paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
hype5 Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Dark Shocker, Vapor B2k, 04 WGP Pro Stock, IR3 Angel
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Dye Boomstick 12"
CP reg
Shocktech micro drop
SP on/off
Halo b (fits in stock neck, take o-rings out)
Crossfire 70/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.....Boomstick or ultralite
CP reg
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Weight
Speed
Vision
Feel
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: When I saw this gun I ordered it without even thinking twice. A Smart Parts gun for $285. I also have a Vapor B2K and a new 04 cocker but have been wanting a Shocker. This looked similar so I decided to try it.

So far I have played with it twice, At a team practice and yesterdays tourney. The first thing I noticed was the great feel. Its light and great at snap shooting. When I got on the field with it I was suprised at the range and accuracy it has. It seriously is almost as accurate as my cocker. My teamamte has a dark shocker, the Ion can send the same line of paint as the $1200 Dark Shocker.......shockers are still nicer though

At the tourney it was great. I did chop a few but it was because my boomstick kept coming loose. I noticed a little drop off with the stock reg but it was still very good. I was the only Ion at the tourney and everyone wanted to see and shoot it. Everyone was very suprised.

I personally think it is better then all ICD's including freestyle, better then Imps, but the Shocker is still the king.

Conclusion: I think that this is a great backup gun for anyone, even good enough to use as a primary. It doesn't feel cheap, the plastic shell is fine, don't let it be a turnoff.

Don't ever buy a BKO again......the Ion beats it in every area. It has even replaced my Vapor B2k.

Not a Shocker but the perfect backup for one. Gets a 9 because the Shocker is the only 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xenochimera Monday, February 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 106 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers-very similar to ion but better in everything except price.
vikings-way better than most guns i've used but heavy and expensive as hell.
ecockers-similar to ion in terms of speed, but not reliability, or price, equally annoying to clean.
Marker Setup: blue ion
45/45 x-fire tank
halo v-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, trigger, board.
Strengths: Cheap. Looks cool. Loads of upgrades on the way.
Weaknesses: You basically have to upgrade everything. Seriously.
Review: alrite i at first thought this gun was crap, but after seeing such good reviews i decided to order one, now that gun is on its way back for a full refund.
Strenghts:
-sure this gun is cheap, but really, you do get what you paid for.
-17bps is pretty good for a gun of this price.
-i can already see the new wave of upgrades avaliable for this, especially the removely polymer.
-the polymer is quite strong, protects the body well.
- decent reg
Weaknesses:
- the board cycles at 17bps, most ppl are not cool with that, and wants a better a board.
- its a pain in the butt to clean, you gota take it apart.
- powder coating is kinda coming off on my gun already.
- the board is apparently ramping, and can not be used in tournies, guess you gota spend $100 on a new board.
- barrel sux, feedneck sux as well, there goes at least $60.
- wow wuts up with the threads??? i cant screw in my reg after i took it off, x-ing threads are not cool.
Conclusion: I really expected a better product based on all the reviews here and on pbnation.com. But after i got mines, i was disappointed. The basic system of this gun works very much like a shocker, but if you want a $300 to perform like a $650, you are in for some serious upgrades, the shocker is better than this. For this gun to be tourny ready, another $200 is going to be spent, which bascially kills the point of this gun. There is a reason it only costs $300, and the reason is that it works like a $300 guns, even the diablo wrath works better than this.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

THE AWNSER Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot, Delrin A.C.S. Bolt, 14" Smart Parts Freak, Turbo Valve, Dye Sticky 3 Grips,Evolution 2 z-board, Rocking trigger, Crossfire 68/45 Tank, and several of other hig-end guns, but Pilot over all!
Recommended
Upgrades:
I personally didn't like the barrel but some people don't have a problem with it. Everything else seems to be great.
Strengths: Very low price, very fast, accurate with new barrel a freak! Gun is awesome.
Weaknesses: Disassembly.
Review: This gun is very good and would reccomend for just about anyone, I have a DM4 and I'd prefer my Pilot and Ion over it. They are much more simple. The Ion may be my new primary gun! I have won numerous tourneys with this gun. I'd say get it over just about any gun mostly because of pricing. A lot of my friends have this as a secondary gun. Reccommended!
Conclusion: Awesome gun. Does not use Co2 unless it has an anti-siphon kit. Reccommended!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

the_timbo Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month45 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All high ends- shockers, ecockers, timmys, angel, trixs, this gun keeps up wit all.
Marker Setup: Blk Ion, 70/45 crossfire stubby, reloader ( getting halob), freak kit, function unimount on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, some say reg but i havent had problems wit it so up to you
Strengths: Fast, light, affordable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had this for a few days now, have put 1000 rounds through it with no problem and only used bout 2k psi to do so.. When i pulled it out of box an aired it up it was shooting 270 fps at 110 psi...awesome no setup needed. One thing i did do to it was take the trigger magnet out, with it in its a somewhat stiff and snappy trigger, once removed the trigger was much lighter and easier to walk i went from around 12-13 bps to maxing it out at 17 bps.
Conclusion: Some people said this gun sucks and isnt better than their high end guns like timmys and angels, well it wasnt mean to be better just compete at a lower price and it does just that. It blows anything in the price range away and is comparable to high end ones. Very similar to a shocker only not as fast being capped at 17 but thats fast enough for me so i love it. If you are like me and dont need the fastest gun out there consider this gun its very good at a great price. I give it a 10 not because its better than anything out there but because it did exactly what it was intended to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

