paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
Haildementedape Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
very upped spyders
feels like a shocker
Marker Setup: 2004 Texas Storm Intimidator
68 4500 PMI
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Different body once they come out
New trigger
Strengths: Very Cheap
Light
Fast
Weaknesses: None that I noticed
Review: I have been waiting for someone to show up at the field with one of these for a few weeks, finally someone did, it was just a basic setup, gun had an egg with z-board and a 45 4500 tank. I got some paint to play a game with it, and it shot awesome, I was expecting a lot less from this gun, but it really was good. By no means is this thing equal to a shocker or high end gun as such, but definitely better than any bko or anything in that price range. The kick is nothing, the ramping is fun, the gun is light, etc...
Conclusion: This gun only deserves a 9/10, but since we seem to have people in here who just hate SP and want to drag the guns reputation down, ill give a...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Everlight389 Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Trigger
ASA (stock works, but it's a duckbill)
Strengths: - Cheap ($285)
- Simple, effective operation
- Good internals
- Durability
- Easy assemby/disassembly
- Eyes
- Small and light
Weaknesses: - Peripherals (trigger, feedneck, barrel)
- Eye wire
- Not exactly field strippable
Review: Strengths:

Cheap. For $285 your getting low pressure, 17 balls per second, and good eyes. Sweet.

Simple yet effective operation. Very simple, easy to clean/lube, reliable, and has virtually no kick whatsoever. I've shot a shocker and the ion, and I have to say that they were both almost identical except that the shocker is capable of faster rates of fire stock than the ion is (and is about $400 more).

Good internals. For the money, all the internals are pretty good. Because of the simple operation their tolerances are pretty high. Bolt is very easy to clean/lube and is fairly well made.

Durability. Electronics are well hidden inside the marker, and as seen in plenty of pictures are not effected by water. The only downside of it is that changing the modes/settings is somewhat difficult, but in turn they are well protected.

Easy dis-assembly/re-assembly. Easy to clean, lube, and put back together. 'nuff said.

Eyes. That's right kids, break beam eyes. So no chopping. Ever. It's bolt can also be soft enough to pinch paint, provided that you can get the pressure low enough.

Small and light. With the barrel it weighs 2.2 pounds, and is shorter than practically all other guns on the market.

Weaknesses:

Peripherals. Trigger, feedneck, and barrel all need to be replaced. But, for the price, it's not really a terrible thing. The trigger is too stiff without adjustment, and feels kinda "plasticy" to me. The feedneck actually fits a HaloB fairly well, but a clamping is better than o-rings. And the barrel sometimes is good, sometimes it's not, but replacing them is practically standard now.

Eye wire. The internal eye wire feels really fragile. I have not broken it, but it just feels and looks like it could break if strained very much.

Not field strippable. Because of the shell design you can't exactly pull the bolt out the back to clean/lube it. Normally a swab will do all the cleaning you need at the field, but it would be nice to be able to pull it out the back. Some shells in the future could have this option (as it would be easy enough to do).
Conclusion: For the money, I think it's the best out there as of this moment. Because of the price/performance ratio it makes a good gun no matter where it is in your arsenal. The peripherals aren't the greatest, but they can be used stock. Having shot a proto matrix and this (both spool valve types), I have to say that the extra money is worth it if you have it, but the ion provides very good performance for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 7th, 2005 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannrocker Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirahna evo
diablo wrath
Marker Setup: stock ion
nitro
12v revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: Does not chop balls at all
Fast
Consistant
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought my ion and right out of the box it looks kinda like a shocker.its light and well balanced its fast consistant and the break beam eyes are awesome they keep the gun from chopping any balls i played a tourney today and i didnt have to bring out my battle swab i love this gun
Conclusion: Get this gun its better than the wrath and the evo if your looking for a good gun at a good price then this is your gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrendelZ Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X cocker,Shocker,Evil Pimp,various Spyders
Marker Setup: SP Ion/black,88ci PMI tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop or rail with on/off,Clamping feed,Barrel kit,new trigger
Strengths: PRICE PRICE PRICE!!!!
amount of performance for the money
Size,Weight
Weaknesses: Some parts are cheap(to be expected)
Review: Well after all the hype I finally put my Ion on the field and tortured it.Let me say that it performed flawlessly.Ran 2000 balls through it and not 1 chop,NOT 1.This gun ran smoother than any I have ever played with,I mean not one problem.

The only downside is that some of the parts are cheap but this is to be expected for the price.Specifically the trigger is plastic,it feels kind of clunky,I have read a few complaints of them breaking if shot.The barrel is only a one piece,but it actually performs pretty well.And I am not a big fan of Oring feednecks,I lost the top oring after pulling the hopper out the first time.

