paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  Last
        Next Page
Riotnrrd Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year188 of 199 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing in the same class
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (Black)
Halo B (Black)
Crossfire 68 / 4500 HPA 800PSI Output
Shocktech Drop Forward #5
Custom Products 2005 On/Off
Freak Barrel Kit w/ Stainless Inserts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Drop Forward
Barrel
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Consistency
Speed
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Vision Eye Ribbon
Review: Had the Ion for about a week. Here's a short review.

Setup:
Smart Parts Ion, Black
Halo B Hopper, Black
Crossfire 68 / 4500 HPA

Got the Ion, took it apart. Wow. Not too bad. Comes with all the tools needed, disassembly and assembly took me about an hour the first time, going slow and careful. Manual is quite good, both instructions and engineering drawings clearly marked. WARNING: This gun is NOT at all field strippable.

One thing I didn't like. The small ribbon cable which goes from the solenoid to the vision eye assembly is extremely fragile. One must gently pull on the cable itself to release it, and it's easy to pinch in between the grip frame and the body assembly when putting back together (bad). Make sure you do not pinch the cable! A rubber band keeps it close to the air hose, so it's not too hard to keep track of. Still, design a bit weak there IMO.

One thing I did immediately, was to adjust the trigger. Yes, the stock Ion trigger is probably the worst part of the gun. Its made of plastic, it's got a big magnet which makes it snappy, and coming from the factory it has a large amount of both pre and post travel movement, which means it feels 'sloppy' . I adjusted it with the included allen wrenches so that it travels 2-3mm total, and the firing circuit is complete at about 2 mm. It's now fairly tight, and feels like a hair trigger.

Ergonomics are good. The stock grip feels very nice to me. Adding a 68 / 4500 tank, made the gun fairly long, which is not bad if you like how a rifle feels. It's also a touch back heavy. Probably a good thing here would be to remove the duckbill ASA, and add some sort of rail or drop forward. This should bring the center of gravity forward to an ideal location, and make the gun tighter as well, better for speed ball / cramped locations, but IMO it feels pretty good.

Gassed it up, no leaks. Immediate pressure from the factory was set fairly high, around 180 PSI (this is the upper limit of the recommended range, 200 max). Dry firing, checking the firing modes on the gun. pure semi, rebound, 3 round burst, and full auto. Hum. Pure semi is real hard to walk. Im a noob, but hey... I kept missing the firing cycle.

Switched to rebound. Short amount of ramping, meaning I fired 4-5 shots before the rebound mode kicked in. WOW. Now it's firing 17 rounds per second. Burst and full auto work as expected. They cycle about 10 rounds per second, which is slower than rebound mode in semi.

Fired about 350 rounds Draxxus Blaze. Accuracy was fairly poor at 180 PSI. Gas consumption was very high, on the 68 / 4500 tank. This made me think... hum, check output pressure.

Took it to get it chrono'd. Found out I was shooting very hot from the factory, about 310-320 FPS at 180 PSI. Dropped the regulator output pressure to about 150-155 PIS via the velocity adjuster on the bottom of the regulator, with the included wrench. at 150 PSI, was shooting 285 FPS, with +/- about 5-6 FPS. Occasional spikes to +/- 8 or so... think this will probably get better when reg is broken in somewhat. About 500 rounds so far.

I strongly recommend you drop the pressure to about 140 PSI, then turn slowly up from there until you reach the desired FPS.

Accuracy MUCH better at 285 FPS. Much, much better than Tippmann stock barrels. In fact, the best stock barrel I've ever seen. Not great, but definitely not bad at all, now that the velocity is set to normal levels. Gas consumption is now also much better, I'd estimate 1000-1200 rounds on a 68 / 4500 tank.

I've fired about 800 rounds through it so far, and I love it. It's definitely worth the 300$. I'll add more comments to this in the coming weeks.

____________________________________________________________


EDIT: 5/10/2005
____________________________________________________________


I've had my marker for a few weeks now. I've since made a few modifications, and wish to detail here what I've done.

(1) I pinched a vision eye cable in between the bolt assembly and the grip frame. If you're not careful during reassembly, you will too: so make sure the ribbon eye cable is securely rubber-banded to the air hose, and that it is not poking out when you put the marker back together. This keeps it from getting pinched when the marker is reassembled. Pinching the eye cable seemed to have no immediate effect: the marker still would not fire, unless a paintball was in the breech and ready to fly down the barrel. However, I did have two breaks in the breech / barrel. I was using crappy, brittle, old paint, so I don't KNOW that the vision eye was actually malfunctioning. The cable was not visibly broken but it WAS visibly mangled. I have since replaced the cable, and I have had no breaks since; however, I'm also using better quality paint.

