paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
Planamento Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses,shockers,nerves,timmys matrixs,angels
MOSTLY EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Red with 68/4500 nitro,evo 2, full freak,protouch grips,no-rise silver
Smart Parts Shocker Blue With vision,rip trigger,dynasty board,Halo b with rip drive,full freak ,maxflo with 68/4500 nitro and red SP regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
More when ready to be upgadeable
(heard their making a dynasty board for it)
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Accuracy
Price*****
Looks
Weaknesses: Air efficiency(like most SP guns)
Review: I got my gun 2days ago in the mail.I opened it up and it looked even nicer than it did online.I grabbed my nitro and then gassed it up.WOW.I couldnt believe.IT was nice and light,and it was FAST(for the price-300).The next day i went to my local field(paintball Madness) and took it to the chronograph.It was amazing.Out of the box it shot 276,279,281,277,275,276.Then i shot some paint through it and the chrono read 15bps.
Wow thats sure great for the price(max rof for board 17bps).After this i played a few games and it performed great. I was riping paint every where and it was accurate as ****.I play snake and it was really performing great for my postition.The eyes are especially great.I shot about 3 cases of paint through this gun at about 15-16bps and there was not 1chop/brake. I was thinking this gun is a mini shocker. I mostly bought this for recball ball(my baby the shocker is my tourny gun) but i m thinking of using it for some tournys. Something thats also kewl about this is that you can change the body of it.
Conclusion: The best gun on the market for the money. If your a true pballer go get 1.
THIS GUN ROCKS!
IM TELLING YOU!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BenMolthen Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Stock Impulse
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion
Halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Weight
Price
It small
made by SP
Weaknesses: Barrel
disasembly
Review: I picked up my Ion the other day, amazed by its looks(looks better in real life than on the internets pictures), I just had to shoot it. I hooked my a/s co2 up and cranked away. Its fast for the price, and I love the rebound mode. I shot around 200 balls through it and I found a problem. I dont know if mystock barrel is defective or what, but the inside is not smooth. This cause many barrel ball breaks, and cause the balls to curve. So I'm getting a new barrel right away.
The disasembly of the Ion is also rather difficult for the first time. Don't rush taking it apart, do it slowly. I took mine apart slowly, cleaned it, and then put it back together. Now when I air it up, it sometimes leaks. Smart Parts is getting a call tomorrow from me.
A huge plus to this gun is the breakbeam eyes. I love them and never have a bolt chop when they are on. This is a huge bonus for the gun.
I really like the exo-skelatin on the gun. If its too dirty, take it off, wash it with warm water, let it dry, and thats it. Plus they are interchangeable.
But this gun still doesnt compete with the shockers, and nerves.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun, with a great price tag. i'll give it a 10 because I made the mistake, and now I'm getting the leak fixed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

avant_player Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a lot of other markers
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant paintball gun, nitro tank, metal feedneck with thumbscrew hopper adaptor, revolution hopper with X-board installed and a kingman antichop delrin bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at the moment but soon to be a wide range up upgrades.
Strengths: shooting, accuracy, almost everything about this gun is GREAT
Weaknesses: None, except for plastic outer shell
Review: Pro Advantage in belleville ontario is the only place to get the ion as i know of right now and i had called almost 15 other places to find gun, its 269.99 plus tax.

This is a great marker for someone who is looking to move up from there spyders, and ok markers. For the little price of 450 canadian and the performance of this marker, its almost a steal.

With the vision eye in this gun ur never going to break balls, also with the trigger u can set it up to how u like it. I cant say how incredible light this gun is, right out of the box the ion shoots 285's to 296's. thats amazing for not doing any tuning or spending any extra money. The guys at Pro Advantage in Belleville Ont will set up the marker for ever way u want it and they give u an amazing deal.

I cant tell u how much this gun rocks so ur gunna have to go out and buy one for urself, great gun for people wanting to get something new, and also a great back up gun that might take over as a starter gun for most.


Shoots respective 15 pbs(the one i was shooting) didnt break a ball the whole 2 hours i was shooting it. The outside body is actually plastic(not aluminum) but all insides are strong aluminum and this makes the marker really really like, 2.2 punds to be exact.


