paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
korgy1313 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders,autocockers.
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion,48/300,halo v35 victory board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feed neck,gev.
Strengths: Speed,Weight,Look
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck,GAS HOG
Review: Ive used an ion for a bit and its great. Fast, light and pretty cool looking but when you first get it u have to het a new feed neck i made a mistake in not getting one and now i need to get a new feed neck and bolt chamber cuz the threads are stripped.
Conclusion: This is a good speedball gun for begginers its cheap and very upgradable.
I would reccomed it to anybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baller1999 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: 2007 ion
Blue body kit
QEV
16" freak/all american
Clamping feedneck
Roller trigger
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the above
Virtue board
compressed air (duh)
Strengths: Fast (QEV)
Accurate(freak)
Quiet
Good looks
multiple board settings on stock board
VERY light
Weaknesses: See review
Review: STRENGTH: The stock 12" barrel is not that bad for starts, ive gotten a couple mask shots from across the feild.
Its very quiet even stock and only gets quieter with new barrels.
Impulse threads are nice if you need to take the barrel off in a hurry.
The stock board comes with semi, rebound (ramping), 3 shot burst, and full auto, you can also turn the rate of fire up or down,and the same with the dwell.
WEAKNESS: I have chopped once but that was caused by low battery turning the eyes off.
There is dropoff after awhile though but i have found you can use that to your advantage by dropping over bunkers and such.
It chops on ocassion if you dont have a good strong battery.
I have found that the money i spent on upgrades would be enough to buy a shocker, but in the end it will perform like a shocker, but you will just have made payments on it instead of buying it.
Conclusion: The ion has gotten me out of a lot of tough situations. Its quiet enough that when you sneak up on someone and shoot them youll get the cow in the headlighs look followed by where did you come from? This gun has performed spectacular for me and i strongly recomend this gun. Its a high end gun for a low end price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaptainSnake Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion w/ Rally White Shell
Halo B w/ Rip Drive + Green Shell
JT 52 ci 3000 psi hpa
Pure Energy Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Feedneck
New reg may not be a bad idea
QEV
Strengths: Accuracy
ROF
Air Efficiency*Edit*See rev.
Looks
Durability
Quiet
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Eats Batteries like no other
Hard break-down
Stock Board unfriendly to work with
Review: About a year ago I was surfing the net in my search for an upgrade to my spyder extra (which is not bad, by the way, I just needed something to grow into), and I came across the Ion. It looked good, and I read many favorable reviews concerning it. I went ahead and purchased it, along with a Halo and an HPA. The day I got it in the mail I went to the local field to test it out. I attempted to attach the Halo to the marker, but the !#@#$% feedneck was too small to handle it. Luckily there was a pro-shop at the field
and purchased a CP feedneck for no more than 15 dollars. After that issue was dealt
with I went and gassed up my gun and began the day. By the end of the outing I was
absolutely amazed at its quality. That day (straight out of box mind you!)

+ It kept a consistent velocity , never shooting up or down on the chrono more than about 5-10 fps
+ It didn't chop a single time. =D
+ It mainted an above average level of accuracy at medium to long range with the stock barrel.
+ I refilled my 52 ci tank maybe 3 times that day after firing 1500-2000 rounds.
+ It's shots were relately quiet even with the stock barrel!
+ Held together after being tossed around like a rag-doll and there was no change in the performance

So this impressed me ALOT, considering the marker was only 200 dollars and was this good stock. However there were a few things that irked me a bit

- The Stock Board may be a bit un-friendly to work with as its an LED light system.
- The break-down is annoying on this marker, making it a chore to clean if you're not familiar with the system
- The feedneck has a hard time fitting most E-Hoppers, and requires a replacement.
- I went through like 3 9v batteries that day. (Not expensive, just a bit annoying )

Sooo some months later, some friends and I went to our annual paintball get-together in the mountains. I decided to bring my Ion along and see how well it performs.
So I put my gun together and played a few games with my new remote, and had a great time with my gun, but then the Horrible happened....my tank ran out of air, and I thought to myself " @#$! Im done now, Theres no way I can get this tank filled and I can't use co2. !@#$ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ARGHHGHG", but after a few minutes of @#$!@%#@ about it I thought about doing something really stupid and crazy..............and put a co2 tank on in desperation so I could continue playing. So went on 4+ games on co2 without a single problem. Each game I feared the looming possibility of the selenoid breaking and me ending up with a costly problem, but nothing happened. Hey, but wait isnt co2 "OMGZOR HPA ONLY SELENOID SELENOID OMG OMG OMG OMG YOU"LL BREAK IT!!!"?! True true, but it finally came to me, for woodsball this may be different and I'll tell you why.

