paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  Last
        Next Page
SmartPartsIon Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Freestyle, B2k PDS
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion. Everything Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New ASA, Clamping Feedneck, Barrel (stock barrel is OK), Fast hopper (duh)
Strengths: Price ($285), looks, fast (17bps), breakbeam eyes, multiple firing modes, tourney legal.
Weaknesses: Not field stripable, Stock triggers not the best.
Review: Just as any player who has gotten used to the solid feel of a high dollar tourney gun in their hands; I was skeptical about the ion. I had heard rumors about it being plastic. Let me say its not some cheap plastic talon. This marker is actually really solid feeling. The only part that is not aluminum is the body and that's good now that I think about it. The reason I say that is if you ever need to dive or beat on your gun you can do so without fear of a costly fix. The "plastic" is actually a very tough composite material and the rest of the gun is quality aluminum. The programing is a bit tricky at first, but it's easy once you get the hang of it. When I aired it up for the first time I checked for leaks and there where none. I took it to the chrono and was shooting at 278 with about a +/- 6... not to bad. After shooting the gun my first impressions where this: very light and easy to snap shoot, good accuracy (room for improvement with barrel kit), fast with rebound. However I felt like the stock trigger was hindering me during semi-auto fire. Me and the owner removed the magnet and it really helped. I did notice a little shoot-down at high rates of fire, but not that bad. The eyes work great and I didn't have a single break all day. My only real gripe was that the marker has to be completely taken apart just to clean it. Besides that it was awesome.
Conclusion: This is a great buy for the rookie player looking for a great bang for the buck value. I'm sure this gun will be getting plenty of help from the aftermarket guys soon and with that help it could be one smokin little paint slinger. Is it truly the "high-end" gun sp said it was?... kinda. It won't be replacing my e-cocker yet, but who knows. Regardless this is still a great little bundle of joy for only $285. For it's price range I give it a ten... for it's actual performance I give it a ten also=10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

rebelace12 Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Marker Setup: Angel G7,V-35 halo, 68/45 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Strengths: Light,Cheap,Eyes,Rebound
Weaknesses: On/Off Button
Review: Overall when I picked up the gun I was impressed by how light it was. I then played several games with it and was totally impressed. I actually played with one that day and bought on the next I was so impressed. For the price noone can beat this marker. It has eyes, Rebound, and would be a great backup for your highend gun. Personally I am going to use this gun for those muddy days and when I want to have fun.
Conclusion: Pros-
Eyes
CHEAP!!
Quiet
Light

Cons-
Gel Button


I totally reccomend this product. For the price its unbeatable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-raqh- Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impys, shockers, mech cocker, angels, xmag, many spyders/clones (these things r nt really similar to the ion...)
Marker Setup: 2k3 impulse
old style AA
Eclipse DART delrin bolt
Eclipse magno blade trigger
CCM clamping feedneck
CP lightning drop
SP Tapeworm
SP grip

68/3000
egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
ASA/drop
maybe a grip and trigger
Strengths: Light, small, fast, comes w/ eyes, cheap...
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I tried and seen the ion this weekend, we made a speedball day in the snow and the ion took the temperature and snow really well, no problem w/ that so its some kind of reliability... When u got it in hand it doesnt feel weak at all, and it took shocks really well during the day...

First look at barrel, the interior is kinda weird, its like if SP have powder coated the inside too : / Anyway, accuracy isn't so bad, cant compare really but its ok but i find it loud. I would recommand an aftermarket barrel that would be more silent and accurate.

The feedneck has 2 oring in it. My friend halo b staid in place but he doesn't run, move, dive as me so i would definitely put a clamping feedneck on it... He also lost one of the oring in is gun case at the beginning of the day (he replaced it when he found it but that really make my mind that it need a clamping...)

I really don't like the original ASA but that's a personal choice, u can replace it by a drop /unimount or any on/off...

The major cons I found is that its hard to put the marker on and off (its a **** little push button) and there's no led or whatever so u don't even kno if its on and its the same button to put eyes on and off... the only way to kno what u do is by the led inside the grip. These leds r suppose to tell u what u do when u play w/ modes( witch r in the grip so tourny legal :P) but if u put a clear grip u might be able to see when u put the gun on and off and the eyes... ( but that's a supposition I didn't made it, it wasn't my gun..)

Now, my general impression. This gun is great, its light, small, fast, not much kick, doesn't need much upgrades, its reliable (yes, polymer/plastic is good!) and over all : ITS CHEAP!

