paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  154  |  155  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  Last
        Next Page
sc0p3q Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: `05 SP Ion - - Clear Egg - - 68/3k Tank - - FBM Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Quiet
No Kick
Weaknesses: ASA can get a little loose.
Having To Take The grip of to change settings.
Review: This gun is freaking sweet. Pretty fast. Can't beat the price for a brand new gun with a chip that goes 17 bps and has eyes. You'll love it. Extremely Quiet. No kick. Never chops with a better barrel. Buy Buy Buy Buy Buy Buy while you can.
Conclusion: Buy it. Cheap. Reliable. Pretty Fast. Rebound.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Kamakaze29 Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker 4x4
Shocker SFT w/Vision
Marker Setup: SP Ion
45/68 Crossfire HP Tank
SP Drop Foward
Halo B w/rip drive
SP All-American 14"barrel
Q-Lock feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Drop Foward
Feedneck
Trigger(kinda aint that bad)
Strengths: Price
Looks
Fast
Great gun
Weaknesses: Duckbill
Barrel(kinda)
Kids
Review: When I first got this gun, I opened the box and was amazed. When people were complaining that it has a plastic body and said its crap, that plastic it hard as a rock.
When I first took it out to play, I aired it up, it was consistant around 280fps. I had it on semi-auto and this gun ripped. All the people that didnt know bout the Ion thought it was some$1000 gun when they saw it, and told them it 300 and they were shocked. This gun is a great gun and would recommend anyone ti buy it. I've already put$500 into it all the little kids annoy me though, ans wanna touch and that annoys me. It's only $300 and shoots like a $1000 gun, SO GO GET ONE, you wont regret it!!!
Conclusion: For $300 its the best but youll pay up for it in the end when u hop it up but still shoots like a dream.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

npk8927 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've never used a gun similar to this other then firing a hopper's worth on a Mini-Mag.
Marker Setup: SP Ion(Black)
64/3000 PMI Nitro tank
CP Regulator (long)
16" SP All-American Standard AA Front
18" SP All-American Freak Front
WGP ASA drop-forward
VL Egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Aftermarket Regulator
Strengths: - Cheap
- Light & rugged
- Very quiet
- High rate of fire
- Easy maintenance
- Accurate & consistent
Weaknesses: - Pain to switch between modes on the fly
Review: Alright, I started playing paintball back in the fall of 1997. My first and only marker is the good ole' Spyder Compact A. It's the only marker I've ever used and to this day it still serves me well, but it's starting to see the end of its days. I did what every person with a Spyder does, buy a ton of aftermarket mods for it. Expansion chamer, new barrel, bolt, double trigger, you name it. Unfortunately after years of use I've got problems getting a proper seal inside the chamber now due to the bolt having eaten away at the housing. So I finally decided it was high time to purchase another gun.

Now I randomly jump back into paintball here and there, still don't get to play as often as I'd prefer, but I get chances to play heavily for a few months out of the year. I've been thinking about purchasing a new gun for a while now. For the past few years I'll check out what new equipment is on the market, maybe do a bit of research, and think I've settled on my next upgrade, but for some reason I'd always get cold feet. I've always wanted something that peforms better then my trusty Spyder, but most of the guns that do that just cost way too damned much.

So I guess I bided my time in a rather unintentional way until a really stellar marker was finally created that ended up suiting my needs. Low and behold I hit one of my seasonal time frames where I jump back into the sport with a group of buddies that have all decided to purchase Spyders. Well the temptation to acquire a new mark reared its ugly head once again. So as I've done before, I began to scour the internet and magazines searching for a potential candidate to satisfy my new gun cravings.

At first I thought, maybe and A-5, but the price was a little much versus what I considered to me an alright performance. I got to try one out at the local field, it was neat, but I felt my Spyder served me as well as the A-5 could have. Well the notion of getting a new Spyder came up (since all my buddies were getting totally new, completely supped up versions of my first gun). I had actually set my mind on exactly what Spyder I wanted to purchase, when browsing through some retailer's website, I stumble across a Smart Parts section. I thought to myself, I wonder if they still sell the old shocker (the big black beast) because I had always dreamed of owning one back in the day. Well I find out they've been extinct for a long while and have been replaced with some thousand dollar job. Then I see the Ion. Hmmm, whats that? So I check it out. Three hundred bucks, not too shabby. High-end marker for an unbeatable price you say, not bad at all, But would it be everything it's cracked up to be? Well after conducting alot of research (articles, reviews, videos) I got really excited. I finally decided that this may be the gun I'm looking for.