- Woodsball isn't about how much paint you can pour into an area, its about using little amounts of paint as effectively as you can thus reducing ROF to an extent and thus reducing liquid co2 in the gun

- Woodsball is typically played in hot weather thus helping to keep the co2 in gas form.
EDIT
- Woodsballers typically have remote systems which can help keep liquid out of the gun by allowing the co2 to heat up on the way out of the tank, and by keep the tank in a vertical position keeping the liquid at the bottom of the tank allowing only/mostly gas to come out of the tank.

- Using an anti-siphon in the abscence of a remote will do the same as the above one

Which by the way brings me to another point. If you use co2 on this gun DO NOT COMBINE ANTI-SIPHON WITH A REMOTE. The anti-siphon nulls the purpose of the remote because its just a straw that points to the top of the Ceiling (not the adapter ceiling) of the tank to suck in air instead of liquid, putting the tank in a vertical position would not only make the anti-siphon worthless, but the effects on your gun(ion maybe) would be catastrophic as it would be sucking in ONLY LIQUID, not gas.


So yea. For woodsball, co2 on this gun may not be as serious of detriment as it would in tourney/air ball, so this whole second paragraph was to help partially extinguish the myth of "You can't use co2 on this gun or it will break" as it basically applies to tourney ballers only. However, using HPA will improve your performance anyways in any conditions so rather than co2 being a replacement for woodsballers with the Ion its more of an o k back up system in case you run out of the precious compressed air.



EDIT
This gun has great air effieciency...........provided the dwell settings are appropriate! Forgot to add that in.
Conclusion: So all in all, this gun is excellent for all experience levels. The few problems that it has can fixed easily. Furthermore the price is insanely good! This gun was worth every penny of the 200$ I bought it with and 400$ I upgraded it with later on.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 1:07 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Sunday, July 15th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-Force GTI or something like that, Ion was much better
Marker Setup: Black Smart Parts Ion - Q-loc neck, 2006 Smart Parts Progressive barrel, DXS N2 tank, and VL egg 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck for starters
Barrel
Can do more, but that's all I think you need
Strengths: Upgradeable
Cheap (as in cost)

Weaknesses: Upgradeable (overpriced)
Looks
Review: Well people say that the Ion is a horrible gun when they've only tested it. Yeah, most likely it was stock. Stock Ions are not that good, almost to the level of my Piranha :o Anyways, the reason in which they are cheap is because the Ion is all about upgrading and customizing to your likings. The Ion is a decent gun once upgraded, I'm not saying it's amazing. You can spend $1400 between your Ion and its upgrades, but it still won't compare to a higher level marker such as a DM.
Conclusion: Great product if you're a rec or intermediate player. Wouldn't recommend this product in tourneys unless you plan to eat your wallet for upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mikeymikey Saturday, July 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
epiphany
pm5
proto rail
invert mini
Marker Setup: gold/black Smart parts epiphany, Halo B, Freak Jr., crossfire 68 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
it needs so much just get a new gun
Strengths: Durable outside
lots of parts/upgrades
Weaknesses: Needs all the upgrades
weak inside
ugly little thing
everything else
Review: i have only tested the ion and to say the least i wasnt impressed. it was ugly and performed poorly. This is going to become the new 98 custom in my opinion. just wait about 1 year maybe 2. the only thing i think it is good for is a longbow for woodsball. woodsball = noobs. sorry you woodsball fanatics but you play woodsball because you cant handle being up in the front getting hoppers unloaded on you. and dont rant on this because you like it because it is like war. that is scenario and i have nothing against that. just get an invert mini or a smart parts epiphany
Conclusion: Save 200 bucks and get a higher end gun the ion just isnt worth your time or money unless it is your first gun
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