Conclusion: Just go buy one, thats all i have to say and u will be impressed i guarantee, I GAVE IT A 9 BECAUSE i dont really the plastic out shell, but eventually they will have aluminum outer shells and then i would give this gun a 10 and go buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stuart20 Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a-5, 04 vert autococker, Matrix, tippy 98
Marker Setup: I have a-5. It has a 14'' tippman werks. Dead on front hand grip, other stuff
ion-no upgrades yet, because im broke now
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, just because its a stock. Might want to go in the direction of nitrogen
hopper over 15 bps
Strengths: Small, light, accurate, fast, reliable, price.
Weaknesses: No upgrades are made yet, but im shure sp are in the process.
Review: Its all around a great gun, and definatly worth the price. you should buy this gun if you are just starting tourneys, but do not have the mula for the higher end stuff. Accurate, eyes are nice to have. Reliable. This gun is great for speed ball, with great design ideas. Its a little fragile for forest, but i dont dive everywhere so it works for me.
Conclusion: get it. it rules. Ohh, by the way, dont listen to the review buy the sniper kid that cant spell. I think he is around 6 years old.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dang - disorder Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K4 Pirahna EVO - Easy to clean, fires well with trigger upgrade, heavy
Marker Setup: Stock Smarts Part Ion
68/3000 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Cost
Quiet
No kick
Very Small profile
Weaknesses: Possible Air Effecency Issue
May be too small of finger space under the trigger guard
Review: Wellllllll.... let's just say I was lucky and won mine in a online contest. It arrived last night.

Out of the box I have to say, not a bad looking gun. A very low profile, much like the Shocker (not making any more comparisons from there though).

That "plastic" body that some talk trash about is damn blasted hard and looks like it will be pretty sturdy. Time will tell there. The rest of the gun is a dusted aluminum that is no wear as flimsy as a Spyder. It is way lighter then my Piranha EVO, and even seems more rugged.

The barrel is nothing to talk too much about, just a straight 12" barrel. I am going to test some other barrels on it on Saturday.

Trigger is very light, and out of the box for me needed some adjustments. Was very simple to do that though and I am getting my rate up pretty high. The trigger guard allows for alot of fingerplay. The grip is pretty sticky and I think it works really good, but people with bigger fingers may find it a tight fit under the guard and the in-line.

Some may need a drop down or drop forward but it works for me as is, though I think I will someday upgrade to an on/off.

Sadly I did not see how much air was in my bottle before hooking it up but it did blast through what was on my 68ci/3000 pretty fast, so I am a bit concerned about air efficency. I will know more once I have my bottle filled. I am hoping that this is not the sign of the same issues I have heard that the Shocker has in the reg.

Taking it apart to clean is no where as easy as my EVO, but the instruction book spells everything out really good. It is sweet that there is only one moving part in the body.

The shell comes off easy only during an almost complete dismantle, so there is no fear of it slipping off.

My only other thing I would have to say about issues with this marker is that the one screw holding the trigger frame to the body is not easy to get to and some patience is needed to get the frame off and away from the body.

I will say this gun flies, and is very quiet... well at least compared to my blowback EVO. By the way this marker is a blowforward.

Tomorrow I am going to run some paint through it and Saturday I will be practicing with the marker. Overall though I am pretty impressed, but time will if this gun has real field power.

Hope this helps some and I will update this as I use it.
Conclusion: I think this gun may set a new standard for lower end markers and as many of the reviews have said only time will tell for sure.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

phill 72* Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp ranger,spyder amg,bko
Marker Setup: black ion chipely feed neck,physco drop,14 in all american freak kit,evulution II loader,68/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck is to tight
Strengths: Price a big plus ,very fast and accurate light and break beam vision
Weaknesses: Feed neck realy difficult to get a halo in and out,not field stripable
Review: Love the body small durable you can change the color in just a few minutes and the after market bodies will be unlimited on what you can have for only around $35 you cant do that with any other marker for those who still don't under stand the body isn't plastic only the cover over it is the rest of the gun is a aluminum alloy
Conclusion: This is a great gun period performs as well as those $1000 + markers mine was great on the chrono with in 5 fps right out of the box and as i said earlier very fast i would recommend this marker for a tourney player a rec player anyone who enjoys a good performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Brett1989 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts impulse shocker and nerve all great guns by the way
Marker Setup: WGP karnivor autococker
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, HPA, gotta have an e hopper for any gun over 10 bps
Strengths: Stock accuracy, speed!!!, decent trigger pull
Weaknesses: Adonizing, no stock drop forward, style
Review: All in all its a great gun for what your paying diffinatly not up to some guns potentials but were not here to compare only to review. ill keep it short its fast its cheap and its solid and its light thats basically all you need to know. i do wish they wouldnt have gun with the cheaper milling for the exoskeleton but its no biggy. when the guys on the field are laughing at you on how it looks letter rip and show em looks arent everything
Conclusion: If you want to get into the sport more i would suggest this gun. if you are just getting into the sport i would suggest sticking with a blow back for awhile. ive had a friend who started playing with an e-99 avant and had nothing with problems with his e trigger. but thats spyder what can you expect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

