will love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Pattawa Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers- very similar
angels
Timmys
Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion-black. REd cP trigger, QEV, CP on off, QEV, DYe sticky 3s, CCM low rise, Virtue Board J and J barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck if you are using a Halo B or an Egg
Trigger-VP scythe or CP roller Deadly wind body kit- thats hot
Barrell
QEV!!!!! most important upgrade
Strengths: Everything!
This gun is amazing and well worth the Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Trigger
Review: The good
Barrel- very accurate
Reg-very consistant Its Ion Max-flow 5+-
weight-2.2 pounds which is 1 kilo
the speed-17bps if you think that is slow leave me a comment and i will talk sence into you.
the range-very nice range in the gun
Vision eye- ive had 0 chops so far and 0 ball breaks

The bad
the trigger- its kinda weird btu u get used to it
The feedneck- i had to take 2 o-rings out to make my egg fit.

Overall
Barrel 9/10- mine came stock with a progressive
price 10/10
reg 9/10
weight 10/10
looks 10/10 IMO
Speed10/10 for a 300 gun
Range 10/10
Vision Eye 10/10
the trigger 8/10
Feedneck 7/10
Conclusion: i give it a 9 for the preformance and a 11 for the price so thats a 10 it well deserves it.GOOD JOB SMART PARTS!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 12:48 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

manson Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine 04 diablo wrath mongoose 2 reincarnation
Marker Setup: Black smart parts ion 14" all-american 32* flame drop ricochet apache 04 lady grips empire on/off 72/3000 compressed air tank with empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper halo b,eggy2 or apache (mine does good and will keep up fine)
Strengths: Rebound mode pretty good stock barrel will run at 150 p.s.i.
Weaknesses: Kinda hard to take apart has a duckbill i dont like macroline
Review: This gun is a very good gun for the price it is very efficent and will run at about 150 p.s.i. The grips on it are very nice the stock barrel is pretty good keeping in mind that it is stock if you get tired of the color then you can change it. This gun is fast on semi mode you can hit the cap rate and on rebound you can hit it and hold it there. The only bad thing about it is the disassembly but if you read the book then just follow it step for step and you should be fine
Conclusion: The gun is awsome its fast and efficent nice grips good stock barrel reg recharges quick you can change colors steel feed neck it might be hard to take apart but it makes up for it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AirSin2000 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
14 inch CP 1piece/Pipe Kit

P.E 72/3000 Hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pretty much the basics. Barrel, reg, feedneck. New boards are a preference. A new noid will be needed though. Oh and a trigger.
Strengths: Small, Light, Compact, Cheap
Weaknesses: Composite shell, tigger, barrel, Reg-decent but not great enough

Review: I got to test one of these despite me not liking them I wanted to try it and see how it feels. It may have changed my mind.

It is a decent marker, fast and light but it is it's bugs and the reason it is cheap is due to the parts it is made out of. The solenoid is poor. In order to shoot faster with a new board, a new noid is needed, about 40-50 dollars for a good one. The barrel was crap. Honestly, 285 dollars or not, a Pmi Evo has a hella good stock barrel and it is 60 bux cheaper. The Reg is decent, consistent but not to my liking. The Feedneck, oh man it sucks.

After testing out a better Ion, this marker has greatly changed my mind. It is a buttry smooth marker and is one of the best for the price.
Conclusion: Good marker for a price, just get the upgrades and it'll rock the field.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

cunn Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, More upgradability.
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion, Black Smart Parts Q-Lock, Smoke Halo B with ripdrive,PMI Pure Energy 68/3000 PSI Fiber wrapped HPA tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck.
Fast Loader.
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Cheap
Weaknesses: Sloppy Trigger
Review: I got my Ion about three months ago. Out of the box it felt pretty sturdy. I put the Q-Lock on it in the very begging. The first time I aired it up, it leaked alittle but it was do to lubing. The Ion is extremely fast. You can compete with Timmies, Angels, and Shockers. It will never be as high end as those guns but it still can compete with them. it has a different feel to it then most high end guns.
Taking it apart and cleaning and maintenance take a little while to get used to doing it. Once you have do it a few times its easy.
Conclusion: If your starting out with a low end gun and want to get into tournament ball then get this gun if your on a budget.
If you've played for a while and need something fast.reliable,cheap, get this gun.
Great for all levels of play.
It's easy to use and clean. Cheap!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkslayer Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blue spyder t-lx and Spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: Black Ion
47/3000 psi PE tank
Clear Evo 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel, Must
Strengths: Fast as hell, Extremmmley accurreat out of the box. Fun to use. Easy to use.
Weaknesses: Barrel, is just a chunk of alluminum in a bland desgin.
Review: You know what can you say with this marker. Quality like what the Pros get for a rec player price, sounds good to me. I have not run into and real flaws with this gun and it has treayed me well. If you want a good gun then you should get an Ion.
Conclusion: Cheap for great eletronics and eyes and feedneck it is jus a deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigTarget04 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion, 68/3000 Crossfire, CIP Unimount, Evlution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
-ASA
-QEV (Get airsoldier one if you need it now, but if not wait for SP banjo style one)
-Orange Bolt (if it lives up to the hype)
Strengths: -Price
-Weight
Weaknesses: -Possible gas hog
-Programming can be confusing at first
Review: Well today I finally got to at least dry fire an Ion. But before I speak of how the gun felt I would like to say the pictures on the internet do not do it justice. The ion looks much more nice in person than it does on the internet. Although the gun does look plastic, it isnt except for the body, it has a very well built feel to it. The gun I dry fired was set to Rebound mode and had the New Designs Trigger set up to a very nice postion so walking was no problem. The gun would ramp up after about two or three pulls and felt incredibly smooth. This was my first time firing either an electro pneumatic or spool valve type gun before and I was more than impressed. As far as I can remember the VA gauage was reading about 140 or 160 and I'm not sure what the Maxflo was set at. But the reg seemed to keep up nicely and the gun seemed rather quiet to me even though I was dry firing it. As far as kick goes it was next to non existent. Being as I have only fired spyders and a mag I was in a world of amazement to how incredibly smooth the firing cycle was and how there was literally no kick with each trigger pull, even at higher rates of fire.