bendycricket Friday, July 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker
diablo wrath
Marker Setup: olive pmr
ul frame
orange bolt
black ndz metal boltcap
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
reg
board
trigger
internals
Strengths: Good gun for its price
Many upgrades available
Relpacement parts are easily available
Weaknesses: Small kick stock
Kind of an air hog
Stock reg blows
Feedneck isnt clamping
Review: Well i got the ion when it first came out about a year ago.So i became a conformist and got one.I never regreted it.It was my first tournament type gun,and thats when i first started getting into tournament paintball.At first i replaced the feedneck,and asa.If you use this thing stock yes it is a good gun,it is similar to a shocker,but a cheaper version.If you do not upgrade this gun you are killing yourself.It is somewhat sucky stock,but put a bolt,new reg,and board in there it will be way better.I replaced all the internals with the lucky kits,and holy crap it was worth it.getting any aftermarket bolt will help on efficiency and kick.I put a maxflo reg on it and it helps even more.The more you put into it,the better it will be.It never really broke down stock or upgraded.
Conclusion: Yhis gun is perfect for rec ballers,beginner tourney player,and a good backup gun.I give this gun an 8 because to get this thing shooting great you must upgrade alot.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Backwoodsfield Sunday, July 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Spyder
cocker
Most high end guns
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
12in Smart Parts Progressive barrel
New Designz Rail and ASA
New Designz Blade Trigger
Trinity Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I bought this gun after testing my friends ion. It shot amazingly well and when i found one for 150 i bought it and have been impressed ever since.
Strengths
Cost
Upgrade-able
Availbe at most places

Cons
Needs upgrades for it to work good
other than that nothing!

This is a great product made by a reliable brand, get it
Conclusion: I would buy this product as a backup or 2nd gun for people of any ability level
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jlatour88 Saturday, July 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs (Stock)
Marker Setup: ION
Clamping feed neck
J&J 14in. barrell
virtue qev
T-Board with membrane pad
45ci 3000psi hpa tank
Halo B W/ rip drive
ASA On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
QEV
Clamping Feed Neck
Board
ASA On/Off
Strengths: Light Weight
Fully Customizable
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Not Easily Field Strippable
Review: The ion for its price is a very nice, dependable, all around gun. iand thers tons of different upgrades u can buy for this gun. I bought mine off ebay for $130, and it amazed me on how fast it can shoot with a new board in it. and the weight is so light its made of a very durable light weight plastic that seems to cut the weight in half.
Conclusion: This is a awsome gun to start out with if u have a limited budget, and when u get more money u can upgrade all or most of the parts on the gun. I highly recommend this gun for anybody who has a limited budget. Im sure glad i did
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 8th, 2007 at 12:05 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

awills101 Friday, July 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot (junk)
Marker Setup: ion,roller tigger,feedneck,qev,evil reg, evo 3 egg loader, 3000 psi tank
phantom pump, 12 gram co2, 15 rnd loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg
feedneck
trigger
Strengths: Price
Quality
Eyes
Different modes
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Reg (kind of)
Review: I bought this gun used from a friend for $150 and it was money well spent. For the price it is a great quality gun its fast it has eyes and it is very upgradeable. It is also easy to clean and maintain. The only problem with the gun is that the stock feedneck does not really hold the hopper very well so a clamping feedneck is a must have.
Conclusion: For the price this gun is great i reccomend this gun to anyone on a tight budget.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the amador guy Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
iv tested spyders, tippmans, and some jt markers
Marker Setup: ion with:empire b2, compressed air, virtue board, cp tigger, cp 14inch barrel, new feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, trigger are a must. barrel highly recommended. virtue board if u want to kickass.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: PROS
money
quality(im rough with my stuff, and this showed no sign of it at all)
accurate
fast
easy to upgrade and customize
easy to clean and take apart
RELIABLE

CONS
feedneck, trigger are lame...otherwise none


My first gun. it never let me down. upgrading it is easy and fun. never regreted buying it.
Conclusion: Buy it. you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media