jdam19 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp
Nerve
Matrix
Marker Setup: Stock Ion/ HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
maybe barrel
Strengths: Price
Fast
Small and Light
pretty accurate for a stock barrel
consistent
Weaknesses: The only weakness that I have found so far is maybe the trigger
Review: at the time of this review i have had the marker almost a week. have played with it 3 times and have shot approx 2.5 cases through it. So far the marker has been consistent. i have not broke a ball and it is pretty darn accurate for being stock. as for the speed, it is fast enough for me. imo anything over 15 bps is overkill or just for braggin rights.
Conclusion: If your in the market for a new marker give this one a test. You will be pleased with what it will do for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Amon_RA Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp , E-Bladed Cockers
Marker Setup: Nerve feed neck
AKA 2 liter reg
Smart parts drop with kapp botton line on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nerve feedneck
Get decent reg , cp , aka
Strengths: Price , Efficiency , Low Profile , Impulse feedneck and barrel treaded , and Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck not claping .
Stock Barrel
Stock regulator
Review: I never tried the stock reg i went right to my AKA 2 liter , although my team mate used the stock reg and it really did not differ that much at chrono.
First off i see some people have chosen to bash this gun and i can only assume they have not tried it . they paid $1000.00 for it , or they work for another gun company because the ION shoots very well , It is the best value in paintball hands down.
Is it perfect out of the box? Hell no , the stock barrel is weak , clamping feedneck would have been nice .
In all honesty i have yet to buy a marker that came with a decent barrel , and if your serious about paintball your going to get a kit no matter how good the stock barrel is so barrel quality is a non issue for review purposes.
4 cases of paint have gone through the gun without a single problem and is without a doubt the best $300.00 out there and will hold its own with most $500-700 guns to boot.
I like this gun better than my impulse , but not as much as my e2 cocker.
Dont use the regulator , i swiched mine to the AKA 2 liter but a cp or palmer will make this excellent gun rock solid
Conclusion: For the money its the best deal in paintball , no matter what gun you buy no one ever leaves it stock and the ION is a solid gun , add a nerve feedneck for $30 and a decent barrel system and you will be able to keep up with people who paid allot more.
Upgrade the reg as soon as possible , the stock one is not that great and the adjustment stinks and can be changed by mistake too easily.
With the nerve feed neck and the AKA 2 liter the ION shoots awesome , better than by vision imp at a fraction of the cost .
After my upgrades i would give this gun a 10
And for the people that complained about paint braking....stop buying your paint at wall-mart
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 12:02 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rcman57 Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Intimidator, Tippmann 98 Custom with Flatline
Marker Setup: SP Ion with 12" progressive barrel, Crossfire 68/3000 tank, Ricochet 2K hopper with LCD screen
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good hopper (Thats really it!!!)
Strengths: REALLY SMALL AND LITE
SUPER GOOD PRICE!!!
no external moving parts
Weaknesses: Mine leaked a little bit but was fixed with a new o-ring
Review: When I first saw this gun I was like WOW, its a new shocker, wait, impulse, no, Ion? After reading about it on the internet, i decided it would be a good idea to pre-order one so i did. When I finally got the gun, I opened the box and was amazed at how small and lite this gun was, it really is amazing. So i gassed it up and took it outside and besides a little leakage (now fixed) it was fine, so i commenced shooting. Right away I knew i was going to love this gun. The trigger just felt almost perfect to me, so a little adjustment and I got back to shooting. This gun shoots like a dream. The accuracy was amazing with the stock barrel, I really dont think you need a new barrel except for maybe a freak kit. Also since this gun has VISION, I never chopped a ball while ripping it at 17 BPS. I emptied out 3 hoppers REAL QUICK!!! and man was it fun. This gun is great! I would totally recommend this gun to anybody, NEWB, pro, whatever. IT ROCKS!!! My hat goes off to the people at Smart Parts, they really pulled off a Doozy this time.

For the record....this gun is not made out of plastic (except for the shell which is a composite material) its actually powder-coated aluminum.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun to anybody, it really is a great, quality product (and it looks really cool)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media