paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
IONsrthebest Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann , PMR
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION sp blue
All-A 14"
Lapco feed no-rise
Smart parts Fire bolt
CP sling trigger
Check it on/off asa
Hybrid CK grips
Virtue Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck (unless you like to sand)
On/off -
Otherwise awesome gun
Strengths: reliable, Fast, kinda light, ACCURATE, consistent
Weaknesses: Feedneck, ASA
Review: I have had this gun for 2 years now, and before i upgraded to virtue THIS GUN NEVER FAILED. The only problems with the gun were the feedneck and the ASA. they both looked ugly and didnt work for me so i upgraded and made a good decision. The barrel DOES NOT need to be upgraded it is VERY accurate. The guns engine (STOCK) is very easy to work and well put together. If you decide to upgrade the board it will only make the gun better. The trigger could be upgraded for those who are faster than others. The stock bolt is heavy compared to the firebolt but still works Once you buy an ion you'll find your own preference and opinions but i hope i was helpful.
Conclusion: I rate this gun a 9 because even though it has some bad parts its the best gun to buy for this price and worth every penny trust me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballer0783 Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My friends smart parts shocker its really no different than the ion i would say just get the ion cuz the ion shoots 17 bps and the shocker shoots 21bps so ur paying like 400 dollars more just to get 4 more bps
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion
Vlocity Jr
Q-lock feed neck
Proto 2 peice barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend u get a q-lock feed neck that is a much and also if u play alot i also recommend u get a new barrel
Strengths: Everything except for the Feedneck and the barrel it comes with
Weaknesses: Not really any weaknesses
Review: I would say that this is the best 200 dollar gun u get buy on the market. This gun will make u keep playing paintball every weekend. it is all around a great gun except for the barrel and feedneck it comes with so just make sure u get a new barrel and definitely a new feed neck
Conclusion: I recommend this marker greatly. i really don't have any problems with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LukasMandingo Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Smart parts ION
Q lock feedneck
Progressive 14in rifled barrel
RPM Critical Trigger
View Loader Evulution 3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first upgrades i would recommend would be the feedneck, barrel, and the trigger...pretty much what ive got on my gun. after that its what ever you really want, like the dynasty body kit which iam looking to get.
Strengths: The ION is very light, and customizable so you could change it around.
Weaknesses: The only weaknesses would be the feedneck and trigger the gun comes with it.
Review: This gun is great, i got it for only 200 bucks which is very cheap compared to some of the other guns out there. Weighing in at only 2.2 pounds, you cant go wrong with that either. this is a great gun if you are looking to get a new one because just how much it can be changed around, its sort of like pimping out your ride, but its your paintball gun. the reason i said the feedneck and trigger are a weakness because the feedneck is hard to get hoppers into and the trigger is a litle wobbly and not very fast, but that can be fixed easly by getting new ones. the Evlution 3 hopper is a perfect hopper to get for this gun because it can do 23 bps which is great because the gun does 17 bps and its cheap compared to the halos.
Conclusion: If you are looking to get a new gun and you dont want to take out a loan, buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 4:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: look at profile
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, Barrel?
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light trigger pull
Price is fair for speedball/Tournament gun!!!
Not heavy

Weaknesses: A little pricy(not gun, accessories for use)
Has seen Malfuntion
Review: This is a a good gun for speed ball Espacially for price! But, I have seen many times these malfunction. Once my Friends Ion was leaking gas, anothers shot out paint! Not even balls just paint was oozing out! and many other problems.
Also, if your a beginner this is not a good gun for you because the gun is over $200 and plus to use it you need Nitro(will not use co2) thats $80-$300, a good electric hopper $80-$150, and need high quality paintballs(price may vary).
But, this is a great speed ball/tournament gun for the price. It shoots fast, has a light pull and accurate! Most good speed ball/tournament guns begin at $300-$400!

One cool thing though is that you don't have to cock it you press a button and it works!

Conclusion: So, this is a good gun in general don't get me wrong. But, if you want quality and reliability Get a tippmann(made for woods ball though, but a-5 would work O.K for speed ball just would need to upgrade). If you want a good priced speed ball/tournament gun get an ion!
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

staskyboy Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans they dont shoot fast enough
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo Hopper
Pure Energy 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Speed
Strength
Everything else
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: Its is awesome i kick butt with it every1 needs it cause its so cool nothin has gone wrong if u dont get it ur crazy the only thing u need to do is get it off default settings!!!! I love it so much i am crazy bout it!! Plz buy it cause its cool
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

