paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Maikococa Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
This is it for now!
Marker Setup: Ion
360 QEV
Q-lock
eVLution II
More ups on the way
Recommended
Upgrades:
360 QEV
Def, new feed!
And a pretty quick hopper.
And a barrel I guess
Strengths: Fun, fast, and ready to smoke them bamas on the fields.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: First gun and happy I chose this one. It's fast and it's not that hard to light up the youngins on the field. Though I'm still fresh to the game, I really like shooting this gun and meeting others and learning about all the dfferent choices I have for upgrades. Good times!!! Good times!!!!
Conclusion: Yep, with out a doubt, I'd recomend this to anyone comming into the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrewpacific Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom e grip 06 shocker
Marker Setup: DXS 48/4500 Low Pressure Nitro Tank
NXE Elevation Strange Series Tank Cover
Rolling Trigger
Warrior SL Bolt
Redz Cam-lock Clamping Feed Neck
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
16 in. Stiffi Barrel
Max flow reg.
eVLution 3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck
reg.
barrel
Strengths: No kick
Cheap
Awsome look
Weaknesses: The turn on/off feature is slow but its now biggy.
The neck sucks
Review: The gun its self is simply amazing stock. but once its upgraded it a beauty. It doesnt kick hardly at all. It also has a sweet look. Im not good at reviews so i dont know what to say but...if youre an intermediate player, go with the ion to save some money. Its definatley worth it. But the gun once again is great. its light and compact so your hands arent sticking out like sitting ducks. Hope this helped you. Have fun.
Conclusion: AMAZING. CHEAP. get a feedneck.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JCO91 Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tremor Shocker
DMC
Angel G7
PM6
Ego
Marker Setup: Tremor Shocker
Halo with Rip Drive and Victory Board
Draxxus 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off
Trigger
Feed Neck
360 qev
Strengths: Small
Air Efficient
Fast
Accurate
Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: I got my ion a few days ago and i was surprised that it was so small. When i went to my local field to use it, it shoot perfectly over the chrono i got 279, 281, 282, 280, 278, 280 its very consistent. When i went to the shooting rang i was surprised on how fast it was and how accurate. Air efficient is no proplem with this gun i got 1200 from a 68/45. I think this gun is the best deal out there. out of the 4 times i used it, it was great never had a problem with it.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for begginers or advanced players. If you have the money you should buy it. I give it a 10 because you get a lot for your money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballguy75 Tuesday, June 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra, pirhana srt
Marker Setup: Pirhana srt
16in barrel
Halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
New feed neck
Blackheart board
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
And power
Weaknesses: Can not turn off the compressed air
Review: Even though i only tested the gun i loved it. It was just about the best gun i have used so far. I would recommend this gun just about to anyone even if you are just starting to play paintball. Again i would get a better barrel but the stock barrel is good. My friends have this gun and every time I play against them i cant get them out because im against two or three ions.
Conclusion: Very good gun i love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dye-Evil Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: - Lucky Un1tec Barrel Kit (Three tips, Impulse threaded back)
- Q-Lock Feedneck
- CP Rake Trigger
- Virtue Ion EzOn
- 360 QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the upgrades mentioned in the setup are nice although a feedneck and barrel are essential.
Strengths: Great gun for the price, light, low maintenance
Weaknesses: Cheap parts, I dislike the barrel, hard to disassemble
Review: Price

You get what you pay for, it's a great gun for the price but due to cocky newbs it's often bashed. If you own an Ion you gun is NOT as good as an Ego or DM, so don't think that. It's a great starter gun and I'd recommend it to any beginner although skipping the low-end gun stage and going straight to a PMR or Invert Mini would be great.

Weight

It's light, it's small. Enough said. Of course there are lighter guns, you're paying less than $300 for this thing.

Speed

It's alright, better than a Spyder but less than the high-ends.

Overall

Cheap parts, cheap price, light, small, fast enough for a beginner, needs some parts to be replaced.
Conclusion: It's a great beginner gun but if you're going to get into tournaments seriously skip the starter stuff and go to a good high-end gun, not necessarily a $1000+ gun, a PMR, PM6, Mini, etc. would be great.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 11th, 2007 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