So I got my funds in order, found a retailer that had them instock, and placed my order. Now after having read through tons of reviews, I realized there might be a couple of upgrades that I should purchase right off the bat. With the gun, I ordered a new barrel (good ole' All-American), a new regulator (hearing that CP was probably the best on the market), a fancy hopper (Egg 2 was a good deal), and a nitro tank (felt good to finally move up from CO2, being an upgrade to me).

So I get my initial batch of new toys in, slap it all together (after having read the manual, which sucks, and remembering other screw-up stories of new Ion owners), and head out to the local field to test her out.

Well, after firing about 1000 rounds through the gun on the firing range, all I can say is I was in an utter state of awe and amazement. It was quiet, it consistent, it was fast as hell, and its was totally accurate. Now mind you, I've been playing with a Spyder for eight years now, and it never shot like this gun.

So I then jump in few a few games, and for the first time in a long while, I felt like I was unstoppable. Anywhere I wanted to hit , the gun would hit there. If I needed to lay down covering fire, I'd burn through a hopper in less then a 45 secs (which is fast enough for me). The gun was simply a godsend.

After a full days play and a little over a case of paint, I chronoed her in once more for a consistency check, and found I was shooting roughly +/-5-7 BPS. This is leaps and bounds ahead of my Spyder. Since I've been using it, not once have I ever chopped a ball, which is amazing to me.

I always play woods-ball and a requirement for this type of environment is a rugged gun that can take a beating. The Ion seems to me to be very durable. I'm not scared of damaging it in the slightest. Good maintenance habits are a must, but they are with any gun, but I'm pretty confident that if it gets banged a bit, you won't have any problems dusting her off and getting back into the fight. If you're into speed-ball, the rate of fire is fast enough that you can lay down a decent volume of paint, enough to compete with more expensive guns. ROF isn't a huge issue for me, however, since I try to play relatively conservatively. But I warn you, you will find yourself laying down more paint then usual ( so be prepaired to by more paint then you normally would).

Now having gotten to play a couple more times with it, I do realize that there are a couple of problems, but they can be overlooked if you are pretty easy going about these sorts of things. First off, the access to mode changing. This is my biggest beef. I've seen other guns with buttons that allow you to change the mode of fire on the fly. The Ion does not allow this (have to open the trigger frame). Maybe an after-market handle will provide this comfort later on, and if so, I'll be first in line. Second, doesn't bother me, but it bothers some people, the look of the gun isn't fancy enough for them. Now I've always played woods ball, and to be running around with some neon blue or hot pink marker is simply retarded in my eyes. Black has always been my choice and frankly performance is more important. If you care about a gun that catches the eye, it may not be for you, but if not, then this shouldn't be an issue.

I did end up also buying a drop-forward and an asa with an on/off valve. The stock duck-bill forces a clunky nitro tank to far into your forearm and shouldering with it creates a much larger profile then you'd want. Also, with the gun being as light as it is (2.2lbs) it felt poorly balanced with the duck-bill. A decent drop-forward purchase totally solved all these problems. Now the gun feels much better when loaded up, the damned tank is no longer in the way, and shouldering is much easier. The on/offf valve I really recommend, as well, to save O-rings.

Conclusion: After having played with what some consider (including myself) to be an average rec gun for 8 years, the Ion was a vast improvement to my paintball arsenal. I've felt I've really achieved the most bang for my buck with this marker. I realize that some of the hardcore players out there may think that it'll never live up to some 1000 dollar marker, and they're probably right, but in my eyes, the Ion fits the bill. If you're a casual player (especially into woodsball - with a need for a rugged marker) with your eyes on a serious upgrade, there is not a better gun on the market for you. Pick one up, go out and play for a day, and I'll guarantee you'll leave the field with a feeling that every dollar was well spent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

lgillas Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix, Dragonfly, Piranaha Eforce VTL, Spider Victor 2, Worr Trilogy Sport
Marker Setup: Ion, 12 inch XCEL barrel, Evolution II egg loader, on/off ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Locking feedneck
Strengths: Price, power, clean lines, and reliability
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I call this the poor mans shocker! Right out of the box It was shooting right on and at only 165 psi. The only problem that I foud was with the barrel. I was chopping balls at the end of the barrell due to a lip on the inside. A little bit of sand paper took care of that. Out of the box the gun shot about 10 to12 bps. A simple switching brought it up to the full 17bps. This is a great gun for tournament play if you cannot afford a Matrix or Angel. It is real simple to disasemble and clean. What other gun has dual eye, dual ball detent, dead on shooting, and 17bps for under $300.
Conclusion: Get it if can. Everyone is backordered. A great primary or backup gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