supraman1120 Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4
Nerve
Octane Shocker
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Shock-Tech No rise feedneck
Hybrid Lady grips
CP Dust black reg.
Check-It unimount w/ ASA
Titanium Paintball Longbow barrel
Trigger magnet mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP HPR
Barrel
Strengths: Fast, fast, fast
Solid Feel
VALUE!!!
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble
Bad stock HPR
Review: This gun just rips. Right outta the box u can be ripping 17bps. It has a crazy amount of modes and even has the rebound mode that has made the nerve so infamous. For the money it is damn near impossibe to find a gun that can perform this well. The only problems are the tock reg and the stock ffeedneck, otherwise this gun is pretty hot. Go pick one up now.
Conclusion: Finally, a 300 dollar gun that can compete with the 1000 dollar big boys.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lover9586 Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested8 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bko, impulse, shocker, spyders
Marker Setup: mras chrome predator impulse serial# 001, cp reg, WAS'd, freak, full ndz internals, nda lpr, blade trigger, flame solenoid tray. shocktech drop on/off, snatch grip, q loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
n/a
Strengths: Durable
Bang for buck
Weaknesses: Trigger, body, reg
Review: I only tested this gun on the field . Its a great entry level solenoid electro gun. I really dont like the "plastic" shell. that really the only thing the bko has over it. The trigger isnt very easy to walk like people are saying. It seems like it would be hard to go above 12-13 bps(those who think thats slow dont know any better) with the stock set up and is pretty fast for a 300 dollar gun. I'm not really into "modes" but i guess thier cool for some people. The reg isn't horrible and does fine for the gun but is nothing to brag about.
Conclusion: Overall if your looking to take a step up from spyders and dont wanna blow a hole in ur pocket this is your gun. So many are saying its better then an imp, well i still don't think its that good, but has a far better bang for the buck.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

love_gun Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month524 of 582 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Timmys, electro/mech spyders, E-bladed cockers
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non yet but when they come out
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Very light and small
Fast enough
Affordable
Consistent
Accurate
Manual is good

Weaknesses: Very little drop off
Dissembly
magnet
Review: Ok i just bought this gun to back up my Alias Intimidator, and let me tell ya Awesome gun. Right when i took it out of the box i was very impressed, it feels just like a shocker and is light, not as light as my timmy, Also very small, which i like a lot, can stay nice and tight to bunkers and easy to handle. I loaded my evo 2 with paint and it fit very snug, i have heard that the neck doesn't fit halos. Put on a cross fire 45/4500, and started shooting, I really wasn't expecting good accuracy but this thing surprised me a lot, i was shooting arrows, now i started ripping on it (after i took the magnet out which is a lot better trust me) i put it on rebound and started shooting ropes, 17 balls is not the fastest out there, but fast enough, a lot of people won't agree. Now the reg. I took it out to the chroney and the results were 282, 274, 284, 285, 291, Not bad. That's not even broken in yet. Now after i was playing with it i experienced very little drop off, when shooting 15-17 bps, but it was there, a new reg will fix that. Another thing that really buggs me is that it's not field strip-able. I mean if you chop (which i didn't chop one ball with the break beam eyes) you have to take the gun apart, this starts to be a pain in the but, but after you do it a while it gets easy. (read the manual before striping) Now the shells. Now the people that are saying that it is plastic are wrong and there a bunch of you know what. The shell is very durable and its almost as durable as aluminum. If you threw the body to the ground it probably wont even crack, and its looks good, defiantly better than in pics looks a lot better in person. Another great idea that smart parts brang up was that you can switch the shells to yellow, blue, red, black, and soon to come other colors and designs. The trigger isn't all that bad. I defiantly recommend that you take the magnet out, it will increase ROF a lot, it is a little sloppy but when an aftermarket trigger comes out, that problem will be fixed. The sound of it was a little wield, at least mine was, almost sounded like an auto cannon, a new barrel can fix that, I put a 12" freak (takes Impulse threading) on mine and it sounded a lot better. As far as efficiency goes with my 45/4500 tank i got 1100 shots, not too bad. Im no gun tech but the people who say the ION uses cheap parts, that's wrong, its a very simple design that will be very reliable. I havn't used it much but im pretty sure that it won't cause a lot of problems
Conclusion: I defiantly would recommend this marker to anyone, not just noobs, this gun will not beat a Bob long or Angel, but it is better than a lot of 600 dollar guns out there. Great back up if you have a 1000 dollar marker. And the price is incredible going for 300 bucks. I wasn't a real smart parts fan, but this gun was great. 9/10 performance but for the price i gatta give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
84 Comments - Add Comment