(2) I busted an air fitting. The internal air hoses connect the solenoid to the 'banjo' fitting, which is a screw-type connector that screws down into the marker. The instruction manual says tighten till 'snug'. Apparently I misunderstood exactly what 'snug' means: this DOES NOT MEAN TIGHT! Just tighten it until it will not move under GENTLE pressure. If you over-tighten you will bust your banjo fitting, and your marker will be an expensive paper weight. To FIX this problem, I called Smart Parts, and ordered an assortment of parts; there are two sizes of banjo fitting, so I ordered two of each, as well as a new macroline hose, a complete screw kit, and a couple of screws to replace the ones attaching my ASA to the grip frame, as they had been stripped by an old allen wrench. Lo and behold: When my parts arrived, the air fittings were listed on the invoice but not included in the box! I was not pleased. I called Smart Parts, and they consented to airmail me the air fittings free of charge. Thus, I was able to play that weekend, despite the shipping snafu, and Smart Parts gets a B+ for Customer Service!

(3) I installed a Shocktech #5 drop forward, and a Custom Products 2005 On/Off valve. This makes my Crossfire 68 / 4500 tank sit MUCH NICER. The weight balance is perfect now, with the center of gravity for the marker just over the grip frame. The marker is no longer back heavy, and my accuracy and snap shooting are much more accurate. There is also considerably less fatigue over the course of a day of play, as my arms are not extended as far as they previously were. Its also tighter, which is great for front players or people who like to play tight behind cover. Finally, the On/Off value makes blown o-rings a thing of the past, and you can release the air pressure quickly for added safety or maintenance.

(4) I installed a Freak Barrel Kit with stainless steel inserts and an All American front. WOW. Accuracy is now WAAAAAAY improved. One reason I bought the Smart Parts Ion was because the stock barrel was said to be fairly accurate. Yes, the stock barrel is fairly accurate. But it simply cannot compare with the Freak kit with stainless inserts. I can get about a 6 inch grouping at 100 feet, in both semi and fully automatic firing modes. This gun is SICK accurate.

(5) The regulator is now much more consistent. I was experiencing spikes of +/- 8 FPS. This has now fallen to +/- 3 FPS. I've shot approximately 2 cases (4000 rounds) through the marker thus far.

____________________________________________________________


EDIT: 1/21/2006
____________________________________________________________


I've now had my Ion for about 1 year. I've played with people all over the region within about a 2 hour drive, on average once a week. I've shot many (maybe 20?) cases of paint through the Ion, I've played woods ball, speed ball, and scenario games, and I think I have a pretty good idea of how this marker will stand up over time.

(1) I installed a New Designz roller trigger a few months ago. I dialed the trigger way down so there was only about a millimeter of play before the marker would shoot. I started having problems with the gun 'bouncing', meaning I would pull the trigger a couple of times, remove my finger from the trigger, but the slight kick from the paintball leaving the marker would cause the marker to fire again and again and again... generating a fully automatic condition in semi firing mode. It was kind of dangerous, and I felt like I wasn't in control, so I backed it out a bit more, to perhaps 1.5 - 2mm, and now it works great... the trigger is still REALLY sensitive, which I like, but it only fires when I want it to. I constantly have to warn people who shoot the gun 'Don't touch the trigger until you are ready to fire... it is REALLY sensitive'. They never believe me ... till they touch the trigger! I don't play alot of tournament, I try hard not to 'rip strings', but if you want it, particularly with ramping... it is definitely there. I shoot too much paint if I let myself go, so I generally leave mine set to a reliable, controlled, fairly fast pure semi mode (maybe 5-10 BPS), right where I want it. This helps me shoot less paint without reducing my number of eliminations. Perfect!

(2) I've run into a problem with the stock regulator creeping up slightly in pressure if the marker sits without firing for 5 or more minutes. Example: the normal operating pressure for my marker at 285FPS is about 165PSI. If I let the marker sit, gassed up, without firing for 5 or more minutes (like when I'm creeping through the woods, or looking for the enemy), that pressure will creep up to about 175PSI, or about 295FPS... this is getting dangerously close to maximum safe speed. I think a replacement regulator might fix this... I've been considering a replacement CP regulator, but until I can find someone who's seen this problem before, and can suggest exactly why it's happening, I'm gonna hold off spending another 30+$ on a reg... the stock one is still great. I'll post more when I know exactly what's going on.