The pluses definitely outweigh the minuses though.Its fast,not the fastest,but it gets the job done.Its very small and light,but with the duckbill and tank it makes it a little long.Accuracy is good,but will be better with a better barrel.The breakbeam eyes work great,not 1 chop all day.
Conclusion: Smart Parts have really outdone themselves here.Although its not a true high end gun,it has some very nice features for the money,as a matter of fact you wont touch it for the price.I absolutely love mine and encourage you to try one out.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Goozdude Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse.matrix,shocker,timmies(vairouse ones),angels,cockers(ebladed and not)aka guns
Marker Setup: stock ion till they make ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
regulator
barrel
feed kneck
trigger(some are comeing through look for em)
Strengths: light
fast
price
vision
good OTB performance
simple design
Weaknesses: Listed in review
Review: I got my gun online for pbnation after doing my reserch i recomend if anyone buys this or any gun to do the same i got this gun did the neccissary otb tweeks such as take the metal filter out of the reg which is where the ref screws to the gun and also take the stock macro out and replace with a wider macro the stock one is like smaller than anything ive ever seen.

i got excited took the gun out and aired it up started shooting not bad speed went fast then i programed the board with a little trial and error got it to the rebound mose that significantly increases the Rate of fire in the gun allowing you to do almost anything up to its current 17bps cap happy i went to the local shop bought 2 cases of paint and drove off to the good ol paintball field after a few minuts waiting for them to set everything up i showed it to everyone who seemed to like the wight and how everything was together on the gun externaly and putting down the fact THE GUN IS NOT MADE OF PLASTIC THE ONLY PARTS THAT ARE:TRIGGER,BODDY SHELL rest of it is aluminum and theres a derlyn bolt we all want that anyways got it out to crono i wa useing crappy paint so i wasent expecting the best consistancy and pulled a 8-10+/- fps it could have been worse but im not gunna expect the best performance out of 25 dollar paint but i continued to play that day it shot perty good out of 3000 balls not 1 chop or break throught the gun and it was being ran at 150psi so for anyone saying it was busting balls i didnt notice any so i guess im either lucky or they had a weak battery or really big ball to bore match but anyways gun is remarkably quiet and can at high speed keep its balls flying the same way the first one did so i experienced no shootdown at all one pain i had all day is that when the rebound kicked in i kept catching myself slowing my fingers below 4bps and then it would just slow down but after a bit of training myself it stayed high again average 13-15bps ide say this gun is perty good for 300 ide take it over my gz timmy any day solely because its lighter and more efficent i was getting a hopper and 3 pods on 2500 psi cause they wernt filling my tank right cause the 3000 psi fill station wwas out and they were useing the 4500psi to fill my tank but overall good performance i didnt tamper with the dwell which i probably should have but i was more interested in playing and 3 extra pods is good enough for i think the ion is moslty for mid-front players but i can see a backman useing this if he has to
Conclusion: Overall for 300 bucks you get a great gun although it requiers a bit of tinkering like most guns you wont be ashamed to use it if you are a high end gun user and those who are new to the sport can have a gun that will alow them to enjooy the game like everyone else with the requiered experieance so if you are looking for a new gun ise either recomend this or a low priced matrix since they are around 400 now but its your choice a gun with anti-chop system or one without but i recomend befor you play with this gun do the following

TAKE OUT THE METAL FILTER ABOVE THE REGULATOR IF YOU ARE USING AND ONLY USEING HP AIR TANKs

change out the stock macro
put it on rebound
u can but it its not requiered get a new reg cp is prolly your best buy
get a barrel mine wasent the best ive ever shot through but barrel systems are things people need anyways so get em

i rank this gun a 8 beacuse obviously its not the best but nor is it the worst for the fact that it is a good gun and ime using it now as my main and only gun but ill get a shocker and use this as my backup
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

DeViL Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ironmen timmy, aced angels, e-class cockers, visioned shockers, ..any high end visioned gat.
Marker Setup: Ironmen Intimidator
pbk stick trig, dual regs, was 2.8, check it clamp, hi-flow barbs, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
uni-mount/rail system (any on/off system)
feedneck
barrel (but the stock traces lines)
Strengths: Simple
Cheap
Breakbeams
Ramping board
Lightweight and small profile
great out of box
Weaknesses: Full dissassembly to maintain
Capped at 17 bps (feels really slow)
The worst trigger ever
Review: i was one of the most skeptical people when reading ont his marker. i figured it would be crap out of box and at most be used as a backup....at worst for 300 bucks id shoot marbles and rocks out of it. let me say one thing: this thing delivers.

i brought it to outlaw paintball, in so-cal, to try it out with various teams and friends. everyone loved it, novice to pro. even one of my more skeptical friends, my old team captain of dpb factory west admitted to despising the fact taht he liked it. He was actually pissed off while fireing it because he wanted it to be crap.