robdamanii Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker
Marker Setup: Ion, Crossfire 68/45 High Output, Stock barrel & Freak Kit, Evolution II hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Feedneck, Barrel, Regulator
Strengths: Cheap, fast, ACED, fully electropneumatic.
Weaknesses: Trigger adjustment is rather poor
Review: Post shooting impressions:
I finished my final pod and checked my tank pressure to find it at approximately 2750 PSI. A quick moment of mathematical genius tells me that the total gas consumption for 4 pods is about 1550 PSI of tank pressure. 4x140= approximately 560 balls, so youre on par for 1100 balls at 3100 PSI of pressure, and youll be at about 1535 balls at 4250 PSI. Realistically, you should be getting about 1400 balls off a 68/45 fill. The Ion certainly lives up to its reputation in this respect. ***Please note that I only used 4 pods for testing purposes, but have put nearly 2 cases through this marker thus far in testing.***
As I stated in the dry-firing section, there was very little if any kick with this marker. This may be adjustable and you may be able to dial it out by playing with the dwell settings, which I didnt do to any huge extent. The marker was a bit on the back-heavy side with an Eggo and 68/45 tank on a duckbill, but this can certainly be remedied. Once again, when turning on and off the eyes, the LED/membrane button proved to be a bit of a pain, but it is tolerable, at least without gloves. The trigger leaves quite a bit to be desired, but Im also coming from shooting a Joy Division Fly prior to this marker. Thats a huge difference to take note of. The composite and rubber cover over the regulator was actually quite comfortable in my hands, despite looking hard and uninviting. The grips are surprisingly comfortable as well, but people with small hands (younger players, Im talking about you) may find the grips a bit bulky and a little too large to be comfortable. This could be remedied with panel grips such as Hybrid or the like, but since I dont happen to have them handy, I cant comment on it. The trigger guard is a little on the small side, but it works for bouncing your walking fingers off of if you walk with your fingers straight. If youre using your fingertips, youll have a little bit of a problem getting your fingers in there, but youll do ok. The entire marker was just a little bit too long for me to get into a proper shooting position with (and I have fairly long arms) but screwing a 45ci tank into the duckbill brought it into a good position to shoot from. Id recommend adding a rail and on/off to this marker to bring it a little more into balance if youre using a 68ci tank, or even a 45ci tank, but thats personal preference.

Tech impressions:
Following the shooting tests and about another case and of just fun shooting and passing it back and forth, I brought the Ion back to the shop and took it to my workbench to strip down and check out the internals and the construction. With manual in hand, I followed the instructions for stripping down the marker, and the only word of caution I have for you here is to make sure you remove both sides of the grip frame to ensure that the board doesnt hang up on the screws. You may also need to slide the board out with your finger from the bottom to help it out if it doesnt slide out readily. Follow the directions very carefully the first time through and youll be just fine.
My impressions were that the internals (solenoid and air fittings) are of decent quality construction, not the greatest out there, but not too shabby either. As is known, the solenoid is not a Humphrey style solenoid, but a new style design which appears to be very high flow and quite robust. The eye ribbon, on the other hand, appears VERY brittle, and I recommend using a pick along with a gentle tug to get it out of the eye socket on the body. The air hoses are cocker style, but are nice and large for high flow, and the barbs seemed satisfactory, if a little bit brittle, even though I did not remove any barbs and test their durability. I followed by removing all the fittings from the body itself and sliding off the composite cover to expose the firing tube. The breakbeam eye board is a simple removal at this point; just pull it out of its recessed slot and set it aside. A quick look at the tube revealed the swivel donut, held on by a circlip. Removing the circlip and the donut revealed the rear o-rings of the firing chamber, and a generous helping of DOW 33. This also confirms that the Ion is indeed a spool valve style marker. The body is an interesting screw together design which makes accessing the bolt a fairly simple affair. The bolt, upon removal, is somewhat cheap in construction, but I dont see it breaking any time soon. The bolt was also generously lubed with DOW 33, and is an 8 hole venturi design. We can most likely expect to see some open faced designs of this same bolt, and most likely in delrin or nylatron which will increase cycling times.
When examining the ASA where the regulator screws in, I noticed that there was a fine screen in the ASA, which Im guessing is in place to screen CO2 for debris. This was a bit of a moot point, however, because upon removal of the screen and inspection, there was a fair amount of debris in the ASA already, and beyond the screen to boot. However poor in construction this is, it does attest to the reliability of the solenoid to continue working in adverse conditions (in this case, debris in the air lines).
During reassembly, a few things are of note. First off, once the air fittings have been rethreaded, the board is back in place, and the grip frame screws have been started in their holes, I would advise lining up the body, cover, and grip frame and installing the front screw FIRST, then tightening down the grip frame screws. Other than that, reassembly is the opposite of disassembly.