edit: Finally have an ion of my own. I first got it and was totally not expecting it the day it came in. Once I finally got my uni on to it and got some paint to shoot I was quite pleased with the accuracy of the gun. I kept running into a problem of massive shootdown after a few quick shots. Eventually ran my tank dry and got it refilled this morning. Got back home and was able to use my eggy2 for the first time and actually see how the gun shot with a hopper on it. The egg didnt make the gun back heavy at all, in fact it feels nicely balanced over all. Stock barrel is suprisingly accurate and the stock trigger is very nice to me after some adjusting. Had to spend some time sanding down the feedneck on my egg so it would fit into the ion's stock neck (if you dont want to spend a good amount of time sanding down your hopper just pick up a clamping neck and you are set). I also took out the reg filter screen, which eliminated pretty much all shootdown (not to mention I think I was about an 1/8th of a turn from having the uni fully on, hahah....... such a simple mistake). The stock reg was suprisingly good with the screen gone. I was able to lay some nice ropes down, even with walfart scorch paint.
Gun is seemingly a bit of a gas hog, but hopefully some time with a chrono and dwell/psi adjustments will fix that right up. One more thing the eyes work flawlessly.
Conclusion: This gun is a sweet deal and for the money it performs as well. After seeing how it felt in my hands and how it fired I'm now convinced I need to buy one. So as soon as I do and get some paint through it I will edit the review. But until then I can only give 9 out of 10 since I havent been able to test it with paint.

Saw a little bit of kick with paint, but the gun is quite accurate. Hopin to get rid of that pesky small kick with an orange bolt. And if I cant cure my little ion of its lard like air cravings then the orange bolt and future SP banjo qev will fix that right up. Great buy and if you want a sweet deal with great service hit up rcxpaintball for one, just like I did :)
Still only a 9 out of ten though, good gun but not perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 12th, 2005 at 3:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

piranhaprokid Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
previous to my ion i ran a 2000 cocker with the usual ups
shot a few impulses
one ebladed cocker
tested an IR3 for fun
used a DM4 once
all the spyder clones and tippmans
Marker Setup: 00 RH cocker PE reg PE df 12inch J&J pro 1 3000/48 PE HPA tank
05 blue ion progressive barrel PE df same tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
cant comment mine is still runnin stock
Strengths: Short to medium range accuracy, efficiency, price, speed, ease of use, looks, durability.
Weaknesses: Not amazing acuracy, but good,
not amazingly fast, but good.
Review: leme start by saying that on a whim one night i went up and bought this marker from the local proshop. I was sitting right here on PBreview.com one night and thought man this gun looks and sounds awesome. I was starting to get a little board with my cocker and lookin for something fun and affordable to learn about.
bought the ion on a friday. played with it sunday. Out of the box i put 2000 rds throught it without a hitch. just plugged the battery in and hit the go button. Everything went great. at normal ranges i was able to hit nething i wanted. as for the long ball, save your paint. This marker isnt inaccurate it just isnt amaxing either. it was also quiet for being open bolt and all.
all in all i love my new ion. The cocker is a little jealious of the new mariker on teh block, but its all good, shes fun and everything.
Conclusion: If your new or experienced cant go wrong. 300 bux i mean come on.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

BC30ZTT Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker,automag classic
Marker Setup: ball detents, trigger, clamping feedneck, appache loader, crossfire 88/4500, empire 10 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck and trigger
Strengths: Price, bps, lightwieght,
Weaknesses: Trigger
Review: Took it out for the first time this weekend and it was great. i ran a case of paint through this gun and had no problems at all. it shoots really fast and accurate with no cut paintballs. its lightwieght and has no kickback at all. the worst thing about this gun is the power button. hard to push and see.
Conclusion: For under 300 bucks you probably wont get much better. shots fast no chops and really light
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

solidshot07 Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts Impulse
Angel Ir3
Angel Speed
Smartparts Shocker
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion
Crossfire 68/4500
full Freak barrel kit
Cp roller trigger
Evo 2/ Z board
bob long inline reg
dead-on bullet on off drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg
Strengths: Accuracy
Air efficency
Weaknesses: Needs a new board since stock board is ramping
Review: This is by far one of the best guns tha I have used in a long time. I have an Impulse but I switched that to my back up gun. This gun has incredible accuracy and air efficency. The gun is also very fast with a new board u can rip like no other. I love this gun and I won't switch for a very long time.
Conclusion: This gun is by far the best gun out there for the price i would recomend this gun to a newbie or an old time pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  148  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media