solodude45 Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
32 Degrees Icon LED
Marker Setup: Ion
NDZ Clamp Feed Neck
Air America 45ci 4500psi Carbon Fiber Tank
VLoader Force Hopper 18bps
Recommended
Upgrades:
Required: Clamp Feed Neck
Not Required: Depending on your form and style a new ASA
Trigger
Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Good Stock Barrel
Light Weight
Compact Design
Internal Bolt
Weaknesses: Duckbill ASA
Feed Neck Sucks!
Bad stock items xcept barrel (some will disagree)
Review: This marker is excellent. I have been using it for only a week, but i have used it in several tourneys and some regular pb fun. This marker will provide you will the basis for starting a good solid career as a pb player. I would recommend you don't buy this as your first gun. Rent or buy a spyder or something then get this gun as a gateway to the larger world that is paintball. I have a big series with 3 events in it coming up and i will update this with how well this marker does.
Conclusion: Reliable, all you can ask for in a $200 beginner marker. Please don't buy as first marker i beg you. But a must get if your sure you want to get into paintball seriously.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sparky171 Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom not as fast but just as accurate,
2006 spyder electra- faster, ut had a lot of problems.
orion not the greatest gun broke a couple time and i had to fix it.
Marker Setup: ion, stock everything except trigger and feed clamp. 72cu 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck, new trigger the trigger breaks if you use it a lot. also a new board would be good. and then what ever else you want.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, strong, lightweight, easy to use, amazing gun.
Weaknesses: The feed neck nothing fits in it.
Review: I have used 4 different guns and i would say this is the best one ive used. All the guns have had a couple problems except the tippmann and this gun. I would recommend this gun to experienced players, and new players. Its cheap, and you can put upgrades on it as you get better and join in tournaments.
Conclusion: This markers amazing and i highly recomend it to any one no matter how long or how little you have been paintballing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun_boy123 Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ Double trigger
PMI Razzor 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Board
Trigger
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Looks
Upgrade ability
Weaknesses: None
Review: I used my friends Ion it shot quick, but it is made of plastic. It looks great even with the plastic. It was the first time I used an electro gun and DAMN it shoots faster than a tippmann 98 custom. I like how you can upgrade the body. If u want a highly upgradeable elecrto gun get this.
Conclusion: Cheapest Highend electro gun.
GET IT!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 3rd, 2007 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkilla22 Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath is the closest
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Egg II/w Z-board
Pure Energy 48/3000

MR1 stock
12 oz pure energy
VL200

Proto Rail coming soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Regulator
Bolt
trigger
board
Strengths: Great Value
very upgradeable
quiet
low pressure
Weaknesses: bad feedneck
hard to put some certain parts in while upgrading
has to have HPA
Review: One of my teammates had this marker and I've used it many times and even stock it was still formidable against other high-end markers as long as it was used with skill. It was very quiet when fired and was fairly accurate even with the stock barrel and bolt(putting it up to high-end standards) It broke a number of times perhaps them all being user error(I don't know). It feels like a toy but the plastic is very hard and could take plenty of abuse. There was some parts that was a pain in the but to clean or replace with aftermarket parts. This marker is very common so it is not hard to find places that repair or upgrade Ions so there is that going for it. Overall it is a great marker.
Conclusion: If you're against paying to much for a high-end marker then this is a good choice along with the Diablo Wrath.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballershot Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a tippmann 98 custom pro when i first started playing.
Marker Setup: Ion black
Shocktech drop forward
72/3000
Proto one piece barrel
Evo 2 hopper
ANS roller trigger (freakin awesome!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Drop forward
-New barrel(JJ, proto, SP or dye)
-Clamping feedneck
Strengths: -VERY cheap
-Durable
-Fast
- Can be upgrades easily
Weaknesses: No drop forward, clamping feedneck

Nothing else
Review: Ok, so first off this is a cheap gun. A lot of people often say its a piece of crap...but they are very wrong. Sure, its no DM7, yet it also isnt 1400$. Instead it is only $200. The internals are a little tricky, but youtube has some good vids on assembly and disassembly. Once yoou figure it out, the internals are very easy.

Another good thing about it is the speed. Stock it shoots 17 bps. Most people cannot shoot that fast to begin with, and in my opinion it is plently fast for a rec or tournament paintballer. The size and profile is grea tto.At just over 2 pounds, this gun is light. The profile is very small, so snap shots are made easy, especially with a drop forward. Not to mention you can get a variety of ups including barrels, body kits, regs, bolts, drop forward ect.
Conclusion: This is a great gun stock, yet once u shoot it, you will want to upgrade it. There is unlimited possibilities with this gun. I reccomend this gun to anyone needing a primary gun for a tourney, or a for a rec baller. Hope i helped :)

PS i would have given it a 9.5 yet it isnt an option
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media