Conclusion: The marker feel like a shocker in ur hands but not when u shoot it. Its maybe a little con cause i didn't get a feeling as great as when i shoot my impy or my friends angels or shockers... Anyway u cant ask too much from a 300 bucks marker.... Its still a GREAT gun for the money (the best for 300$, really!)...
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 13th, 2005 at 9:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tiniakoff Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impulse, shocker, e blade, timmy
Marker Setup: black ion
stock barrel
teardrop low-rise feed neck
check it bottom line
evo 2
3A 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
feed neck
reg
bottom line
Strengths: Fast
Light
Accurate
Small
Cheap
Weaknesses: Stock feed neck it too tight on halo's and evo's
Bottom line
Review: This gun is a great gun. It shoots fast and it shoots accurate. This gun is a great gun if you are a front man because its a light gun and it is easy to snap. But the best part about this gun is its cheap!!! You should get one!!!
Conclusion: Its a great gun and you should get one if you dont already have one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Maste Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impulse
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
egg 2
98ci. 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
new barrel
comp. air


Strengths: Fast
Light
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a nice gun i just bought yesturday and used to day and this things rippes i love it. U can change the fire modes. this gun can fly like a bird and sting like a bee. At the field i was shooting every one up at the field today and it dose not shoot to hard so friends will like it.
Conclusion: Nice gun for the money. go out and buy. I give a 10 10 10 10 10 if i could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lbreevesii Saturday, March 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bko, cockers, trixes, timmies, etc.
Marker Setup: 2004 ICD BKO
vapor bolt
vapor valve
cp flame drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
barrell
feedneck
Strengths: Price to performance ratio
Weight
Interchangable bodies
Ramping
Eyes
Weaknesses: Material quality
17bps capped board
Review: I finially got my ion the other day.
for the price it is impossible to beat imo.
when properly set up it can shoot the full 17bps with ease
stock barrell is decent, it still shot my paint even though the paint was too big for the bore.

one issue that has come up in my experience as well as in others is the quality of the alloy used for the gripframe. it is imo too soft. threads can be fairly easiliy damaged if one i snot careful.

for the money, this gun is absolutely awesome. i'm sure that in the next few months the gun will get even better. aftermarket parts will make this platform one of the most popular of all time(which it is already).

it is already light at 2lbs 2oz, but with aftermarket parrts the guns weight can easily drop to < 2lbs.

I say go out and buy one. its a platform that can be loved by the pro and the novice alike. with upgrades that will soon be avalible it can be more than a formitable platform for any player.
Conclusion: Wonderful gun for the money, great performance.

Go out and pick one up. you'll be glad you did.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cisco Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: stock 98 custom

stock smart parts ion with evo2 egg and crossfire nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit tho the stock is fine as stocks go.
Strengths: Price and performance

Shoot alot of paint fast an accurately
Weaknesses: Dissassembly
Review: The Smart parts Ion.

Well its been a couple of weeks since I got mine. After extensive study of the user manual I decided it was time to take it apart and clean it .After two weeks of extensive play I figured it needed it, even though I was not seeing any lack of performance.

The first thing I noticed was that it was pretty aggravating getting the screw out of the e grip that is beside the trigger .and I really can not think of anything other than a short Alan wrench that might help that problem. Unless making a notch in the trigger guard could be an option.


The next fearsome thing was the point in which your supposed to gently roll back the upper body guard and bolt assembly. The first time I rolled back mine the back banjos seemed to be stuck in the body. After gently getting that out you soon notice that everything is in a pretty logical order inside the gun . I didnt note anything that wouldrequire you to gently roll the body back there is a short hose connected to the back banjo fitting, but that seems to be made to withstand the abuse of bending as you move the bolt assembly into a position that you can remove it .

I did manage to get a lil bit of paint on the foil that surrounds the eyes as well as a lil bit on the eyes themselves . A remedy which smart parts says is as simple as wiping down with a damp cloth which I did.

The only thing that smart parts tells you to oil is the 4 o rings two on the bolt and two on the bolt stop.

The front banjo that is directly over the regulator does not need to be removed in order to do the standard maintence of cleaning .


After cleaning and reassembly which went without much comment I decided to check the rate of fire adjustment ,which I found to be set considerably lower than the max .after cranking the rate of fire up to max I then took it down about 10 clicks and could hear not just a noticeable difference but a very substantial difference in the rate of fire. I will find out this weekend if the hopper is able to sustain these rates of fire .