(3) Excepting the creeping condition noted above, the marker is AMAZINGLY consistent... when I chrono, my shots are ALWAYS within 3FPS. Every shot. My last chrono was 284, 286, 285, 285... the chrono operator is almost always surprised at how close in speed each shot is.

(4) If you hate breaking paint, buy this marker. In the past year, I have played maybe 40 days, with a total of about 200 games and 20 cases of paint. In summary, I chopped 2 balls in the firing chamber early on, I suspect because I mangled the vision cable when assembling the marker(see above). Since it was replaced, I have broken 0 in the chamber. I have broken maybe 5-10 in the barrel, and maybe 2 in the hopper. This means, over a year of play with over 200 games, I have broken a TOTAL of 10 balls out of 20 cases of paint, with only 2 of those breaks occuring IN the marker. How many people could say the same of their marker?

(4) This marker is so very, very reliable. I play mostly woods ball, but I also play rec speed ball and scenario games. I've played summer days at 100% humidity and 90 degrees, the night, in medium and occasionally heavy rain, and the snow. Over the past year I have sat and waited for almost all of my friends to fix their markers: springs, seals, pins, bolts, hoses, clips, you name it... it's broken in my friend's markers on the field. When I press the trigger, I know the marker will fire, unless I have made a mistake (not turning on the air, not turning on the marker, not checking the batteries before playing). Initially, I was somewhat nervous buying an electro gun for woods play. After the past year, this worry has completely disappeared. Due to the design of the marker, there are less moving parts; this makes it simpler and less prone to failure. Yes, the design works, and works very very well, regardless of your local field or conditions.

I recently went to an out of town game with 4 other people with a Spyder, a Tippmann A5, an ATS AT4, and a Shocker. When it was time to hit the field, I was the only one ready out of five people: the others were fixing their markers and complaining, stressed out, while I was smiling, eating, drinking, walking the field, and giving them crap. I truly believe this gun is more reliable than an A5, which is one of it's biggest competitors for woods ball and recreational play. In my opinion it is easier to assemble, disassemble, and maintain than any Tippmann marker.

(5) It's QUIET! The low pressure air, in addition to being gentler on paintballs, is also much quieter than a high pressure gun. I have an All American front on my Freak back, which is known to be quiet, but probably not the quietest barrel out there. People are always commenting around me 'wow, that thing is QUIET!' I like to sneak around occasionally, what some would call sniper, I call concealed position shooter. This gun will not shoot farther, or straighter, than any specialized 'sniper' gun, but it is extremely quiet, reliable, and accurate, so I'd definitely recommend it for this role. Sooner or later, you will be seen or heard. When you are detected, this marker also has the firepower to get you out of a world of crap.

Final verdict: This marker is truly amazing. I sincerely believe it will change the standards for paintball technology at the recreational level. It is not perfect, but I sincerely believe the price to performance benefit of this marker cannot be beaten in today's market. I've shot dozens of different markers in dozens of configurations in the past year... I have never once regretted my Ion purchase or wanted anything else because I felt it was better than what I had.
Conclusion: The price to performance benefit of the Smart Parts Ion cannot be beaten in today's market. If you are looking for a new marker, especially for woods ball and recreational speed ball, this is the one for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 at 3:10 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