icerhockey17 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99 avant
Marker Setup: ion
fire mountain trigger
q-lock
QEV
blackheard
max-flo micro
freak barrel
empire reloader b
firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board (blackheart works well)
feedneck
barrel (optional)
Strengths: LIGHT
fast
made custom easy
fairly accurate
Weaknesses: Horrible feedneck.
Not as fast as other high end guns.
Decent barrel.
Review: I got my ion a year ago. right out of the box it looked good so i took it out. my first time shooting it, i used CO2 and a gravity hopper. it worked great even with the CO2. So i went to my local store picked up a maxflo, reloader b and some other upps. The freak made it amazingly accurate adn the air made it really consistent. also i threw on a blackheart board making it really fast
Conclusion: If u have money to put into the gun, i highly recomend it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thelightshow Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot ( crappy dont buy )
bob long onix
auto cocker
Marker Setup: -White redz body kit
-shock tech on/off valve with new drop forward
-halo b
-dye ultra light 2 part barrel
-firebolt
-redz trigger
-st hopper clamp
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a new hopper clamp
-a barrel( not really nessasary )
-a drop forward ( the hose kinda gets in the way )
Strengths: -Price
-Durability
-Weight
-Accuracy
-Speed of shots
-Quiet
-There are alot of different upgrades
Weaknesses: -It comes with a bad hopper clamp

Review: So instead of writing this huge useless paragraph all im gonna say is that there are no down sides to this gun. its cheap but it handles at a tournament level. This is deffinatly one of the bst guns ive ever used and if you dont want to spend alot of time going to the shop then this is the gun for you
Conclusion: I deffinatly recomend this gun to any new players or ever vets. Its cheap and it wont let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

riponrage Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: VL evo 3, evil pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed-neck, regulator, and trigger
Strengths: This gun is cheap, fast, very light, accurate, very durable, fast, and VERY upgradeable.
Weaknesses: The feed-neck is a problem, and you could upgrade the regulator.
Review: I love this gun!! It shoots great, very accurate with an upgraded barrel. I am on a paintball team and most of the players have ions. People say that they are mad that the board caps at 17, but that isn't slow at all. The regulator and the feed-neck are the only problems with this gun. I would recommend this gun for pros and beginners. It is a tournament level gun with a starter level price. With a few upgrades this gun could be as good as some $600-$700 guns. Why wast your money on those other guns?
Conclusion: This is no ego at all, but this is the BEST gun you can get for the price you pay. I am going to give this gun a 10 for that reason.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hopglock Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Comact 2001 2in1, Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Stock Ion
Q lock Feed neck
Halo B w/ rip-drive
Pure Energy 68/4500
Dye Rhino 07 Tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feed Neck
QEV
Lighter bolt
Drop Forward
Strengths: Light
Compact
Cheap
Fast
Fun
hardly ever chops
Weaknesses: Trigger a little "Snappy"
Drop off occurs at high ROF
Tank sticks out far


Review: I got my SP Ion last week and i was ecstatic! It was incredibly cheap!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
So when the marker, Halo B, and 68/4500 tank arrived the first thing i noticed was just how light and compact it was-(Great for small bunkers). The trigger was so light and easy to pull, however it did feel a little "snappy". Changing the Dwell, Recharge rate, and firing modes is incredibly easy when you read the manual which is very detailed. It looked great with the Q lock feed neck i got for it which is very low profile holding the Halo B-(doesn't stand high on the gun at all) The tank however is Very far out from the gun, it is like holding a rifle.

TEST FIRING
When i gassed up the gun right out of the box it operated around 170 psi. I shot a few balls very impressive shooting a little hot out of the box. I didn't have a chrono but im guessing it was shooting around 300 fps. when i started walking the trigger i noticed there was a big drop off effect when i would get to the higher rates of fire.Drop Off meaning your velocity fluctuates a lot and balls drop in speed and distance. This can be helped buying a QEV and a lighter more gas efficient bolt. Anyways, the eyes in the gun performed GREAT out of half a case (1000) balls I didn't chop once. I only broke one ball in the barrel. Definitely a plus on the field. Its also gas efficient it shoots about 1200 balls per full 68/4500 tank. The accuracy was the best ive seen from a stock barrel. close 8 inch groupings from 60 feet. I was using pro grade marballizer paint though. I don't know how cheap practice paint would hold out. The marballizers were green and black outer colored and the eyes still picked them up.
Conclusion: Overall a really good gun! I recommend keeping the rates of fire low (because of drop off) untill you get a QEV and lighter bolt. Worth the money!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drejas Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Dynasty Ion Body Kits, smart part freek barrel kit, crossfire carbon fiber tank, halo b feed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, light tank, definatly an electionic hopper, feedneck,
Strengths: The price for sure, shoots amazing for the price, pretty light.
Weaknesses: Barrel, angle drop
Review: The is thruly a sick gun for the price and the way it works. I would definalty recomend this gun to anybody who jus starting out and looking for a god but cheep gun. Another thing about this gun there is about a thousand things you can do to it. I have had this gun for a while and i havent had any problems with it.
Conclusion: Like i said i recomend this to anyone startinout and looking for a cheep but great gun price wise and performance wise.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 10th, 2007 at 7:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media