paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
p8ntball1997 Friday, August 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot
Marker Setup: spyder pilot with 14inch smart part barrel, 48cui 300psi hpa tank, vlocity jr with gangstar v2 chip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
Strengths: Low kick
Nice design
Weaknesses: Plasic trigger
Strong magnets
Review: I LVOED this gun and for the idiots who game this gun under a 3 or 4 maybe you should learn how to use a spyder sonix first. the ion is one of the best guns i have ever had. the only week part is the power button, its really dim but after the set up is in perfection you could rip it at 17bps which is perfect for any paintballer. who needs to shoot 25 bps? its just a waste of paint.
Conclusion: BUY IT. it will be a VERY good choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frisby Saturday, July 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: smartparts ion
clamping feedneck
CP regulator/ASA
CP dropforward
evil pipe barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck
new barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Good price
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
Programming can be a pain but u get use to it .
Review: This is a good marker for the price it you wil need to replace the stock feed neck if you want your hopper to stay on the programming is a pain at first but you get use to it i would also suggest replacing the trigger. and once you get the marker you do need to trun down the velocity or you will blow your solinoid. taking it a part could be easier but not to hard.
Conclusion: You'll need to replace a few stock part but it is still a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tostitos Sunday, May 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, i would rather play with my old A-5 than this piece
Marker Setup: SP ion
foehn v2.5 BOB body
CP sling
CP reg
Sly Dual carbon "Jen" barrel kit
ninja 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new marker
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Cheap
Setting adjustments cannot be done on the fly
Cleaning is a dog
Review: I bought my Ion brand new for around 260 about 3 months ago, Ive shot maybe 6 cases through it in that time, and my board is fried, now Ive been a smart parts fan up until now, but this is ridiculous. before anyone jumps down my throat about "oh you didn't maintain it properly, you did this and that and didn't do this and that" i took extra care of this marker because i cannot readily afford to buy a new marker whenever, i never over torqued a single screw being a mechanic i knew the importance of this, i was very careful about board removal and replacement after cleaning the internals (bolt, firing can, bolt stop etc.) (by the way WTF why would you design a marker for entry players that they have to expose the solenoid so often) short term i took great care of the thing. i go to the field to play the other day, buy paint pay my green fees, and the damned thing was fried sometime between my last play and then. not impressed needless to say.
Conclusion: Don't waste your hard earned ((or hard gotten from mommy and daddy) whichever it may be) on any of the junk smart parts makes, save the extra 100 too 200 and get a Dangerous Power G3 or G3 spec-R seeing as they have just been dropped to 399 on www.buypbl.com. you'll be much happier and it will actually come with a warranty. it doesnt surprise me that SP is going out of business.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbgear Friday, May 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Shocker
Marker Setup: Ion, virtue board, Halo hopper, 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board
Strengths: The performance you get for the price.
Weaknesses: Made from plastic, feels sensitive
Review: This marker is an absolute classic. It is a marker that grows with you. You can play in your friends backyard or go to a speed ball field. It has many upgrades so the marker can age with you. It is the marker that all new players should start with.
Conclusion: This is as good as it gets for 200 dollars. It is a great marker to start with.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somespike123 Saturday, May 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha pmi G3, Tippmann a5, X7, 98, spider electra, impulse, ego 10, ego 9, luxe, dm 10, proto slg, SMART PARTS ION.
Marker Setup: The marker i use is the smart parts ion it has the 2 piece 14 inch freak barrel, blue redz body kit, blue lazer eyes, blue flame 2 inch drop forward, guerilla air penut tank, hopper lock, oled virtue board, virtue qev, fire bolt, dye roder.
Recommended
Upgrades:
the 2 piece 14 inch freak barrel, blue redz body kit, blue lazer eyes, blue flame 2 inch drop forward, guerilla air penut tank, hopper lock, oled virtue board, virtue qev, fire bolt, dye roder.
Strengths: Extremely accurate, amazingly fast my gun shoots 45 bps, air efficent, very upgradeable.
Weaknesses: To much maintenace, to much money for upgrades to be putting into a gun.
Review: Well this gun is one hell of a gone i have gone threw 4 tornaments and have one each one with this amazing gun, this gone has never broke down on me, you will constantly have to be maintaing the marker, and for the stock price any one from stater to pro should be buying this gun is is an awesome paint ball gun for anyone.
Conclusion: You shou get this gone for the Extreme accuratecy, speed, air effeciency.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer2211 Thursday, March 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and feed neck
Strengths: Accurate fast, little kick.
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: People may say that the ion is junk but its no it is a very nice gun it beats any gun in its price range it has very low kick the stock bored on the gun is decent theres nothing wrong with it.But you may want to get a new feed neck.
Conclusion: Yes it is a very good gun for its price i would recommend it to and beginning or mid level player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hero Of 760 Saturday, March 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Fasta 9v
Pure Energy 3000PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Regulator
Strengths: Accuracy
Lightweight
Quiet
Barrel (Stock)
PRICE!!
Weaknesses: I dont really want to say no weaknesses but ya its pretty much perfect.
Review: This is a very accurate marker. With its light weight, it is key to have a quiet gun. This gun excutes the quietness and sleekness of a very well performing gun. This gun also has a great stock barrel. At 12in, this barrel can acheive maximum effectiveness against long-range and short-range enemies.
Conclusion: VERY good gun for its price range!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thebobb Sunday, February 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive owned:
Tippmann 98c
WGP Nightkast
SP Nerve
WASd Angel A4
PM5
ETek 1
Angel A4 Fly
DP G3iQ