truthseeker Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Fenix ACS - Slightly faster if you're good on the trigger; heavier; not as accurate; louder; no eyes - have to recock; neither prone to chopping with a fast loader
Marker Setup: ION
CCM feedneck
NW on/off bottom line
Stiffi barrel
Centerflag 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off bottom line
high quality barrel
clamping feedneck
trigger
HPA tank
Strengths: Price
Break-beam eyes
Easy to shoot fairly fast
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Trigger
Feed neck doesn't clamp
Not super fast
Not super accurate
Duck-bill
Review: First off, I wouldn't judge this marker as hard as some due to the fact that it costs about a third of what anything else does with the same features. With that out of the way, I think this is a great gun. It really fits the bill for someone with some paintball experience under their belt who needs an upgrade or a backup. No other gun out there has near the bang for the buck. I wouldn't recommend it for someone's first marker, though, because it requires a little more technical knowledge to work on than the entry-level markers. Not that it's impossible for a newbie to handle, just a little more involved.
As far as the operation goes, I have yet to see a problem. I have put every kind of paint I can find through it with NO CHOPS AND NO BREAKS. Some of this paint was absolute crap (i.e. Wal-Mart, 6 months old, etc.) and some of it was the best out there. The total so far is about 4 cases. I have yet to clean, lube, adjust, or otherwise tinker with the thing. No, this isn't advised by Smart Parts but I figured I might as well torture test it.
My impression shooting it is that it has kind of a lousy trigger, but not too lousy. It can be adjusted to be pretty decent if you know what you're doing. It's quiet, doesn't kick much, and it shoots fast enough that only a really fast, really skinny guy could run through the stream. Accuracy is good enough to get lots of hits on about a 1 foot target out to 120 feet with good ($50-$60) paint. As always, paint makes the biggest difference so don't be a cheapskate or you'll be disappointed.
The feedneck and the duck-bill get the job done but if you want refinement go spend 50-60 dollars and the problem is solved. Same goes with the barrel and the trigger.
Some say the power switch is hard to manipulate. Maybe at first, but it will loosen up. Also, if you can't see it, try just using a fingernail. It's easy after you loosen it up.
Conclusion: I got one. It's blue. It cost me $300. You might even find one cheaper than that. It doesn't chop balls. It shoots even crappy paint accurately enough to hit a guy at 120 feet. If it isn't perfect, feel free to throw a little more money at it. It's still cheaper than anything else that's worth a crap. Go buy one, play with it, and don't screw around with it too much. You'll like it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dotcom02 Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pyschoballistics superbolt autockcer , sypder compact, E-matirx, outkast
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion, blue flame dropforward with on and off , 68 ci tank, viewloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
No doubt about it -upgrade the barrel
Strengths: Eye works without flaws
Speed
Really quiet
Weaknesses: Barrel
Don't like the trigger but thats just me
Confusing settings.
Review: In my opinion, this is really good gun for the money. Its got a good eye, and electric trigger. This is by far the best gun i've used for under $290. The is is the best thing in the world. I never chopped a ball while playing. But the accuracy bits ass without a better barrel. The barrel must be replaced, and the trigger is loose and needs to be replacd.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 10/10. This is better than any other gun for its price I reccomend this gun for anybody looking for a fast and reliable gun. Sorry if i mispell anything, my grammer sucks....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 15th, 2005 at 9:00 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

iTsOnNoW Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker
Marker Setup: Stock ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
More consistent reg (stock one is okay but isnt very consistent)
Strengths: Light (2.2 lbs w/o tank), Cheap electronic marker w/ break beam & nice design.
Weaknesses: Velocity adjuster is on the reg
Review: I read almost every negative review about this gun and decided that it is still a good prospect. The negative reviews dont hold much ground: The membrane button is easy to work with. Very light weight. Consistent velocity stock. At 180 input pressure, the gun has NO kick-back (maybe more evident to me because I used a cocker last year). I think its gonna require a tourney-lock however, because I can turn the velocity adjuster by hand mostly due in part by the hose set-up I used for my dropforward. I used a halo b on my ion and blasted out strings of at least 15 bps in semi mode. Accuracy: I just used it at a practice and didnt do a barrel/paint test in the stock barrel but every ball was right where I wanted it to be!!
Conclusion: You wont be dissapointed if you have high hopes. No gun is perfect out of the box so have some fun personalizing your new ION! Pretty much the best $284 I ever spent!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 7th, 2005 at 6:28 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

GTPLetch Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp, b2k4, bko, image matrix, 4x4 shocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Internals, Fast hopper
Strengths: Fast
Small
Board Settings
Weaknesses: Horrible Inconsistancy
Review: Since i work at my local field i got to test out a new ion last weekend during a whole weekend of recball. Out of the box it seemed to perform great. Balls went straight and the gun feels very light and small. The "polymer" web type thing didn't look as bad as i thought it would. It actually looks great and is made to be easily swapped out.