stickmandnb Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse,shocker
Marker Setup: ion , evil pipe kit, halo, 47 3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell, 68/4500 tank, halo or other fast hopper
Strengths: Price, eyes, rof
Weaknesses: Barrel, feed neck
Review: I picked up my ion at our field store this morning and the first thing i did was adjust the trigger. It only took a couple of seconds then I put in the battery put on the airtank and dry fired about a tank through it. I then went to the chrono table and tried to put on my halo. It didn't fit.After it didn't fit I then grabbed another hopper and tried it. Again it wouldn't fit.
Finally I got fed up and grabbed the clamp feed off of my impulse. I filled the hopper and turned on the gun. All I can say is wow. Out of the box my chrono readings were 297, 294, and 295. Since it was good on speed i just let it rip. The stock barrell was nothing special but it was allright. I put on the pipe and it was ball on ball the rest of the day. I had originally bought the ion for my backup but as of now i am going to use it as my primary. The air efficiency isn't the greatest but the ion is definetely worth the 300 dollars that it cost. People may say that it is a "noob gun" but the ion is a great gun and so far have had no problems at all with it.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the money and i would reccomend it to anyone looking for a good gun at a great price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

p-baller fl Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: stock ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
there currently are none as of now
Strengths: Cheap, lightweight, durable 17 bps good for the price, good for people with less expierence
Weaknesses: Ok accuracy, definite noob magnet, impulse is still better, not much else to say
Review: There realy is nothing much to say i havent used it much, but i still recommend impulse over it. But i guess if u are $125 short and u are looking for something new this would be ok. it is still an excellent gun. Excellent for tourneys and easy to maintain. Definitely recommended to people who have less experience.
Conclusion: Ill have to give it a 9 out of 10 for people, as i said with a little less expierence, especialy if u cannot maintain an impulse.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sporefrog Saturday, February 19th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month185 of 1285 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Pirranah EVO, espyders
Marker Setup: 04 Gen2 Freestyle 45/4500, Stiffi switch kit, nox board, prototype techna trigger, contract killers lady panels, Reloader B black, 05 CP on/off, CP reg, JDS LPR, carbon fiber side panels. CP twist-lock feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Feedneck, Reg, trigger
Strengths: Comes with a regulator, alright trigger sorta efficient
Weaknesses: See review TOO MANY TO LIST!!!!!!
Review: My friend bought this gun and wrote the review-

Weaknesses:

Barrel, no famous spiral porting , they could at least throw the progressive on it stock. this barrel is horrible. I've heard and seen cases in which the inside of the barrel is powder coated. Terrible quality control on SP's part. There is a big difference between micro honed and powder coated.

Feedneck, not clamping but it does have orings in it meaning it might stay tight, but be prepared to do a lot of sanding. another decent feedneck (made of decent aluminum) will go for another 40 bucks.

Regulator- not even a max flow, just a downgraded version. i experience velocity spikes of +/- 25 FPS and my paint to bore was PERFECT. and that was after i fixed the leak on it. And there is tons of drop off once you hit 8+ bps. I was shooting 280 and when I started shooting fast it was in the low 200's.

Body- low grade aluminum covered by "polymer" (PLASTIC) shell. looks really bad, everybody at the local field made fun of its looks. i was sad.

Internals- I took this thing apart and it was pretty simple. except i noticed one thing right away - the solenoid coil - it was in plain sight - exposed. This is a very fragile part of the solenoid and deserves some protection. I can see this getting to be a problem in the future, I haven't opened my gun since then in fear of nicking coil. A two way solenoid, not too impressive. This is what the older BKO's used.


Board - the board is capped at 17, some of my friends can walk a trigger faster than this - Why cap it at 17 when all u have to do is change a few numbers in the code to make it faster? Bad move sp.

My guess is they capped it there because the solenoid is probably really bad and will explode if you cycle too fast..

Kick- This gun had a lot of kick to it, comparable to a spyder.

Feel - Felt plasticy, reminded me of holding a brass eagle blade - I definitely didn't dig it.

Trigger - It was plastic and had a bad setup - Was hard to pull fast or consistantly, magnet was way to strong stock. EDIT: Somebody at the local field with an ion got his trigger shot off in a game, the trigger just broke - very weak.

Lack of color options, yellow red blue black - all looks the same (really bad) no fades just looks plastic.

This is one loud gun.

Duckbill- Makes for a long setup and provides no On/off features. Not comfortable

NOT durable at all- I slid into a bunker and my feedneck hit the edge, now i cant take my feedneck off because the threads are messed up. if i ever want to take it off its going to cost 100 dollars, that's what smart parts said.
Conclusion: First day at the field with this gun - had a leak right away. we figured out that it was the bolt assembly and it was missing an oring - HOW DO YOU MISS AN ORING!!! i was pissed. after that my reg leaked, guy at the field fixed it for me i owe him one thanks bob. The accuracy was terrible even with a good paint bore match, kick was terrible and consistency was non existent - I've had way better experiences with spyder clones

I'll give it a two just because the new concept other then that it deserves a 1. I was definitely not happy with this product. Smart Parts customer service was definitely no help at all.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 26th, 2005 at 11:23 pm PST
I found this review  
706 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media