there was probably half a case shot through it with out of box parts (bottom line asa, feedneck, barrel) and still performed up there with my other guns. the barrel inside of the barrel is still clean as though it never left the box, shiney and sticky. thats half a case of paintballs in live games with no breaks or chops... (played as a back position gun while used yesterday). constanty fires ropes.


cons:
the worst part of the gun is the fact that you have to disassemble it to do something as simple as take out the bolt.
Worst trigger EVER. i mean, it was crappy out of box... and even when tinkered with by myself and professionals, still crap. they really need to come out with an aftrermarket trigger
the 17bps cap ,which doesnt seem worth mentioning, is sluggish. 17 bps really is slow and i feel as if i cant rip on the gun cause of missed trigger pulls.
Conclusion: Tournament grade gun. i will be playing with it as an equal to my ironmen timmy once some aftermarket parts come (board, trigger, ect).

Most people are saying its a rec ball gun, its not. heres why:
1) you will go through far too much paint now that your gun fires straight and doesnt chop
2) i doubt youll be able to dig holes with it as you would a tippman
3) it takes full dissassembly to maintain. rec ballers dont know what to do

This is seriously a tournament grade gun... its the ford escort of paintball.

I'm giving it a 9 because of the low bps cap and the fact that it needs to be dissassembled to maintain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Mojo54 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, autococker
Marker Setup: stock ION
Strengths: Fast, reliable, GREAT for the money.
Weaknesses: Trigger, stock barrel.
Review: This is the first review I have ever written. So bare with me.
This is a great tourney level gun. straight out of the box it shoots great. However it needs a new trigger upgrade(soon to be release) and also a new barrel. Go with a freak or stiffi or whatever you want. gun is great on gas efficiency. 1000-1500 on 45/4500. HPA is recommended, however c02 w/ anti-syphon will work. Can do just as good as any $1000+ gun. This marker will change paintball forever.
Conclusion: If you have money left over after only paying $285 for this marker(which you should) slap a new barrel on it and when available a new trigger. you'll have yourself a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bwickpaintballa Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, 05 Speed, Angel Fly
Marker Setup: Black/Blue Stock Ion, Halo, Crossfire 45/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
When they come out with it: Regulator, Trigger
Strengths: Fast, Reliable,Small and compact, Lightweight
Weaknesses: Limited BPS, Feedneck is a little too tight, hard to take halo in and out
Review: Great Gun. Smart parts has really outdone themselves. They have made an EXCELLENT high-end marker for an afordable price. Perfect for Rookies and Novices. However if you're a Amatuer or Pro, you would probably rather have a faster gun, such as an Angel, Timmy, etc. Overall an excellent gun.
Conclusion: Excellent gun. If your trying to save money on markers this is a great gun for you! All you need is a good hopper to keep up and your fine!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa73 Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse,bko, too many too list
Marker Setup: ion
crossfire tank
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
dynasty board(when it comes out)
remove magnet
Strengths: Price
speed
looks
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I was amazed when this gun came. i immediatley removed the magnet and played around with the trigger until it was perfect. the body is a form, of plastic(but much stronger) and is removable.i really like the idea of body kits. i finally put on my tank and hooper and went through 500 balls. the eyes work perfect not one chop. the stick barrel is ok but most stock barrels are bad anyway. i really love this gun for its out of the box speed accuaracy and gas effiecency.
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun to any pro or begginer. has full potential of high end markers. with the dynasty board it will surpass the shocker in speed. this gun is great, but sp needs upgrades out now!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamredfaction Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
timmy, angle
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custum with evil driver, and evlution
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrle
Strengths: Light
Fast
Acurate
Looks great
Weaknesses: Caps at 17
Review: i went to a local paintball shop to check it out last week, after hearing about this new cheap but fast smart parts gun. well the first thing i noticed was the looks, and it looks nice man. A lot like a shocker, but one thing that didn't thrill me was it's plastic body ( people try to call it polymer but same thing) after waiting in line to try and walk the thing, i Finlay got to hold it and yup, it's light alright. and then shot the thing, and man is it easy and fast to shoot! The only other down side is it capping at 17, but don't get me wrong, 17bps is a lot of speed for 300 bucks. The only down side about my journey to test shoot it was, well only test shooting it , so i didn't get to run paint threw it and I don't know about them eye's yet, but i'm sure they'll do just fine. I don't know of any other guns that are this nice for this low of a price. So i hope to get one some day
Conclusion: If you're looking for fun, and a fast gun for a low low price i would defiantly recommend the ion! You'll impress your self with it's capabilities, but even more so, your opponents
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media