The flashing lights on the side of the ion that tell you what mode you are in , can be a bit confusing.When you turn the ion on you should automaticaly be in the mode that the eyes are on showing a single slow blinking light in the on off switch. however if you already have a ball in the position to fire the light flashes a continous flash. which suppose to signify an obstruction or paint on the eyes. this is very similar to the flashes that the ion uses to show that the eyes are off which seem to me to be also a fast series of flashes.






Conclusion: Good solid made gun . Nothing cheep feeling about it .
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

XBrawll Thursday, March 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shockers (theold brick looking ones), Angels, e-cockers, e mags, B2k's, defiants, etc
Marker Setup: Cocker Trilogy w/ stiffi 14" barrel

Ion w/ trinity drop forward, egg w/ Y-Board, PMI 47/3000 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for certain
Strengths: Affordable, It's F'in fast, light weight, good looking marker, quiet
Weaknesses: The barrel, it's stock and it's kinda ugly, difficult to set up
Review: Ok so I pull this thing out of the box yesterday and I'm immediately impressed by the size weight (or lack there of) and looks of this thing. So after getting the barrel on and what ever I start to mess around with it a little, not such a good idea. If you've never dealt with a smart parts marker and the way they do things, it's a good idea to READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST. The gun is a little on the complicated side, but once you get the gist of it from the manual (which could have been written a little better) it's pretty easy to use.
So after getting the rebound set to around 15 bps (I think) which is the limit set forth by the PSP, l gassed it up and fired a bit. All I can say is WOW. This gun totally rips and is worth the $285 if not more. I have fired many "E-Guns" and I have to say that this keeps up, and even though it's not at 20-30 bps, who can actually shoot that fast anyway.
The only major flaws I see in this marker is it's user interface as you have to remve the grip for any setting changes you wish to make (and it requires a phillips screw driver) and the amount of break down it takes to clean it. Oh well, what are ya gonna do?
Conclusion: All in all I think that this marker will do well in either Rec or Tournament play. I have personally played a lot of tournaments with a lot of different markers and I would carry tis one on to any field against any opponent. The only reason I will not give this gun a 10 is because of the flaws mentioned above, but other than that I am more than satisfied with this marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Delta_O99 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A bomb Timmy
Matrix
Marker Setup: SP ION
Egg
DOP Drop
68/3000 Pure Energy HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, stock isnt bad but yeah
trigger
Strengths: Fast for the price
Soild
Durable
Vision
Weaknesses: On/Off button is hard to puch
Not easy to take apart
Review: This gun is the best bang for the buck. I just got it and i have to say that i am happy with my puchase. The gun feels very well constructed and very soild. The composite shell doesn't fell like plastic. It is very very soild. And the riges on it are made out of rubber which is kinda cool. The trigger kinda sux, needs a blade on it. The barel is pretty good. stock is stock, it is pretty loud but i have heard louder. This weekend i am going out to the field to see how it does under fire. I do have to say. this gun os for pros and noobs alike, anyone can rip on an ion, and when the after market boards and parts start comming out for it this is going to be seen everywhere. SP did a good job. Best bang for the buck.
Conclusion: This is wel worth the money. Put a drop, new barrel and trigger and u are ready to rock. Thats why it is a
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 15th, 2005 at 1:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ovaduboc Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GSX,Spyder Xtra,Spyder TLX,Autococker Pro Stock,Piranha GTI
Marker Setup: Piranha GSX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper, Maybe a barrel, Drop Forward ( A Must!)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got to test my friends ion and i gotta say its a pretty good marker but ill start from the beggining. The first thing i noticed was how small it was which is a good and a bad thing in some ways. The next thing i noticed was that it has a magnetic trigger (which means it doesnt make a click sound "for all of us who like to play with the trigger when we have nothing else better to do") but no biggie. A lot of people considering this gun wonder if you can use C02, yes you can but you have to use an anti siphon tube on your tank other wise the ion will get really cold and probably freeze. This gun shoots extremely fast on semi and also has an adjustable trigger.

Strengths

Gun is REALLY FAST on semi
Sturdy
Looks
Accurate

Weakness

Plastic outer shell
Screws mine as well be welded to air line and drop forward
ELECTRONICS ARE NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO OPERATE "MEANING TO GET IT ON OTHER FIRING MODES IS REALLY HARD"
On and off button is cleverly disguised
cant operate on C02 efficiantly
Conclusion: Overall this is a good gun for 300 dollars it is awsome but you better read the manuel like it is the Bible because otherwise you will have no clue what your doing but keep in mind i only tested and do not own marker but i would suggest it to intermediate players and only some begginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media