The bottom line:
Ok, so after all the tech talk and the shooting talk and all that.whats the bottom line? Ill list this sequentially:

Cons:
Trigger is very unforgiving
Stock barrel leaves something to be desired
Feedneck is not a clamping feed
The membrane button is hard to work with gloves on, and is stiff in general
LED is difficult to see in bright light
Modes of fire are difficult to change, can be confusing until you get it down
3 LEDs make it somewhat confusing to change modes
Composite parts may not appeal to some
Duckbill makes for a horribly long setup
Stock reg drops off at high rate of fire

Pros:
Good quality, well finished metal parts
Composite parts are of good quality with nice rubber trim
Comfortable grips and comfy regulator grip
Small, light, and compact
Hardly any kick
High flowing internals (minus the bolt)
Customizability (new shells remove in a matter of minutes)
Consistency with the stock regulator
Eye logic works well
Efficiency was very good for a marker of this design
Feedneck securely held a Halo despite being a non-clamping feed

When you consider the price of this marker, and what you get for your money, Id say this marker is about an 8 of 10. If you want me to tell you what to upgrade first, then heres my opinion:
Barrel
Reg
Bottomline
Feedneck
New trigger (when available)

Overall, for what you get, once youve had your hands on one and shot a few pods through it, youll be very happy. I usually shoot an Angel Fly, and Im impressed enough with the potential of this marker to consider adding one to my bag of tricks. A few well chosen upgrades and this marker could be a serious performer. So I guess the bottom line comes down to this: shoot it and see how you like it. Ive found no bugs in 2 cases through it so far, and no real problems other than whats listed above.

If you want a copy of the manual to peruse, the address of the manual is: http://www.wppseries.com/ion/Ion_Manual.pdf
Conclusion: Worth every penny of it's price. Smart Parts shines through with this fantastic offering.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

halo_2_addict Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
piranha r6, pro-stock auto-cocker
Marker Setup: Ion, halo b, 48/30 aluminum hp
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop foreward,
metalic trigger
Strengths: fast,
DOES NOT CHOP AT ALL,
light weight,
accuracy
Weaknesses: Regulator needs to get greased, in the first times of use
Review: the ion is a great gun to upgrade too from a low end gun, of coarse if your like me, and get a machanical trigger, this thing will just eat up your paint. it is very air efficiant. i can play back in a 3v3 on my 48/30 pure energy tank. this is worth getting. don't waste your money on an autococker, that doesn't even have eyes, or an electric trigger. the only thing i've noticed, is that since the trigger is plactic, i got shot in the hand and it has a small crack, so this may become a potential problem. so I would say get a metalic trigger. when i first took this gun out to play, instead of getting murdered by the timmys, and angels, it could lay down enough paint to actually get them to take cover. but unlike guns like angels and timmys, it doesn't shoot extremely fast, so you won't run out of paint as fast if your on a low budget like me. and rebound is the best. just make sure u don't get caught using it. for those that don't know what rebound is. its also called ramping. aka-cheater mode. then u start to pull at about 8-10 bps, it automatically speeds up to 17bps, or however fast ur hopper is feeding, and it looks like ur pulling it on semi auto. but also, be very careful when taking it apart, I made the mistake of not being careful enough, now i need to pay about 60 bucks for repairs
Conclusion: I would say get this gun as soon as possible. especially now before the price gets jacked up, or dye goes through with the lawsuit on smart parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jumpy Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Fly, Shocker, Timmys,Karnie's
Marker Setup: '04 vert pewter Cocker, HALO-B, ACI 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Strengths: Cheap on the $$$
Reputable company
Light
Easy to work on, comes with all the tools.
Weaknesses:

(editted -Caution...many gas flow problems, drop off in FPS, etc.)
Review: I tested this at a field where I ref. A kid had just bought it at the pro-shop and was trying to get used to the trigger (he was upgrading from a Victor II). He had a Empire loader and was shooting 32 degree comp balls.
I ran this marker for about 20-30 minutes. I dumped nearly 1000 balls through it
with just a few broken balls. The marker never was left hungery by the Empire. I engaged targets from 10-140' away quickly and with ease...this thing is so light compared to my cocker. Trading hands while gunfighting is a snap as the wieght and small size of the Ion is so low. I could get so tight into a bunker while being able to still shoot effectivly and with accuracy. The accuracy I think could be improved by a better barrel, but even stock it is pretty sweet. I was hitting hands, loaders, pod packs, etc at about 40-50' away with 1-3 shots. Pretty nice package right out of the box. You may need to adjust the trigger magnetics some. Upkeep is a breeze, all the tools and manuals are there to help.

Editted to add---the marker has some major regulator or valve problems. I'd wait to see if SP can work out the bugs or if as rumor has it they shelve the Ion idea.

Conclusion: This marker has some major air flow problems and setting up the programing can be a huge problem for new players and time consuming on a field. I'm no longer going to buy one for my wife, maybe another Cocker for her.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 5:00 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

forumsk83r Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyders.....HUGE difference, ion beats all
Marker Setup: system x drop with on/off (not small, not big, perfect size)
crossfire tank
empire reloader (eggy coming soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
better DROP/ASA!
maybe feedneck
Strengths: Very fast
Easy to use
Everyone loves it
Weaknesses: Duckbill.....who likes them...pft
Review: This gun just rocked my world....It shoots stream of paint, its just awesome watching how accurate it is. I was used to spyders and now this ion...made my day. I wont trade it for anything. It's ready to shoot outta the box just fine, keep the psi at 150ish.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN, you wont regret it. its going to be all over in the paintball industry in the summer. nothing beats this gun!

gave it 9/10 cuz of the duckbill....sucker
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 21st, 2005 at 8:46 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JD FGR Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: NitroDuck 88/45, stock everything (cept CP ASA on/off) Ricochet appache
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, trigger, feedneck. Stickies also add 20 bps.
Strengths: its like 300 dollars for 17 bps of DEATH!
Decent look
small profile
its awesome
Weaknesses: Stock leaves much to be desired
Barrel
Reg
Review: I love this gun. It aint no DM5, but then again, for the price of a DM5, i could buy enough ions for my 5man team. These guns are probobally the BEST FRIGGIN BACKUP ever. I have played rec ball with a less than par spyder. I moved up to the ION after test firing the DM5 Proto Matrix Shocker Impulse and Matrix. The ion was third on my list. I bought it for the price factor. I would definitly bump up the barrel, trigger, and feedneck. RatPB.com has some badazz upgrades to get for the gun. Mine are being shipped overnight tonight and i plan to rip once i recieve mine. I tested my Trigger on ramping and got to like 16 bps no prob. I was easily bunkering people without the worry of running too fast for the trigger to catch the mask of my opponent. I played well and because of the low profile, i could stick out 2 inches less than my friends Bushy. This is why you get an ion.
Conclusion: If u are going to get an ion...
Be willing to spend 400-600 dollars (tank hopper trigger barrel etc) and be prepared to walk a few dogs and babysit. This is the suburbanite 12-15 year olds gun, this aint yo daddys shocker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fstandfurous226 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested a 2003 bko, 98 custom, many others
Marker Setup: Black 2005 Smart Parts Ion
68/3000 carbon fiber Crossfire
Black EggII
Recommended
Upgrades:
Im getting:
14" Stiffi barrel
ccm no-pro feedneck
check-it products black unimount
eclipse QEV
new trigger

Strengths: Accurate, speed, easy to use
Weaknesses: Ummmm taller feedneck, maybe trigger
Review: This is hands down the BEST gun to buy out right now. The accuracy after the regulator is broken in is awesome and the speed at 17 bps is awesome. I love it and ive talked to people with thousand dollar guns that say the ion is just as good if not better for lots cheaper. buy it no doubt!!!
Conclusion: Buy it if you want the best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  154  |  155  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media