and ive tested just about everything else
Marker Setup: DP G3 iQ
Redz pepper stickz
reloaderB
68/4500 N2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Where to start...just about everything on this marker needs to be upgraded for it to become the tournament gun it is advertised as.
Strengths: It has potential.
Weaknesses: It is to expensive to make it a tournament gun
Review: Alright im going to try to make this as fair of a review as possible. Im not going to compare the ion to the highend guns ive owned because it is unfair to compare a 200 dollar gun to a 1200 dollar gun. And on top of that these markers were designed for totally different purposes. The ion was designed to give newer players a decent chance at having fun in our sport. And the Angels, Egos, and Matrixes were designed for the older and more experienced players to win world cups with. Although skill in any sport is always more heavily dependent on the ability of the player, the tool being used will always somewhat effect performance.

For the beginner, this is an excellent marker. It is very easy to figure out how to turn it on and off and matinence is not that complicated. In addition it gives new players the chance to feel what the game of paintball is without being completely trampled by the people who dont care if our sport grows or shrinks.

For the more experienced/tournament player, the ion is a bad decission in a box. It has a very low cap (17bps) out of the box and the plastic parts can get cracked and broken very easily during rough play such as diving and sliding. And if you want to upgrade it, well, have fun throwing your money away simply because it takes roughly 3-400 dollars to turn the ion into a tournament ready high-end marker.

Personally, the ion is not my gun. Right now, ive never been happier with the G3. Its fast, accurate, and reliable.It is perfect for rec play with a tourny every now and then. And it didnt cost half the price of an used car like some of my other guns/previous guns did.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is dependent on what you want to do with the gun and what kind of player you are.
For the newer player who is still trying to figure out where to screw the tank in i would rate it a solid 7
And for the player who is getting fairly serious about paintball and maybe getting into tournaments i would rate it a 2, and that is only because it has potential.

My final rating is based on those figures:
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

grobins23 Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Richochet 2K9, Clamping Feed Neck. Pure Energy No2 Tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck. Buy with the gun. 15+BPS Electric Hopper, APE Board.
Strengths: Lightweight. Small. Cheap. Basic. Not Flashy. Not Ugly. Easy Maintenance.
Weaknesses: Ramping mode will bust balls. Regulator is unpredictable. No Clamp Feedneck
Review: Like it says, I've had this gun for about 3 years now. I love it. I always say skill dosent come with a players gun, it only helps. So its awesome to whip up on guys with Mini's and those expensive markers. Some people will bag on this because it is a "noob(new player) marker" Which I can see how someone that dosent pay for paintball himself but his parents pay for it can say that. It is great. It has lasted me throughout 3 years, No problems. The trigger is a lil wobbely(spelling?) the board is pretty basic, not to much going on. This gun dosent chop paintball at all if you're not ramping it. Once you start to ramp it will chop one every 2-3 hoppers i'd say. Shooting it, I can't tell that it has much kick, it is very accurate, the ROF(rate of fire) is great. I can keep lil heads pinned down all day. The trigger is very touchy, which I love. Very durable. I tripped while running and playing woodsball. The gun smacked the dirt hopper fell off. Only thing that happened with the gun is that it turned off. Which is a problem sometimes the gun will randomly turn off. Kinda sucks poppin up outta bunker looking to lay some cover for your friend then your gun not shooting.
Conclusion: This is a GREAT basic gun for the moderate player, Woodsball or Speedball. If you're just starting out playing this sport and thinking you're going to get into it but not quite sure yet. This gun is definatly the gun for you. Dont go out and buy a Mini or DM9 or Angel and end up not likeing the sport. If you're looking to get into it a little bit more, like starting a team up or playing some tourneys with your friends every other week I would suggest getting the Dangerous Power G3. New Players- Moderate Players : Yes, Get It. Bigger Time Players/ Team Players/ Tourney Players: No.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CBAED22 Thursday, January 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye dm9 and another ion
Marker Setup: smart parts ion 72/3000 pure energy tank and reloader guts w/shell upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!!
Trigger (maybe)
and maybe a new board?
Strengths: Very fast
Good stock equipment
Weaknesses: Horrible feedneck
Pretty hard to turn on
Review: This is a very good marker for the price. the first time i took it out to play i had a couple problems but since then, it has been flawless. the problem was i was hitting the trigger but it wasnt firing. the trigger wasnt hitting the circut board. then there were numerous leaks. but once they were fixed, the marker was performing excellently.




Conclusion: So overall this is a very good marker especially for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media