I used a 72ci pure energy tank when i tested it at the field. When i dialed it in at 285 before my first game it seemed to be pretty consistant. Then 2 hours later i checked the chrono and it was hitting 289, 315, 280,279,305... and so on. This should be a quick fix in the future as swapping out internals would fix this. Are ions supposed to be this inconsistant? or do they have a break in time?
Conclusion: The ion is a great gun for a very good price. Personally i still think the impulse is a better buy as it comes with a better reg, better barrel, and better consistancy. The only features i liked about the ion was the board capabilities and the size. Its a great gun for the price but i would still recommend to save your money as there are lots of better guns elsewhere.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jr. Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Autocockers
ion Quiterier, faster, and lighter
Marker Setup: Ion
Richochet 2kx loader
3000 psi pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and drop also get an air tank because co2 is bad for it
Strengths: Accurate, fast,silent,reliable,durable,and anti chop system rocks
Weaknesses: None
Review: the ion is like the younger brother of a shocker.It has all the strengths of the shocker but is cheaper and more durable. ive never seen anyone play woodsball with a shocker or and autococker but with the ion you can and not worry about messing it up.
its a great gun and is really good for speedball, recball, and woodsball.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintballing or been in for a while the ion is a great gun to get because it offers the prce range for a newb and a fast gun for a veteran
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rspaintball Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
12" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Shocktec Drop Foward
47ci Comp Air Tank
PMI Rage Overdrive Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Very accurate with the progressive barrel.
Strengths: Shoots 17bps stock.
Cheap.
Extremely light (2.2lbs).
Consistent.
Weaknesses: No drop foward.
Uses a lot of air.
Review: Today was the first time I used this gun at the field and I was impressed. It is very consistent and paired with the progressive barrel it was very accurate. I like going out and playing with the local teams but today I played out on the village field.

The gun is fast. I shot semi-auto today and it was wonderful. I bunkered 4 people at once because I could fire so fast and keep them in the bunker, then got shot by my own teammates........and for some reason I was shot 4 times by my own teammates today. I think it was because the rate of fire on this gun lets you move very quickly down the field with little or no cover fire.

I didnt chop any paint today and it performed extremely well.

I will be out on the field much more often and will probably end up getting a season pass to the field.

Cleaning the gun requires complete disassembly but it's worth taking the time to do it.
Conclusion: You cant get a better deal for this level of performance. I would reccomend this gun to anyone who wants a reliable marker that will take your game to the next level. With aftermarket parts on the way the Ion can't be beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bparks140 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wraith - Tested , Diablo Bone Daddy GT - I Own, Both are acceptable markers but I dont think they compare with Smart Parts Ion. Severe problems with GT seemed to have mind of own but was good when it wasnt defective. Only tested Wraith. Board on Wraith says 20 bps but i had trouble gettin it up to 18.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Stock, 68ci 3000 Carbon Fiber Pure Energy, Ricochet 2KX, V-Force Profiler
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel & Fast Hopper
Strengths: Posted Below
Weaknesses: Posted Below
Review: Design is similar to shocker the ion is very light, very tough, and much better looking in person then in any pictures.

Strengths - Price, Speed, Range, Accuracy, Efficient, No Chops- Loaded 3 hoppers full 1 on Full Auto, 1 on Burst, 1 on Rebound all fired perfectly with no chops.

Weaknesses - Only weakness that ive noticed only because my mistake is when unscrewing nitro it felt like the thing was cement glued in and i read later that you NEED TO turn off ur ion and it comes off nice and dandy.
Conclusion: This marker holds up with high-end markers no doubt there. For the price and all the goodies your getting in this marker you cannot go wrong at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamspicy14 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much every gun out there- theres a paintball store 2 minutes away from my house.
Marker Setup: 2005 Blue Ion, White Reloader B, Dye Boomstick, 68/4500 Crossfire.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Locking feedneck, on/off.
Strengths: Easy to set, fast as anything, light, quiet, and affordable.
Weaknesses: Not metal.
Review: When I first saw this gun I thought it would be garbage because it is made out of a type of plastic, then I shot it. It is one fo the quietest guns I ever shot and even shoots smooth. I did not break one ball wjem I went through 700 paintballs. This gun feels lighter than any other gun I ever held and it very small which is great for everyone. I opened the grip up when I got it and read the book and set up the board to ramp at 19 balls per second in less than 10 minutes. It is so easy and well worth the 300 dollars!!!
Conclusion: If your not using a Speed or Timmy sell your gun and buy this one, it is def worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mastastealth Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
BKO
Marker Setup: ION, 45/45 crossfire nitro tank, egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(definately need new barrel a must), drop, nitro tank, and an electronic hopper
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Weaknesses: Accuracy kinda sux (stock barrel)
Back of gun feels plastic
Review: Overall i think this gun is worth every penny that it cost. I like the gun i can shoot pretty fast with it althought it needs a new barrel because right outta the box it is kinda inaccurate. I would give the gun a 9 but because of the price i will give it a 10 i think it is worth more than 300 dollars EZ.
Conclusion: I think that u should go out and buy an Ion there is no gun out there around that price range that can compete with it. For 300 dollars an Ion is a steal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media